Loveland, CO 
Thompson Valley HS Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
-- / --   3 / 192ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best you could do with the land available

2-4    7/4/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good baskets make for confident putting

-Not busy, you can throw multiple shots of each hole w/o being pushed

-Used the land to the best they could. The biggest tree makes the hardest hole

-Some fun ace shots. 5 is a fun anny toss
Cons: -Almost NO trees. They make use of the ones they have, but it's essentially an open shot most of the time

-HS course, so you can't during school.

- Layout could be improved, and you could even add some more baskets
Other Thoughts: You can't expect much from a HS course, they did the best they could given the restraints.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Getting Kids into DG

1    8/19/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Gets kids into DG. It serves its purpose that way. I would have loved to have played disc golf in gym class.
-Lots of ace chances here.
-Probably won't lose a disc here.
Cons: -No concrete tees. Tees are marked by squares of concrete with the number on. Can be hard to find.
-Like many school courses, crammed into small area.
-Course could be dangerous, especially during school and sporting events.
-Short
-No elevation
-Very few trees
-Overall not very challenging or interesting. Little variation from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: This course serves its purpose at the school. The land clearly isn't ideal for a disc golf course but something is better than nothing and I would play this course if I lived in the area. It is the only course in Loveland and the course across the interstate in Johnstown isn't much better. This course would be good for introducing newer players to the sport or for getting in a really quick round. I wouldn't really recommend playing here unless you live in the area or are a course bagger like me.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok School Course

2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets that are in good shape and catch well.
-Several holes present ace opportunities
-Located on a pleasant school campus (plays on mostly all grass).
-Almost no chance of losing a disc (unless you throw one on top of the school, but I don't see that happening very often).
-Holes 5, 8, 9 are fun holes that use the few trees located on them well.
-Good place for putter and mid-range practice.
-The open field that holes 6, 7, and 8 play through is a good place to practice your drives.
Cons: -The tee-pads can be hard to find (look for the worn patches in the grass). We couldn't the tee-pad 4, but I think it should be located somewhere near the baseball diamond.
-Tee-pads are just dirt patches with a small concrete pad, with the hole number set into the ground.
-No tee-signs
-On school grounds, so there can be a lot of traffic on the school grounds and you probably can't play it during school hours.
-The field that 6,7, and 8 play through can get muddy after rain. (A few years back this field use to be full of prairie dogs and it was really mud. It looks like the prairie dogs are gone now and it doesn't seem to get as bad as it used to).
-The course is not very challenging and doesn't really force you into using any specific shot.
-Most of the holes are wide open with very few obstacles and are not very exciting.
Other Thoughts: Good course to introduce a beginner to the game. The course is not very exciting, but if you are in Loveland and want to play a round, this is really your only option. Don't go out of your way to play this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  If you are Loveland, why not

5+    8/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: gratefulflyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was installed many years ago, and recently had the 9th hole added back in, this time in a new location. I like that most holes play in grass and is in a quiet neighborhood. The baskets themselves are in great condition. There are now 3 or 4 holes that are ace hole possibilities. With that said, you can play well under par. For new players they might find the wide openness deceptive. A great family course.

you can be creative in the field and after hole 4 and make alternate tee pads back to the same basket.

can work on your forehand or backhand in the field and on hole 9 go for the biggie annie!

Additionally, there is a grocery store and a few restaurants just down the street.
Cons: not many trees, but if you don't like playing in trees then this isn't a con for you. The T-pads are just small pieces of concrete and may be hard to recognize the first time you play. luckly the course is relatively short and you won't be frustrated running all over the place
Other Thoughts: this course is great to work on accuracy and work on your birdies. Also a great family course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Typical High School Course!

1    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love when we place courses on high school or junior highs. It's a great way to introduce students to disc golf. West Thompson has Innova baskets. They're fine for this course. The course starts by the tennis course and circles the school. The teepads are these small 18" by 18" concrete slabs with a metal number on them . They're fairly hard to locate. The distances are all under 300' and pretty much recreational in nature, perfect for P.E. classes. A couple of holes offer ACE opportunities.
Cons: Holes 6, 7 and 8 play across a prairie dog field. It's dusty, windy wide open and thoroughly uninteresting. There really aren't tee pads per say. The concrete markers are used to mark the pad area and then you are just going to tee off next to it, I guess. Plus they're fairly difficult to locate your first time playing the course. .
Other Thoughts: This course will not challenge or excite most players. It's designed for the P.E. class, for the casual local and maybe for families. If I lived close by and this was the only course around, it would get my business. I probably wouldn't be the most motivated golfer around.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Passable 8 or is it 9 Holes?

1    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a better than expected "eight" hole course in Loveland that isn't a bad place to play if you're in the area. All holes are essentially the same shot with some mild variation in the distance and foliage. Each pin is an easy to spot DISCatcher with the hole number clearly indicated on the yellow bar.

The tee boxes are natural with small concrete markers set into the ground and stamped the hole number. The school grounds are well maintained and the big trees on holes #5 and #9 make things mildly interesting.

BEST HOLE/S: #9
Cons: I say this is an eight hole course because I couldn't find a pin for #3. Ironically the pin for #4 is about 300' across the baseball outfield and makes for a sensible hole when shooting from #3 tee box area. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but my guess that the holes originally ran behind the baseball diamond next to the fence, but then #3 pin was pulled at some time. I didn't go back to investigate because there were kids practicing tee ball. My suggestion is do what I did and tee off from #3 tee and go to #4 pin - it's as good as any other regular hole on this course.

Being at a high school, you have the regular cons - play limitation because of school hours and competition with other people using the areas, but these are to be expected with any course located on school property. However, the simple fact is - that even when you get on the course, don't expect much more than some good practice, because there's simply not much to this place.

WORST HOLE/S: #6
Other Thoughts: Thompson Valley High School is a lot like many of the small courses on the Front Range - straight-forward with little elevation, a few trees, and slight variation in length. There are a few more unique courses in the area like Cache La Poudre Jr. High DGC and Timnath Reservoir DGC - but you really have to head to Denver or into the mountains if you want a serious disc golf experience.

This course, as well as many of the others isn't bad - they serve their purpose in satisfying that urge until you have a chance to go play an amazing course in the Rockies like Golden Eagle DGC, Beaver Meadows or Sundance Trail Ranch DGC. Until then, you can settle for here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

1    10/25/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an ideal Beginner course. Wide open fairways with little obstruction to throw between. Hole 9 adds a bit of diversity with trees to the right and a road right behind it. Hole 8 also sits back behind a big bushy tree.
Cons: No diversity. If you are an experienced player this course will not thrill you in the least bit. Longest hole is probably 275 at best. Lots of roads and pedestrians throughout course because it is at a school. Basket 3 is missing so you have to play one Safari Hole.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time, after living 3 blocks from it for over 5 months, and had a good time. I took my 12 year old cousin with me and taught him how to play, it was his first time. He loved it. Being an experienced player I recognized the easiness of this course from Hole 1 but my cousin had a blast. This course reminded me that sometimes just getting out and throwing and enjoying a nice easy course can still be fun. I played Beaver Meadows(Red Feather Lakes--the hardest course I've ever played) the day before so this was a nice change up. I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play this one, by all means, but if you are a beginner or have kids you would like to teach how to play the game, this one is ideal. You can play a round in under 25 minutes so if you are passing by it's worth a quick couple of throws.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

1    3/2/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only pro is the fact that it is disc golf course to play in Loveland and that it has baskets that are numbered.
Cons: This course goes threw the high school and also a near by dirt area by the school. There are no tee pads, at least that I could see. All of the holes are very short and there are only 9 of them. Can't really play while school is in secession, at least the campus police didn't like it.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure that there was a small budget to make this course so they did what they could. There is a 18 hole course about 6 miles East of this course bu I-25, Highly recommend that one verses this one.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 GO EAGLES!!!

5+    5/28/2008   1/28/2009
Review By: J-TRU
Played: 67  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If there is a pro for this course it would have to be personal. My junior year of high school i help raise the money to install this course.But other then that, and it's Loveland's only course not the funest.
Cons: This course was set up with limited space and high school beginers in mind. The holes are short and if you don't know where the tee pads are you might get confused. The last time i played it, it looked like hole 3 is gone. So its only an 8 hole course.
Other Thoughts: The tee poads are naturel(grass/dirt) but the tee signs are on the ground in cement w/ numbers on them. hard to find but they're there

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.