Ft. Smith, AR 
Tilles Park Share
Uploaded By: GaryBlevins Hole #2 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 335ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Course Love Playing It

2-4    6/6/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: Big B
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: This is a well maintained and clean course that has been around since 1980. Baskets are old but are still in good shape. All the holes have signs telling the par, hole length, and picture showing line to basket. Tee boxes are fairly easy to find and holes flow good from basket to next tee. Holes #3 & #5 are great Ace holes. Course is fairly open so you can let it rip off the tee boxes.
Cons: The tee boxes are dirt and since the course was built in 1980 most of them are in poor condition. The course is in a very nice and popular city park, but is often very crowded and makes playing some holes difficult to play due to people being in the way. There is also a walking track around the outside of the park which also interferes with some holes. Although there are two parking lots, if the course is crowded parking will also be a issue.
Other Thoughts: Being a beginner, I love playing this course. It's fairly open and on the short side, which gives me a shot at shooting low and keeps me excited about playing. The course is well lit so you can play late in the day and finish your round if the sun goes down.

 The "Other" Course in Fort Smith

5+    3/7/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: dustincade
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Small and easy to navigate (2 and 5 are confusing the first time), All skill levels enjoy this park, in town, easy to get to, restrooms/ concessions, well laid out, never gets old, good signs, a bit of elevation change keeps most areas dry.
Cons: Dirt tees, close to busy streets, other park users do not mind standing in your way even though the course is designed to keep discs and people apart, the deep spot btw 8 and 9 stays muddy and slick, one drain hole around 8 pin will eat your putter if you aren't careful.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a few times a week, and I love it (much more than BG). It is more technical than BG, and I learned to play smart here. I don't think I ever play the holes the same way twice. The guys who play here tend to be super friendly. Some of the better players I've met prefer Tilles bc it keeps 'em honest with their shots.

 Tilles Park from an Out of Towner

1    11/24/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: GaryBlevins
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course achieves what it set out to be very well. It is a simple neighbohood course that is interesting, fun for beginners and a good quick round for more experienced players. It was a good course for me to take my nephew to for a nice hour long round.

The water adds a bit of a challenge, but the water is shallow enough that you can easily retreive your disc(s). The park has good parking, water fountains and bathrooms (though we didn't try to use them).
Cons: Given the time of year, it was no surprise to find some rather deep leaves. Though if you keep an eye on your discs you shouldn't have a problem.

We had a little trouble find the next hole, but it was no big deal. There were a few pedestrians that we had to wait on.
Other Thoughts: Again, nice course for what the designers had in mind. I took pictures of the course and they should be up soon. If you are headed through town and are looking for a quick round or a simpler course to play with a newbie, this will work just fine.

Enjoy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First Course ever played

1    5/16/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice layout and easy to navigate.
- Good variety of holes.
Cons: - Very busy.
- Some holes seem a little close to streets, but if you fairly good shouldn't be a problem.
Other Thoughts: - This is the first course I have ever played. Played with some cousins during a family get together at the park. Loved disc golf ever since, so this should tell you what kind of park it is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun for all

2-4    11/26/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: ericjones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: great for all skill levels. good variety of shots through trees. signs show next tee box. bathrooms are allways close because it is a small park.
Cons: lots of people here. with fall here, the leaves are bad. keep an eye on where your discs land. the leaves could cover them up pretty well.

 Tilles Park, Ft. Smith, AR

2-4    10/15/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course in a smaller park. All the tees have signs and the holes have good placement.
Cons: The tees are dirt. The park has never been very busy when I've played, but in the summer it looks like it could get full.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course, beware on a busy day

1/6/2005   8/7/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.2 Years
Pros: Short and to the point - nice in town course, easy to get in and out of
Old & pretty trees
Near stuff, so you can find a rest room/water/etc fast if you need it.
Cons: In the middle of town and easy to hit pedestrians/etc around town. If the park gets busy, forget it and go to Ben Geren, where you're out by yourself and the usual bike/run crowd you know how to handle.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. I played this before BG was built, so it was well maintained. I thought it was fun and as good as you could ask for a couple of blocks in the middle of an old growth urban area.

 Watchoo talkin' bout Tilles

6/24/2008   6/25/2008
Review By: ryandr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For a 9 hole course in town, it is really nice. Seven of the nine the holes are moderately wooded and under 300ft. The only hazards are trees, tables and benches, and the occassional pedestrians. The course plays fast and was not crowded during the evening. It is fun for beginners and a technical challenge for intermediates and advanced players. The course has good signage and tees are concrete.
Cons: Some holes are close to traffic/city streets. Several holes have picnic tables and walking paths in and cutting through the fairways.
Other Thoughts: The holes run counter-clockwise around the course - this will help you find #2 hole. Watch out for dog crap!! This is a pet friendly park. Thus, some remnants of the previous pooch ended up on my disc bag and then later found some on my shoes. Overall, this course was fun, quick, and provided a enjoyable challenge.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center