Disc Golf Store
Gaithersburg, MD 
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #24
3 / 312ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Short Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Awesome wooded course

1    9/28/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Efan08
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good wooded course. Has a nice variety of shots. I threw most of the discs in my bag which is uncommon among most wooded courses.

Good looking tee signs with a successful way of representing which location the basket is in.

Nice concrete/paver tee pads at every hole

Fairways were mowed

Great course
Cons: Only con is that there is no bathroom or water nearby.
Other Thoughts: One of the best wooded courses I've played. When I played I went with some beginners and even they loved the challenge of the course. Hopefully when I go back the baskets will be moved to the longs so I can see what this course is really made of.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!

5+    6/20/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: cschu8
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout, accurate signs, beautiful freshly mowed meadows with cedar trees. Highly challenging, especially when in C pins. Disc golf heaven.
Cons: Milton wrote "The fault-finder will find fault even in paradise." I am not a fault-finder and this course is so much better than 95% of all courses I have ever played that it is not worth noting any negatives.
Other Thoughts: The nicest course I have ever played. Comparable to Tyler State Park in PA but nothing else comes close in the mid-Atlantic area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2011   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is very well laid out and well marked. Lots of trees make it challenging but its forgiving enough so its a really fun course. Each set of 9 holes comes back to the start, so you can play the front 9, middle 9, or back 9, or any combination of the 3
Cons: None really
Other Thoughts: Personally my favorite course I've played so far

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

5+    7/23/2009   11/22/2010
Review By: Crackers
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Easily one of the most beautiful courses out there.
Short, long, open and tunnel holes.
Good pro shop.
27 holes that will keep you busy for a long time.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I love this place and wish I still lived in the area to play it more.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Must play course of MD

5+    10/4/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: dtwo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in MD, play it when you get the chance.

Three loops of 9 holes with two tees for each hole, and multiple pin positions.

Before the Fall 2008 Soiree they finished enough tees so that the tournament was played completely on concrete tee pads!

Lots of variety, from tight fairways to more open, elevation changes, tight OB lines, etc.
Cons: A few tee pads remain to be completed before it will all be 100% concrete tees.

MD residents pay $2 entry fee on weekends ... still worth it or get the $75 / year State Park permit and play Patapsco too!
Other Thoughts: 2007 Soiree White tees to long SSA: 88.22
2007 Soiree Red tees to long SSA: 80.30


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Now twenty seven... disc golf heaven!

1    12/30/2008   1/12/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2009
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As soon as you enter this large state park you start to feel serene as you pass woods, a lake, and large meadows. This peaceful ambiance engulfs the disc golf course at the back of the park too. Wildlife abounds; there's nothing like having a 4 point buck stand close by… until he outdrives you!

The course abounds with variety. With three 9 hole loops that begin and end at the parking lot there's plenty of variety, so that you can play 3 different 18 hole combinations. With two sets of teepads the course caters to many playing levels. In addition, every hole has at least two basket positions while many have 3 placements, so this creates up to six layouts per hole! Shorter throwers can enjoy the short tees (Red), but from the long tees (White) to the long basket positions even the world's top pros are challenged. The course has a great mixture of terrain with some woods holes mixed with more open well manicured grass and trees. But also beware of the many disc eating cedar trees throughout the fairways! If you do get stuck one of the thoughtful extras are many long poles scattered throughout the course to help get your discs out. The fairways are well shaped, varied, and wide. There are many nice elevation changes on the rolling hills and I especially enjoyed the holes along Seneca Creek. My favorite is hole 13, a long challenging dogleg right, with the OB creek all down the left side. It has abundant beauty mixed with the ever present risk of straying too far left.

There are many great Amenities too. There's a first class message board with a box for maps, and a better, color version of the course map is also available online. Make sure to get one. They also have a practice basket with a large warm up area and it even has an "Around the World" game marked out with bricks. The hard working club is constantly improving the course, so I know they've made some upgrades even since I played there.
Cons: -Make sure to get a map because navigating the course can be difficult since there are so many holes. There are a few spots where you need to sort out which way to go among multiple options. There are even a few forlorn old concrete teepads that are no longer in use from the original design.
-It would be really helpful if they could mark what basket position each hole is in. It's available on the course discussion board, but one has to plan ahead to get on the internet and find the right forum post to get this information.
-(A tiny quibble) The map needs to be updated slightly. 17 holes have 3 basket positions, but only 8 holes show all 3 positions on the map.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of the 3rd nine hole loop a great course has been made even greater, and it's currently one of my Top 5 favorite courses (of ~220 played). I think this is World Class course, so make every effort to play it! It's well worth even making a long road trip to get to!

You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.