Tupelo, MS 
Tombigbee State Park - Course #1 Share
Uploaded By: 3456789 Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 207ft.   3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun Course!!

5+    5/1/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: ConnorGraham
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course. Many holes are short and easily birdieable, but there are a few long air it out holes. 15 plays 495 from the pro pad and 380 from Am. The big thing to this course is just hit your lines. Because besides the long holes, its nothing but small space. Elevation is used well when there is some. 11 plays pretty downhill right. 2's pro pad is elevated much higher than its Am pad. 3 is uphill right. But nothing outrageous. The closest is 18 which is just a big right to left swooping downhill to the lake. Benches on about every hole. Some trash cans along the way. 2 drink machines in the parking lot, in case you forget. Discs available on site. A practice basket. 17 has a mando, although its not hard to hit unless its from the pro pad. Just a well rounded course.
Cons: On most holes, pedestrians won't be a problem. However on 15 and 18 they could be. 16 plays close to a curved road and theres no flick/anny route, so a car could hit the curb the same time your hyzer does. I've seen a few discs go chasing em. If you dislike short courses, then this isn't for you. No bathrooms along the course, unless you count the woods.
Other Thoughts: Solid fun course. Easy to shoot under for the upper ams and pros, even from the pro pads, although they do add a challenge. Plays close to Bigbee 2 of course, a serious championship course. Watch out for snakes at 2 though. Also 10 minutes from Veteran's park, which houses 3 courses now. IF YOU PLAY ANY OF THE 5 COURSES, YOU MUST EAT AT JOHNNIE'S! Best food you'll ever had. Elvis ate there and it is decked out with Elvis memorabilia. It's a small diner just outside Veteran's on Main Street. It's the oldest (and best) in Tupelo. What's not to love about Tupelo and it's disc golf!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Technical

1    8/6/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: dmbrun2
Played: 88  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would consider this course an extreme pitch and putt.
The varieties of different shots make for a very fun round, even if the holes are not very long.
Almost every hole uses the woods to it's advantage, from hitting lines, to avoiding the treacherous guardian trees.
I enjoyed all of the elevation changes, and it makes for some very fun "death putts" or as Billy Crump would say, "That will make your butt pucker."
The course itself is very well maintained
Cons: The layout is a little confusing, as we played to a wrong basket (Hole 5 to Basket 9). Also finding hole 18 was a little tough.
Other Thoughts: This course's fun factor is very high. It is a course where you can score very low if you are hitting the right lines, and sinking your putts. *The park ranger was very friendly and helped us find Bigbee #2

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tom and his Big Bee

1    1/18/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Outstanding amount of elevation change. There are all sorts of different holes from downhills, to uphills, sidehills, up and over hills, etc etc etc. There are some gentle rolling hills and some extreme elevation changes.
2) Plenty of benches and garbage cans available on this course.
3) Incredible property with tons of room for disc golf and plenty of other activities. Just driving to this place I could tell it was going to be great.
4) Practice basket is available for before the round.
5) Old DGA baskets with number plates seem to be standing up to time in the woods.
6) I love technical courses in the woods, especially with some short aceruns. It really is a lot of fun to play because you can make a lot of birdies, but you can also get punished with a couple bad kicks. Either way I love tight technical courses like this.
7) The variety is actually pretty good, although it is mostly tight technical and wooded.
8) The distance variation is pretty good for a short course, but it is pretty much just typical par 3 disc golf. There are holes in the 100's, 200's and 300's but this course is all about technicality, not distance. The woods also make these holes play much differently than just their distance.
9) I would say this course is adequate for beginner friendliness. It is short enough that beginners can still recover from a tree hit but it will also show the beginners what the game can provide.
Cons: 1) I wish the DGA baskets had a powder-coated top or something because they are so tough to see on densely wooded courses like this.
2) This course was relatively short, and it would be really tough to make much longer truthfully. There is so much elevation change and so many trees it would be devastating to make the course any longer than it is.
3) Compaction or at least erosion is taking its toll here because of the elevation. There also seems to be a whole lot of drainageways due to the elevation changes. These areas naturally are becoming eroded.
4) Road comes into play on a handful of holes. It adds more variety to the course, but at the expense of safety (for the vehicle at least). I wish this type of scenario could be avoided without sacrificing quality on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course was a lot of fun. It was challenging, yet birdies were plentiful. You have to execute your lines to get close but that is always so rewarding when you do. The variety was surprisingly good for a wooded park because they used the roadway areas for a handful of holes. I would always prefer that roads do not come into play, but they did make the disc golf more enjoyable. I also didn't have any issue with vehicles while I played.
I enjoyed talking to my fellow disc golf road-tripper Larry Clifford Kirk who called while I was playing this course. I was a little surprised my cell phone worked out there because it feels like you are truly in the middle of nowhere, but I suppose Tupelo is actually a fairly big city.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/11/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: Jingle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Our local club, TDGA, had a couple of workdays in the fall of 2012. Now all 18 short (am) tees are concreted. We also have 10 concreted long (pro) pads. Some added distance to the holes with the new long pads.
Also added new decals to each basket marker to dress the course up a bit. In the near future new tee signs will be added.
The orange cylinders have been removed from the tee pads.
Cons: Still a short fun course, some holes are unabele to have a long (pro) tee pads due to the design.
Other Thoughts: You won't be disapppointed by playing Tombigbee 1, play the short tees then play the long tees and compare you scores.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for confidence

2-4    9/11/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: discdawg
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most holes are short and many offer excellent birdie and / or ace opportunities. Holes are well marked, laid out and it is easy to find the next tee. Incredibly clean and well maintained. Easy access to parking and facilities. Twists and turns in the woods require some technical skill. I threw my lowest score to date on this course. It is a great confidence builder.
Cons: There are strange orange cylinders sticking up out of the end of the tee pads. They can be intimidating when trying to throw. There is a park day use fee of $3.00, but it is well worth it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an excellent course, especially if you want to prove you can make some legitimate birdies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/26/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tombigbee is an 18 hole course in a relatively small state park just outside of Tupelo, MS. The park has an excellent staff, detailed scorecards and maps are available, and the park office has discs for purchase.

It is mostly wooded, but it does have a few open holes as well. There is quite a bit of elevation utilized in the wooded sections. Several holes have a newer, alternate, longer tee.
Cons: The first few holes of this course get very wet when it rains, causing muddy tees, and then having to walk through the standing water and flowing water that is everywhere. (Navigable and playable, just very wet and muddy!)

The tees have a mix of natural, carpet, and concrete. Some tees need repairing.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 is across the parking lot past the volleyball court. Most of the holes are very short (9 holes are under 200' from the short tees), but the woods and elevation do add to the challenge. There are a few more open holes as well, these are mostly at the end, however. The lake is in view on #18 but does not (should not) come into play. (There is a fence around the lake anyways so if you throw over it, then your disc is gone even if it ends up dry!)

This is a good course for beginners, families, the distance challenged, and those that want to work on accuracy and their short game. For the experienced disc golfer it would be an Ace Race or Birdiefest. The course is what it is, but it can be a really fun course to play if you don't mind playing a shorter course.

It is $3 a day to enter the State Park, however, if you ask nicely you can park hop and the other state parks close by will usually let you in with a receipt from that day.

*I am very impressed with all the Mississippi State Parks that contain disc golf courses. Every employee I have encountered has been very courteous and polite. They are definitely proud of their disc golf and are thrilled to have you come and play. All the workers (from the park rangers to the older ladies at the park office) were very knowledgeable about the game of disc golf, their course, tournaments, etc. All the park offices had discs and supplies, and often an excellent selection of discs at that. All the courses I have played had scorecards with maps that are also available. I highly recommend visiting any of the state parks in North/Central Mississippi to play disc and/or to do anything else the park has to offer.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly Adventure

1    4/2/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design at Tom Bigbee was very good considering the land provided for disc golf. The course was extremely hilly but not too treacherous. There were a good variety of holes...some were open, some were very tight. Baskets were in good condition. Most of the tees were in good condition as well. There were also helpful signs.
Cons: There was one tee box, I believe on hole 2, that was a piece of carpet laid over a natural pad. It had rained a lot and the tee pad was nearly impossible to use. The early part of the course seemed to have some draingage problems as it was the most low-lying part of the course.
Other Thoughts: Tom Bigbee is a nice course. It is very similar to your "run-of-the-mill" course. There is a good variety of length and a good variety of lines. However, nothing really stands out as being amazing. The course was pretty soggy when we played. It rained hard for 2 days before we got there so it was to be expected.

The course sits atop a bluff that overlooks the lake. There are no true "water shots". Hole 18 is a nice finishing hole. It is an easy deuce. You have a good view of the lake from that tee box but it would be nearly impossible to get your disc into the water. There is a barbwire fence that surrounds the lake at this particular point and losing a disc in there is a possibility.

We played Trace State Park, Tom Bigbee, and Lake Lowndes in a day. The parks department let us into the second two courses without having to pay the entry fee which was really nice. If you are traveling through the area, that is something to keep in mind.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amateur's Dream

5+    12/17/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: Randy Sharp
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're looking for an ace, this is the course for you! One of the oldest courses in the area, disc technology has caught up to this little gem.

Wooded, shorter holes allows your pin-point accuracy to bag a 1 on your card on most holes. Otherwise, a deuce is in the offering.

Over the years, the fairways have opened up, but an occasional tree can still reach out and grab your disc.

A super course for ams to get away from their drivers and improve their mid-range disc tee shots.
Cons: In warm weather, Poison Ivy is predominant just off many fairways.

In the "bottoms" gnats and skeeters are hunting for someone to pester. Bring repellant.

In the winter, a few areas may be muddy. But overall, they are easy to navigate.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/11/2009   2/1/2009
Review By: 3456789
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course to play.
Good course for people to learn on.
The lodge sells Discs.
Cons: Most holes are pretty short.
Some parts stay muddy in the winter.
Only a couple of benches.
Tee pads are mostly natrual, and the concrete ones that are there are not very good.
Other Thoughts: Can be a fun course to play.
Check it out if you're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Had a good time

1    9/28/2007   11/3/2008
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a pretty fun course. It has a nice selection of wooded and open holes. Hole 18 is pretty fun with the OB line to the left throwing from up high on a hill. That made it more challenging as I didn't see a spot to go get your disc had you throw it over there! PLENTY OF SHADE
Cons: Only thing I can think of is beating your disc to death on the trees like I did. Just watch out for roots so you don't hurt your ankles and you should be fine! NOW GET OUT THERE AND SLING A FEW!
Other Thoughts: You should go check out this course if you are in the area. Well this one and the 325625623 others that are in the area.

You will love this course!

Also try and come to a tourney at it when they are going on! AWESOME!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center