Gaithersburg, MD
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #26
3 / 299ft.   3 / 377ft. Par / Distance:
New Hole 26 - Zoomed from tee. Oval shows A-position; Basket is in B-pin, 60 feet to the left.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Awesome wooded course

1    9/28/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Efan08
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good wooded course. Has a nice variety of shots. I threw most of the discs in my bag which is uncommon among most wooded courses.

Good looking tee signs with a successful way of representing which location the basket is in.

Nice concrete/paver tee pads at every hole

Fairways were mowed

Great course
Cons: Only con is that there is no bathroom or water nearby.
Other Thoughts: One of the best wooded courses I've played. When I played I went with some beginners and even they loved the challenge of the course. Hopefully when I go back the baskets will be moved to the longs so I can see what this course is really made of.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 White Tail Crowds

1    9/12/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: RunningManMO_1981
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 32.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: We played in a Thunderstorm, no other players, just 50 to 60 White Tails, trying to be moving obstacles.
Cons: Maybe a bit better use of all the great elevation change would improve this to a higher rated course. It is great, could be even better.
Other Thoughts: Lost a Morley Field Hat and a pair of Sunglasses, please contact if found. Hat was Black. Glasses have a strap. Can you ask if park staff found it for me, please?

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/6/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 33.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes of top notch disc golf holes. This course is in a State Park, that recognizes how popular the sport is. Course is laid out in 3 9 hole stretches that come back to the parking lot. 3 tees per hole. Multiple pin positions that get moved around. Tee signs are pretty good at indicating which pin position is in play.
Cons: Only a Jiffy John in the parking area. No water or other facilities at the disc golf course (there are other facilities in the park.) Signs are only at one of the tee pads per hole.
Other Thoughts: I had played this course in its original 18 hole configuration 20 years ago. A configuration I prefer over today's design. However many of the trees (cedars) from back then have grown out and closed out that course. This is (for the most part) a tight technical course, through a wooded section of the park. Some areas are old growth (tall trees with few lower branches), others are recent open growth area (aka lots of branches).

Discs for sale (and bags) are available at the Park headquarters. There is an entrance fee for the park on weekends ($3 for MD residents, $5 for out of staters). Park Headquarters is accessible without having to pay the entrance fee.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Killer Park

2-4    10/19/2012   10/19/2012
Review By: skyzer213
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are a lot of pros to this course. Lots of elevation change. Very wooded fairways and not so wooded fairways. 2-3 tees on every hole. In the fall season the trees are absolutely beautiful.
Cons: The majority of tees are not level. They vary from being slightly uphill/downhill to being too much on way or the other. Also most of the tees are made up of slippery cobblestones or flag stones which make it very difficult to get a good throw off in wet or moist conditions.
Other Thoughts: I was very impressed overall with this course. Its laid out in a 30 acre area which makes for a lot of variety. The first nine begins with a tight fairway that I have yet to hit, and continues on through the forest getting a little bit more forgiving as you go. The second nine is brutal to say the least. Very long and very wet in a few places. The final nine is very manicured looking; rolling grassy hills with a variety of trees.
Im from Nor Cal and we have some pretty awesome courses in our area but I wish we had this course in our area as well. Cant wait to return to Gaithersburg in the future and play here again!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Can't beat it

1    9/23/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: goober
Played: 75  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - variety. incl different pin positions and mats for P & A 's
- beautiful surroundings
- excellent t areas
- very nice holes descriptions
Cons: - not well marked in spots
- holes are "comingled"; this means I would think that holes 1-9 etc would be grouped together but they are sort of intertwined - bad for a first timer like me
- need to be careful on the front 9 for potentially losing discs
- DC traffic - need I say more ?
Other Thoughts: - very, very nice, challenging course - if you are in the area, a must
- GPS coordinates put me in a resindential area so I need to check what I entered into the nav system

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The pride of the Old Line State!

1    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a butt-kicker, but that's a good thing. You're gonna need a lot of shots in your bag to do well here. You're going to need to navigate a lot lines. And most of all, you're going to need a pretty big and (more importantly) accurate arm.

- Course is comprised of a set of three loops which all wrap back to the parking lot area. This is great if you only want to play a quick round of nine. It'd also be great for tournaments, as it spaces out the participants a little.

- From what I can tell, the disc golf area is almost exclusively for disc golfers, so you shouldn't have to worry about too many other park activities.

- Seneca Creek has many pin and tee placements. Signage is great, as it not only has a map of the hole, but also denotes which pin is currently in place. Most tees are well-kept (at least the white ones I played on).

- Some people may complain about the placement of certain cedar trees on holes, but I felt like each hole was designed such that skill--not luck--was rewarded to the thrower. Many holes actually had several lines to hit with accuracy.

- Holes #13 and #14 are the best in the park, IMO, due to the fact that the creek comes into play and adds some pressure in addition to the precarious placement of trees.
Cons: - What makes this course a 4 and not a 4.5 or 5 is the fact that despite some rolling hills, there's not a lot of major elevation changes. Man, this course would be killer if you could bomb some down a steep hill! A few shots that require overhand shots (tomahawks/thumbers) would also be great here.

- No super signature or unique holes that many courses of this caliber have. In fact, the three loops blended together a lot of times. The only holes that really stand out were the ones in which the creek came into play. The moderate elevation change of #22 was also memorable, but no holes that will be in my top 25 list.

- Despite having 27 holes, this place can be crowded. I saw about 10-12 other groups playing here the day I showed up.

- Definitely a course that favors RHFH throwers or lefties. I didn't keep track of each hole, but I'd say the imbalance is around 65-35. This course definitely makes me want to develop my RHFH game.

- Costs $3 for MD residents and $5 for out-of-staters like myself.
Other Thoughts: You'll hit some trees here. Actually, you'll probably hit a lot of trees. I love courses with long, technical lines to navigate, but this course even tested my resolve. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed myself here, but definitely won't be playing any tournaments anytime soon!

I haven't played a whole lot of courses in Maryland, but this one blows the rest out of the water. I'd be ten times better if this was my home course. Many of the pins were in the longest position, which has its pros and cons. I'd like to play this in the late autumn or winter and see how different it is without the foliage.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

5+    6/20/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: cschu8
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout, accurate signs, beautiful freshly mowed meadows with cedar trees. Highly challenging, especially when in C pins. Disc golf heaven.
Cons: Milton wrote "The fault-finder will find fault even in paradise." I am not a fault-finder and this course is so much better than 95% of all courses I have ever played that it is not worth noting any negatives.
Other Thoughts: The nicest course I have ever played. Comparable to Tyler State Park in PA but nothing else comes close in the mid-Atlantic area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/14/2011   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is very well laid out and well marked. Lots of trees make it challenging but its forgiving enough so its a really fun course. Each set of 9 holes comes back to the start, so you can play the front 9, middle 9, or back 9, or any combination of the 3
Cons: None really
Other Thoughts: Personally my favorite course I've played so far

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not to be Missed

2-4    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: Clive
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very Clean
- Situated in a huge multi-purpose state park
- No entry fee on weekdays
- Will test even the best players
- 3 sets of 9 holes, each leading back to the parking lot, which makes it easy to play any combination of 9s.
- Intuitive layout bolstered by strong signage and accurate maps.
- 2 to 3 teepads per hole and 2 to 4 pin locations make for outstanding replayability.
- Friendly locals.
Cons: - A few holes seem excessively wooded and could probably benefit from some axe-work.
- No drinking fountains or bathrooms nearby.
Other Thoughts: - Buggy! Bring that bug spray or you'll be hounded by marauding insects for much of the course.
- A full bag of shots is required to be successful here; good risk/reward opportunities abound.
- Bring plenty of water. This is as much of a hike as it is a round of disc and truly not for the feint of heart. After getting off I-270, there is a grocery store on the right side of the road near a business complex that makes for a good place to grab provisions.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Will always be loved

5+    5/25/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: PanamaJacks
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What an excellent course. Come with your A game and leave the newbies at home. Seriously. 2-3 tees and 3 different pin locations will keep this course fresh every time you play. Signs at every tee show you the hole, distances and pin location(usually). Next tee signs when needed. 3 groups of nine holes all start and end up at the parking lot for water refuels and breaks. Two practice holes and plenty of open space to warm up before you start. Map posted on the kiosk just in case. The local community is very active and friendly here. The course is clean, challenging and beautiful. Lots of great risk/reward for the gambler in you.
Cons: A few, very few, of the tee pads need to be replaced as they are starting to crumble. As it's spring now, keep a close eye on that drive. Errant drives will get lost in the underbrush, though you'll find most of them after a few minutes.
Other Thoughts: Bring your own water, carry out your trash. This is a very clean course, let's keep it that way.
Hole 1: Starts on the north side of the parking lot by the pile of gravel. If you haven't warmed up, get ready for some ping-pong on this narrow, downhill fairway.
Hole 2: Mostly open fairway over a hill is broken up by 4 foot high tree stumps and a wood pile. I call this one 'The Graveyard'. Be sure to check the pin location before teeing off as they are all blind from the tee.
Hole 3: Now you're really in the woods. Your downhill tee shot will fly or skip into the creek if you're not careful. Challenging, but 2's are very possible here.
Hole 4: All holes are on the right and protected by well-spaced trees. Watch out for the OB on the left.
Hole 5: Your drive will take you into a beautiful fairway with a high ceiling. Don't throw that backhand too high though, or you'll end up in the creek.
Hole 6: Go up the hill from 5 and take a long look down this alley. Do you see the lines? A well shaped FH or BH will put you within striking distance of all pin locations.
Hole 7: Let it rip and don't piss off the guard trees. Still an easy par in all pin locations if you end up in the middle.
Hole 8: Another nice fairway with a couple of blind hole locations. Pull back and keep it low. 2 hidden pin locations on the left, so check the sign first.
Hole 9: You can get back to the parking lot if you can get past the guard trees into the open fairway. Don't get bogged down on the left side, it's not worth it.
Hole 10: Go past the kiosk and check out this cool, rolling-hill hole. If you have a good roller, bring it out and give it a try. Three cool pin locations. Stay out of the woods on the left. I love this hole.
Hole 11: Not really a difficult hole. Just don't try too hard or you'll end up in the rough. on the left or right.
Hole 12: A very challenging hole in the C pin location. The down and up gives you a chance to rip a really long one. Going too far right off the tee will get you in trouble.
Hole 13: This one's been in the D location for a while now and is very challenging. Bring out your FH or your BH anhyzer from the tee. Watch out for the huge old tree in front and to the right though. (Hint: For your FH drive, start off the teepad on the left and step on before letting go.) If you have the range, watch out for the creek at the dogleg right. A great risk/reward hole.
Hole 14: This low lying fairway may be wet at times, but never unplayable. With a long open fairway, keep it low and watch out for the creek on the left.
Hole 15: After a brief walk, use a strong, low backhand to skip around the dogleg and up the hill. Ending up in the rough on the right will force you to flop out on the fairway. Use care with BHs on the approach.
Hole 16: This is a great risk/reward hole. The long, narrowish fairway is great for ping pong. Very challenging off of the tee, but if you can get a clear drive, a 2 is possible and 3 guaranteed
Hole 17: Slight uphill drive will drop downhill again if it's long enough. Robogrip is a real danger here. Just keep it in the middle and you'll be okay.
Hole 18: .Another uphill drive flattens out after 150 ft.. Need I say, avoid the trees?
Hole 19: Tee is between 18's hole and the parking lot. This is a good hole to strut your hyzers on. Go too far right and you're in the deep stuff.
Hole 20: A narrow fairway doglegs SHARP right at 100 ft. If you can get a roller through, you just might park it
Hole 21: Keep it out of the rough on the right. A long, low drive can get you some great distance if the ground is dry and the grass is short.
Hole 22: A high drive and you'll be poking in the cedar trees, so watch out. Sharp accuracy is needed here and an anhyzer won't hurt either.
Hole 23: The pin is usually in the C position. A 4 here is really your par. Put your first drive at the mouth of the long, downhill alley and short of the mando for a still very tough approach. Stay high and out of the woods for any chance at par.
Hole 24: Take it easy and put your uphill drive between the trees and in the fairway for a birdie attempt.
Hole 25: The long pin locations will tempt you to air it out on this downhill drive. Watch out for the mando off the tee and KEEP IT LOW. The C pin location is long, left and into a stand of trees. A low drive can skip you right under the basket, but it's a crap shoot. Not an easy one to park.
Hole 26: Drive over a valley and back uphill. Watch out for the towering tree in the middle. Too far right and you're in deep trouble. "A" pin location is on top of the hill just out of sight to the left.
Hole 27: If you have a fear of cedar trees, you're in trouble here. Keep your aim tight off the tee. After the first trees though, it opens up for a long drive possibility. Be sure to check the sign for pin locations.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.