Gaithersburg, MD 
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #23
3 / 241ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Short Tee



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Now that's a DG Course.

2-4    3/15/2016   3/17/2016
Review By: stratedge
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course with some very picturesque holes, with challenges to match. A whole bunch of factors come together to basically make this the best course I've played to date.

The 27 holes weave in and out of a fairly dense forest and back into grassy clearings with much more spaced trees. Each set of 9 holes forms it's own loop returning to the parking lot, so that you can play any set of 9 or 18 holes you desire. The parking lot and start of the course is on the high ground of a hill that slopes down into the surrounding creeks, so there's usually an uphill/downhill factor in most holes.

The baskets are adequate older DGA baskets with no issues, well maintained, and the various tee pads are often made with large paving stones and bricks with a few newer poured concrete pads. All are nice and long though sometimes slightly narrow. The signage is good and most of the course has various indicators of how to move from a basket to the next tee. Navigation was rarely a challenge.

There's red and white tee pads for every hole, and on some of them an additional blue (hardest) tee, that generally seemed to take the tact of giving you a more occluded entry into the fairway without being much further. Then on top of that there's 2-4 pin placements per hole to keep things fresh if you come here often. There's even a bead on a set of hooks on the tee sign to let you know which placement the pin is in!

It's hard to put my finger on exactly what it is that makes this course exceptional; everything about it is great with no weaknesses, but what exactly is outstandingly unique about the course? I think there's 2 really memorable aspects for me:

First, it's pretty. Very pretty, at least the parts within the grassy clearings with some trees with lots of character and rolling hills surrounded by the forest. There were a few tees where I just stopped to enjoy the beauty of the hole for a second before throwing. There was one completing a loop, I think it was hole 18, that made me regret not bringing my camera because I could have made a great desktop background out of that view.

Second, there's some really good course design here largely due to just how conducive the landscape is to disc golf, but credit to the designers that they didn't waste it. Some of the holes are really interesting in how they play the ceiling created by the trees against the rolling landscape of the hills. Traditionally when we talk about hitting a gap in disc golf, it's implied that the gap is horizontal in nature, between the trees on the left and the trees on the right. Here, on numerous holes, the gaps are vertical, and you've got to hit a spot between the ceiling created by the tree branches and the floor created by the rising or falling slope of turf.

One hole stands out for me where you have to play downhill and then uphill again, but in the apex of the gully the tree cover will knock down your discs as you try to squeeze out max distance. There's a risk reward decision there and on many holes, challenging how high do you dare throw in the name of distance.
Cons: You can always nit-pick, but the complaints here are really small.

The strongest complaint I can come up with is that there's an over abundance of holes requiring left-to-right shots relative to the right-to-left shots, meaning that a really good RHFH or LHBH game would have a significant advantage here, I think. I have a heavy preference for RHBH but found myself trying to throw a lot of long distance forehand here because the hold demanded it.

Besides that, while the holes that played through the scenic grassy clearings near the parking lot were amazing, some of the holes playing through the forest were a little too "plinko" for my tastes, with the fairway not being fair. I'm pretty confident hyzer flipping up tunnel shots, but there were a few here where all you can do is throw it up the gap and hope you get fairly far before you inevitably hit a tree, and don't kick too deep. One hole I recall, the biggest gap was 3 to 4 feet (it would have been okay from the tee pad immediately in front of it, but didn't play very well from the harder tee). To put this into perspective, though, it's a 27 hole course and this is maybe 5 holes we're talking about where I'd complain some trees needed to go. Generally, there's a well defined fairway to hit even through the wooded holes. This problem is sparse.

The tee pads were a bit narrow. The grass was thin and since it rained the day before it was a bit muddy. Stuff like that. You really have to reach to try to criticize this course.
Other Thoughts: It's a challenging course and I like that. I didn't play great in my 2 rounds here but that's what you'd want if you're lucky enough to get to play this course a lot. It would take time to learn the best shots for all the holes and put up some good scores.

What I'd give to have this as a home course... I could play thousands of rounds here with the multiple pin placements and never get bored.

It's great golf all around, and lots of variety. I am really glad I made the trip out. The drive through the state park to the course sets up some high expectations, and you're not disappointed in the slightest when you get there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best DC Area Course

5+    9/5/2015   9/5/2015
Review By: BAH618
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was well maintained, with signs listing the pin, pin location and distances at every hole. The course mixes both wooded and open holes, also includes some holes that are bordered by a stream. The combination of woods and distance provides a reasonable challenge (however also provides some easier holes).
Cons: The bugs at this course can be very bad. At times you will be swarmed with gnats, I have also found ticks after playing. The course is also lacking holes with any significant "wow" factors. No great downhill shots, or shots over a lake, etc.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in this area, the cons I have listed are minor nit piks but placed to explain why I rated this course as a 4 instead of 4.5 or 5.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Layout and Great Course

1    8/9/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: dylangrantclark
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was very well-kept. The holes were challenging, yet fun to play. There were novice tees for new player and children. Each hole had a variety of basket placements, which I assume are regularly changed.
Cons: The layout can be confusing at times, you will find yourself walking past tees and baskets to find the next hole. A few holes were spaced out a little farther than I would have liked. $5 out-of-state entrance fee into the park.
Other Thoughts: Very beautiful layout, and 27 holes. The holes were very fun to play, and it was always quite easy to find your discs. Coming from Kentucky, it was a nice change of scenery. The addition of some old broken down cars on the front nine was very interesting. Didn't get to play the last nine holes though, maybe next trip.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in Maryland

1    5/28/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.1 Years
Pros: This course has a great layout of 27 holes which has three 9 hole loops that all meet in a central location so you are never too far from where you parked. There are multiple tees and basket locations per hole and plenty of benches around the course. There are signs on each hole and the entire course is set up nicely for tournaments. There is a good mix of woods and open holes and the forest is never too thick with undergrowth so losing a disc is less likely to happen. The course is also located in a nice park.
Cons: The park has an entrance fee. Some of the signs can be a little confusing and finding the baskets in the different locations usually requires a quick walk down the fairway. Some of the tee pads were pretty bad with lots of holes and potential spots to trip over when throwing. This is not a course for really opening up some long drives, there always seems to be an inconvenient tree that is randomly placed in a spot that forces you to lay up on many holes.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in Maryland. Its definitely worth going out of your way to play here. Be ready for some crowds sometimes because this is a popular place. They should increase the frequency of tournaments here.

everything you could want in a dg course!

1    5/10/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: adazm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: of the hundreds of courses i have played, this is definitely one of my favorite. just a beautiful layout with 9 holes all looping back to the parking lot. the long holes are incredibly challenging, the short holes are a birdie fest, and the mediums are pleasantly in between.
great OB line markers.
the creek never hurts for ambiance!
Cons: lack of trash cans is a minor annoyance, but hardly a big deal.
there was a tremendous amount of creepy crawly wildlife (i saw 2 snakes, a large toad, a gillion caterpillar things that fell from the sky and a giant millipede dealie). so it goes.
Other Thoughts: granted i was here in the midst of spring on an 82 degree day with low humidity. am not sure i would have been AS enchanted here in january or july.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maryland's Finest

5+    4/5/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: Mohawk Mack
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes with a varitey of holes, a few lunch eaters and few aceable holes and everything in between. Each 9 starts and ends right by the parking lot. There's two practice baskets right by the parking lot as well. There's plently of signage and new tee pads have been installed on 8 holes. Multiple pin placements. Cost you $3 to get into the park on the weekends from Easter till October, but it's worth it. There's a crew of guys that maintain and improve the course regularly, if you see them, please thank them, without them it wouldn't be the course it is.
Cons: No trash cans, so please whatever you bring in, please take it out with you, that includes your cigarette butts too!
The only real cons that I see is for players new to the course, it can get a bit confusing going from #5 to #6, you have to go up the hill to #6 tee pad. And from #12 to #13. You have to walk down towards #6 tee pad and walk down to #13 tee pad towards the creek. And from #7 to #8, because it intersects with #24 to #25, but if you open your eyes and use your head, you should be just fine. The only other con would be #13 & #14 can get really muddy and slick after a solid rain and make throwing a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: The pin placements get changed pretty regularly to keep things interesting. In the warmer months you will have bugs and other critters but you're playing disc golf outside, in the woods, in Maryland, you're bound to incounter a few, be prepared.
Out of Bounds on #3, #4, #5, #13, & #14, and will put a hurtin' on your score.
All & all, it's a great course and if you haven't played it yet, you need to play it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New Teepads!

5+    4/1/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: badbrad
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/20/2016
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A major effort to replace the older teepad has begun. The local club installed ten new concrete teepads in 2015. They are ready to play on holes 2 Blue, 3 Blue, 6 Red, 7 Red and 7 White, 11 Red, 13 Red, 18 Blue, 23 Blue and 27 Red. Average size is 4 1/2' wide x 15' long. They are large and level!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    3/23/2015   3/31/2015
Review By: hawk12
Played: 211  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 25.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three separate nine hole loops, multiple pins and two tees on every holes give so many options for the casual player and tournament layouts to be different.
Outstanding design and use of the land (which is pretty great in its own right). Many different shots must be played through the field holes and the wooded holes alike. Having a good, well balanced game of power and finesse comes into play here - too much of one and not enough of the other will not yield a tournament winner.
Back to the land, nice elevation changes, streams, nicely mowed grass fields, beautiful wooded areas with views of the creek and far hillsides on several holes.
The park itself has nice amenities, heated bathrooms, running water, ample parking, well maintained. This is a pack it in, pack it out park - so don;t expect trash cans. But be respectful and clean up after yourself.
Cons: The tee pads always seem to be a work in progress. They are being worked on and I like what I'm seeing.
Used to be very narrow tee pads, and the older, shorter concrete ones are being expanded on.
Last time there I saw 4x6s around a few tees and others were already expanded and had a gravel base down, so this one draw back is being worked on.
And I do know just how much work it is to install 54 tee pads in some not too easy to get to places... But its my only con at Seneca
Other Thoughts: I've been traveling to and playing Seneca for 10+ years and really love it here. Seasonal allergies do just about kill me as I'm allergic to the invasive Olive trees & have had a really tough time at the Soiree more than once...
The course is well worth the 3 hour drive for me, and I would recommend it to any golfer.
The design is what I really like, it has worked through the old roller course (still was a great course) and evolved into one of the more well rounded courses in my opinion. As stated, it takes all your shots to do well here.
The variety of shot selection, risk/reward shots, as well as the mental & physical challenge of playing 27 holes in the longer pins - Seneca is truly one of my favorite courses.
If/when the tees get finished and are all large, level and consistent, this is easily a 4.75-5 course for me. I'd put it at 4.5 even with the variety of tees in use today.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great disc golf course

1    12/6/2014   1/4/2015
Review By: dj3k
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2015
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 27 holes

Good signage. Not confusing as a first timer trying to navigate.

Great variety of holes. Plenty of lengthy holes.

This course seems to have some good support from a local club. I went on a Saturday late morning in late fall and it was busy. There appeared to be a possibly some random draw dubs going on. There was also a work crew out there. All the signs of healthy club to support this well maintained course.

Great variety of tees and basket positions.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely go back if I am ever in the beltway again, which I am sure I will be.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

If its winter time...

1    12/3/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: Bd 37
Played: 66  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very fun course. Tons of different shots, S shots, long bomb hazers, short putter driving holes, low flick skip shots etc. You will need a wide range of skills to succeed here.
Good variety of length and accuracy, and with the variety of tee pads to shoot from, there should be a configuration for most skill levels.
Cons: A few holes just hard for hard sake. I think even a tour pro might be banging their head against a wall after playing a few of these holes. Tee pads could use a bit of work.
Other Thoughts: If the park was free to enter, this would be a 4.5+ in my book. However, with the rather steep price of admission, my standards go up. I expect more trash cans throughout, better tee pads, and some of the trails were hard to follow for someone playing the course blind. All in all, definitely one to play if your in the area

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.