Disc Golf Store
North Richland Hills, TX 
Tommy and Sue Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #4 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great for what it is...

5+    2/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: joyfulunwisdom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick-play optional if you want to warm-up, practice, or play a relaxing game. Also excellent for bringing beginners along to teach--losing a disc is nearly impossible and mistakes don't cost much in any other aspect, either.

Some holes are a little more challenging if played creatively, with options to create your own dog-legs, or route an entirely different fairway around a line of trees.

Very quiet, peaceful, friendly, well-kept park and neighborhood.
Cons: Soccer practice/games. I've played here for a couple of years now and only this year did I see these things crop up. If you see one, go ahead and leave (unless you're just putt-practicing) because they take up 3-4 out of 6 holes on this 6 hole course.
Other Thoughts: The low-ratings seem odd to me because comparing a course like this to a course like Bear Creek et al isn't comparing the same kind of course: Bear Creek is built to be an 18 hole, challenging, long-ish course; Tommy and Sue Brown is not. T&SB was built to be a small, clean, quick, moderately fun, friendly place to play and with that scope in mind it surpasses expectations, which is why I gave it the high rating that I did.

I've played other small 6 hole courses and they were dirty and trashy and confusing and just really weird: this one is perfect for what it set out to be. If you're actually looking for a course like this, then it doesn't get much better.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Leave your drivers at home

5+    9/14/2009   3/14/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to work on your short game. Every hole here is an ace run hole. Good course to play at night. You can make this course alot more fun by making your own teeboxes or stretching out the existing ones. Not many people play here, so it is a good place to take somebody who is just starting.
Cons: Not a challanging course at all. No holes you can throw maximum distance drives. The course does border a playground, so pedestrian traffic can be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I consider this course to be nothing but a practice course. It's a good place to brush up on your skills to prepare for a tougher course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Practice course

5+    11/30/2008   3/13/2010
Review By: Chain_Bang
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ah the practice course as we call it. I got my first 2 aces here, not that it is a great achievement. All the holes are under 200 feet and I most often go here to try out new discs or just to let a few fly when I'm short on time.Short, easy, open shots great for beginners. It can make for a fun course to play at night.
Cons: If you aren't a beginner this place isn't worth your time. Small, round tees don't offer much approach but these aren't long shots anyway.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 More Challenging Than Expected

1    8/28/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: turnerco
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Certainly this is a beginners course. Now one thing that may help buld technique is the fact that there are more dog legs and obstacles than you might first think due to the trees and where the goals are. Also, the course follows the rim of the park in a clockwise (to the right) direction. So if you have a tendency to throw to the left or disks that go to the left you will have to adjust. I know I did (although keep in mind I am a beginner).

Course is short and clean. Nice safe neighborhood.

Good for beginners I owuld say since you do have some holes with some slight technical challenges.
Cons: Not for advanced players. However due to the short holes it might be harder than you think to adjust to that.
Other Thoughts: First tee is by the park sign. No parking lot, Just park on the street.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun for beginners and if you live near by. You can play super fast. SHORT course so its good for trying the "off" arm or throwing ace runs. Good baskets. Good place to meet locals and spread the word about the sport as there are alot ofthem out there. I would play the alt course if I go back.
Cons: TOO short of a course and a long drive just for this. The tees seem to be a waist. No tee signs but they arent needed since everything is right there. Can be windy but not to bad.
Other Thoughts: Lots of people that dont really get that they may be in the way. Could see how that might be a problem with players that might be in a hurry or just dont care.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Alternate Format Map Posted

5+    2/1/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 79  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is good for ace runs, approach practice, and a change of scenery. It does require shots to go right, so you need an anhyzer or sidearm shot. This park is clean and rarely busy, I've never seen another group there.
Cons: Really short holes (see my other thoughts). This is not a park I would come to often because it is not challenging.

The shot put ring tees are non sensical but the grass is flat anyways so you can still run-up if need be.
Other Thoughts: I have posted an alternate map to mix it up. Essentially, you shoot to the next holes basket to get longer, more interesting shots. If you are on hole 1, shoot to hole 2's basket, if you are on hole 2, shoot to hole 3's basket and so on.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Night round

2-4    10/15/2008   2/6/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2012
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Always well mowed,quiet neighborhood,Innova baskets,Great for night rounds always fun.Has potential to make some long alternate tees using the sidewalk and roads.Stop lying this review is perfect.
Cons: Only six holes,all the holes are pretty short,definate pitch and putter round.Without a flashlight the only place you could lose one is in the trees around hole one and six.
Other Thoughts: Bring only two,Used a 2007 Cfr Wraith and a Aviar-x in the dark to shoot a nine down after three times around.Climb the weird rock statue and throw to hole 6 (or not).If you play this course frequently because you live near by you could be excused maybe.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Pitch and putt!!!

1    12/26/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great neighborhood, well maintained course. Nice concrete circular tee pads, easy to navigate. Quality Baskets.
Cons: Not much to say bad about this course, other than depending on the time of day and year you play it could be a little busy with kids.
Other Thoughts: Great little pitch and putt course, excellent place to bring a first timer or newby in need of short game practice.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A Pristine Beginner's Course

2-4    2/26/2012   12/25/2008
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very clean and easy course designed for beginners learning Disc Golf. There are circle concrete tee pads with the hole number and good Innova DISCatcher baskets that are visible from each tee pad. All six holes are very short open straight forward shots with very few obstacles to add a challenge.
Cons: The tee pads are really short for my taste, even though you don't really need a run up on these holes. There are no signs, except the numbers imprinted in the concrete tees. There is a play area right in the middle of the course and kids usually running around and playing on the fairways, so it is hard to actually play some holes without hitting any kids.
Other Thoughts: This is just a pitch and putt course so more advanced players will not be challenged. It is really not worth the stop if your looking for a good challenge, unless you just happen to be in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course for the Newbie

2-4    11/23/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: Nastynate
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.5 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Not very busy, and in a sweet neighborhood, The concrete numbered Tees made it easy to figure out what was what. The trees are the only hazard, and no creeks is a nice change of pace. Nicely maintained!
Cons: Only 6 holes, and the holes are short
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived next to this park, or could afford it lol

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.