Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Tradewinds Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 252ft.   3 / 442ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Tradewinds Park

5+    10/5/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: Peter S
Played: 137  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 22.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2016
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long & Short concrete tees allow all the distance you can handle, rest rooms by basket 1 and tee 14. Signature hole 6 is picture worthy with its peninsula green. New elevated basket on hole 11 adds to the aesthetics with the water behind the raised basket and adds challenge to the short hole. The majority of the course features long open shots with water and trees along or in fairways to shape shots around or over. New signs are in with hole distance, etc. Benches have been restored.
Cons: Only one wooded hole 9 and one semi wooded hole 13 if that is your thing. multi use park may sometimes have other events on fairways on weekends. Also a busy park and a lot of holes are by the walking path causing the occasional delay. Ft Lauderdale's 1'st original d/g course can get very busy most afternoons & all weekend.
Other Thoughts: A lot of work done lately. Broken tees have been replaced. New MachX baskets. Some redesign to enhance the course flow. New trees separate fairway 18 from 1 and 3 from 4. Want to see good video of the park? Check out 2014 South Florida Open on YouTube. The pictures here are from 2009 and the course is a little different.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tees for all levels

2-4    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: gabereif
Played: 38  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some significant pros (but also some significant cons, as you'll see in the next section):
-Two or three tees on each hole. This makes it a perfect course for a family to play together or any group with players of various skill levels. If you are teaching your boyfriend/girlfriend/son/daughter/buddy/etc to play disc golf, bring them here.
-The course is well-maintained and scenic.
-The course has good pin placement on some holes, using the few trees that are on the course and the lake to add a fair amount of challenge to holes.
-The rough is easy to access for poorly thrown discs.
-Free during the week (you only pay on the weekends and holidays, $1.50 per person)
-Parking is really easy and the course was easy to find (just make sure you go to Tradewinds South).
Cons: -As a first timer, navigating the course is difficult. Pay close attention to the "Next Tee" arrows on the signs at each tee.
-Some of the holes were too open with no trees or obstacles or elevation changes.
-The course plays around a walking/jogging/biking path. Waiting for other users of the park slows down play.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for beginners given the junior tee pads on every hole. Again, it's also wonderful for families and groups of people of varying skill levels. I was close to giving the course a score of 3.5, but the heat and waiting for passersby kept it at a 3.0. It's not a course that is worth trekking out of your way to get to, but it's a great local option.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 mach x baskets !

5+    9/7/2014   5/22/2013
Review By: discjocky
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: the new mach x baskets are in ! designed by ken climo .perfect use of space .water trees swamps and lots of ob. all holes are different especially from the 3 different tee pads . the course was recently updated with some new tee pad and pin locations . several new trees and bushes have been added .
Cons: can get busy on the weekend and holidays big groups like to play there . also hot during the summer bring fluids .
Other Thoughts: if you visit sfl you have to play a least one round there !

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhh

1    12/3/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A lot of open space in which to air it out.
Reasonably long holes in a well maintained course.
Multiple tee and basket positions.
Cons: Really poorly marked. Difficult to find way from tee to tee. Tees also point at strange angles relative to the holes.
Not a terribly creative course design.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Great park for disc

5+    8/30/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: tito970
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great coarse been playing here alot for the past 10 months.Good for begginers and for more adavnced players to work on different throws.
Cons: Watch out for ant hills. Pay to play on weekends only a buck fifty tho per person not to bad.
Other Thoughts: Park is really swampy right now still very playable had to skip holes 10 and 14.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I got a chance to buy new dics

2-4    3/25/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun walk around the park.
Makes you play smart. A lot of holes you have to lay-up your approach shot because the hole is nestled in the entrance to the woods.
Other holes, because of the wind, you need an accurate shot into the fairway instead of going for it and ending up in the water.
Cons: I played 4 rounds in 2 days, as part of the Sizzler. Recreational player, and with the wind and hole location, it was not very Recreational Player friendly.
One hole you tee through the woods, does not require a skill shot, just luck
Other Thoughts: I may come and play it again next year, when my skill level is better. Although some holes are easy pitch and putt for easy pars and some birdies opportunities, the strong winds made them very long rounds

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Round, Good Mix of Holes

2-4    1/9/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: J Bird
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good signs, more than one signature hole, great placement of tees and holes (away from paths and roads for the most part); Decent mix of open and tight holes (though more open than not); 18 finishes back at 1 Tee. All-in all good course.
Cons: I could see the first 2 holes getting a bit clogged when there are folks waiting on hole 1; lack of elevation (though I am used to Northeast courses and no elevation is 'par for the course' in Florida).
Other Thoughts: Wonderful layout, great use of that piece of the park - can't wait to play again on my regular visits to Ft Lauderdale. Wavered on giving 3.5, but its closer to a 4 - so there you go, a bit inflated but it'll work.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun well balanced course

1    11/19/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: pa000
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and has a good variety of holes for beginners. Although friendly to beginners many holes are good distance and could tell that even advanced players were challenged on many holes. The main office at the entrance has a free map of the course to help orient players. Some walking/jogging trails overlap with course but not really a problem, just need to play responsibly.
Cons: Some holes get waterlogged after rain and mosquitoes are vicious at a few holes so might want to bring repellent.
Other Thoughts: Very happy I chose this as my first course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course on a different day

1    11/1/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: tfrank
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty course. There is a good mix of open fairways and wooded areas. The tees all have maps of the pin positions. On a day that isn't windy it would be great for long arms.
Cons: Some of the layout is a little tight. The pins and tees almost overlap in places. There is also a jog path winding through the course. I bet you hear "4" a lot on a busy day. I would also bring a map because you can usually see more than one pin from the tee and it isn't always obvious.
Other Thoughts: I really picked the wrong day to play. The entire middle of the course including most or all of 8, 9, 10, 11 and 18 was a vast inland sea. This wasn't wet grass but a foot of standing water. Several other holes had +3" of water around the tee or pin. I would call a local before making the drive.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wild and Wooly Winds

1    7/30/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 307  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 13.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tradewinds DGC is mostly flat, mostly wide open, and VERY windy in my one and only visit. There are holes that play next to the water, but with good drives it should be easy keep your plastic dry on the roomy fairways. The added challenge of playing the long holes in strong winds is the reason I boosted my rating from 2.5 to 3. There is an awesome alternate hole that is not on the scorecard or the course map. It is parallel to #10, and you can see the basket next to the target for #10. 10b. is my favorite hole on the course. It is a straight, low mid range shot through thick twisted vines and cool looking tropical vegetation.

The park is nice and well kept, and the course is pretty well marked and easy to follow. There are tee signs and concrete pads, with short tees on many holes. There are benches and trash cans throughout, and a water fountain after #15. Baskets are in good condition. I played while the local club was holding league play or doubles, but all players were very friendly and allowed me to play through.

Cons: This course is mostly wide open and flat, so the wind is the main challenge. Would be rather hot and sort of boring on a calm day, if there ever are any. There is not much shade at all. Posted at the entrance was a sign warning not to leave valuables in your car, which made me nervous since I was traveling with all of my gear. The extra cars there for league night made me less apprehensive. There are other users at the park, and walking paths near some fairways, so you may have to wait occasionally. Cost to enter was $1.50.
Other Thoughts: Tradewinds is a decent course with some nice shots, but I wouldn't be overly excited to visit again. The oppressive heat and lack of variety make it less than remarkable in my opinion.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.