East Liverpool, OH 
Thompson Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: gcoghill Hole #13
4 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Long Course

1    8/20/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 110  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Thiscourse offers a big variety for anyone. If you want big wooded holes or short shots across a field you can get a little bit of everything here.
Cons: The signs aren't great so be prepared for some walking through the woods. Most tees are ok, but some spots are uneven and have roots sticking up in the way.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth taking a trip to go play. If you aren't up for a huge day the front 9 holes could easily get skipped and just move right into the heary of the woods.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Long Day Of Fun

1    8/20/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 87  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets are great. There are a ton of fun elevation change holes. There is a mix of shorter and longer holes throughout the 27 different holes. The pars on the signs were very fair. A couple tee shots off of these huge rocks were awesome.
Cons: Some tee pads were iffy with roots and uneven ground. The course is very confusing to navigate because the signage is not very good and it does not tell you were the next tee is on most holes. You will spend a bunch of time wandering looking for the next tees. We only found "The Outback" (19-27) on accident because we just took a guess after walking around for 5 minutes. It is across the road on the left of #18 basket in the woods.
Other Thoughts: It has a great mix of holes. With better signs this course would be even better because of the use of elevation. This course would definitely be worth driving an hour to go play on some weekend because it is that good.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Under the Radar 27 Holes!

1    5/19/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautifully landscaped park for the first 9 holes followed by some truly adventurous woods holes. This course has recently been expanded to 27 holes. The front 9 basically are a smattering of ace/birdie chances played in the groomed area of the park. The shots are short and require a delicate touch as often there are trees, access roads, and some slight elevation that make the shots interesting for their small size. Any bigger and the holes in this area would be too dangerous any smaller and it would be very boring. Pleasant relaxing front nine. Take a walk past the parking lot and bathrooms and the entire theme changes and you feel as though you are in a big state park and no longer a city park. 10 gives you a 420 foot dive straight down to a basket perched in front of a stream. 11 follows with a fun shot over the stream. 13 is a memorable throw off a boulder across the stream to a boulder laden green. Woods and elevation are everywhere on holes 10-15....some of the best woods golf I have played. 16 plays back in the open, but this one is a 600 foot L to R bender with the mountainside sloping hard left and the basket is 2 drives away so get your anhyzer ready but don't mistakenly throw a roller or your gonna roll down down and OOB into the access road below. Great hole here. Every hole on the back 9 will be enjoyable for experienced golfers. I saw several of the basket locations and tee positions for the new 9 (total will be 27 holes) These follow the same theme as the middle nine so basically it's a fun beginner nine hole course followed by a challenging and exciting 18 holer. I apparently was in town the week before the new holes were completed. From what I saw I want to rate my score up to a 4 but I can't do that as I didn't play them.
Cons: The tees are natural and in this course's case...better tees are needed here. Navigation was an issue. Even the map can be confusing. The front nine play generally in a counter-clockwise loop around the groomed interior of the park and the following nine play in a clockwise direction around the rugged exterior of the park. (1 is not near the lot and 9 finishes far from where 10 begins and then 18 finishes far away from everything. I can only imagine where the other 27 will take you.....perhaps somehow it will tie everything together and it will make sense?) Also some long walk on the woods holes..such as 11 to 12 (across the picnic grove way opposite corner from where you come out of the woods) and then 14 to 15. Theres bound to be some confusion I advise first timers to definetely print out a map. Some may gripe the front 9 are too easy. As far as holes go..#10 did feel like a poke and a prayer...perhaps theres a local route but I never saw it. I do think if the tee was moved a bit perhaps a chute like lane would appear...I would never want those giant trees cut out for sake of a disc golf hole.
Other Thoughts: If the final 9 holes are as strong as the middle 9. If the tees improve and the navigation is improved with clear marked paths and signage. If they can maintain and groom the woods and keep it clear of fallen limbs and improve some of the steep banked areas with steps and ropes to aid in the walking. I would feel this is a destination course. It has a bunch of problems but it still has some great disc golf holes and shots you will remember. Worth a stop especially now that it is 27 holes. I think if the courses were split with the front 9 being a separate course and the following 18 was it's own course that the ratings would tell a different story. I'm thinking 2.5 for the simple niner and 4.25 for the back 18. The first nine holes would be a great warm-up, cool-down or glow course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/10/2011   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The front 9 is fairly short and simple. How ever the holes on the outer edge can be tricky , and drive placement is must. Holes 4 & 5 i believe, if your disc rolls , its gonna roll for a awhile. The back 9 is absolutely awsome.

Hole 10 Straight down hill about 400 or so ft. through very a heavily wooded area.

Hole 11 plays over a winding a stream through more thick trees.

Hole 16 will test your anhyzer for sure ,playing 600ft around the side of the mountain

As for all the back 9 Good shots will be rewarded , errant shots....will make for long day

Tee pads are now on the front 9
Cons: Some tee pads, but are very are small.
Course appears to be neglected, damaged tee signs overgrow in some areas.
Other Thoughts: ::::Update::::::
I ventured down to play the outback . Needless i was a little disappointed. Most of the outback needs more TLC, and broken in . Some of the Fairways are undefinable . The paths have arrows pointing you in the direction of the next hole, but even with that some of the holes don't flow together as 1-18 does .
21# however is a very neat hole. Much like 13 shoots from high above a rock 40 feet (est)down. 280 some feet. The only hole you will remember for 19-27. Hole 27 ends where 10 starts.

I had to drop my rating simply because the course hasn't changed much. The overall flow 3-4-5-6, is really awkward shoot forward , walk back..etc. from 21-22-23-24 are all holes in which you hike a min or 2 to the next tee.

This is still a fun course and is one the most physically demanding course's in the region.


. Still one of my personal favorites. Playgrounds , pavilions , swimming pool and stand alone grilles are among amenities.


4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

So-So Front Nine, Spectacular Holes On Back Nine

1    10/5/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 68  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2016
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained park. Friendly locals. Back nine has some of the best disc golf holes I have thrown to date.

Decent tee signs with maps. All equipment new or in great shape.

Wooded back nine holes have "next tee" wood signs near the baskets. Tee signs also have "next tee" info.

Very friendly locals. Course not very busy.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Front nine a bit too easy. Some holes can be slightly hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Starting out the front nine was honestly a bit of a letdown. Fairly open and short, I breezed through this pretty quickly. Some decent holes, but nothing really challenging at all.

The back nine was a whole different story. Completely different personality from the front nine. In fact, Thompson's back nine had some of the best holes I have ever thrown on a disc golf course. Holes 11, 12 & 13 in particular were spectacular downhill drives across the creek, weaving through the trees. Just technical enough to require skill but not so much that the sheer pleasure of throwing these holes was overshadowed. I wish I had more discs on me for hole 13 -- probably the course signature hole, with the giant cliff-hanging boulder as the tee pad.

After an uphill drive for hole 15, you were back out of the wooded areas for some decent holes with a bit of distance requirements. Hole 16 tee is around the bend, requires a bit of walking but easy to spot once you get close. I got a bit lost looking for that one.

Back nine holes weave through some pretty steep hilly areas, and cross a river/creek in places. Very shallow when I was there in early October. I walked right on/over the creek, no problem with getting shoes soaked or anything.

The park is multi-use, and was fairly busy with non-disc golfers when I was there. A very small bit of throwing over walkways on the front nine, but the back nine is all for the disc golfers.

Small-ish parking lot, but it's right between the back & front nine. Tee #1 was a bit hard to locate, but close to the parking lot (it's obscured by some bushes/trees from that angle). Back nine did not bring you back to the parking lot from hole 18, so there was a short walk to get back to the car.

I didn't have time to explore the amenities, but there seemed to be a main park building with bathrooms. Other activities for the non-disc golfers. Seemed mostly a "walking" park though.

Very beautiful and slightly hilly park.

This one's a bit of a drive for me, but I definitely plan on going back regularly just for the back nine, they were that good. I'll treat the front nine as a warm up for the "real" holes.

This is a tough review for me to score. Overall I am not sure the course is a solid 4.0, but some killer holes on the back nine make it difficult for m to give it a 3.5; for now I am going with the 4.0 score.

If you are in or near the area, it's a must-play course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.