Grass Valley, CA 
Toney's Mountain Golf Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #1
3 / 586ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A-mazing!!!!

5+    7/28/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: flipphone
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is hardcore but so much fun. It has everything from huge shots to technical shots, tons of alternates, steep hikes, gnarly elevation shots, its not for the for the weak (jerrys). The people who own this place are the nicest people ever and will usually play a round with you. The pool is super awesome and you get to throw over it, camping is great, and they even have there own pro shop. I have never had more fun playing a course then when I went to Toney's mtn Golf for three days.
Cons: If your expecting to go here and shoot a amazing negative round you might as well stay home. This course is crazy tough.
Other Thoughts: Its worth the trip to go here, everything about this course screams fun, the people, the dogs, the pool, the course, the area, everything.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's an experience to remember

1    7/21/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fresh air, remote and no waiting. We have a regular group of guys that play two rounds, back-to-back, at least once a week and have been doing it for a few months now. Toney's sounded pretty tempting and was a little over an hour away from Rocklin. (our base course)

This was as far away from flat-land as you could imagine and will test your game as well as your stamina.
We had three guides- Rory, Akasha, Jamie and the two friendly family Pits. You'll definitely need a guide the first time or two around. The guides were great and all three showed great patience for our large group of 10. Rory shot an impressive +1 (I was a 16 =(
Decent Pro-Shop with a 2nd story launching pad, to the 10th fairway, after you purchase a new disc.(I bought a 136gr Bubble Katana)
Cons: Be prepared to make a day of it. It's 1-1/2 hours from Sacto and a round can easily last more then two hours.
Pack in (and out) what you need. No trash cans on the course. (servicing them would be a bear) There's a garden hose for water at the house. It was pretty good but bring plenty of your own, especially in the middle of summer.
Bad shots can be brutally punishing and you and your friends can spend a lot of time hunting plastic.

Hiking boots are not a must but my feet we're feeling pretty good after the 20 holes.
Other Thoughts: If you hope to get in two rounds in one day, spending the night would be the best choice, if your not from the area.
As mentioned before, our group always plays at least two rounds in a day. Not this day. We wern't prepared enough but next time we will be. Many of our group enjoyed the course and some had just a down right bad day. We can now say we've played the extreme and there are many other courses we've yet to play . Toney's was an experience none of us will soon forget.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way gem

1    4/24/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: swin21
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 34.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course with super variety. Lots of obstacles and blind shots but doable. Great family running the course. Plan to camp on site as it is out of the way. Great course to check out and put on your destination list!
Cons: It's an adventure just getting there, but that isn't a real con.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Billy Goat Golf Rocks!!

5+    7/4/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: skyzer213
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this place has a variety of shots straight up the mountain and straight down the mountain. even crossways. major challenges for all skill levels. this place freaking rocks!! the toneys are wonderful people too and any chance to camp out for a weekend and party and play golf is graciously appreciated by all. Love it!!
Cons: sometimes i lose a lot of plastic on this course, (it can be really easy to do) but besides that and the long climbs straight up the mountain after a full night of partying there really are no cons about this awesome place.
Other Thoughts: there are two unofficial tournaments that happen every year, one on memorial day weekend and one on fourth of july weekend. we always need more people to come out and battle for the win. this place is just too cool to pass up. especially when there is a tournament happening. please come out for the tournaments. BTW LEAVE YOUR DOGS AT HOME! not a good place for your pooch.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Paradise in the Sierras

5+    5/31/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We were looking for something to do over Memorial Day weekend, and all the campsites all over the state were completely booked. A buddy told me about the tournament and camping at Toney's mountain, and I was quite intrigued. A laid back weekend in the Sierras, camping with friends and family, and playing in a tournament hosted by the Toneys, all sounded perfect. And it was! Everybody was happy and relaxed afterward.

The top of the mountain is a small plateau, where the Toney's house, the giant pool, and 9 or so of the holes reside. The holes on this portion of the course are the easy-going ones, zig-zagging along corridors of trees. The edges of the plateau are steep, and some of the other holes in this portion are downright cruel, and are some of the most challenging holes I've ever seen in my course experience. I loved it! This is my kind of disc golf. It is the perfect antidote to those wide-open generic boring courses full of 300-350' holes. Toney's mountain has positions playing through wicked dense woods, down extremely sloped narrow tree-lined fairways, and up brutal hillsides that will leave you gasping for oxygen in the thin mountain air. In the back part of the course, wicked long holes take you through dense woods and play along contours of significant slopes. Huge risk-reward scenarios await on all these holes. Don't expect to score par your first time around this one!

Even after all the punishment of a round, I couldn't wait to get back out there and play again! And again, and again! This is a very addictive course, and if you like real challenges, this course is calling your name.
Cons: Some reviewers complained about the remoteness of the course, but I think this is a Pro. Out there you feel free to just let loose and have fun. And my heavily packed and loaded-down-with-camping-gear Honda Accord handled the road just fine...you just need to drive slowly and choose your path carefully in some spots. I would rate this road very safe for any kind of car, so long as the driver is moderately skilled.
Other Thoughts: Mike and Virginia have built a unique kind of paradise up in there on the mountain. They are a wonderful couple, and their whole family is fun to hang out with. Seriously, don't be intimidated by the fact that it is a private course, give them a call and go play! They are super nice and hospitable.

See their website: www.toneysmountaingolf.com

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Bootcamp for Disc Golf

5+    4/26/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has every shot in the book... Hole 4 is just amazing shooting down into the bowl, it feels like your gonna fall off the tee when throwing! Very intimidating!
Amazing scenery and crisp air! Great for summertime trips!
Camping on site in huge teepee's!
The Toneys are great folks!
Cons: The Long Grueling Drive!
Their slogan should be "Toney's Mountain! We'll break your motor mounts!"
Other Thoughts: Get a 4 wheel drive or truck to drive up in. You can do it in a car, but it's a bumpy ride!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Toney's Mtn of FUN

5+    7/28/2013   4/17/2010
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 68  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed, challenging, and super scenic! Nice concrete tees and baskets. It takes the next two holes shooting straight uphill to climb out of the famous hole number 4 which drops 250ft. off a cliff. Once back on top, there are some nice long fairways to shoot and then back into the woods for the last few. Good luck on the last two holes with technical tree-covered fairways and steep hillsides to shoot across and up.
Cons: Without a guide or map, it would be a tough course to find your way around. Long dirt road is not friendly to all cars. Just keep going when you start to feel lost.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play even though it will humble all but the best players. We were lucky to have a guide with us most of the way, and the dogs will show you around too. Some would complain about the hike, but not me.


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Epic

2-4    9/21/2008   7/3/2009
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging. Some drastic elevation changes. This course is one that will make you a better player especially with disc/ shot selection. Camping on site, Great people running the show. Dogs will keep you company and scout for bears.
Cons: The Manzanetas will bite.
Other Thoughts: This course is a big hike in the foothills of the Sierras Go with someone whose been before or at least get the guided tour from the owners.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme Disc Golf

2-4    7/4/2007   3/19/2009
Review By: trey-619-
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing course cut out of the motherlode wilderness area. Great selection of holes including the signature bowl hole that drops 300 feet through tight woods to a tough hillside perch.
Cons: Some of the most challenging terrain to walk let alone play golf. It is best to be in a high clearance vehicle to get up there.
Other Thoughts: Great family that owns and created this course, always a pleasure to have a conversation with Mike and Virginia Toney, so stop by and say hello.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A course you have to play

2-4    10/2/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: jscott86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great escape to a mountainous setting with great views and solitude as you enjoy a course full of unique challenges. They put though into the layout. You can spend the night camping or cool off in a giant pool on private grounds. Check out the pro shop...
Cons: Lots of ways to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Well worth a small green fee. You can play all day for a few bucks. The drive out there is only the start of the fun.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.