Gaithersburg, MD
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #3
3 / 323ft.   3 / 377ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Short Tee: A position right, B position down and left. OB runs entire left side of hole.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Beautiful. I'll be back!

4/8/2008   4/8/2008
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course will be amazing when all of the tee boxes and the new placements are in. The new holes seem to be a wonderful addition (I've never played it before.) Good challenge with the trees. Good balance. Perfect holes to be a challenging par 3 course.
Cons: Not quite done yet. Old tee pads will be confusing before new signs are in.
Other Thoughts: Played with Sean and Bird, they were very friendly and showed me around the course and even gave some pointers on some of the holes.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Seneca Creek Rules

3/15/2008   3/18/2008
Review By: ShaunR
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The fact that this course is so well laid out with 3 distinct loops of 9 holes each makes your mouth water. Go ahead and start at Hole One and begin the adventure. Well placed shots are a must on the first 9 holes due to the moderate woodage that surrounds you. Be prepared to bring your bag of tricks because you will need all your shots on this course. From Right to left to left to right I hope you have a good forehand because it will help all the right-handers. Hole 13 is brutal and serine all in one. Probably the longest most demanding hole on the course 9 Must see to believe) The 27 holes are well marked and flow like the creek that runs through it. Such a variety of fairways that you won't want to leave. Eat your heart out, I live five minuets from this jewel. The local crew is a great bunch of guys and gals willing to help anyone who looks lost. Like Me.
Cons: I with I was left handed at times.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been there, stop, drop, and roll out there now. You won't be disappointed.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Should Locals Review their Home Course?

1    3/5/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: John Merhi
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fully dedicated course - no bikers, hikers, equestrians, scout camps, nothing but disc golfers. Course was converted to 27 holes in April 2007. Two tee pads and 3 pin placements per hole. A third tee will be added to many of the holes in the future. Lots of elevation. Two concrete tee pads on every hole. There's a water hazard (creek) on five of the holes (3, 4, 5, 13, and 14). Good mix between wooded and open holes. The 2-meter rule is ALWAYS in effect at Seneca. A wonderful Park staff that supports the local volunteers and does a great job of mowing the course in the summer.
Cons: It's not 36 holes. No golf carts are available. The Park hasn't built a pool yet. The course isn't lit at night. Only 1 of our parking lots is paved. The 2-meter rule is always in effect at Seneca. No camping. As of Spring 2009, alcohol is no longer permitted in MD State Parks. Some feel that Holes 4 and 5 plus Holes 13 and 14 are similar to each other.
Other Thoughts: I'm a local whose been playing Seneca since September of 90. I'm so biased, there's no possible way for me to be objective (see my Cons), so I'll talk a little recent history. On February 23, 2008 the course was re-configured. Hole 8 and Hole 13 were removed. A new hole was built parallel to 8 (new 26) and Legacy (original) Hole 10 was re-introduced (it's now Hole 25). There has been LOTS of new signs installed all over the course. Navigating the course is easy now.

As of June 09, there are 2 concrete tees on all 27 holes. Now that all the tee pads are installed.... dare I say SCSP-DGC is the best course in MD!

The original course was very much a Righty course. When the course was converted to 27 holes in April 07, it became a lefty course. With the first 17 years of Seneca being a Righty course, having a lefty course for the next few years balances everything out. When new tee pads and pin placements are being considered, the current abundance of LHBH shots is always in the decision process.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Now twenty seven... disc golf heaven!

1    12/30/2008   1/12/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 295  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2009
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As soon as you enter this large state park you start to feel serene as you pass woods, a lake, and large meadows. This peaceful ambiance engulfs the disc golf course at the back of the park too. Wildlife abounds; there's nothing like having a 4 point buck stand close by… until he outdrives you!

The course abounds with variety. With three 9 hole loops that begin and end at the parking lot there's plenty of variety, so that you can play 3 different 18 hole combinations. With two sets of teepads the course caters to many playing levels. In addition, every hole has at least two basket positions while many have 3 placements, so this creates up to six layouts per hole! Shorter throwers can enjoy the short tees (Red), but from the long tees (White) to the long basket positions even the world's top pros are challenged. The course has a great mixture of terrain with some woods holes mixed with more open well manicured grass and trees. But also beware of the many disc eating cedar trees throughout the fairways! If you do get stuck one of the thoughtful extras are many long poles scattered throughout the course to help get your discs out. The fairways are well shaped, varied, and wide. There are many nice elevation changes on the rolling hills and I especially enjoyed the holes along Seneca Creek. My favorite is hole 13, a long challenging dogleg right, with the OB creek all down the left side. It has abundant beauty mixed with the ever present risk of straying too far left.

There are many great Amenities too. There's a first class message board with a box for maps, and a better, color version of the course map is also available online. Make sure to get one. They also have a practice basket with a large warm up area and it even has an "Around the World" game marked out with bricks. The hard working club is constantly improving the course, so I know they've made some upgrades even since I played there.
Cons: -Make sure to get a map because navigating the course can be difficult since there are so many holes. There are a few spots where you need to sort out which way to go among multiple options. There are even a few forlorn old concrete teepads that are no longer in use from the original design.
-It would be really helpful if they could mark what basket position each hole is in. It's available on the course discussion board, but one has to plan ahead to get on the internet and find the right forum post to get this information.
-(A tiny quibble) The map needs to be updated slightly. 17 holes have 3 basket positions, but only 8 holes show all 3 positions on the map.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of the 3rd nine hole loop a great course has been made even greater, and it's currently one of my Top 5 favorite courses (of ~220 played). I think this is World Class course, so make every effort to play it! It's well worth even making a long road trip to get to!

You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Left-Hander Batman!

9/22/2007   9/26/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 239  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful wooded course with nice elevation changes and very clear OB ropes in sensible locations. A few holes were great for rollers.
Cons: Some of the tees still use the old brick/cement pads and some of the new tees have weird cement blocks with no mortar in between. I almost caught my foot one time. I'm sure these will be corrected to uniformity soon enough. The cedar trees are disc grabbing magnets but on the plus side there are LOTS of poles one those holes to pop your disc out. Better decide on 2 meter rule before you start your round. I'd like to see some more signage but I'm sure it's on its way.
Other Thoughts: I swear there must have been 18 holes favoring LHBH throwers. My group whined about it but I say this is justified equity for you lefties out there. We even saw two deer grazing off the fairway and really weren't afraid of our foursome. That was pretty cool.

More consitent tee pads, signs, and a water throw or two would get this course a perfet score.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Another Elite Maryland Course

2-4    6/4/2007   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting and landscape, full range of challenges except true water hole.
Other Thoughts: Seneca Creek has long been considered one of the elite disc golf courses in the Mid-Atlantic region, and rightfully so. The landscape is just about perfect, with the course playing over a set of gradual hills rising from Seneca Creek. The course is well maintained, can play not too long from am tees to close pin placements to exceptionally long from pro tees to far pin placements (though not as long as Patapsco or Rockburn, I think). Within its 27 holes are many of the best pure woods holes I've ever played, but also a fair number of more open holes. And finally, you need the whole range of skills here - length, right and left hooks, a precise approach game, putting to tough placements, rollers, the whole bit.

While Seneca Creek now has more natural tee pads than concrete tee pads, I suspect that situation will be greatly improved the next time I play. And I suppose a nice lake or a towering view of the surrounding countryside would improve Seneca, but not much.

Like Patapsco, the other elite course in Maryland, the worst hole at Seneca Creek is still better than most of the disc golf holes I've played. Really, there are no bad holes here. The true woods holes are challenging but reasonable, with appropriate fairways. Outside of the woods, the holes still feature tree hazards, including a large number of disc-eating cedar trees. While the current configuration is lacking one hole that is a pure downhill chuck, the course does make good use of the elevation available. With pro and am teepads and two or three placement options for the basket on each hole, this course is as flexible as any I've played, going from somewhat long to really long depending on where you tee off and how the course is laid out.

Based on landscape, playability, and amenities, Seneca is definitely among the elite courses I've played; residents of the DC/Baltimore megaopolis sure have some truly distinctive disc golf course to choose from.

Favorite Hole - #14 - Hole runs parallel to Seneca Creek, with creek on left side, and steep, thickly wooded incline on right side. Just about the perfect forest hole.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.