Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Tradewinds Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 449ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tees for all levels

2-4    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: gabereif
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some significant pros (but also some significant cons, as you'll see in the next section):
-Two or three tees on each hole. This makes it a perfect course for a family to play together or any group with players of various skill levels. If you are teaching your boyfriend/girlfriend/son/daughter/buddy/etc to play disc golf, bring them here.
-The course is well-maintained and scenic.
-The course has good pin placement on some holes, using the few trees that are on the course and the lake to add a fair amount of challenge to holes.
-The rough is easy to access for poorly thrown discs.
-Free during the week (you only pay on the weekends and holidays, $1.50 per person)
-Parking is really easy and the course was easy to find (just make sure you go to Tradewinds South).
Cons: -As a first timer, navigating the course is difficult. Pay close attention to the "Next Tee" arrows on the signs at each tee.
-Some of the holes were too open with no trees or obstacles or elevation changes.
-The course plays around a walking/jogging/biking path. Waiting for other users of the park slows down play.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for beginners given the junior tee pads on every hole. Again, it's also wonderful for families and groups of people of varying skill levels. I was close to giving the course a score of 3, but there was just enough challenge to bring it to a 3.5. It's not a course that is worth trekking out of your way to get to, but it's a great local option.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great park for disc

5+    8/30/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: tito970
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great coarse been playing here alot for the past 10 months.Good for begginers and for more adavnced players to work on different throws.
Cons: Watch out for ant hills. Pay to play on weekends only a buck fifty tho per person not to bad.
Other Thoughts: Park is really swampy right now still very playable had to skip holes 10 and 14.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun well balanced course

1    11/19/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: pa000
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and has a good variety of holes for beginners. Although friendly to beginners many holes are good distance and could tell that even advanced players were challenged on many holes. The main office at the entrance has a free map of the course to help orient players. Some walking/jogging trails overlap with course but not really a problem, just need to play responsibly.
Cons: Some holes get waterlogged after rain and mosquitoes are vicious at a few holes so might want to bring repellent.
Other Thoughts: Very happy I chose this as my first course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An Icon of South Florida

5+    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Metal signs mark Amateur tees. Concrete pads. Mix of open shots and some with woods and obstacles.
Cons: No marks for Pro pads. (Not all pins even have them). Easy to lose discs in lake or woods. Mostly open area gets overly hot, rain drains slowly leaving puddles.
Other Thoughts: Fun and challenging., Pins move every month to long and short positions. Bring discs you don't mind losing for first few times playing.Typical Florida weather- prepare accordingly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    1/21/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice easy to navigate course. Nice 18 hole set up. Through a nice park that i found to not be verry crowded.
Cons: Flat as most courses in florida are. Not bad always room for improvment but a fun place to play.
Other Thoughts: The watter makes me nervious on 7 as i am a starving college student and don't wan't to loose me discs. I had a good time though and will be going agian soon.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good fun for everyone...

5+    11/28/2009   12/12/2009
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of opportunity to air it out along with several holes that require more finesse. Well kept course with good tee visibility and labeling.
Cons: Baskets can be difficult to find unless you've played the course before, with a couple tucked into wooded alcoves.
The water can get in the way of your discs at times...so throw wisely.
Course is pay to play, since you have to pay to get into the park, but it is pretty cheap.
Other Thoughts: I have a personal vendetta against the lake at Tradewinds park, as I'm certain I've managed to individually raise the water level with my disc contributions there.
Other than that, I don't have anything to complain about. The area is great, the park is nice, and the course allows me to spray and pray my drives without remorse on most holes. If you're at all familiar with South Florida, you'll know that it's bound to be hot and potentially buggy, but that's just what So Fla is...

I'd recommend this disc golf course to anyone in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very open course, and hot in the Summer!

2-4    8/4/2007   9/9/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play this course when visiting family in FLA. I'm from WI, so the scenery is a welcome change. Very cool little lizards just about everywhere you look.
"Butterfly World" is right next door, so if the family is not into discgolf, drop them off there, and walk over the first tee for the course.
There are some very nice looking areas on some of these holes. Very large trees, impressive canopy's, and very well maintained overall.
Cons: This course is hot in the Summertime. Because it's so open, there aren't too many places to escape the hot Florida sun. Bring water with you, and probably about 1.5 hours to play, as you will need to rest from time to time.
There is a marshy area, and some pretty thick bushy areas that make it very easy to loose your disc. If you keep things in the fairway however, you should have no worries.
Other Thoughts: Course is in a huge park, and could easily be expanded. I will be back everytime I'm in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring lots of water & Bug Spray

1    8/29/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: nicemeup
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out and very clean course with a lot of opportunities to air it out. Some interesting water holes - even if it did claim my Xcaliber. Good signs and well-maintained tee pads on all holes.
Cons: The last 3 or 4 holes seem to have just been crammed into the available space and not as well thought out as the rest of the course.Not a lot of elevation change between holes, but the area is pretty flat so not much that can be done about it. Also, it's South Florida, so it's ridiculously hot. Bring lots of water. During the summer I wouldn't recommend starting a round between 11:00am and 5:00pm. It's just too hot. Watch out for fire ants, mosquitoes, etc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/22/2008   12/7/2008
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very big and wide open course at a beautiful 600 acre park. Several holes run along a big lake, but the lake should not come into play unless you are a lefty.
Cons: This park is very aptly named. The wind is almost always a factor making even a short putt a difficult shot in some occasions. Most holes are very wide open and do not require any difficult shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for players of all skill levels. The wide open fairways are great for beginners and the pro tees and alternate pin placements can add 200+ feet to some of the holes.

Tradewinds park is free during the week and $1.50 per person on weekends. The park is also open on most hollidays.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

7/7/2003   3/23/2008
Review By: mreed12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Very challenging course, tight fairways. Multiple throwing styles helps a lot here.
Cons: Wind can kill you.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you bring plenty of water.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center