Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Tradewinds Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #14 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 449ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Begginer Player - Begginer Course

1    4/22/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: Ludwig
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked T-Pad signage made it easy even for a beginner like me to figure out each hole although I did have an experienced guide helping me out.

Wide open for a good number of holes with a few shaped shots required.

As a lefty, it was nice that a lot of the holes had options for angles of attack.

Everyone we met on the course was helpful, and friendly. Even those that weren't playing but were enjoying the surrounding park.

Excellent mix of wide open, wooded, and water holes.
Cons: Due to recent rains, there were large bodies of water that wouldn't have normally been there requiring me to go wading in order to fetch my errant discs. Particularly on 16, and 17.

Unfortunately there was construction going on that prevented us from playing 15.
Other Thoughts: Although the water on 6 and 7 isn't necessarily a con, it does make it difficult for beginners.

I'm thrilled to have been introduced to the sport on a course like this and strongly recommend it for anyone else who is just starting out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    1/21/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice easy to navigate course. Nice 18 hole set up. Through a nice park that i found to not be verry crowded.
Cons: Flat as most courses in florida are. Not bad always room for improvment but a fun place to play.
Other Thoughts: The watter makes me nervious on 7 as i am a starving college student and don't wan't to loose me discs. I had a good time though and will be going agian soon.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, not amazing, but hey, its disc...

5+    12/26/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nice, well-maintained park.
*Plenty of long, but reachable with an excellent drive holes...
*The holes that do venture into the trees are way fun.
Cons: *Much too wide-open for my liking
*Busy walking/biking path runs through the course.
*Water... Given that I throw mainly FH, many of the water holes were terrifying
*Wind... Being wide open, this course gets exposed to the tradewinds it gets its name from.
Other Thoughts: I liked this park more than Easterlin, but I liked the course at Easterlin better than this course. I prefer wooded courses, and as I mentioned in my "cons", much of this course is wide open.

The course is pretty easy to navigate, and there seems to be a fair amount of players to follow around if you do get lost.

Overall not a bad course, but I enjoyed Easterlin more, and ended up playing there much more than Tradewinds, but both are woth a shot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good fun for everyone...

5+    11/28/2009   12/12/2009
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 15.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of opportunity to air it out along with several holes that require more finesse. Well kept course with good tee visibility and labeling.
Cons: Baskets can be difficult to find unless you've played the course before, with a couple tucked into wooded alcoves.
The water can get in the way of your discs at times...so throw wisely.
Course is pay to play, since you have to pay to get into the park, but it is pretty cheap.
Other Thoughts: I have a personal vendetta against the lake at Tradewinds park, as I'm certain I've managed to individually raise the water level with my disc contributions there.
Other than that, I don't have anything to complain about. The area is great, the park is nice, and the course allows me to spray and pray my drives without remorse on most holes. If you're at all familiar with South Florida, you'll know that it's bound to be hot and potentially buggy, but that's just what So Fla is...

I'd recommend this disc golf course to anyone in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very open course, and hot in the Summer!

2-4    8/4/2007   9/9/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 21.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play this course when visiting family in FLA. I'm from WI, so the scenery is a welcome change. Very cool little lizards just about everywhere you look.
"Butterfly World" is right next door, so if the family is not into discgolf, drop them off there, and walk over the first tee for the course.
There are some very nice looking areas on some of these holes. Very large trees, impressive canopy's, and very well maintained overall.
Cons: This course is hot in the Summertime. Because it's so open, there aren't too many places to escape the hot Florida sun. Bring water with you, and probably about 1.5 hours to play, as you will need to rest from time to time.
There is a marshy area, and some pretty thick bushy areas that make it very easy to loose your disc. If you keep things in the fairway however, you should have no worries.
Other Thoughts: Course is in a huge park, and could easily be expanded. I will be back everytime I'm in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring lots of water & Bug Spray

1    8/29/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: nicemeup
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out and very clean course with a lot of opportunities to air it out. Some interesting water holes - even if it did claim my Xcaliber. Good signs and well-maintained tee pads on all holes.
Cons: The last 3 or 4 holes seem to have just been crammed into the available space and not as well thought out as the rest of the course.Not a lot of elevation change between holes, but the area is pretty flat so not much that can be done about it. Also, it's South Florida, so it's ridiculously hot. Bring lots of water. During the summer I wouldn't recommend starting a round between 11:00am and 5:00pm. It's just too hot. Watch out for fire ants, mosquitoes, etc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Now I know what to expect

2-4    6/17/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: psuchef
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Steady start to build your confidence then a challenging water hole with Tight Fairway on 7 (use a hydro), Wide open Middle holes where you can let it rip, a very nice finish after 15 on the back nine, Very open field between 18 and 1 to practice some great driving.
Cons: Bugs, Bring spray and watch for fire ants, definitely leave your flippy flopys at home. Very hot, not for the pup bring lotsa water, disciplined water holes (mangroves, swamp and a large right side lake), a lot of low lying water with creepy crawlies, wait a couple days after the rain. If you haven't played before be prepared to donate a disc or two to the swamps and lake, it's not worth going after discs with bugs snakes and lizards.
Other Thoughts: A little hard to navigate at first make sure to stay to the right past butterfly world a set of picnic tables and a wide open field will help you find the end of 18 and start of 1. The summers hot, the bugs, ants and swamps are unforgiving. I've played a few times and it's an addictive course to get hooked on, a good mix, expect to get wet in the summer and have fun, ahh Florida.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  how many discs can you lose?

5+    4/14/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: biscuit25
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big, open fairways on most holes. Challenging for your wind-game. Still good for a beginner, but a challenge as well. Well laid-out holes. Not many people there at one time. good for a family with picnic capabilities and normal park fare(swingsets, etc.) Weekdays Free. Weekends cost 1.50 since park also offers Butterfly World. Excellent wooded holes. The pro tees are pretty groovy.
Cons: some areas should be weeded better. there are some spots where edges of fairway could be better maintained. since FL has a good collection of snakes, you will be less likely to go into tall grass to find your disc. when it rains a lot, course takes a long time to drain and there is tons of low lying, murky water(another disc grabber for newbies). this equals tons of mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: Bring your bug spray, tons of water(hot), occasionally, someone will get scuba gear and dredge the lake(write info on your discs) Wind is big factor on course(esp. on hole 5) This course forces you to be very centered and focused on your drives. Especially on some of the holes next to the water, but also on holes next to wooded areas. These areas are thick with lots of trees. When it rains a lot, you can lose your disc in the marshy muck. it has improved my game tremendously, and I lost a few discs to show for it. Overall, a great time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/22/2008   12/7/2008
Review By: holmslice
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very big and wide open course at a beautiful 600 acre park. Several holes run along a big lake, but the lake should not come into play unless you are a lefty.
Cons: This park is very aptly named. The wind is almost always a factor making even a short putt a difficult shot in some occasions. Most holes are very wide open and do not require any difficult shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for players of all skill levels. The wide open fairways are great for beginners and the pro tees and alternate pin placements can add 200+ feet to some of the holes.

Tradewinds park is free during the week and $1.50 per person on weekends. The park is also open on most hollidays.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big Shot Course

5+    7/20/2007   11/3/2008
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super big course, huge wide open shots. This is a big driver's paradise. A couple of really nice wholes and a signature peninsula green on um 6 or 7 depending on if you find 3.
Cons: Can be a confusing layout, and there are some serious switchbacks, but nobody is really ever playing here, so only a problem in tourneys. It's FLORIDA so you have to be able to play while wet, and bring your bug spray! Bring water if you are not used to the heat! Open course so be ready for a blazing sun.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.