Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Tradewinds Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 172ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful Course

5+    1/24/2016   1/24/2016
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Big beautiful park, course is located towards the back past Butterfly World.
- Lots of distance, with a few technical holes mixed-in.
- Good course for all skill levels.
- MachX amazing baskets!
- Good course map, signage, and tee pads.
- Baskets are located in intelligent places, utilizing all the natural foliage available.
- Big beautiful lake with a signature peninsula hole at #6!
- Course has changed a number of times showing commitment by park and local scene.
- Clean, well-maintained with restrooms and water fountains.
Cons: - Safety issues with people crossing on bike/running path which winds through a majority of the course.
- Not much technical challenge.
- Minimal elevation change (pretty common in FL).
- Park employees will prevent you from going into the water to retrieve your disc.
- I understand the addition of hole 9 in the middle of the woods but it has problems. If it rains the hole is unplayable to the point where you can't even walk down the fairway without getting soaked. Also, the entire left side of the hole is an extremely dense thicket. It can be very difficult to recover a disc in there.
Other Thoughts: Bottom Line: It is a beautiful course that is very well maintained. The palm trees and big gorgeous lake capture what DG in SOFLO is all about.

Also, there are soccer fields and lots of open space to get some field work in before or after your round. It costs $1.50 to get in the park but it is well worth it. You can also play Easterlin Park (15 minutes away) for a technical challenge and use your receipt to get in without paying another admission if you go the same day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Much Needed Improvements

1    5/13/2016   12/12/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 92  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with mutliple tees (concrete or asphalt walkway) and rotating pin positions. Signage is accurate and in good shape. Mach X baskets are also in good shape. Course is mostly open with scattered trees, but a few holes are tight, some greens and approaches are tight, and there are a few water holes to contend with. Nice elevated basket on 10 to break up what is a typical, flat south Florida course. Not far from 95 or the Turnpike. Nominal fee to enter the county park on weekends or holidays (totally worth it). OB on almost every hole.
Cons: Off the fairways on a couple of holes can be really tough to find plastic (3, 8, and 9 come to mind). Please no swimming after your lost water throws. Course does get marshy in spots after downpours (especially 13). Please keep your eyes open for people walking on the paths or cars on the entrance road by 14-18.
Other Thoughts: The Broward Disc Golf Association has continually sought to improve the course, and have recently laid down a woodchip path from 8 to 9. It is very nice and dry. This course has improved a lot in the short time I have lived down here and is one of the better courses to play if you're visiting near Fort Lauderdale.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tees for all levels

2-4    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: gabereif
Played: 34  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some significant pros (but also some significant cons, as you'll see in the next section):
-Two or three tees on each hole. This makes it a perfect course for a family to play together or any group with players of various skill levels. If you are teaching your boyfriend/girlfriend/son/daughter/buddy/etc to play disc golf, bring them here.
-The course is well-maintained and scenic.
-The course has good pin placement on some holes, using the few trees that are on the course and the lake to add a fair amount of challenge to holes.
-The rough is easy to access for poorly thrown discs.
-Free during the week (you only pay on the weekends and holidays, $1.50 per person)
-Parking is really easy and the course was easy to find (just make sure you go to Tradewinds South).
Cons: -As a first timer, navigating the course is difficult. Pay close attention to the "Next Tee" arrows on the signs at each tee.
-Some of the holes were too open with no trees or obstacles or elevation changes.
-The course plays around a walking/jogging/biking path. Waiting for other users of the park slows down play.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for beginners given the junior tee pads on every hole. Again, it's also wonderful for families and groups of people of varying skill levels. I was close to giving the course a score of 3, but there was just enough challenge to bring it to a 3.5. It's not a course that is worth trekking out of your way to get to, but it's a great local option.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great park for disc

5+    8/30/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: tito970
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great coarse been playing here alot for the past 10 months.Good for begginers and for more adavnced players to work on different throws.
Cons: Watch out for ant hills. Pay to play on weekends only a buck fifty tho per person not to bad.
Other Thoughts: Park is really swampy right now still very playable had to skip holes 10 and 14.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun well balanced course

1    11/19/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: pa000
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and has a good variety of holes for beginners. Although friendly to beginners many holes are good distance and could tell that even advanced players were challenged on many holes. The main office at the entrance has a free map of the course to help orient players. Some walking/jogging trails overlap with course but not really a problem, just need to play responsibly.
Cons: Some holes get waterlogged after rain and mosquitoes are vicious at a few holes so might want to bring repellent.
Other Thoughts: Very happy I chose this as my first course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An Icon of South Florida

5+    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Metal signs mark Amateur tees. Concrete pads. Mix of open shots and some with woods and obstacles.
Cons: No marks for Pro pads. (Not all pins even have them). Easy to lose discs in lake or woods. Mostly open area gets overly hot, rain drains slowly leaving puddles.
Other Thoughts: Fun and challenging., Pins move every month to long and short positions. Bring discs you don't mind losing for first few times playing.Typical Florida weather- prepare accordingly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    1/21/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice easy to navigate course. Nice 18 hole set up. Through a nice park that i found to not be verry crowded.
Cons: Flat as most courses in florida are. Not bad always room for improvment but a fun place to play.
Other Thoughts: The watter makes me nervious on 7 as i am a starving college student and don't wan't to loose me discs. I had a good time though and will be going agian soon.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good fun for everyone...

5+    11/28/2009   12/12/2009
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 16.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of opportunity to air it out along with several holes that require more finesse. Well kept course with good tee visibility and labeling.
Cons: Baskets can be difficult to find unless you've played the course before, with a couple tucked into wooded alcoves.
The water can get in the way of your discs at times...so throw wisely.
Course is pay to play, since you have to pay to get into the park, but it is pretty cheap.
Other Thoughts: I have a personal vendetta against the lake at Tradewinds park, as I'm certain I've managed to individually raise the water level with my disc contributions there.
Other than that, I don't have anything to complain about. The area is great, the park is nice, and the course allows me to spray and pray my drives without remorse on most holes. If you're at all familiar with South Florida, you'll know that it's bound to be hot and potentially buggy, but that's just what So Fla is...

I'd recommend this disc golf course to anyone in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very open course, and hot in the Summer!

2-4    8/4/2007   9/9/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play this course when visiting family in FLA. I'm from WI, so the scenery is a welcome change. Very cool little lizards just about everywhere you look.
"Butterfly World" is right next door, so if the family is not into discgolf, drop them off there, and walk over the first tee for the course.
There are some very nice looking areas on some of these holes. Very large trees, impressive canopy's, and very well maintained overall.
Cons: This course is hot in the Summertime. Because it's so open, there aren't too many places to escape the hot Florida sun. Bring water with you, and probably about 1.5 hours to play, as you will need to rest from time to time.
There is a marshy area, and some pretty thick bushy areas that make it very easy to loose your disc. If you keep things in the fairway however, you should have no worries.
Other Thoughts: Course is in a huge park, and could easily be expanded. I will be back everytime I'm in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring lots of water & Bug Spray

1    8/29/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: nicemeup
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out and very clean course with a lot of opportunities to air it out. Some interesting water holes - even if it did claim my Xcaliber. Good signs and well-maintained tee pads on all holes.
Cons: The last 3 or 4 holes seem to have just been crammed into the available space and not as well thought out as the rest of the course.Not a lot of elevation change between holes, but the area is pretty flat so not much that can be done about it. Also, it's South Florida, so it's ridiculously hot. Bring lots of water. During the summer I wouldn't recommend starting a round between 11:00am and 5:00pm. It's just too hot. Watch out for fire ants, mosquitoes, etc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.