Ft. Smith, AR 
Tilles Park Share
Uploaded By: GaryBlevins Hole #9 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 375ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Decent. Good variety

5+    5/1/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: ShaneSAW
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
Pros: No one hole is similar to the next. Good community course. Small tournaments played here frequently. Still beginner friendly even with a lot of trees.
Cons: Walking trail runs right along nearly the whole course. If a disc goes within 30 feet of a walker they look at you like you tried to hit them. Tees are rough to say the least. Rubber mats on roots can kill your drive. (and ankles of you're not careful) sign for hole 9 is missing and a well placed lamp post can be right in the way. It's been dinged up and busted out many times. Tree branches on a few holes will frustrate beginners and make windy days not so fun. Hole 7 is near a church and their staff parking so RHFH and LHBH players will need to be aware driving under a low branch.
Other Thoughts: If the walking trail wasn't so busy all the time I'd have rated it higher. Also, wish they would look into maybe improving the tees. Still a fun course in a shared park . Watch out or you may chew up some discs on trees or brick waterways.

Fun Course Love Playing It

2-4    6/6/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: Big B
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: This is a well maintained and clean course that has been around since 1980. Baskets are old but are still in good shape. All the holes have signs telling the par, hole length, and picture showing line to basket. Tee boxes are fairly easy to find and holes flow good from basket to next tee. Holes #3 & #5 are great Ace holes. Course is fairly open so you can let it rip off the tee boxes.
Cons: The tee boxes are dirt and since the course was built in 1980 most of them are in poor condition. The course is in a very nice and popular city park, but is often very crowded and makes playing some holes difficult to play due to people being in the way. There is also a walking track around the outside of the park which also interferes with some holes. Although there are two parking lots, if the course is crowded parking will also be a issue.
Other Thoughts: Being a beginner, I love playing this course. It's fairly open and on the short side, which gives me a shot at shooting low and keeps me excited about playing. The course is well lit so you can play late in the day and finish your round if the sun goes down.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    9/15/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: watsonj93
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: easy to play, good for a quick game
Cons: holes 3 and 4 are close to the road so don't overthrow 3 and stay left on 4. park is busy and many people use the course as a place to play soccer or football
Other Thoughts: very fun for just a relaxing game of disc golf

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good learners course

2-4    3/18/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 247  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the title states this course is a place that you would go to work on your short game. You will want to hit your lines in order to score well. Also because the holes are short, longest hole 375, it would be a good course to introduce the game to a new player. There are just enough challenges to keep it interesting, but not frustrating at the same time for both beginners and advanced players alike.
Here is a my assessment of this course:

#1 is a straight ahead open shot. You tee off by the parking lot and the basket is in front of you by the sidewalk.
#2 Has trees to navigate around and a walking path on the right hand side
#3 Here is a good interesting hole that has trees right in front of the tee box to the left. There is also a drainage canal to the right. For RHBH throwers, I would aim down the canal and let your disc fade to the left and you will be in good shape. The basket appears to have been moved. It is currently behind a shrub to the left of the canal, and up by the road.
#4 Nice ACE Run Hole. You tee off slightly uphill. Be careful not to shank your throw to the right into the road, as I did twice! There is also the same drainage canal here right before the basket, so be careful.
#5 Straight shot, but keep it low.
#6 There is a light pole in your throwing path, RHBH, about 40 ft off of the tee box. Again keep your shot low. 3 trees protect your approach from the right side.
#7 Tunnel Vision. You must hit your line here as there is a low ceiling about 75 ft off of the tee box.(Note there is a walking path to your right on this hole so be advised)
#8 Works left to right a tad. Has trees guarding the pin, but no biggie. Also there are stone table tops to contend with.
#9 The final hole. Here is your chance to air out a drive. Be extra cautious on this hole as the parking lot is on your left and a drive that got away from you could cause you some trouble. There is a big tree protecting the pins that you must navigate around upon your approach.
Overall this is a fun course to work out any kinks in your short game. Pro players would be bored here. Beginners and advanced players looking to hone certain skills will enjoy this course.
Cons: #9's Tee sign is missing.
It would be nice to see some more trash cans. As has been stated in previous reviews this park will get super busy. I played here on a Sunday evening and it was packed. There are a couple of walking paths that come into play, as well as a parking lot, and other items that you would find in a typical setting, so be aware before you throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun and quick play. Beginner friendly, and advanced players will get in quality mid range, fairway driver at the most, work here. As of my visit there were still some leaves on the ground from fall, but I didn't have trouble finding my discs. Also the drainage ditch that runs throughout the course didn't have much water in it, so getting your disc wasn't a problem. When the trees in this park get their leaves back, this course will be a lot tougher. As of my visit the trees were just starting to bud.
There is a playground, basketball court, and walking paths in this park. If you take your family with you there would be things to keep them occupied while you play.
It would be nice to see a course map in the links/file section for people from out of town that haven't been here before. However that being said, the course flows logically, as soon as you find #2- which is west of the basketball court.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The "Other" Course in Fort Smith

5+    3/7/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: dustincade
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Small and easy to navigate (2 and 5 are confusing the first time), All skill levels enjoy this park, in town, easy to get to, restrooms/ concessions, well laid out, never gets old, good signs, a bit of elevation change keeps most areas dry.
Cons: Dirt tees, close to busy streets, other park users do not mind standing in your way even though the course is designed to keep discs and people apart, the deep spot btw 8 and 9 stays muddy and slick, one drain hole around 8 pin will eat your putter if you aren't careful.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a few times a week, and I love it (much more than BG). It is more technical than BG, and I learned to play smart here. I don't think I ever play the holes the same way twice. The guys who play here tend to be super friendly. Some of the better players I've met prefer Tilles bc it keeps 'em honest with their shots.

 Small course big bang

1    6/27/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is a nice 9 hole. Easy to play twice and enjoy both times. Nice scenery in and around the park very old timey kinda rustic and mostly in the shade. There are bathrooms and water fountains that are easy to access. It is a city park so the grass and sidewalk are well maintained.Good mix for beginners and pros something you would be able to take your family to.
Cons: First time can be hard to find your way around. If the park is busy there is people every were. The holes are very tight and there is lots of OB by the baskets.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course to play but it is not something I would drive from very far to go play. I would recommend to play this course if you were in the area.

BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Compact and precise

2-4    1/11/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: C-rad22
Played: 54  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty well maintained but sometimes the leaves covered up the disc (It is winter). A quality 9 hole course
Cons: Pretty short, and (I heard) can get pretty busy with kids and joggers, since it surrounds a playground.
Other Thoughts: Great for a quick round, short and to the point

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tilles Park from an Out of Towner

1    11/24/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: GaryBlevins
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course achieves what it set out to be very well. It is a simple neighbohood course that is interesting, fun for beginners and a good quick round for more experienced players. It was a good course for me to take my nephew to for a nice hour long round.

The water adds a bit of a challenge, but the water is shallow enough that you can easily retreive your disc(s). The park has good parking, water fountains and bathrooms (though we didn't try to use them).
Cons: Given the time of year, it was no surprise to find some rather deep leaves. Though if you keep an eye on your discs you shouldn't have a problem.

We had a little trouble find the next hole, but it was no big deal. There were a few pedestrians that we had to wait on.
Other Thoughts: Again, nice course for what the designers had in mind. I took pictures of the course and they should be up soon. If you are headed through town and are looking for a quick round or a simpler course to play with a newbie, this will work just fine.

Enjoy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First Course ever played

1    5/16/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice layout and easy to navigate.
- Good variety of holes.
Cons: - Very busy.
- Some holes seem a little close to streets, but if you fairly good shouldn't be a problem.
Other Thoughts: - This is the first course I have ever played. Played with some cousins during a family get together at the park. Loved disc golf ever since, so this should tell you what kind of park it is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun for all

2-4    11/26/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: ericjones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: great for all skill levels. good variety of shots through trees. signs show next tee box. bathrooms are allways close because it is a small park.
Cons: lots of people here. with fall here, the leaves are bad. keep an eye on where your discs land. the leaves could cover them up pretty well.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.