Gaithersburg, MD 
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #20
3 / 295ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Basket (A Position)

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
One of my all time favorites

5+    4/5/2016   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely love this course. I got out and played with a group of 4 and had an absolute blast all day. The course is challenging with lots of tight shots in the woods mixed with plenty of open fairways for big arm players. It will require every shot and disc in the bag to score well.
Cons: The course is tough, but fair. If you shoot well and leave yourself good approaches, you can shoot a decent score. If you make a mistake, you will find yourself hunting to get back into a playable area.
Other Thoughts: BRING BUG SPRAY

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lucky to be my home course!

5+    5/11/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: ramonstone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2016
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I am lucky enough and spoiled to have this as my home course. 27 holes with three loops that all circle back to the lot, there are great options to play as much or as little as you'd like. There are two or three tees every hole and two to four pin locations on every hole that get changed pretty regularly. Mr. Bill and the regulars out there keep this course in amazing condition. From week to week more and more areas get cleared for optimum playability. It is challenging, it is fun, it is mostly wooded and there is a creek that provides nice ambience. Makes me feel like a kid out there. There aren't long walks from pins to tees mostly and it was designed very well when they redesigned it to 27 holes. I am biased and the course from most pros POV would be a 4.5, but to me, I haven't been anywhere better. I love this place and consider it a must play to anyone that hasn't been fortunate enough to play it
Cons: The only con is this course has spoiled me and ruined a lot of other courses for me

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the area

1    4/29/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 129  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seneca Creek State Park is a huge, beautiful park, with the course being tucked away in one corner on its own away from other park activities. I'm sure the locals love playing in a setting like this being so close to D.C. This is a really nice area to play in and the course has that established feel that makes it special. It's apparent that the locals have put in a ton of effort to get the course to where it is today. A lot of attention to detail with ample signage pointing you in the right direction, indicators for the current pin position, and paths and steps to guide you to the next tee.

The course weaves its way throughout a few areas that offer different levels of woodenness. You have some tighter shots at the bottom of the hill and near the stream (mostly on the front 9) and then plays through more moderately wooded sections with a few more open holes near the parking lot. Conveniently, each set of 9 holes begins right next to the lot.

This course is a beast when the baskets are in the C position, often taking me two long throws to reach the circle (if not more). It offers a real nice balance of challenge while still playing very fair. In the long position, the baskets were often located in precarious positions, whether being tucked away among trees, near a stream, or located on a fast green. The multiple pin positions do a fantastic job of changing up the hole, with the A and B locations still being challenging but more friendly to beginners.

The streams add a nice effect by offering a possible chance to land O.B. on your drives or approaches.

The tee signs are great and are very helpful. The tees are a little mixed, but I had no problems with any of them. The designers did a nice job of changing the look of the hole between the three tees.
Cons: When taking the holes for what they are in and of themselves, this is a great course. There are two problems when having 27 holes like this though. For one, they started to blend together by the last 9 holes. I agree with another reviewer that I at one point throughout the round may have rated the course higher. Other people may feel differently about this, but I like to rate the course as the sum of its parts. I noticed some people playing only one or two of the 9 hole loops, and I would probably do the same thing if this was my home course.

Also, the course is congested and fairways often run close together. Sometimes there were multiple baskets in view and it could cause confusion for some players. I personally didn't have any problems with the course layout for my round, just something to keep in mind on a busy day.

Nothing that takes away from the course, but keep in mind that there is a small fee to enter the park on the weekends and the gate closes at sunset.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely worth going out of your way for, I really enjoyed my round here. State park courses are hit and miss, but this one definitely has seen a lot of care and attention. This is a beautiful area worth taking your time and spending the day at. Definitely one of the best in an area with a lot of solid courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, fun course!

1    4/30/2016   5/1/2016
Review By: thirtydirtybirds
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent shot variety here. Great mix of dense woods, with some more open shots. Lots of route options on this course, that will test every shot in your bag.

The signage is good, with well thought out tee and pin positions. Pin Positions were clearly marked.

Maintenance was great! well defined areas of play, well landscaped, with well worn paths. Good tee boxes.
Cons: Some of the holes run fairly close to each other, with mediocre to bad shots often sharing the same space. This really isn't too much of an issue, but if you aren't paying attention you bight get beaned by a rogue throw.

Other Thoughts: This really is a great course. Every hole offers excellent variety. There are doglegs in all directions, and lengths from ace run to long bomb. The trees are dense in some spots, but there is almost always a choice no matter where you land.

This is a fair course that really challenges and rewards thoughtful play. Its a good workout for your decision making and course management, which I thought was very fun.

As said above, some of the holes are pretty close together, and when it gets busy can be a bit crowded. This is something that I'm just not used to, but its not that big of a deal.

I have only played here once, and all the pins were still in the long position from the recent Seneca Soiree. This is a tough layout! I will definitely be returning to see the other pin positions, looks like pin position has a big impact here.

I will absolutely play here again, its worth visiting if you are in the area. The park on the whole is very nice with lots of other well maintained activities.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Now that's a DG Course.

2-4    3/15/2016   3/17/2016
Review By: stratedge
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course with some very picturesque holes, with challenges to match. A whole bunch of factors come together to basically make this the best course I've played to date.

The 27 holes weave in and out of a fairly dense forest and back into grassy clearings with much more spaced trees. Each set of 9 holes forms it's own loop returning to the parking lot, so that you can play any set of 9 or 18 holes you desire. The parking lot and start of the course is on the high ground of a hill that slopes down into the surrounding creeks, so there's usually an uphill/downhill factor in most holes.

The baskets are adequate older DGA baskets with no issues, well maintained, and the various tee pads are often made with large paving stones and bricks with a few newer poured concrete pads. All are nice and long though sometimes slightly narrow. The signage is good and most of the course has various indicators of how to move from a basket to the next tee. Navigation was rarely a challenge.

There's red and white tee pads for every hole, and on some of them an additional blue (hardest) tee, that generally seemed to take the tact of giving you a more occluded entry into the fairway without being much further. Then on top of that there's 2-4 pin placements per hole to keep things fresh if you come here often. There's even a bead on a set of hooks on the tee sign to let you know which placement the pin is in!

It's hard to put my finger on exactly what it is that makes this course exceptional; everything about it is great with no weaknesses, but what exactly is outstandingly unique about the course? I think there's 2 really memorable aspects for me:

First, it's pretty. Very pretty, at least the parts within the grassy clearings with some trees with lots of character and rolling hills surrounded by the forest. There were a few tees where I just stopped to enjoy the beauty of the hole for a second before throwing. There was one completing a loop, I think it was hole 18, that made me regret not bringing my camera because I could have made a great desktop background out of that view.

Second, there's some really good course design here largely due to just how conducive the landscape is to disc golf, but credit to the designers that they didn't waste it. Some of the holes are really interesting in how they play the ceiling created by the trees against the rolling landscape of the hills. Traditionally when we talk about hitting a gap in disc golf, it's implied that the gap is horizontal in nature, between the trees on the left and the trees on the right. Here, on numerous holes, the gaps are vertical, and you've got to hit a spot between the ceiling created by the tree branches and the floor created by the rising or falling slope of turf.

One hole stands out for me where you have to play downhill and then uphill again, but in the apex of the gully the tree cover will knock down your discs as you try to squeeze out max distance. There's a risk reward decision there and on many holes, challenging how high do you dare throw in the name of distance.
Cons: You can always nit-pick, but the complaints here are really small.

The strongest complaint I can come up with is that there's an over abundance of holes requiring left-to-right shots relative to the right-to-left shots, meaning that a really good RHFH or LHBH game would have a significant advantage here, I think. I have a heavy preference for RHBH but found myself trying to throw a lot of long distance forehand here because the hold demanded it.

Besides that, while the holes that played through the scenic grassy clearings near the parking lot were amazing, some of the holes playing through the forest were a little too "plinko" for my tastes, with the fairway not being fair. I'm pretty confident hyzer flipping up tunnel shots, but there were a few here where all you can do is throw it up the gap and hope you get fairly far before you inevitably hit a tree, and don't kick too deep. One hole I recall, the biggest gap was 3 to 4 feet (it would have been okay from the tee pad immediately in front of it, but didn't play very well from the harder tee). To put this into perspective, though, it's a 27 hole course and this is maybe 5 holes we're talking about where I'd complain some trees needed to go. Generally, there's a well defined fairway to hit even through the wooded holes. This problem is sparse.

The tee pads were a bit narrow. The grass was thin and since it rained the day before it was a bit muddy. Stuff like that. You really have to reach to try to criticize this course.
Other Thoughts: It's a challenging course and I like that. I didn't play great in my 2 rounds here but that's what you'd want if you're lucky enough to get to play this course a lot. It would take time to learn the best shots for all the holes and put up some good scores.

What I'd give to have this as a home course... I could play thousands of rounds here with the multiple pin placements and never get bored.

It's great golf all around, and lots of variety. I am really glad I made the trip out. The drive through the state park to the course sets up some high expectations, and you're not disappointed in the slightest when you get there.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best DC Area Course

5+    9/5/2015   9/5/2015
Review By: BAH618
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was well maintained, with signs listing the pin, pin location and distances at every hole. The course mixes both wooded and open holes, also includes some holes that are bordered by a stream. The combination of woods and distance provides a reasonable challenge (however also provides some easier holes).
Cons: The bugs at this course can be very bad. At times you will be swarmed with gnats, I have also found ticks after playing. The course is also lacking holes with any significant "wow" factors. No great downhill shots, or shots over a lake, etc.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in this area, the cons I have listed are minor nit piks but placed to explain why I rated this course as a 4 instead of 4.5 or 5.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Layout and Great Course

1    8/9/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: dylangrantclark
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was very well-kept. The holes were challenging, yet fun to play. There were novice tees for new player and children. Each hole had a variety of basket placements, which I assume are regularly changed.
Cons: The layout can be confusing at times, you will find yourself walking past tees and baskets to find the next hole. A few holes were spaced out a little farther than I would have liked. $5 out-of-state entrance fee into the park.
Other Thoughts: Very beautiful layout, and 27 holes. The holes were very fun to play, and it was always quite easy to find your discs. Coming from Kentucky, it was a nice change of scenery. The addition of some old broken down cars on the front nine was very interesting. Didn't get to play the last nine holes though, maybe next trip.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in Maryland

1    5/28/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: This course has a great layout of 27 holes which has three 9 hole loops that all meet in a central location so you are never too far from where you parked. There are multiple tees and basket locations per hole and plenty of benches around the course. There are signs on each hole and the entire course is set up nicely for tournaments. There is a good mix of woods and open holes and the forest is never too thick with undergrowth so losing a disc is less likely to happen. The course is also located in a nice park.
Cons: The park has an entrance fee. Some of the signs can be a little confusing and finding the baskets in the different locations usually requires a quick walk down the fairway. Some of the tee pads were pretty bad with lots of holes and potential spots to trip over when throwing. This is not a course for really opening up some long drives, there always seems to be an inconvenient tree that is randomly placed in a spot that forces you to lay up on many holes.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in Maryland. Its definitely worth going out of your way to play here. Be ready for some crowds sometimes because this is a popular place. They should increase the frequency of tournaments here.

everything you could want in a dg course!

1    5/10/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: adazm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: of the hundreds of courses i have played, this is definitely one of my favorite. just a beautiful layout with 9 holes all looping back to the parking lot. the long holes are incredibly challenging, the short holes are a birdie fest, and the mediums are pleasantly in between.
great OB line markers.
the creek never hurts for ambiance!
Cons: lack of trash cans is a minor annoyance, but hardly a big deal.
there was a tremendous amount of creepy crawly wildlife (i saw 2 snakes, a large toad, a gillion caterpillar things that fell from the sky and a giant millipede dealie). so it goes.
Other Thoughts: granted i was here in the midst of spring on an 82 degree day with low humidity. am not sure i would have been AS enchanted here in january or july.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maryland's Finest

5+    4/5/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: Mohawk Mack
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes with a varitey of holes, a few lunch eaters and few aceable holes and everything in between. Each 9 starts and ends right by the parking lot. There's two practice baskets right by the parking lot as well. There's plently of signage and new tee pads have been installed on 8 holes. Multiple pin placements. Cost you $3 to get into the park on the weekends from Easter till October, but it's worth it. There's a crew of guys that maintain and improve the course regularly, if you see them, please thank them, without them it wouldn't be the course it is.
Cons: No trash cans, so please whatever you bring in, please take it out with you, that includes your cigarette butts too!
The only real cons that I see is for players new to the course, it can get a bit confusing going from #5 to #6, you have to go up the hill to #6 tee pad. And from #12 to #13. You have to walk down towards #6 tee pad and walk down to #13 tee pad towards the creek. And from #7 to #8, because it intersects with #24 to #25, but if you open your eyes and use your head, you should be just fine. The only other con would be #13 & #14 can get really muddy and slick after a solid rain and make throwing a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: The pin placements get changed pretty regularly to keep things interesting. In the warmer months you will have bugs and other critters but you're playing disc golf outside, in the woods, in Maryland, you're bound to incounter a few, be prepared.
Out of Bounds on #3, #4, #5, #13, & #14, and will put a hurtin' on your score.
All & all, it's a great course and if you haven't played it yet, you need to play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center