Gaithersburg, MD 
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #24
3 / 312ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Approach: Basket is in A position on left, B position back and to right.



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The pride of the Old Line State!

1    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a butt-kicker, but that's a good thing. You're gonna need a lot of shots in your bag to do well here. You're going to need to navigate a lot lines. And most of all, you're going to need a pretty big and (more importantly) accurate arm.

- Course is comprised of a set of three loops which all wrap back to the parking lot area. This is great if you only want to play a quick round of nine. It'd also be great for tournaments, as it spaces out the participants a little.

- From what I can tell, the disc golf area is almost exclusively for disc golfers, so you shouldn't have to worry about too many other park activities.

- Seneca Creek has many pin and tee placements. Signage is great, as it not only has a map of the hole, but also denotes which pin is currently in place. Most tees are well-kept (at least the white ones I played on).

- Some people may complain about the placement of certain cedar trees on holes, but I felt like each hole was designed such that skill--not luck--was rewarded to the thrower. Many holes actually had several lines to hit with accuracy.

- Holes #13 and #14 are the best in the park, IMO, due to the fact that the creek comes into play and adds some pressure in addition to the precarious placement of trees.
Cons: - What makes this course a 4 and not a 4.5 or 5 is the fact that despite some rolling hills, there's not a lot of major elevation changes. Man, this course would be killer if you could bomb some down a steep hill! A few shots that require overhand shots (tomahawks/thumbers) would also be great here.

- No super signature or unique holes that many courses of this caliber have. In fact, the three loops blended together a lot of times. The only holes that really stand out were the ones in which the creek came into play. The moderate elevation change of #22 was also memorable, but no holes that will be in my top 25 list.

- Despite having 27 holes, this place can be crowded. I saw about 10-12 other groups playing here the day I showed up.

- Definitely a course that favors RHFH throwers or lefties. I didn't keep track of each hole, but I'd say the imbalance is around 65-35. This course definitely makes me want to develop my RHFH game.

- Costs $3 for MD residents and $5 for out-of-staters like myself.
Other Thoughts: You'll hit some trees here. Actually, you'll probably hit a lot of trees. I love courses with long, technical lines to navigate, but this course even tested my resolve. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed myself here, but definitely won't be playing any tournaments anytime soon!

I haven't played a whole lot of courses in Maryland, but this one blows the rest out of the water. I'd be ten times better if this was my home course. Many of the pins were in the longest position, which has its pros and cons. I'd like to play this in the late autumn or winter and see how different it is without the foliage.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!

5+    6/20/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: cschu8
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout, accurate signs, beautiful freshly mowed meadows with cedar trees. Highly challenging, especially when in C pins. Disc golf heaven.
Cons: Milton wrote "The fault-finder will find fault even in paradise." I am not a fault-finder and this course is so much better than 95% of all courses I have ever played that it is not worth noting any negatives.
Other Thoughts: The nicest course I have ever played. Comparable to Tyler State Park in PA but nothing else comes close in the mid-Atlantic area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2011   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is very well laid out and well marked. Lots of trees make it challenging but its forgiving enough so its a really fun course. Each set of 9 holes comes back to the start, so you can play the front 9, middle 9, or back 9, or any combination of the 3
Cons: None really
Other Thoughts: Personally my favorite course I've played so far

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not to be Missed

2-4    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: Clive
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very Clean
- Situated in a huge multi-purpose state park
- No entry fee on weekdays
- Will test even the best players
- 3 sets of 9 holes, each leading back to the parking lot, which makes it easy to play any combination of 9s.
- Intuitive layout bolstered by strong signage and accurate maps.
- 2 to 3 teepads per hole and 2 to 4 pin locations make for outstanding replayability.
- Friendly locals.
Cons: - A few holes seem excessively wooded and could probably benefit from some axe-work.
- No drinking fountains or bathrooms nearby.
Other Thoughts: - Buggy! Bring that bug spray or you'll be hounded by marauding insects for much of the course.
- A full bag of shots is required to be successful here; good risk/reward opportunities abound.
- Bring plenty of water. This is as much of a hike as it is a round of disc and truly not for the feint of heart. After getting off I-270, there is a grocery store on the right side of the road near a business complex that makes for a good place to grab provisions.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will always be loved

5+    5/25/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: PanamaJacks
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What an excellent course. Come with your A game and leave the newbies at home. Seriously. 2-3 tees and 3 different pin locations will keep this course fresh every time you play. Signs at every tee show you the hole, distances and pin location(usually). Next tee signs when needed. 3 groups of nine holes all start and end up at the parking lot for water refuels and breaks. Two practice holes and plenty of open space to warm up before you start. Map posted on the kiosk just in case. The local community is very active and friendly here. The course is clean, challenging and beautiful. Lots of great risk/reward for the gambler in you.
Cons: A few, very few, of the tee pads need to be replaced as they are starting to crumble. As it's spring now, keep a close eye on that drive. Errant drives will get lost in the underbrush, though you'll find most of them after a few minutes.
Other Thoughts: Bring your own water, carry out your trash. This is a very clean course, let's keep it that way.
Hole 1: Starts on the north side of the parking lot by the pile of gravel. If you haven't warmed up, get ready for some ping-pong on this narrow, downhill fairway.
Hole 2: Mostly open fairway over a hill is broken up by 4 foot high tree stumps and a wood pile. I call this one 'The Graveyard'. Be sure to check the pin location before teeing off as they are all blind from the tee.
Hole 3: Now you're really in the woods. Your downhill tee shot will fly or skip into the creek if you're not careful. Challenging, but 2's are very possible here.
Hole 4: All holes are on the right and protected by well-spaced trees. Watch out for the OB on the left.
Hole 5: Your drive will take you into a beautiful fairway with a high ceiling. Don't throw that backhand too high though, or you'll end up in the creek.
Hole 6: Go up the hill from 5 and take a long look down this alley. Do you see the lines? A well shaped FH or BH will put you within striking distance of all pin locations.
Hole 7: Let it rip and don't piss off the guard trees. Still an easy par in all pin locations if you end up in the middle.
Hole 8: Another nice fairway with a couple of blind hole locations. Pull back and keep it low. 2 hidden pin locations on the left, so check the sign first.
Hole 9: You can get back to the parking lot if you can get past the guard trees into the open fairway. Don't get bogged down on the left side, it's not worth it.
Hole 10: Go past the kiosk and check out this cool, rolling-hill hole. If you have a good roller, bring it out and give it a try. Three cool pin locations. Stay out of the woods on the left. I love this hole.
Hole 11: Not really a difficult hole. Just don't try too hard or you'll end up in the rough. on the left or right.
Hole 12: A very challenging hole in the C pin location. The down and up gives you a chance to rip a really long one. Going too far right off the tee will get you in trouble.
Hole 13: This one's been in the D location for a while now and is very challenging. Bring out your FH or your BH anhyzer from the tee. Watch out for the huge old tree in front and to the right though. (Hint: For your FH drive, start off the teepad on the left and step on before letting go.) If you have the range, watch out for the creek at the dogleg right. A great risk/reward hole.
Hole 14: This low lying fairway may be wet at times, but never unplayable. With a long open fairway, keep it low and watch out for the creek on the left.
Hole 15: After a brief walk, use a strong, low backhand to skip around the dogleg and up the hill. Ending up in the rough on the right will force you to flop out on the fairway. Use care with BHs on the approach.
Hole 16: This is a great risk/reward hole. The long, narrowish fairway is great for ping pong. Very challenging off of the tee, but if you can get a clear drive, a 2 is possible and 3 guaranteed
Hole 17: Slight uphill drive will drop downhill again if it's long enough. Robogrip is a real danger here. Just keep it in the middle and you'll be okay.
Hole 18: .Another uphill drive flattens out after 150 ft.. Need I say, avoid the trees?
Hole 19: Tee is between 18's hole and the parking lot. This is a good hole to strut your hyzers on. Go too far right and you're in the deep stuff.
Hole 20: A narrow fairway doglegs SHARP right at 100 ft. If you can get a roller through, you just might park it
Hole 21: Keep it out of the rough on the right. A long, low drive can get you some great distance if the ground is dry and the grass is short.
Hole 22: A high drive and you'll be poking in the cedar trees, so watch out. Sharp accuracy is needed here and an anhyzer won't hurt either.
Hole 23: The pin is usually in the C position. A 4 here is really your par. Put your first drive at the mouth of the long, downhill alley and short of the mando for a still very tough approach. Stay high and out of the woods for any chance at par.
Hole 24: Take it easy and put your uphill drive between the trees and in the fairway for a birdie attempt.
Hole 25: The long pin locations will tempt you to air it out on this downhill drive. Watch out for the mando off the tee and KEEP IT LOW. The C pin location is long, left and into a stand of trees. A low drive can skip you right under the basket, but it's a crap shoot. Not an easy one to park.
Hole 26: Drive over a valley and back uphill. Watch out for the towering tree in the middle. Too far right and you're in deep trouble. "A" pin location is on top of the hill just out of sight to the left.
Hole 27: If you have a fear of cedar trees, you're in trouble here. Keep your aim tight off the tee. After the first trees though, it opens up for a long drive possibility. Be sure to check the sign for pin locations.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 AMAZING!

1    5/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: discgolf123
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great obstacles. hazards, and other objects to throw around. The course is quite challenging but it is great fun to throw in and out of the trees. The best course i have played yet. great variation of obstacles and trees to avoid
Cons: in spring when i went there were to many gnats just all over the place flying into you. no water anywhere to drink and no vending machines.
Other Thoughts: overall this is the best course i have played

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Seneca Creek State Park - A real challenge

5+    9/29/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: Stativa44
Played: 92  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 27 holes of excellent disc golf. Each hole has a Am pad and a pro pad to tee off from, and 3/4 different basket placements on each hole. Depending on where the basket is placed depends on where the bead is on the hooks that are located on the map. Each hook has a letter next to it, and the beed will be placed next to the letter that states where the basket is located.

The layout is awesome if you're trying to get a quick 9 in, being in and out in under and hour, every 9 leads back to the parking lot (your starting point) therefore allowing one to chose how long they want to be there.

When I played the first time, as I do a lot of the time at new courses, I waited for some locals to show up... This is a very busy course, and around the last rounds of the evening (anywhere from 3:30-6:00 depending on time of year) are usually very busy and should not be hard to partner up with a local. I happened to get what seems to be the 'core group' of the DG course. A few people who had influence on design, some who helped maintain the course on a regular basis and just those who played there a lot. Really nice getting a personal tour your first round out by those who know it the best.

This course by all means is almost perfect, with a few additions and modifications this course will be one of the best on the east coast.
Cons: There are not too many cons about this course, however, theres usually a few you can find.

No drinks! No water, no vending, nothing! Actually, the closest store is about 2 miles away (the shell is a good place to stop on your way in from highway 270 to stock up on whatever you need.

Some of the tee pads are great! Some of them need some work. Not that they are run down, but when it rains, some of the concrete patio slabs they put down just build water and make for a very slippery surface. However, if your wearing the right shoes/boots this should not be that much of a problem.
Other Thoughts: The course is awesome, a must play if in the DC area or baltimore area. Please respect the course and take out what you brought in, or at least make sure that it finds its way to a trash can around the starting area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid layout

1    8/22/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large disc golf exclusive area with no outside interference. Some holes play through tight tunnels in the woods by the creek and the rest play in grassy areas dotted with trees and occasional rough. Even the more open feeling holes have enough obstacles to make you shape lines and think about landing zones, especially around the cedars. There is a decent mix of hole lengths, there aren't many real bombs but you will get to throw some drives. You will need a full complement of shots to score well here with all kinds of fairway shapes.

The course is designed in three loops of 9, always a bonus with multiple starting points and the option to play just 9 or 18. The park is nicely maintained with cleared wooded fairways and nicely mowed grass. The signage is nice with all tees and pin positions shown, and there are markers for the current placement. There are poles in many spots for getting discs out of the cedars, nice touch for sure.
Cons: The layout here is solid, but none of the holes really stood out as signature holes to make the course truly memorable. There weren't any filler holes, but at times some of the holes did get a little repetitive. It's a shame they couldn't use some of the bigger hills in the park to add a little wow factor.

There are some spots where navigation is a little tough. Some of the longer walks aren't at all obvious and we ended up at the wrong tee a few times. Many of the pin placement indicators were missing or wrong which made the blind shots a little frustrating. Many of the tees are a little narrow, and the bricks were a little wonky at times making for occasional footing issues.
Other Thoughts: From the long tees to the longer pin place,nets this course offers some really nice challenges. You'll need to shape all kinds of lines and play some tricky low shots to avoid the cedars and rough. Newer players will find the course pretty approachable from the shorter tees, though there are some pretty tight shots that could frustrate a beginner. This course will definitely push you to be a better player, I recommend a stop if you're in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A war of attrition

5+    7/5/2012   7/11/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 72  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is obviously well taken care of. There is very little litter, fairways in the woods are clear, and the grass is mowed.

The 27-hole layout plays as nine mini loops. This gives you the option to play any nine, 18, or 27 hole combinations. It also allows you to chart your own course through the course. On many occasions, we play the three loops out of order to avoid playing behind large groups. It's also nice to circle back to the parking lot after each nine to restock on water, etc.

Each hole has at least two tees. The long tees present a nice challenge to the big arms while the short tees give a little more friendly look for the less experience player.

At any given time, there is only one pin location for each hole, however there are three potential spots for each. The baskets seem to be moved fairly regularly, so each time playing can present a slightly different course. This helps keep things interesting for the regular player.

Full color signs at each tee give length and layout for all tee-to-pin combinations. Also, next tee signs help point the way and make navigation on the course very easy.
Cons: There are no real short holes mixed in among the 27. Even from the short tees, there are no real putter shots off the tee. In fact, the only time I ever even reach for a mid on the tee is on holes that I know are foolish to try to reach the green on. With 27 straight driver holes, the course begins to feel very repetitive and frustrating.

Trees on the fairway are a common theme here and appears in many flavors. Many of the wooded holes are dotted with trees throughout the preferred throwing line. These trees will spray tee shots in all directions and tend to value luck over skill. On the more open holes solitary trees have a habit of wrecking otherwise good drives. Most of these trees are not large enough to constitute a fair line shaping obstacle. Instead they provide an opportunity to take an unlucky glancing kick into thick brush.

This combination of unforgiving trees and length creates a lot of "tweener" holes. Threes, fours and fives dominate the scorecard here. In fact, the numbers really do tell that story here. In 2208 holes recorded here on DGCR as of 7/9/12, only 81 birdies have been recorded compared to 975 pars, 814 bogeys, 268 doubles and 70 triple or more. That's only 3.6% birdies.
Other Thoughts: This is still one of my favorite DC area courses. I make sure to play here whenever I'm in the area. However, as I play it more, it begins to get boring. The fact that it plays more as a war of attrition trying stave off bogeys makes it frustrating.

Clearing a few nuisance trees and shortening a few holes can bring in some of the excitement that comes with a good birdie opportunity, making the course more fun and interesting.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Scrumchulescent

2-4    5/12/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course with tons of narrow fairways and obstacles providing plenty of risk/reward shots. The tee pads are some of the best I have played on. The course is also settled in a valley so wind has never been a factor on any of the times I have played here. Tons of vegetation but not overpowering to the point where I have ever lost any discs here. Did I mention there were tons of trees? I dig the narrow fairways, it makes you take a little off your throws and become more accurate. The distance on the holes was good too, not too short, not too long, just right for a good time.
Cons: I honesty can't think of any at the moment. The course is very easy to navigate without a map if you are a first timer, there are well walked paths to follow so you wont get confused.
Other Thoughts: I'd say this is the best course in central Maryland. It is everything a disc golf course should be. Get out and enjoy it

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.