Grass Valley, CA 
Toney's Mountain Golf Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 350ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It's an experience to remember

1    7/21/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fresh air, remote and no waiting. We have a regular group of guys that play two rounds, back-to-back, at least once a week and have been doing it for a few months now. Toney's sounded pretty tempting and was a little over an hour away from Rocklin. (our base course)

This was as far away from flat-land as you could imagine and will test your game as well as your stamina.
We had three guides- Rory, Akasha, Jamie and the two friendly family Pits. You'll definitely need a guide the first time or two around. The guides were great and all three showed great patience for our large group of 10. Rory shot an impressive +1 (I was a 16 =(
Decent Pro-Shop with a 2nd story launching pad, to the 10th fairway, after you purchase a new disc.(I bought a 136gr Bubble Katana)
Cons: Be prepared to make a day of it. It's 1-1/2 hours from Sacto and a round can easily last more then two hours.
Pack in (and out) what you need. No trash cans on the course. (servicing them would be a bear) There's a garden hose for water at the house. It was pretty good but bring plenty of your own, especially in the middle of summer.
Bad shots can be brutally punishing and you and your friends can spend a lot of time hunting plastic.

Hiking boots are not a must but my feet we're feeling pretty good after the 20 holes.
Other Thoughts: If you hope to get in two rounds in one day, spending the night would be the best choice, if your not from the area.
As mentioned before, our group always plays at least two rounds in a day. Not this day. We wern't prepared enough but next time we will be. Many of our group enjoyed the course and some had just a down right bad day. We can now say we've played the extreme and there are many other courses we've yet to play . Toney's was an experience none of us will soon forget.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way gem

1    4/24/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: swin21
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 34.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course with super variety. Lots of obstacles and blind shots but doable. Great family running the course. Plan to camp on site as it is out of the way. Great course to check out and put on your destination list!
Cons: It's an adventure just getting there, but that isn't a real con.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Toney's Mtn of FUN

5+    7/28/2013   4/17/2010
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 68  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed, challenging, and super scenic! Nice concrete tees and baskets. It takes the next two holes shooting straight uphill to climb out of the famous hole number 4 which drops 250ft. off a cliff. Once back on top, there are some nice long fairways to shoot and then back into the woods for the last few. Good luck on the last two holes with technical tree-covered fairways and steep hillsides to shoot across and up.
Cons: Without a guide or map, it would be a tough course to find your way around. Long dirt road is not friendly to all cars. Just keep going when you start to feel lost.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play even though it will humble all but the best players. We were lucky to have a guide with us most of the way, and the dogs will show you around too. Some would complain about the hike, but not me.


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme Disc Golf

2-4    7/4/2007   3/19/2009
Review By: trey-619-
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing course cut out of the motherlode wilderness area. Great selection of holes including the signature bowl hole that drops 300 feet through tight woods to a tough hillside perch.
Cons: Some of the most challenging terrain to walk let alone play golf. It is best to be in a high clearance vehicle to get up there.
Other Thoughts: Great family that owns and created this course, always a pleasure to have a conversation with Mike and Virginia Toney, so stop by and say hello.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A course you have to play

2-4    10/2/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: jscott86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great escape to a mountainous setting with great views and solitude as you enjoy a course full of unique challenges. They put though into the layout. You can spend the night camping or cool off in a giant pool on private grounds. Check out the pro shop...
Cons: Lots of ways to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Well worth a small green fee. You can play all day for a few bucks. The drive out there is only the start of the fun.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.