Gaithersburg, MD 
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #23
3 / 241ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Approach: Basket in A position on right. B position back and left.



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Must play course of MD

5+    10/4/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: dtwo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in MD, play it when you get the chance.

Three loops of 9 holes with two tees for each hole, and multiple pin positions.

Before the Fall 2008 Soiree they finished enough tees so that the tournament was played completely on concrete tee pads!

Lots of variety, from tight fairways to more open, elevation changes, tight OB lines, etc.
Cons: A few tee pads remain to be completed before it will all be 100% concrete tees.

MD residents pay $2 entry fee on weekends ... still worth it or get the $75 / year State Park permit and play Patapsco too!
Other Thoughts: 2007 Soiree White tees to long SSA: 88.22
2007 Soiree Red tees to long SSA: 80.30


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wish I was Ambidextrous - and more Accurate!

2-4    12/23/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
27 holes, three 9-hole loops, each loop starting and ending at the parking lot.

Two tee pads per hole. About half are new/concrete, half old brick or asphalt.

Multiple pin positions

Practice area - two baskets, and open area to loosen-up for drives

Back area of park, i.e. not "competing" with other park patrons.

Requires a wide variety of shots - not a "simple" long-drive-followed-by-moderate-approach-followed-by-reasonable-putt course.

Large yellow flags on to of baskets make them easier to spot.

Favourite hole: #22 - go straight a good distance, then turn right, with the famed cedars waiting to interfere with your disc. You then must approach, via a narrowing opening, the basket set amongst a scattering of trees.
Cons:
$3 fee to enter park

While signage at holes and direction between holes is steadily improving, there still are some areas that are confusing: going from #12 to #13 has you walk right past #6 tee; going from #24 to #25 takes you close to #8 tee; from #8 it is hard to see the hole (to the left), #11's basket (to the right) is easier to see, so you might drive in the wrong direction! Some holes lack signage or need updating.

Least favourite hole: #6 - long, fully-wooded, sloping to the left. I was thrilled with my '4' the other day; last time I played it, I scored a ... well, can't count that high! :-)
Other Thoughts:
Practically every hole will involve some minor change in elevation - some up, some down, some both

Practically every hole will involve some trees, anywhere from the entire length of the hole, to just affecting a single "stage" (initial drive, secondary drive, approach, or putt).

A very fair balance between in left/right "advantage" holes, some being more extreme than others.

Only a few holes are of the type throw-it-as-far-as-you-can-then-have-a-slight-fade. You will need to throw an an(hyzer) or S-flight on nearly every hole.

One of the top, if not the top, courses in the Baltimore-Washington area. Anyone who lives in say, Laurel, i.e. has a reasonable drive to Seneca, Patapsco, and Rockburn, has it made!

I find the back nine (19-27) to be the easiest, the middle nine (10-18) a bit harder than the front nine. #13/#14, in the back positions, are brutally long (relatively speaking), then after having them wipe you out, you have a long up-slope walk to #15!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Glorious rollers and devilish cedars are an amazing pairing!

5+    6/12/2011   9/12/2008
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seneca is a spectacular course, and unlike any other I know of. This is the only place I know of where the 2-meter rule is still in effect, and will always be in effect. And before people start grousing that the 2-meter rule is an unnecessary or unfair penalty, let me explain a little about Seneca:

Hole design at Seneca is dependent on an amazing number of really beautiful and devilish cedar trees. About half the holes are strategically designed so that cedar trees become a serious obstacle and a penalty to shots that miss the fairway or miss the right line to the basket. And these are sticky, sticky cedars. I'd estimate that 1/3 of discs that hit cedars stick in the cedars. So there is a sharp incentive to avoid them. And the risk/reward of having the 2-meter rule in effect on these cedars adds immensely to the challenge of the course.

To offset the effect of the cedars, Seneca is the best rolling course I have ever played. The holes with cedars almost invariably have amazingly well-groomed fairways with well-trimmed grass and very, very few roots or other debris on the ground. Rollers are glorious here, and the rolling hills throughout the course meant that rollers have to be carefully placed -- you can't just huck a roller out and hope for the best -- you have to learn finesse. And I know of no other course in the country that will be so helpful in teaching you how rollers should work and what discs can do when they hit the ground.

The half of the course that isn't cedars/rollers is mostly beautiful shots along a shallow creek with 150' trees towering overhead. Wildlife is plentiful -- I've seen countless deer, as well as foxes, beavers, racoons, turtles, snakes, lizards, etc... around the course -- most of them near the water. These shots don't have cedars to worry about, but the OB creek forces precision.

Other reviewers have mentioned that the 27-hole layout favors lefty throwers, and I have to disagree with that. Seneca does require a good balance of right-and-left turning holes, but the holes that are "lefty holes" almost always have very high-ceilings and wide enough fairways that there is no trouble throwing an anhyzer shot. To me, the only time a course becomes a "lefty" course is when there are a lot of low-ceiling, right-hooking holes that mandate a lefty-shot to have a birdie-run. Here, that's not the case. Holes are fair to every player and usually offer plenty of room to get to the hole by several options. And there are a lot of very hard-3s (or easy-4s), where shot placement for the 3 is much more important than trying to hit a deuce. From the long pins, you can shoot ~970 golf here without every taking a deuce. Which is just awesome.

Other pros for the course: Three nine-hole loops, multiple tees and pin-placements for every hole, incredibly-well maintained, good parking, dedicated disc-golf-only area, so there are never any hikers or other folks competing for space, and perhaps foremost: a great bunch of locals dedicated to the constant improvement of the course.

Seneca is the closest A-list course to my house (about 45-50 minutes without traffic), and in the two-years I've lived here, I've seen it go from an okay set of 18-holes to a Pro-level 27-hole course that improves every time I make it out.

While there are still some holdouts who favor elements of the old layout, the redesigned course improves many elements of the course and has also served to provide a stronger draw for players of all skill levels.

The volunteers who maintain and continue to improve the park (can't name them all here -- I don't want to leave people out) have done an amazing job, over the last year especially, continuing to improve what was already an epic course. New signage (AMAZING) and a few more pin placements secure the course a 4.5-star rating, placing it among my favorite places to play in the country.

Each hole has an average of 3 teeboxes (though the yellow novice pads are VERY short and not always well marked (though that is getting better), and usually 2-4 basket placements, which means there is a lot of variation to the course. The recent addition of screws/hooks to indicate current pin position is a huge help.

The park itself is incredibly well maintained and has lots of other activities as well -- a perfect place to spend a day with a family or plan a family reunion, company picnic or other large get together.
Cons: It's hard to find many cons for Seneca. The biggest one for me is that there are not multiple baskets on every hole. That could take this course to a 5-star rating. The course has so many possibilities that it just begs for a permanent "longs" layout (similar to Patapsco, also in MD). The long-to-long layout on this course is truly awesome and a tremendous challenge. But with only one pin per hole, it is never set up in it's most challenging layout except for occasional tournament rounds. This is in keeping with the goal of appealing to varying skill levels of players, which is a great goal. But in a perfect world, this course would have permanent long pins.

Other minor issues are inconsistent signage. The new signs are among the best I've ever seen at a course (check out the pictures), but they are not on every teebox, and are not consistently on a certain teebox (sometimes reds, sometimes whites).

From what I can tell, the course is still working on completing some of the blue teepads. I know this is a work in progress, to eventually have 4 teepads per hole -- a true yellow(novice)/red/white/blue set of options, but this isn't done yet. Completion of these holes will also help with a 5-star rating; especially if they update the signs to reflect the new teepads.

The novice teepads are now sometimes "marked" with red arrows on trees pointing to the teepads (similar art on the signs). It is confusing at to whether these are mandos or not. I've learned that they are not intended to be mandos -- just indicators of where the novice teepad is located -- but it's not clear when playing the course.

No trashcans on the course. Seneca is a pack-it-in, pack-it-out park. This is actually good in that locals do a great job keeping the course clean, but it's just something to be aware of.

Another minor con is that -- to some degree -- there is a lack of "signature holes." There are some great holes (6, 10, 12, 13, 14, 22, 26 are my favorites), but there are none that light up my memory and make me dream about them at night like some signature holes other places. Seneca's closest holes to "signature" status are probably 10 and 13 (if you only have time for one loop of 9 holes, definitely play 10-18), but they just aren't quite there.

However, the overall balance of holes and the "fun to play" factor makes up for the lack of signature holes. I'd rather have 27 very good holes than the predicament at courses which have one or two epic holes and a lot of filler.

Only other small cons I can think of: the park opens late (around 8 or 8:30) and closes at sundown, so dawn golf and glo-golf aren't possible.

And: despite being a large state park, there is no camping at the course, which would be just make it that much more awesome.

State park with a $3 fee per person to enter -- a pretty minimal fee if you ask me. I'd gladly pay a lot more to play this course and to support the state park -- it's totally worth it -- but for the sake of people coming to play, it's worth mentioning up front to have a few bucks on you in cash.

Other Thoughts: The teeboxes are good -- not great -- but good. Plenty of traction and adequate in size, if not always perfectly flat. These are volunteer made and laid paving stones, scuffed for better footing. Some people will be picky, but I like them. Occasional teepads are holdovers from the original course, and are smaller slabs of poured concrete (also adequate).

Seneca should be on your "must play" list if you are in the DC area. This and Patapsco share the crown for top MD courses, and are both A-list courses on a national scale, comparing favorably with the best that any state has to offer.

If you want a course with more epic, memorable holes, go to Patapsco and play the "Green Monster" layout. If you want a relaxing, fun, challenging day of disc golf that will encourage you to try new shots and expand your game, go to Seneca. Better yet, go to both.

Seneca is a course that has grown on me over time. The more times you play it, the more you forgive the lack of "stand out" holes and the more you appreciate the incredible balance and consistent challenge that will shape you as a player and force you to reconsider and improve your mental game as well as just your throws.

If you have a chance to play the Seneca Soiree, held every spring, it's one of the best PDGA Pro events in this part of the country. It's worth coming back for.

The Mid-Atlantic Am Championship (MAAC) is on the short list of best am-only tournaments in the country. Any am who can should try to play this every year. Before I went pro, I played several big Am events, and this and the WVAC (West Virginia Am Championship) are among the best I know of anywhere in the country.

I know Seneca is local to me, and I'm biased, but there are few courses in the country that are as much fun to play as this one. It is beautiful and relaxing -- unlike some tournament-caliber courses that can leave you exhausted, this one is more like a gentle, friendly hike in the woods, that just happens to have some amazing disc golf. Seneca soothes the soul in a way few other courses come close to. I hope you get a chance to play -- you won't be disappointed (unless you don't have a roller, then you'll either have to learn one -- like I did -- or start cursing the cedars). In short: an amazing, one-of-a-kind course.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    8/7/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: harpsm
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes! Excellent flow between holes. Each round of 9 begins and ends at the parking lot. Sparse vegetation means that discs rarely get lost. Course is in a serene area dedicated to disc golf so there is no playing near roads, picnic areas, etc.
Cons: Not much elevation change, a disproportionate number of holes are right-curving, some areas get muddy during rainy periods, some OB areas are not well marked.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course with a mix of wooded and open field holes. The first 9 are mostly wooded and the back 18 are mixed between wooded and open, though the open holes still have plenty of trees to play around. There is plenty of opportunity to use a wide range of discs and throws, though many holes curve right, favoring forehand and left-hand backhand throws. The course is free of charge at all times except weekends during peak season (approx. April through October).

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful. I'll be back!

4/8/2008   4/8/2008
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course will be amazing when all of the tee boxes and the new placements are in. The new holes seem to be a wonderful addition (I've never played it before.) Good challenge with the trees. Good balance. Perfect holes to be a challenging par 3 course.
Cons: Not quite done yet. Old tee pads will be confusing before new signs are in.
Other Thoughts: Played with Sean and Bird, they were very friendly and showed me around the course and even gave some pointers on some of the holes.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Seneca Creek Rules

3/15/2008   3/18/2008
Review By: ShaunR
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The fact that this course is so well laid out with 3 distinct loops of 9 holes each makes your mouth water. Go ahead and start at Hole One and begin the adventure. Well placed shots are a must on the first 9 holes due to the moderate woodage that surrounds you. Be prepared to bring your bag of tricks because you will need all your shots on this course. From Right to left to left to right I hope you have a good forehand because it will help all the right-handers. Hole 13 is brutal and serine all in one. Probably the longest most demanding hole on the course 9 Must see to believe) The 27 holes are well marked and flow like the creek that runs through it. Such a variety of fairways that you won't want to leave. Eat your heart out, I live five minuets from this jewel. The local crew is a great bunch of guys and gals willing to help anyone who looks lost. Like Me.
Cons: I with I was left handed at times.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been there, stop, drop, and roll out there now. You won't be disappointed.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Should Locals Review their Home Course?

1    3/5/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: John Merhi
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 26.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fully dedicated course - no bikers, hikers, equestrians, scout camps, nothing but disc golfers. Course was converted to 27 holes in April 2007. Two tee pads and 3 pin placements per hole. A third tee will be added to many of the holes in the future. Lots of elevation. Two concrete tee pads on every hole. There's a water hazard (creek) on five of the holes (3, 4, 5, 13, and 14). Good mix between wooded and open holes. The 2-meter rule is ALWAYS in effect at Seneca. A wonderful Park staff that supports the local volunteers and does a great job of mowing the course in the summer.
Cons: It's not 36 holes. No golf carts are available. The Park hasn't built a pool yet. The course isn't lit at night. Only 1 of our parking lots is paved. The 2-meter rule is always in effect at Seneca. No camping. As of Spring 2009, alcohol is no longer permitted in MD State Parks. Some feel that Holes 4 and 5 plus Holes 13 and 14 are similar to each other.
Other Thoughts: I'm a local whose been playing Seneca since September of 90. I'm so biased, there's no possible way for me to be objective (see my Cons), so I'll talk a little recent history. On February 23, 2008 the course was re-configured. Hole 8 and Hole 13 were removed. A new hole was built parallel to 8 (new 26) and Legacy (original) Hole 10 was re-introduced (it's now Hole 25). There has been LOTS of new signs installed all over the course. Navigating the course is easy now.

As of June 09, there are 2 concrete tees on all 27 holes. Now that all the tee pads are installed.... dare I say SCSP-DGC is the best course in MD!

The original course was very much a Righty course. When the course was converted to 27 holes in April 07, it became a lefty course. With the first 17 years of Seneca being a Righty course, having a lefty course for the next few years balances everything out. When new tee pads and pin placements are being considered, the current abundance of LHBH shots is always in the decision process.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Now twenty seven... disc golf heaven!

1    12/30/2008   1/12/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2009
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As soon as you enter this large state park you start to feel serene as you pass woods, a lake, and large meadows. This peaceful ambiance engulfs the disc golf course at the back of the park too. Wildlife abounds; there's nothing like having a 4 point buck stand close by… until he outdrives you!

The course abounds with variety. With three 9 hole loops that begin and end at the parking lot there's plenty of variety, so that you can play 3 different 18 hole combinations. With two sets of teepads the course caters to many playing levels. In addition, every hole has at least two basket positions while many have 3 placements, so this creates up to six layouts per hole! Shorter throwers can enjoy the short tees (Red), but from the long tees (White) to the long basket positions even the world's top pros are challenged. The course has a great mixture of terrain with some woods holes mixed with more open well manicured grass and trees. But also beware of the many disc eating cedar trees throughout the fairways! If you do get stuck one of the thoughtful extras are many long poles scattered throughout the course to help get your discs out. The fairways are well shaped, varied, and wide. There are many nice elevation changes on the rolling hills and I especially enjoyed the holes along Seneca Creek. My favorite is hole 13, a long challenging dogleg right, with the OB creek all down the left side. It has abundant beauty mixed with the ever present risk of straying too far left.

There are many great Amenities too. There's a first class message board with a box for maps, and a better, color version of the course map is also available online. Make sure to get one. They also have a practice basket with a large warm up area and it even has an "Around the World" game marked out with bricks. The hard working club is constantly improving the course, so I know they've made some upgrades even since I played there.
Cons: -Make sure to get a map because navigating the course can be difficult since there are so many holes. There are a few spots where you need to sort out which way to go among multiple options. There are even a few forlorn old concrete teepads that are no longer in use from the original design.
-It would be really helpful if they could mark what basket position each hole is in. It's available on the course discussion board, but one has to plan ahead to get on the internet and find the right forum post to get this information.
-(A tiny quibble) The map needs to be updated slightly. 17 holes have 3 basket positions, but only 8 holes show all 3 positions on the map.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of the 3rd nine hole loop a great course has been made even greater, and it's currently one of my Top 5 favorite courses (of ~220 played). I think this is World Class course, so make every effort to play it! It's well worth even making a long road trip to get to!

You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Left-Hander Batman!

9/22/2007   9/26/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 275  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful wooded course with nice elevation changes and very clear OB ropes in sensible locations. A few holes were great for rollers.
Cons: Some of the tees still use the old brick/cement pads and some of the new tees have weird cement blocks with no mortar in between. I almost caught my foot one time. I'm sure these will be corrected to uniformity soon enough. The cedar trees are disc grabbing magnets but on the plus side there are LOTS of poles one those holes to pop your disc out. Better decide on 2 meter rule before you start your round. I'd like to see some more signage but I'm sure it's on its way.
Other Thoughts: I swear there must have been 18 holes favoring LHBH throwers. My group whined about it but I say this is justified equity for you lefties out there. We even saw two deer grazing off the fairway and really weren't afraid of our foursome. That was pretty cool.

More consitent tee pads, signs, and a water throw or two would get this course a perfet score.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Another Elite Maryland Course

2-4    6/4/2007   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting and landscape, full range of challenges except true water hole.
Other Thoughts: Seneca Creek has long been considered one of the elite disc golf courses in the Mid-Atlantic region, and rightfully so. The landscape is just about perfect, with the course playing over a set of gradual hills rising from Seneca Creek. The course is well maintained, can play not too long from am tees to close pin placements to exceptionally long from pro tees to far pin placements (though not as long as Patapsco or Rockburn, I think). Within its 27 holes are many of the best pure woods holes I've ever played, but also a fair number of more open holes. And finally, you need the whole range of skills here - length, right and left hooks, a precise approach game, putting to tough placements, rollers, the whole bit.

While Seneca Creek now has more natural tee pads than concrete tee pads, I suspect that situation will be greatly improved the next time I play. And I suppose a nice lake or a towering view of the surrounding countryside would improve Seneca, but not much.

Like Patapsco, the other elite course in Maryland, the worst hole at Seneca Creek is still better than most of the disc golf holes I've played. Really, there are no bad holes here. The true woods holes are challenging but reasonable, with appropriate fairways. Outside of the woods, the holes still feature tree hazards, including a large number of disc-eating cedar trees. While the current configuration is lacking one hole that is a pure downhill chuck, the course does make good use of the elevation available. With pro and am teepads and two or three placement options for the basket on each hole, this course is as flexible as any I've played, going from somewhat long to really long depending on where you tee off and how the course is laid out.

Based on landscape, playability, and amenities, Seneca is definitely among the elite courses I've played; residents of the DC/Baltimore megaopolis sure have some truly distinctive disc golf course to choose from.

Favorite Hole - #14 - Hole runs parallel to Seneca Creek, with creek on left side, and steep, thickly wooded incline on right side. Just about the perfect forest hole.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.