Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Tradewinds Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #14 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 449ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
You're already down here, might as well play

2-4    12/26/2013   2/24/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty good course in a clean, well-maintained, multi -use county park featuring plenty of other activities and amenities.
• Variety: Decent but not outstanding shot variety. Fairway types range from open to moderately wooded, but definitely lean to the more open side of the spectrum. Many holes provide obstacles on only one side of the fairway, allowing you to take a wider, safer (but somewhat longer) route if you prefer. Relatively open design allows for several lines off most tees, but several pins are well-placed/nicely tucked to take advantage of naturally occurring openings in the foliage so that whatever route you take, a well placed shot is required get a good look at the pin through a window. Still, several pins are out in the open, inviting those with the distance to run at them off the tee. Although the middle tees could provide a wider range of distances, you can always choose to mix in some of the longer longs if you feel the need to air it out. Dual pin placements are rotated to help locals avoid boredom. .
• Memorable holes: Water in play on holes 6 and 7, adds visual appeal and really makes you think twice about your shot, especially if there's some wind. My fave is hole 13, playing to a nicely guarded green.
• Aesthetics: Course is pretty lush for the most part with much of it playing along-side or in view of a lake; makes for a very pleasant setting - really feels like you're on vacation.
• Equipment: Nice sized concrete tees for med and long tees, asphalt or grass for shorter red tees. Signage is good and helps with routing. Baskets are in good shape. Scorecard/Map available at the park office.
• Accommodating to beginners and intermediates, as well as advanced players looking for a fun, casual round. Good place to learn the game. Although there's some risk of disc loss, it's not terribly high.
• Plenty of other stuff to occupy young kids before, during, or after a round. Great location you're visiting with family (see other thoughts).
Cons:
• Walk/bike path weaves through a good portion of the course - courtesy and caution are warranted. Because the course is well established and is so open, locals see people play all the time and quite a few actually know what's going on. That said, not all them do, and there's definitely potential for pedestrian injuries if you're not careful.
• Fire Ants: watch where you put your bag down, or they'll be crawling all over it.
• Navigation - Tough for first timers to figure out what's next in several spots, but course actually flows alright once you get used to it. Map's not perfect, but it helps.
• Elevation: nope.
• Has some low lying spots which hold water - gets swampy after SoFla thunderstorms (especially holes 3-4 and 13-14).
• Other park activities attract some pretty big (and often noisy) crowds.
Other Thoughts: Tradewinds is a nice course, but I can't say the discplay is particularly stimulating - more a pleasant walk in the park than a round of serious discing. Not to sell it short, but it's better suited to leisure golf than it is to tournament play, and that's not a crime. Not every course should be gold level. Even so, it's still a fun round, and the fairly open design means wind can be a factor, which makes things more challenging in and of itself, especially when water's in play.

Visiting parents/in-laws with the wife and/or small kids? Take'em to see Butterfly World (located inside the park). Maybe a mini-steam train ride is more their speed? They offer rides one weekend a month, located on the north side of the park, just across Sample Road… check their website for schedule: http://www.livesteamers.org/Schedule.html
Visiting for the holidays? Play late in the afternoon then let the munchkins check out Tradewinds' Holiday Fantasy of Lights when the sun goes down. ...all this is listed on the park homepage.

If the wife feels like shopping, drop her off at the Festival Flea Market Mall (yes, a Flea Market Mall) directly across the highway from the park. Play a round, then catch up with her for a bite.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tradewinds Park

5+    10/5/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long & Short concrete tees allow all the distance you can handle, rest rooms by basket 1 and tee 15 for the ladies. Signature hole 7 is picture worthy. Long open shots with water and trees along or in fairways to shape shots around.
Cons: multi use park may sometimes have other events on fairways on weekends. Also a busy park and a lot of holes are by the walking path causing the occasional delay. Ft Lauderdale's 1'st original d/g course can get very busy most afternoons & all weekend. There is a lot of debris such as stumps, sticks and weeds on 2, 3 and 10 where trees were removed. Watch your step to avoid ankle twists or falls.
Other Thoughts: I had to revise my review. I have lowered my rating as a number of trees were removed taking some challenge with them. I will update review if new trees or new layout comes through. Mostly open with 10b as a bonus tunnel shot to add some veriety. BDGA has added some additional B positions in past year or two to add challenge.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ehhh

1    12/3/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A lot of open space in which to air it out.
Reasonably long holes in a well maintained course.
Multiple tee and basket positions.
Cons: Really poorly marked. Difficult to find way from tee to tee. Tees also point at strange angles relative to the holes.
Not a terribly creative course design.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course on a different day

1    11/1/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: tfrank
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty course. There is a good mix of open fairways and wooded areas. The tees all have maps of the pin positions. On a day that isn't windy it would be great for long arms.
Cons: Some of the layout is a little tight. The pins and tees almost overlap in places. There is also a jog path winding through the course. I bet you hear "4" a lot on a busy day. I would also bring a map because you can usually see more than one pin from the tee and it isn't always obvious.
Other Thoughts: I really picked the wrong day to play. The entire middle of the course including most or all of 8, 9, 10, 11 and 18 was a vast inland sea. This wasn't wet grass but a foot of standing water. Several other holes had +3" of water around the tee or pin. I would call a local before making the drive.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wild and Wooly Winds

1    7/30/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 232  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tradewinds DGC is mostly flat, mostly wide open, and VERY windy in my one and only visit. There are holes that play next to the water, but with good drives it should be easy keep your plastic dry on the roomy fairways. The added challenge of playing the long holes in strong winds is the reason I boosted my rating from 2.5 to 3. There is an awesome alternate hole that is not on the scorecard or the course map. It is parallel to #10, and you can see the basket next to the target for #10. 10b. is my favorite hole on the course. It is a straight, low mid range shot through thick twisted vines and cool looking tropical vegetation.

The park is nice and well kept, and the course is pretty well marked and easy to follow. There are tee signs and concrete pads, with short tees on many holes. There are benches and trash cans throughout, and a water fountain after #15. Baskets are in good condition. I played while the local club was holding league play or doubles, but all players were very friendly and allowed me to play through.

Cons: This course is mostly wide open and flat, so the wind is the main challenge. Would be rather hot and sort of boring on a calm day, if there ever are any. There is not much shade at all. Posted at the entrance was a sign warning not to leave valuables in your car, which made me nervous since I was traveling with all of my gear. The extra cars there for league night made me less apprehensive. There are other users at the park, and walking paths near some fairways, so you may have to wait occasionally. Cost to enter was $1.50.
Other Thoughts: Tradewinds is a decent course with some nice shots, but I wouldn't be overly excited to visit again. The oppressive heat and lack of variety make it less than remarkable in my opinion.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wind, water and lots of letting loose

2-4    12/11/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In an area of minimal disc golf choices Tradewinds Park DGC offers as much as any Florida course can. Making alot out of seemingly nothing, the course uses limited obsticles well.

The course is equipped with sufficient concrete tee pads, above average tee signs, depicting map, par, distances from multilple tee pads to multiple basket locations. Mach 3 baskets in very good condition in use, with one basket per hole with various pin placements.

Although tee pads are relatively short for the length of the course the flat ground allows for an easy run up from behind the tee pads.

Water comes into play on a few holes, creating a very nice challange to a very open course. Groups of trees are used very well along the way, with a few baskets either tucked into the trees or right inside tree lines. Wind is also a very challenging factor to the course, which could make it very different on any given day.

Tradewinds Park DGC is in very good working order, all equipment in usable condition. Grass is very well taken care of. Seems as though the locals very much respect their only local course.
Cons: Just a few cons to this course, some which may be nitpicking, while others can't be helped.

Lack of elevation takes away from the challange here. Between this and lack of vegetation it really takes away from the challange. This course forces you to do nothing but chuck it out there and shoot relatively easy upshots for par. This also causes most of the course to feel quite repetitive.

Roads and pedestrian sidewalks come into play quite a bit. Good in the aspect of an OB line created(as far as the driveways), but takes away from the seclusion of the course. As this is a multi-use facility there is a chance of the course being occupied by joggers and such. At least they are easily seen on this open course

Tee pads are a bit slippery when damp, played in the morning and the dew on my shoes caused a few slips on tee-offs. Maybe my fault for not taking a bit off of my walk-up, but just something to be cautious about.
Other Thoughts: Tradewinds Park is a pleasure to play when down in the Broward County area. With the only other choice in Broward being Easterlin Park, they each offer something different, Tradewinds being distance and open, Easterlin being short and somewhat wooded. Big arms will enjoy Tradewinds, especially from the Pro tees.

This is a pay-to-play on the weekends, $1.50 per person, worth the price of admission.

A hole that I will never forget on this course is hole #7. With a fairway on the left, water along the right, and the basket sitting on a peninsula 300ish feet away it takes a gutsy shot off the tee to go for the deuce, or a conservitive drive to go for the easy 3.

Tradewinds is my favorite of the two in Broward, but together offer something completely different. Wish there were more courses around, but I'll take what I can get, Tradewinds is an enjoyable walk in the park.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, not amazing, but hey, its disc...

5+    12/26/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nice, well-maintained park.
*Plenty of long, but reachable with an excellent drive holes...
*The holes that do venture into the trees are way fun.
Cons: *Much too wide-open for my liking
*Busy walking/biking path runs through the course.
*Water... Given that I throw mainly FH, many of the water holes were terrifying
*Wind... Being wide open, this course gets exposed to the tradewinds it gets its name from.
Other Thoughts: I liked this park more than Easterlin, but I liked the course at Easterlin better than this course. I prefer wooded courses, and as I mentioned in my "cons", much of this course is wide open.

The course is pretty easy to navigate, and there seems to be a fair amount of players to follow around if you do get lost.

Overall not a bad course, but I enjoyed Easterlin more, and ended up playing there much more than Tradewinds, but both are woth a shot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Now I know what to expect

2-4    6/17/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: psuchef
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Steady start to build your confidence then a challenging water hole with Tight Fairway on 7 (use a hydro), Wide open Middle holes where you can let it rip, a very nice finish after 15 on the back nine, Very open field between 18 and 1 to practice some great driving.
Cons: Bugs, Bring spray and watch for fire ants, definitely leave your flippy flopys at home. Very hot, not for the pup bring lotsa water, disciplined water holes (mangroves, swamp and a large right side lake), a lot of low lying water with creepy crawlies, wait a couple days after the rain. If you haven't played before be prepared to donate a disc or two to the swamps and lake, it's not worth going after discs with bugs snakes and lizards.
Other Thoughts: A little hard to navigate at first make sure to stay to the right past butterfly world a set of picnic tables and a wide open field will help you find the end of 18 and start of 1. The summers hot, the bugs, ants and swamps are unforgiving. I've played a few times and it's an addictive course to get hooked on, a good mix, expect to get wet in the summer and have fun, ahh Florida.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  how many discs can you lose?

5+    4/14/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: biscuit25
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big, open fairways on most holes. Challenging for your wind-game. Still good for a beginner, but a challenge as well. Well laid-out holes. Not many people there at one time. good for a family with picnic capabilities and normal park fare(swingsets, etc.) Weekdays Free. Weekends cost 1.50 since park also offers Butterfly World. Excellent wooded holes. The pro tees are pretty groovy.
Cons: some areas should be weeded better. there are some spots where edges of fairway could be better maintained. since FL has a good collection of snakes, you will be less likely to go into tall grass to find your disc. when it rains a lot, course takes a long time to drain and there is tons of low lying, murky water(another disc grabber for newbies). this equals tons of mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: Bring your bug spray, tons of water(hot), occasionally, someone will get scuba gear and dredge the lake(write info on your discs) Wind is big factor on course(esp. on hole 5) This course forces you to be very centered and focused on your drives. Especially on some of the holes next to the water, but also on holes next to wooded areas. These areas are thick with lots of trees. When it rains a lot, you can lose your disc in the marshy muck. it has improved my game tremendously, and I lost a few discs to show for it. Overall, a great time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big Shot Course

5+    7/20/2007   11/3/2008
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super big course, huge wide open shots. This is a big driver's paradise. A couple of really nice wholes and a signature peninsula green on um 6 or 7 depending on if you find 3.
Cons: Can be a confusing layout, and there are some serious switchbacks, but nobody is really ever playing here, so only a problem in tourneys. It's FLORIDA so you have to be able to play while wet, and bring your bug spray! Bring water if you are not used to the heat! Open course so be ready for a blazing sun.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.