Dodge City, KS 
Tortilla Chucker Share
Uploaded By: Devin0022 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 369ft.   3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice terrain. Concrete pads would help.

1    9/26/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice intermediate to recreational level course with dual tees to add challenge for advanced players. Good hole distances for a nine hole course as opposed to your usual pitch and putt full of lame 200' shots. Somewhat hilly terrain of the park adds a nice element of elevation play. Nearly disc golf dedicated park, and the one playground in it is well out of the line of fire. One little water hazard on Hole 1, and lo and behold it got me.
Cons: The tee boxes are tripping hazards. I've sadly seen a number of courses with these 4"x4" board tee lines. I'm not sure who thought putting a board to mark the front line of a tee box, well, makes a safe tee box, much less a good tee box. Along those same lines, a number of the alternate tees are difficult to find. Signage is starting to rot and needs to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: Dodge is only two hours from home and even though its only a nine holer, I've been meaning to come play this one for some time. Haven't been terribly impressed with much of western KS courses outside of Frontier Park in Hays and Elmwood Park in Norton. This would be in the class of those courses with a little TLC. I'd gladly send the folks in DC the first $20 towards some concrete pads and new signs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    3/21/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: Devin0022
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved holes 3 and 7 because they were different than the others. #3 is a blind shot over a hill, and #7 is a blind shot around one of the huge clump of evergreen trees found on the course. The course had a good amount of different holes so it didn't get boring. I also liked the alternate tee pads. I don't usually see those. The trees were all big with high branches so there wasn't much of a chance to get your disc stuck in them. The course flowed well and I had no trouble finding the baskets or the next tee sign. There wasn't any playground equipment, sidewalks, picnic areas, etc. on the course so it looks as if you won't be bothered very often by non dg players.
Cons: There were more short holes than long which made the course less challenging. There was a little drainage ditch running right through the middle of the course and looks like it could turn into a mud pit if it ever rained. Although I didn't play the alternate tees, I did look for them and many were difficult to find. Smitcraft did do a good job explaining them though, if you take the time to print off his review and bring it with you.
Other Thoughts: Although the little tiny ponds were easy to fish your disc out of, they were also very murky and could be difficult to find. It's a decent course for its size. Holes 8, 9, 1, and 2 go north and holes 3,4,5,6, and 7 all go south so the course makes a big oval.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    5/20/2008   5/18/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is laid out through a small park with scattered mature trees and a little bit of elevation. The course designers did a good job with the space they had to work with, and used the available elevation well.

The course has a decent mix of ace run holes and slightly more challenging shots. It also had alternate tees on every hole, so you can play 18 holes. On many of these alternates, there was a very different look at the hole, which kept the second nine interesting.

For the most part when I played, the course was pretty easy to follow. On most holes, there was a reasonably accurate tee sign that gave distance, and the location of the alternate tee for that hole.
Cons: When the wind blows, this course is downwind of a lot of cows, and you really notice. The course does get a little repetitive, though this is mostly dictated by the land available.

There were a number of non-DGers wandering around the park when we played, and many of them seemed baffled by what we were doing, though they were all nice about letting us play through once we explained.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice place for inexperienced players to learn the game, and also offers a few holes with a little more challenge. I wouldn't drive way out of my way to play this course, but I think it's great that there's a place here to play!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/7/2006   12/7/2008
Review By: smitcraft
Played: 71  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation in western Kansas.
Good mix of shots thrown most baskets are on the some kind of slope or have trouble near.
I love the "Par 5" it is a sick hole that has been eagled very few times.
Cons: Not played very often.
Kids walk by after school and find the baskets appealing to climb and play on.
Other Thoughts: I designed the course when I lived in DC and was teaching at the middle school. The city was very helpful in getting it in the ground and playable.

Alt. Tees to make it 18 holes.
Hole 1- Longer closer to the road. I always played it as a mando left of the
Hole 2- Shorter just past the Pine tree on the right.
Hole 3- Longer and closer to the fence.
Hole 4- Much shorter, tees from the top of the hill. For a right hander it is a short tight hyzer shot.
Hole 5- Is sick! The tee is next to the electrical box straight back up the hill from hole 4. This is the par 5.
Hole 6- Is almost straight down from 5's basket. Plays under the low hanging branches.
Hole 7- Exact same line, just longer.
Hole 8- What I think is the signature hole on the course. Same line as the tee sign, just longer.
Hole 9- Walk over to hole 6 alt, and go another 50 feet. It plays across the flat area and you get some great rolls if you hit the hill with to much angle.

Hope this helps.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 not horrible

6/14/2008   6/14/2008
Review By: staugiera
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: new baskets that have been well kept. some hazards and trees that make some holes less easy than the majority of the holes. when windy, which it is often, birdies are not as easy.
Cons: I have been playing for a month and a half and I could drive the majority of the holes, all except the par 5s. launching pads are extremely hard to find. only 3 or 4 of the holes have signs, when present the course is easy to follow and easy to find the next tee, when absent it becomes interesting. I started on hole 8 accidently and did not realize it because there were no signs on 8 or 9. half of the holes had no trees or hazards and the other half only made you use a sidearm or a little extra hyzer to get around the tree.
Other Thoughts: If the course were used more regularly or if the course had better signage it would get a higher rating. dirt launching pads already grown over with grass due to lack of use.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.