Disc Golf Store
Grass Valley, CA 
Toney's Mountain Golf Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #16
3 / 355ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A-mazing!!!!

5+    7/28/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: flipphone
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is hardcore but so much fun. It has everything from huge shots to technical shots, tons of alternates, steep hikes, gnarly elevation shots, its not for the for the weak (jerrys). The people who own this place are the nicest people ever and will usually play a round with you. The pool is super awesome and you get to throw over it, camping is great, and they even have there own pro shop. I have never had more fun playing a course then when I went to Toney's mtn Golf for three days.
Cons: If your expecting to go here and shoot a amazing negative round you might as well stay home. This course is crazy tough.
Other Thoughts: Its worth the trip to go here, everything about this course screams fun, the people, the dogs, the pool, the course, the area, everything.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Paradise in the Sierras

5+    5/31/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We were looking for something to do over Memorial Day weekend, and all the campsites all over the state were completely booked. A buddy told me about the tournament and camping at Toney's mountain, and I was quite intrigued. A laid back weekend in the Sierras, camping with friends and family, and playing in a tournament hosted by the Toneys, all sounded perfect. And it was! Everybody was happy and relaxed afterward.

The top of the mountain is a small plateau, where the Toney's house, the giant pool, and 9 or so of the holes reside. The holes on this portion of the course are the easy-going ones, zig-zagging along corridors of trees. The edges of the plateau are steep, and some of the other holes in this portion are downright cruel, and are some of the most challenging holes I've ever seen in my course experience. I loved it! This is my kind of disc golf. It is the perfect antidote to those wide-open generic boring courses full of 300-350' holes. Toney's mountain has positions playing through wicked dense woods, down extremely sloped narrow tree-lined fairways, and up brutal hillsides that will leave you gasping for oxygen in the thin mountain air. In the back part of the course, wicked long holes take you through dense woods and play along contours of significant slopes. Huge risk-reward scenarios await on all these holes. Don't expect to score par your first time around this one!

Even after all the punishment of a round, I couldn't wait to get back out there and play again! And again, and again! This is a very addictive course, and if you like real challenges, this course is calling your name.
Cons: Some reviewers complained about the remoteness of the course, but I think this is a Pro. Out there you feel free to just let loose and have fun. And my heavily packed and loaded-down-with-camping-gear Honda Accord handled the road just fine...you just need to drive slowly and choose your path carefully in some spots. I would rate this road very safe for any kind of car, so long as the driver is moderately skilled.
Other Thoughts: Mike and Virginia have built a unique kind of paradise up in there on the mountain. They are a wonderful couple, and their whole family is fun to hang out with. Seriously, don't be intimidated by the fact that it is a private course, give them a call and go play! They are super nice and hospitable.

See their website: www.toneysmountaingolf.com

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Bootcamp for Disc Golf

5+    4/26/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 78  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has every shot in the book... Hole 4 is just amazing shooting down into the bowl, it feels like your gonna fall off the tee when throwing! Very intimidating!
Amazing scenery and crisp air! Great for summertime trips!
Camping on site in huge teepee's!
The Toneys are great folks!
Cons: The Long Grueling Drive!
Their slogan should be "Toney's Mountain! We'll break your motor mounts!"
Other Thoughts: Get a 4 wheel drive or truck to drive up in. You can do it in a car, but it's a bumpy ride!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Epic

2-4    9/21/2008   7/3/2009
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging. Some drastic elevation changes. This course is one that will make you a better player especially with disc/ shot selection. Camping on site, Great people running the show. Dogs will keep you company and scout for bears.
Cons: The Manzanetas will bite.
Other Thoughts: This course is a big hike in the foothills of the Sierras Go with someone whose been before or at least get the guided tour from the owners.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.