Leavenworth, WA 
Thousand Trails Leavenworth Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Course Designed With Campers In Mind!

1    6/24/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 614  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is at the 1000 Trails campground which is about a 30 minute drive from Leavenworth. The course is designed with the casual camper in mind. It's not designed to challenge or even entertain the typical disc player. The course plays around a couple of small ponds and by a very small creek, more like a ditch really. The baskets are Discatchers with numbers on the sides. Maps are available when you pay your $5. The course is pretty easy to follow using the map and holes description on the map. There is a variety of holes, some open, some around the water and one wooded.
Cons: The teepads are really bad. They're natural with small logs used for borders. This course will not challenge anyone who has played more than three times. The course is not paying $5 to play.

There are three Par 2's on the course. Aty most courses, they would be Par 3's and make for easy birdies. For the campers, I'd make them all Par 3's and maybe give them a chance for the occasional bird.
Other Thoughts: This course is a long way from anywhere. I'm glad it's not my home course. The drive here is only worth it if you ARE A SERIOUS COURSE BAGGER trying to hit all the courses in the state. If not, this is a good one to skip. But before I rip it too much, I'm happy that they have thought to put in this course for the campers. The sport of Disc Golf continues to grow.

WARNING! The baskets are not put out until April or May depending on the weather and whims of the maintenance staff. I don't know when they take them down but I'd call before driving all this way to play in late fall or early spring.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the money or drive

2-4    8/18/2008   5/31/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a nice pond on the course and a cute little stream running through most of the course too that affect your approach shots. The course flows around back to the parking lot. The baskets are in nice condition. There is little traffic from disc golfers on this course.
Cons: The drive is a long one even from downtown Leavenworth or any where on highway 2. $5 is a lot to play for this course. There are no signs or markers helping you along the way. Some of the holes are a little too wide open for my taste, if they had a better pin location it would make the hole much harder. The tee pads are horribly grown over and need to be cement anyway. There is an area on one of the holes where you can throw it into a small marshy area, but from the tee pad it just looks like bushes and you can easily lose a disc in there because you can't go after it.
Other Thoughts: Not really worth the trip or the money to play. A little tip: if you go on the weekend later in the day there is no guard for the retreat so playing is free but it still doesn't make it worth playing sadly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Avoid at all costs

7/6/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: JConnell
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a scenic pond bordering #6 & #7.
Cons: Shockingly bland and unimaginative layout, especially considering the beautiful surroundings which bordered the entire course. With the exception of your tee shot on #4, you will never have to think about which shot to play or what disc to use because throwing it straight down the wide and unobstructed fairways is all you need to do here.

The course has no tee signs and is very poorly marked. I spent over 10 minutes looking for the #6 tee pad and never found it...and #6 is supposed to be the signature hole here.

The dirt tee pads on every hole have hardened mounds of grass/weeds which are easily high enough to roll an ankle on. You will need to pay extremely close attention to where you step just to get proper footing...good form/footwork is an afterthought.
Other Thoughts: I shot even par and left the course feeling genuinely cheated out of my time and money, which is really saying something. Unless it were the only option around, I would not play this course even if it were free.

I'm sorry if this review comes across as overly negative, but I strongly feel the need to convey just how displeased I was with my experience at this course. If I had read a similar review I would have avoided it and played more rounds at Wenatchee, so hopefully someone else can do this in the future.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  

6/21/2008   6/21/2008
Review By: RichardB
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2008
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good course with good potential. Long and challenging with good variety: wooded on #2, water on #'s 6&7, and a creek affecting several shots.
Cons: The suggested pars on the scorecard seem unreasonable even for elite players... We have adjusted the par comparable (modestly) to be more consistent with the Wenatchee course. Uneven tee boxes are a problem, and some areas of the course do not seem to be mowed more than once per week, although the grass fairways are not 'thick'.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to get a scorecard/map at the Thousand Trails on-site store before your round, as it makes navigating the course much easier. I am in contact with the manager and hope to work with him over the next year to realize the course's potential. Like another reviewer, I did not like this course the first time I played it, but I have enjoyed it more and more every time I play it, and hope to contribute to its potential.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.