East Liverpool, OH 
Thompson Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: gcoghill Hole #10
4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Thompson Park - It's Ok

1    11/8/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park with great trees and neat surroundings. The Front 9 is short but makes good use of the trees, elevation changes and some difficult pin positions. The front 9 is good fro all skill levels. The Back 9 is a collection of very different holes, huge elevation changes, wide open and tightly wooded. I really enjoyed the wooded holes (except 10) they were very imaginative. The course plays very quickly and is very fun.
Cons: This course has zero flow at all. The holes do not really follow a good path at all. Hole 4 took a while to find since it is actually significantly behind hole 3's Tee. Hole 9 finishes in the middle of the park and there is no indication of where 10 might be. Also hole 10 should just be removed from the course. 10 is a steep downhill hole that has absolutely no path to the hole. You just throw into a wall of trees and hope that you don't land too badly. (I threw both a hammer and a backhand and neither of them came close to getting through the trees). Also its a fair hike from 18 back to the parking lot. The tee's on the back 9 are kinda scary and have no room at all for a run up.
Other Thoughts: You can tell that this course was designed by amateurs and with that in mind it came out pretty good. With the space they have, especially in the woods it would have been nice to see all 18 holes tie into each other a little better. The park was also somewhat busy when I played but everyone seemed very pleasant and helpful.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 We're gonna have a good time

5+    9/11/2008   9/11/2009
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very enjoyable to play. The front 9 is nice and easy with some decent holes. All of the holes on the front 9 are reachable yet have some challenge involved. The trees in the park are spectacular. Some very old trees and quite a large variety. Beautiful park. Cool little amphitheater that you play by is pretty neat. The front 9 will give you a nice walk through the park that anybody of any skill level will be able to enjoy.

The back 9 is a very fun back 9 with many shots with elevation change and some water thrown in as well. There are some really neat shots out here. Cool pin placements on rock outcroppings, near the edge of a nice little creek. Kinda reminds me McConnells Mills in PA.
Cons: As much as I like the back 9 of this course, hole 10 is just plain silly. It's actually a really cool hole, except there are 2 trees that really ruin what could be a really great hole. It's basically a poke and hope through some trees downhill 300 feet or so.

The teepads on the back 9 are very rough, and are often muddy or on some sort of angle. Not much chance for a run up or follow through. Yet even with the pads it is still fun to play.
Other Thoughts: After playing 130+ courses over the last 15 years, I would have to say that this is a really fun course to play and most people will have a really good time. It has a few memorable holes on the back 9 which give help to give it a good rating. The front 9 is a great place to practice your midrange game, and the back 9 will have you wanting to throw lots of extras because of how fun some of the holes are.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/10/2011   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The front 9 is fairly short and simple. How ever the holes on the outer edge can be tricky , and drive placement is must. Holes 4 & 5 i believe, if your disc rolls , its gonna roll for a awhile. The back 9 is absolutely awsome.

Hole 10 Straight down hill about 400 or so ft. through very a heavily wooded area.

Hole 11 plays over a winding a stream through more thick trees.

Hole 16 will test your anhyzer for sure ,playing 600ft around the side of the mountain

As for all the back 9 Good shots will be rewarded , errant shots....will make for long day

Tee pads are now on the front 9
Cons: Some tee pads, but are very are small.
Course appears to be neglected, damaged tee signs overgrow in some areas.
Other Thoughts: ::::Update::::::
I ventured down to play the outback . Needless i was a little disappointed. Most of the outback needs more TLC, and broken in . Some of the Fairways are undefinable . The paths have arrows pointing you in the direction of the next hole, but even with that some of the holes don't flow together as 1-18 does .
21# however is a very neat hole. Much like 13 shoots from high above a rock 40 feet (est)down. 280 some feet. The only hole you will remember for 19-27. Hole 27 ends where 10 starts.

I had to drop my rating simply because the course hasn't changed much. The overall flow 3-4-5-6, is really awkward shoot forward , walk back..etc. from 21-22-23-24 are all holes in which you hike a min or 2 to the next tee.

This is still a fun course and is one the most physically demanding course's in the region.


. Still one of my personal favorites. Playgrounds , pavilions , swimming pool and stand alone grilles are among amenities.


4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, challenging

5+    10/15/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am a new player over 50 and have thrown frisbees all my life. I started on this course.
After playing other courses I.ve found this is one of the best. The front nine is short but challenging enough to make a nice warm up and work out if you play it a few times in a row.
THE BACK NINE - I had no idea that you could play in the woods. Now I know. Very beautiful and some of the best looking holes that I have yet seen. Throwing across a valley to a basket set in the boulders is intimidating but rewards a good throw.
There is alot of Family activities available here. Ballfields, Pavilions, Tennis courts, Picnic areas w/grills. Very nice to bring the whole family.
Cons: Bring water

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  So-So Front Nine, Spectacular Holes On Back Nine

1    10/5/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained park. Friendly locals. Back nine has some of the best disc golf holes I have thrown to date.

Decent tee signs with maps. All equipment new or in great shape.

Wooded back nine holes have "next tee" wood signs near the baskets. Tee signs also have "next tee" info.

Very friendly locals. Course not very busy.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Front nine a bit too easy. Some holes can be slightly hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Starting out the front nine was honestly a bit of a letdown. Fairly open and short, I breezed through this pretty quickly. Some decent holes, but nothing really challenging at all.

The back nine was a whole different story. Completely different personality from the front nine. In fact, Thompson's back nine had some of the best holes I have ever thrown on a disc golf course. Holes 11, 12 & 13 in particular were spectacular downhill drives across the creek, weaving through the trees. Just technical enough to require skill but not so much that the sheer pleasure of throwing these holes was overshadowed. I wish I had more discs on me for hole 13 -- probably the course signature hole, with the giant cliff-hanging boulder as the tee pad.

After an uphill drive for hole 15, you were back out of the wooded areas for some decent holes with a bit of distance requirements. Hole 16 tee is around the bend, requires a bit of walking but easy to spot once you get close. I got a bit lost looking for that one.

Back nine holes weave through some pretty steep hilly areas, and cross a river/creek in places. Very shallow when I was there in early October. I walked right on/over the creek, no problem with getting shoes soaked or anything.

The park is multi-use, and was fairly busy with non-disc golfers when I was there. A very small bit of throwing over walkways on the front nine, but the back nine is all for the disc golfers.

Small-ish parking lot, but it's right between the back & front nine. Tee #1 was a bit hard to locate, but close to the parking lot (it's obscured by some bushes/trees from that angle). Back nine did not bring you back to the parking lot from hole 18, so there was a short walk to get back to the car.

I didn't have time to explore the amenities, but there seemed to be a main park building with bathrooms. Other activities for the non-disc golfers. Seemed mostly a "walking" park though.

Very beautiful and slightly hilly park.

This one's a bit of a drive for me, but I definitely plan on going back regularly just for the back nine, they were that good. I'll treat the front nine as a warm up for the "real" holes.

This is a tough review for me to score. Overall I am not sure the course is a solid 4.0, but some killer holes on the back nine make it difficult for m to give it a 3.5; for now I am going with the 4.0 score.

If you are in or near the area, it's a must-play course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.