Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Tradewinds Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 217ft.   3 / 287ft.   3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Solid, Open, and Sunny

5+    5/20/2015   8/26/2015
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with a great layout.

Easy to find the next tee/Accurate signage

Concrete Pads, both for Pro and Am tees. Jr. tees either on asphalt walking paths or concrete pads as well.

Water hazards on a few holes

Trash cans and benches at nearly all tee boxes.

Clean grounds, well maintained.

Bathrooms and water fountains well spaced out

Basket positions are moved periodically, (i.e A, B, C position)

New Mach 4 baskets.

Broward Disc Golf Association is very active and does great work maintaining and improving this and surrounding parks.

Friendly yet competitive players. Many league sanctioned events here throughout the week and just good, friendly folks who will be happy to give advice. Wait by the tables in the parking lot and introduce yourself and jump in.

Nice variety of par ranges, distances, and types of shots needed.

Cons: No elevation change. Still enough obstacles to make things interesting.

The lake gets very deep very quickly. No swimming allowed.

Its Florida... Its hot and sticky most of the time. You either love it or hate it.

Foot traffic/picnickers can cause an issue on a few holes. You may see people unaware of what a basket is for sitting in the shade right by one or parking bikes on a tee pad. Call four or cuatro

$1.50 to get in the park on a weekend or holiday. Save the receipt for that day and use it to get in to nearby Easterlin, Heritage, or Markham Park the same day.
Other Thoughts: Love this place, but its in Pompano Beach, not Ft. Liquordale. It was my home course for awhile. Miss it dearly. Nothing very special terrain wise here, but just an overall solid, challenging, but not over the top hard course. The layout and the people helped my game out so much. Shout out to the BDGA for doing great work!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Round, Good Mix of Holes

2-4    1/9/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: J Bird
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good signs, more than one signature hole, great placement of tees and holes (away from paths and roads for the most part); Decent mix of open and tight holes (though more open than not); 18 finishes back at 1 Tee. All-in all good course.
Cons: I could see the first 2 holes getting a bit clogged when there are folks waiting on hole 1; lack of elevation (though I am used to Northeast courses and no elevation is 'par for the course' in Florida).
Other Thoughts: Wonderful layout, great use of that piece of the park - can't wait to play again on my regular visits to Ft Lauderdale. Wavered on giving 3.5, but its closer to a 4 - so there you go, a bit inflated but it'll work.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/10/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 74  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great variety on this course due to monthly changing of pin positions. You can tell this course is well taken care of and kept up. This course plays three different ways based on which of the three tees you play on each hole. We played all the longs and this course played ridiculously long. It was one of the most challenging courses I have played from the longs. It had a nice mix of woods, water, open. After reading the other reviews I really didn't understand just how fun and challenging this course would really be. This course demands accuracy, distance, and ability to play the wind on your drives and putting. Nice tees, nice baskets and great use of water. It just needed some water left. It is also a great course for throwing rollers as the grass is cut very short and is very consistent.
Cons: We played from the long tees and with nearly every hole over 400 or 400 with water it got a little repetitive. The wind was ridiculous and made driving and putting a real challenge. This is the course for you if you want to learn how to play the wind because it was constantly windy. Park users can come into play in a few places as well as the parking lot on hole 1. Not many birdies unless you can throw 400+ consistently. Drainage is an issue on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I had no idea how challenging this course was going to be. We played all the long tees and it really brought out its teeth. I played with a friend who is local and he said the wind wasn't even as bad as usually and by general standards it was quite windy. I can't imagine how tough this course would be from the long tees on a really windy day. Come on out and try this course because whatever skill level you are at you can play the tee that will challenge you while keeping it fun.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Begginer Player - Begginer Course

1    4/22/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: Ludwig
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked T-Pad signage made it easy even for a beginner like me to figure out each hole although I did have an experienced guide helping me out.

Wide open for a good number of holes with a few shaped shots required.

As a lefty, it was nice that a lot of the holes had options for angles of attack.

Everyone we met on the course was helpful, and friendly. Even those that weren't playing but were enjoying the surrounding park.

Excellent mix of wide open, wooded, and water holes.
Cons: Due to recent rains, there were large bodies of water that wouldn't have normally been there requiring me to go wading in order to fetch my errant discs. Particularly on 16, and 17.

Unfortunately there was construction going on that prevented us from playing 15.
Other Thoughts: Although the water on 6 and 7 isn't necessarily a con, it does make it difficult for beginners.

I'm thrilled to have been introduced to the sport on a course like this and strongly recommend it for anyone else who is just starting out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center