Eau Claire, WI 
Tower Ridge Park - I Share
Uploaded By: timg  



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
By far the best near Eau Claire

2-4    8/23/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: This course along with the other 18 on site are set through cross country ski trails. This course has the elevation. The baskets are Mach 3's that are a little beat up but still catch just fine. There are two tees on each hole. The shorts are usually just shorter (obviously) and maybe set off to one side or the other. It's nice having two tee sets though. And on quite a few holes there is a pretty drastic distance or shot shaping difference between the two sets. The tees are concrete for the longs (mostly, not all) and just natural or worn out carpet for shorts. The elevation changes here are awesome and there are a number of holes with major rollaway potential. This can really affect your score with poor shot execution/choice. The course is very easy to follow with hole 1 starting and hole 18 ending right next to the parking lot. There is also a restroom at the lot too. There are signs by almost if not all long tees. A few short tees have signs. This course connects to the tower ridge 2 course so it can be played as a whole 36 hole loop or the 2 eighteen hole courses separately. This is a really peaceful and serene course to play. You feel really secluded for the most part and that's a big plus to me.
Cons: The decision to use carpet on the short tees makes no sense. They're rutted, moss covered and are not as good as just gravel or grass would be. It's $3 a day for a parking pass but is well worth it in my opinion, especially considering what else is around. the bugs (especially gnats) can be insane. Bug spray will hold off the mosquitoes but the gnats and flies can be overwhelming for some. The tee signs are pretty awful. Many are missing, almost all the shorts are long gone. For a pay to play the tees and signs should be way better than they currently are. The course is only seasonal due to the cross country ski trails they play on, not much they can do about this.
Other Thoughts: Out of the two tower ridge courses this is the more challenging. Both are very nice but if you only have time to play one, pick this one. There are a few other courses in Eau Claire but the only other decent one is Mount Simon. And that doesn't even compare to these two at all as far as difficulty. It's worth the fee to play.

Beautiful Scenery

1    11/5/2013   2/17/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice heavily wooded course. Nice elevation changes and a good variety. Some long holes with hard upshots and great downhill drives as well.
Cons: Needs a map or some more signs. Just a bit hard to navigate. Pretty deserted in Nov. Kind of remote, so at the end of the day I heard a lot of gunshots. Just a bit unsettling on an unfamiliar course.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play in the spring, hopefully will get to. Fewer gunshots would make me feel better too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/13/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: deafdgolfer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -challenging fairways
-some hidden baskets
-still can find your discs in wooded area after your shank drives
-scenic views


Cons: -trash laying around the tee pads, very few trash bins
(thank goodness that it is not everywhere and its all at the tee pads)
-not all holes that have concrete tee pads
Other Thoughts: Signature holes (Pro tee to longest pin)
Hole 1
Hole 7
Hole 12

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic course!

1    9/1/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: Charlie Deville
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big course with big holes. Long, epic drives off (for the most part) cement tee pads. Big time elevation changes but with wide, groomed fairways. Thin underbrush for the rough makes it easy to find your disc. Well designed course!
Cons: There are a few tee pads that aren't cement but are pretty flat. Baskets are hard to see, could be painted brighter color

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and Fun!

5+    11/3/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: kjdutter
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are multiple pin positions.
There are concrete pads on nearly every hole (except two).
The course is well-maintained all year round.
It is never too busy.
The scenery is beautiful.
It is only $3/day (for two courses) or $25/year.
The baskets are awesome and in great condition!
There is a great mix of distance and elevation.
Cons: Needs more trash cans.
Needs better tee signs and next hole indicators.





0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lime Green Jello Fight

2-4    9/23/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Personal Rank: 104

Of the two courses on site, this is the only one that I've included on my favorites list. Don't get me wrong, the fact that there's another very good course at the same location is incentive to make the trip here, it's a two for one package.

This is a rather grueling round of significant elevation changes through a variety of technical shots through heavily wooded, but "fair" fairways. Most holes limit the options for shots and test your ability to hit your line. If you're hitting your lines, you'll be rewarded. If you miss your line, changes in elevation and fairly dense rough will create some challenging recovery shots.

Wisconsin is full of amazing courses and destination areas, this would be towards the bottom of my list of favorite destination areas as well. But that does not mean it isn't worth it, two courses here and close proximity to the Menominee courses makes a very enjoyable weekend of disc golf.
Other Thoughts: After playing 1000 courses, I'm excited to share my opinion on some of my favorites. My top 100+ list can be found on my blog, my favorites list is at 110 of 1020 as of writing this review. Of all courses played, the top 1.5% receive a rating of 5, down to 6% is a 4.5, and 15% is a 4.0 creating a bell curve distribution. I apologize that my reviews are not as detailed as they have been previously. I have included the details as to why this course stands out to the best that my memory serves.

My personal criteria is very subjective, a gut feeling:
~Physical beauty stands out, both scenery and the beauty of each hole.
~Amenities don't mean much to me, it doesn't much matter if there's benches, concrete tee pads, or garbage cans.
~Technical design - How well designed are the fairways/airways and landing areas? Are there unique holes that stand out? Variety of holes - distances, shapes, elevation, tree density, rough thickness. Pars 4 and 5?
~I love extreme/adventure golf. Rugged and secluded courses stand out more than park style courses. In general I prefer more technical over more open.
~Local Scene. If I was involved in a tournament or league or met up with some locals and played the course multiple times I appreciate different aspects of a course.
~The main thing I ask myself is "Does this course make me want to come back?" if the answer is yes, it makes the list.

Thank you, enjoy my reviews and if you don't find this information helpful, please let me know what I can do to improve.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tower Ridge

1    7/8/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: Frolfer102
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A very fun course with a lot of challenging obstacles and distances. Can follow the course with ease and have nice tee boxes to throw from.
Cons: Not enough trash cans (if any).
Fairways are kind of narrow adding some challenge.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Definitely my favorite course played on.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tower Ridge 1

5+    4/3/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18-hole layout with nice new maps on each.
Concrete tees and multiple pin locations on most holes.
Spread out so there aren't a lot of back-ups even when it's busy out there.
A lot of elevation changes.
Great mix of long tight fairways and short technical holes.
A couple tournaments held here and leagues every week in the warmer months.
Right next to another 18-hole disc course.
Shares the property with walking/running trails and even horse trails. For the most part these don't interfere with the disc golf course.
Bathroom on site at beginning of course.
Cons: The hills can get to be a bit much, especially if your playing both the courses one right after the other.
Bugs!
Pay to play (but totally worth it) $3/day-$25/season.
Not enough trash cans.
Baskets not in all year.
Thick brush and trees off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun and challenging. I'm a local and play this course as much as possible when it's up in the warmer months. The elevation changes offer a very nice challenge as well as a good leg workout. The layout is very good with a lot of tight fairways, a few are fairly long. There is a spot after hole #8 where the old and new course meet, and this is a great spot to jump on the new course and play the 36 loop. Otherwise the entrances to each course are very close and can be played individually. There are a few bigger tournaments (bigger for the area) held on the Tower courses each summer. The leagues that are played out here swap the pin positions each time they meet, so the layout changes slightly, pretty much weekly.
The multiple pin locations, variety of holes, and proximity to the other course, gives Tower 1 a high replay value. I recommend hitting this course and it's companion, Tower Ridge 2, anytime your in the area, it will not disappoint.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun hilly course

1    6/13/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large cross country ski area that seems to be pretty disc golf exclusive in the warmer months. There is great elevation on many holes, and good variety with tough uphills and fun downhills along with some shots that go across valleys or play to hilly greens with roll away risks.

There is a nice mix of lengths here, with some shorter holes you can take an ace run on and some longer tough holes that challenge you to get down the fairway and stay out of the rough. The course is wooded, with narrow to medium fairways. There is some underbrush off the fairways, but not enough to eat too many discs, though an errant shot will nearly always be punished by at least a stroke getting back on the fairway. You'll need a good variety of left and right turning shots to score well here, and it felt pretty balanced for right and left handed players. The course feels very secluded, and it's a nice peaceful place to walk through the woods. There are dual tee pads for most holes, and they make a pretty big difference in how the course plays on most holes.
Cons: The course feels a bit neglected. The tees are a random mix of some chipped up old concrete pads and muddy dirt tees that are often rutted and eroded. The baskets are older and don't catch great. The tee signs were nice, but the majority were ripped down and vandalized. There was a pretty good amount of trash and vandalism here, taking away from the natural beauty of the forest. There are a few spots where navigation isn't obvious, there is a decent course map here that's worth printing. The course uses the ski trails for nearly all the fairways, which makes for nice cleared paths without too much clearing, but it gets a bit repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play with some tough challenges and fun elevation. With two good courses on site, this is definitely a place to stop if you have the chance. This first course is the better of the two in my opinion, with elevation, less brush, and a more secluded feel. Beginners will find the short tees challenging but not ridiculous, while more experienced players will be tested to hit lines through the woods and need to try to get distance while staying on the fairway from the long tees.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Don't drive by!!!!

5+    11/1/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: Ric Roc
Played: 84  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots including flat, uphill, downhill and valley!
Woods come into play on every hole (may be a con for some) which requires accuracy and placement is key to get your 3 on some holes. (1,3,7,13,18)
When in long positions course is def. not a par 54, requires even more precise shots and bad shots punish your score. (2,5,6,8,12,14,15,16,17)
Cons: There are not concrete pads on all holes (2,3,14,15,16,17,18) This is due to to Cross country skiing in the winter and the groomer hits them and chips them (evident on holes 5,7)
Tee sings are ripped off, displaced or completely gone. (course is easy to navigate imo)
Mach 3's are not as easy to see and don't catch as well (personal pref. here)
Not many garbage cans but unless you are drinking a 12 pack during your round you shouldn't have a problem, and maybe pick up a stray can,bottle,etc if you see one..
Closed Nov.1 through April 1 : (
Other Thoughts: Great course and you are always able to play the 36 loop with Tower 2 after hole 7. 3$ to park daily or $25 yearly is well worth it. If you are in the area I would check it out as there is nothing else like it around here, top 3 in the state for sure!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.