North Richland Hills, TX 
Tommy and Sue Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #2
3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Basket is straight ahead, you just need to avoid the sidewalk behind it and to the right of it.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Good Practice

2-4    9/16/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flat and open. Easy to see baskets. Short shots for practice with enough room to do some mid range throwing. Well maintained. In a nice neighborhood.
Cons: Only 6 baskets. Kids playground smack in the middle. Would be crowded with more than two sets of players.
Other Thoughts: This is a small neighborhood family park. Seems like it's main purpose is to be a nice open space with a place for children to play. Being new to the sport, I like having it to practice on. I played twice and was the only one there.

Update 12-17-11
No mud after recent rains.
Great for a driving range. Throw from #2 basket or from the path towards the black metal fence. Wide open with lots of room. You can go for distance, watch disc flight and try out new throws. Get between basket #3 and the path along the wildflower area and throw towards the trees on the course to test your evasive maneuver throws.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 T.& S. Brown Rundown!!!

2-4    11/16/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Numbers imbeded in t-pads show direction to basket
-Disc Catcher baskets
-Some obstacles and shot variety, so it's not completely bland (wind and trees -- bout it. OB sidewalk can be played)
-Very clean
-Low disc-golfer traffic
-Very nice neighborhood
-One side of course is flanked by a nice wildflower area with woods and creek -- scenic in a sense (I saw a coyote run through it!!!)
Cons: -Short play, being only 6 holes
-Lacks elevation changes, hole distance, and wide range of shot variety
-Plays around walking path and playground, so park traffic could be a slight issue
- Looks as though it gets pretty squicky after a rain.
Other Thoughts: Decent little course. For what little land they had to work with, 6 holes is about all you can fit without them being way to short. Good use of the land and trees given.

For youngsters or even new players getting in to the sport, this is a great course to learn the fundamentals on. Midrange and putting especially.

Seasoned disc golfers, well, it's pretty much an Ace-Race / Battle-of-the-Birdies out here. Mids and putters are all you'll need.

Easily and quickly played as an 18 hole course ( 6 holes x 3 rounds = 18 holes)
If that doesn't suit your fancy, try playing to the next hole's basket -- shoot from box 1 to 2's pin, 2's box to 3's pin, 3's box to 4's pin.....you get the idea. It works pretty well out here if the playground is empty.

All-in-all it's a decent little course to play. Makes for a nice casual, quick round. Good midrange and putting practice course.

There's really nothing else you could have done with the small plot of land, so why not put up a few baskets!!! Soooo 2 thumbs up from me to whomever brought that idea to light!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Great for what it is...

5+    2/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: joyfulunwisdom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick-play optional if you want to warm-up, practice, or play a relaxing game. Also excellent for bringing beginners along to teach--losing a disc is nearly impossible and mistakes don't cost much in any other aspect, either.

Some holes are a little more challenging if played creatively, with options to create your own dog-legs, or route an entirely different fairway around a line of trees.

Very quiet, peaceful, friendly, well-kept park and neighborhood.
Cons: Soccer practice/games. I've played here for a couple of years now and only this year did I see these things crop up. If you see one, go ahead and leave (unless you're just putt-practicing) because they take up 3-4 out of 6 holes on this 6 hole course.
Other Thoughts: The low-ratings seem odd to me because comparing a course like this to a course like Bear Creek et al isn't comparing the same kind of course: Bear Creek is built to be an 18 hole, challenging, long-ish course; Tommy and Sue Brown is not. T&SB was built to be a small, clean, quick, moderately fun, friendly place to play and with that scope in mind it surpasses expectations, which is why I gave it the high rating that I did.

I've played other small 6 hole courses and they were dirty and trashy and confusing and just really weird: this one is perfect for what it set out to be. If you're actually looking for a course like this, then it doesn't get much better.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Leave your drivers at home

5+    9/14/2009   3/14/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to work on your short game. Every hole here is an ace run hole. Good course to play at night. You can make this course alot more fun by making your own teeboxes or stretching out the existing ones. Not many people play here, so it is a good place to take somebody who is just starting.
Cons: Not a challanging course at all. No holes you can throw maximum distance drives. The course does border a playground, so pedestrian traffic can be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I consider this course to be nothing but a practice course. It's a good place to brush up on your skills to prepare for a tougher course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Practice course

5+    11/30/2008   3/13/2010
Review By: Chain_Bang
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ah the practice course as we call it. I got my first 2 aces here, not that it is a great achievement. All the holes are under 200 feet and I most often go here to try out new discs or just to let a few fly when I'm short on time.Short, easy, open shots great for beginners. It can make for a fun course to play at night.
Cons: If you aren't a beginner this place isn't worth your time. Small, round tees don't offer much approach but these aren't long shots anyway.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 More Challenging Than Expected

1    8/28/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: turnerco
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Certainly this is a beginners course. Now one thing that may help buld technique is the fact that there are more dog legs and obstacles than you might first think due to the trees and where the goals are. Also, the course follows the rim of the park in a clockwise (to the right) direction. So if you have a tendency to throw to the left or disks that go to the left you will have to adjust. I know I did (although keep in mind I am a beginner).

Course is short and clean. Nice safe neighborhood.

Good for beginners I owuld say since you do have some holes with some slight technical challenges.
Cons: Not for advanced players. However due to the short holes it might be harder than you think to adjust to that.
Other Thoughts: First tee is by the park sign. No parking lot, Just park on the street.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun for beginners and if you live near by. You can play super fast. SHORT course so its good for trying the "off" arm or throwing ace runs. Good baskets. Good place to meet locals and spread the word about the sport as there are alot ofthem out there. I would play the alt course if I go back.
Cons: TOO short of a course and a long drive just for this. The tees seem to be a waist. No tee signs but they arent needed since everything is right there. Can be windy but not to bad.
Other Thoughts: Lots of people that dont really get that they may be in the way. Could see how that might be a problem with players that might be in a hurry or just dont care.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Alternate Format Map Posted

5+    2/1/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 88  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is good for ace runs, approach practice, and a change of scenery. It does require shots to go right, so you need an anhyzer or sidearm shot. This park is clean and rarely busy, I've never seen another group there.
Cons: Really short holes (see my other thoughts). This is not a park I would come to often because it is not challenging.

The shot put ring tees are non sensical but the grass is flat anyways so you can still run-up if need be.
Other Thoughts: I have posted an alternate map to mix it up. Essentially, you shoot to the next holes basket to get longer, more interesting shots. If you are on hole 1, shoot to hole 2's basket, if you are on hole 2, shoot to hole 3's basket and so on.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Night round

2-4    10/15/2008   2/6/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 259  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2012
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Always well mowed,quiet neighborhood,Innova baskets,Great for night rounds always fun.Has potential to make some long alternate tees using the sidewalk and roads.Stop lying this review is perfect.
Cons: Only six holes,all the holes are pretty short,definate pitch and putter round.Without a flashlight the only place you could lose one is in the trees around hole one and six.
Other Thoughts: Bring only two,Used a 2007 Cfr Wraith and a Aviar-x in the dark to shoot a nine down after three times around.Climb the weird rock statue and throw to hole 6 (or not).If you play this course frequently because you live near by you could be excused maybe.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Pitch and putt!!!

1    12/26/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great neighborhood, well maintained course. Nice concrete circular tee pads, easy to navigate. Quality Baskets.
Cons: Not much to say bad about this course, other than depending on the time of day and year you play it could be a little busy with kids.
Other Thoughts: Great little pitch and putt course, excellent place to bring a first timer or newby in need of short game practice.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.