The Dalles, OR 
Tree Top DGC Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #16 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Note all the other park facilities (tennis courts, baseball field, etc.)



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Trees trees and more trees

5+    5/28/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: JerichoBronco
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nice baskets
*Beautiful park
*No under foliage. All grass for the most part
Cons: *Lots of trees, not well defined fairways.
*Flow isn't great, course could have been thought out better
*No holes that you throw downhill, 3 holes you throw uphill
*This is a busy park and lots of people don't respect the disc golfers, in the way a decent amount of the time
*Hole 13 is a par 2, kind of a waste
*Often windy
*No benches
*Concrete tee pads are a bit short
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I think it's a nice course, and I feel lucky to have it. Very tight fairways, if you want to call them that, seems like you are always trying to sneak around trees.

Hole 1 + 18 are basically the same hole, even though they are spaced 20 yards apart. It's a difficult uphill drive that you have to keep low under the branches. These are rated the 2 hardest holes on the course. Hole 2 is my favorite drive on the course, downhill need an easy anhyzer or forearm shot. Hole 3 is the worst drive on the course. They set the tee pad in front of 3 trees 20 yards in front of you. No great driving path on either side. Holes 4+5 are pretty straight forward then you have an odd transition to hole 6 (Walk towards Mt. Adams in the distance). After hole 6 you walk all the way back in the same direction you just threw to hole 7. This was simply a poor hole layout here, all I can guess is they didn't want people throwing towards the cars in the parking lot. After hole 8 you walk across the street for 9. The next several holes have a good flow. After hole 12 you walk across the baseball field for the par 2. When you get to hole 15 it's the easiest on the course, the best chance for birdie, with a hyzer into the hole. Hole 16 you must throw between 2 trees or get a penalty stroke and drop at the trees. This hole is probably the 3rd most difficult as the gap isn't that big that you have to hit.

Holes aren't very far, course emphasis on accuracy more than distance. Just get ready to be creatively weaving your way through the trees. It's a fun course though. After playing all the courses in the gorge I would rate this the 2nd best course (after N. Bonneville) in the gorge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great walk in the park

2-4    2/1/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of a city park! Not to bad of shape even in the winter. Had a great view of Mt. Hood from the easiest hole (13). Spring time the cherry orchards are in bloom that is cool. Good parking-bathrooms. Best number signs on the baskets of any course I've played, period! Signs at pads not as good. You could easily play this course with a good driver and a putter. Big trees are the main obstacles, hole 1 and 18 have a little hill that might catch your second throw by surprise...well it does me. Course is otherwise flat. No Oregon fees-it is a city park!
Cons: Winter bathrooms! No trash cans. Signs to next pad lacking. Map is a little hard to understand...you need to turn it upside down. Hole number 1 and 18 also throw through or hopefully around a playground, today I avoid it both times but I have in the past landed right in it. An exercise class used the playground area this saturday a.m. for their group.
Other Thoughts: City park might be busy on weekends. A major walk path for those who use it for their walking routines come into play here and there. It is a fairly easy course and is a great place to teach the game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great tee markers!!!

1    9/13/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 93  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best basket markers I've ever seen, easily visible from the tees. Open and difficult to lose any plastic. Pretty decent flow and pins are well spaced. Overall good course design. Tees are all concrete and marked with embedded with tee numbers. Course has an overall map at start.
Cons: Overall map is pretty horrible. Why the microscopic numbering? Some holes and tees have changed locations but the map is the same. No tee maps. Next tee markers aren't clear so many new players of the course ended up teeing from the basket instead of looking for the next concrete tee. Concrete for each tee is WAY too short, can affect run-ups. Big gap between holes 12-13 with no indicator of the next tee and 13 is super short (ace practice).
Other Thoughts: This is another course that has great balance but just comes up short on signage and direction. Good for practicing technical shots around/through trees. No serious hazards, though I've been told it can get fairly windy. Some basket markers have been turned, making them hard to read from the tee when normally possible (since they are so massive).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The place to be in The Dalles

5+    9/1/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: beautiful park with great views of the Gorge and Mt. Hood and the 'Klicks'. All most all holes green well kept fairway/park. Pin placement and extra large trees make the throw fun. Example #11 has a nice looking 30 foot full tree directly in front of you making the shot now a hizer or anti hizer. fun, fun, fun!
Cons: Hole #1 and Hole #18 baskets are on a small hill (that's no problem) but their is a playground set up directly in the line of your throw. Must be careful of others using the park. Lots of kids, softball games, picnic goers and power walkers.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course. Friend with me who played for the first time really liked the course. Pleasant time in the park!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 HOME AWAY FROM HOME

5+    7/14/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: freakyflyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/14/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is always fun to play. Gives all types of players the chance to throw a little of everything. You got the trees and the open fields and a few elevation changes. Plays quick. I like to play two rounds when I go there. .
Cons: Number Three pin used to be wet around it but last time I went seems they fixed the problem. I wish there were benches and trash cans near the tee pads. Watching and waiting for people on the path can mess up the vibe of the game but it happens in a park.. Oh yeah the wind, there is no shortage of it , but its The Dalles, what do you expect?
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it is close to where I visit family, and it challanges me every time I play there. Great people on the course everytime I have been . Their doubles match weekly is fun too. .

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/20/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: Dan-hyzer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has some long holes that are hard to drive the entire distance. The holes seem to open up after the drive so you can still save par if you hit a tree. It's also very difficult to lose a disc on this course unless you are a complete beginner with no control.
Cons: Construction on Hole number 3 spoils the hole. Hole 13 (I think that's the hole) is super short, almost not even worth having on the course. It feels like you're starting with your second shot at the tee box. Park is dual use and if it's a popular time, you'll be waiting for dog walkers, etc at your tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Can be very frustrating for a beginner due to the number and proximity of trees. As your accuracy improves, you'll find the course more "challenging" and less "frustrating" because you know you can do it.

Birdies are very possible, even on longer holes. Number 8 would be the toughest to birdie. You'd need a drive of 350-375 at least to hole out in two. Other holes give you a great birdie shot on drives from 300-325'

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Views To Die For!

1    6/25/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sorosis Park in The Dalles sits high above the majestic Colombia River. It has incredible views of Mt. Adams to the north and Mt. Hood to the south along with some amazing Colombia Gorge views. The park kinda has a Pier Park vibe to it with it's green well manicured lawns and scattered mature Oak and Pine trees. There is almost no underbrush to look for discs in. The park is a large multi use one with all the usual park amenities such as ballfields, gazebo, restrooms, a large play castle struture for the kids, fountains and more. The teepads are concrete with metal house numbers inbedded in them. The baskets are discatchers with the biggest yellow number signs on top I've ever seen. They're like 8" x 8" and visible from far away. They really help with the navigation. There is some elevation on most of the holes.
Cons: While I was blown away with the beauty of the park and incredible views, I was luke warm to the course design. I wasn't real fond of starting and finishing with uphill holes. There weren't any holes that really wowed me. I tried to navigate the first time through by following the next teepad signs on the baskets. That didn't work too well although when I finally decided to use the map, navigation was fairly easy. And finally, I felt there were too many holes where you were throwing uphill or slightly uphill. Most of us enjoy throwing down hills more.
Other Thoughts: Lovely, beautiful park, take your breath away views of the surrounding mountains and gorge. Nice course! Suitable for everyone from beginners up to more advanced tournament players. This would be a course that most of us would love to have as our home. Just another of Oregon's cache of fine disc golf courses.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 High Above the Tree Tops

1    5/2/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 187  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Tree Top DGC at Sorosis Park in the Dalles, OR is one of the most beautiful parks I have ever had the opportunity to play disc golf in. With the massive pines, firs, and oaks spread throughout the entire course, it is the perfect place to be on those hot summer days. What helps separate this course from so many others are the amazing views which can be had high on top of this quaint little city. Breathtaking views of Mt. Adams (WA), Mt. Hood (OR), as well as the massive Columbia River which splits the valley below, separating Northeast Oregon from Southeast Washington.

The park amenities include a large gazebo, which has a large fire pit and several tables, a large clean bathroom, water fountains, two baseball fields, tennis courts, volleyball court, Vietnam Memorial, jogging path, a really neat large wooden playground, and garbage cans spread throughout the course (which is regularly emptied by the onsite maintenance/ caretaker of the course). Because there is someone on site, the course maintenance is exceptional, with beautifully mowed grass fields, trimmed trees, and manicured bushes. Because there is no underbrush on the entire course, losing a disc is really not an issue.

Navigation is fairly simple for first timers thanks to the kiosk where you first park, as it has a large map of the course as well as printouts in which players can take with them. The kiosk also lists local events, and updates on the Hood River Disc Golf Club. The course plays all over the massive park, utilizing the gentle rolling hills, with the exception of hole #1 and 18 which use the larger dirt hill.

Baskets are all DISCatchers, with large # signs on top. They have inner chains which help add to their overall catching ability, holding in faster moving discs which give those accurate tee shots a better chance of staying in for that elusive ace! Many of the baskets also have arrows written on them in black Sharpie indicating where the next tee is located. Tee pads are all large and cement with metal numbers embedded in them, and are all level with the exception of tee pad #15.

The challenge is perfect for all levels at Tree Top DGC. They reward accuracy with birdies, but do require some distance with control as 16/18 holes range between 250-350 feet, with the exception of hole # 13 (135ft.) and #15 (170ft.), which are great ace run opportunities. The course design was fantastic! The designers utilized what they had, shaping fairways through the maze of trees, giving players multiple lines to choose from on every hole!
Cons:
This course was so well done that it is difficult to come up with many flaws. However, without a course map, this course could get a little confusing since players must travel all around the park and sometimes it is not obvious where the next tee pad should be. Fortunately, the local disc golf club does an awesome job keeping maps available at the kiosk near tee pad #1.

Also, hole #13 is a bit of a filler hole, as it is a short ace run which is difficult to not birdie unless you overshoot it on to the road. However, it does have a fantastic view of Mt. Hood so it is worth the trip in to the corner of the park just to play it. Plus, many of the locals (I am told) throw from the other side of the park toward hole #13 basket which makes the hole much longer when no one is playing baseball.

Last, tee pad #15 seems to really be unlevel. It is located in a great spot, and the hole is a lot of fun, but it can be a bit dangerous. Hopefully it can eventually be redone or relocated, but for the time being it works just fine.
Other Thoughts:
This has got to be one of the better courses in all of Eastern Oregon if not the best! There are not too many courses around this area so if traveling through, this course is a must! There are plenty of local breweries around in town, as well as some great restaurants, so it makes for a nice getaway as it is only a couple of hours from Portland. This course truly is something to remember!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Routes: Multiple Sorosis

1    5/2/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the stranger names for a park I have ever encountered but it is another gem in the Oregon park system. You are on the top of the city of The Dalles and basically looking down on the hole town in fact the beautiful views of Mt. Adams and Mt. Hood will take your breathe away as well as the views of the Columbia river and surrounding canyons. The course is all mowed green grass that could be played shoes optional. This is a course with many tree obstacles on every fairway and there are several different routes to take on each hole; it reminds me of an upgraded Champoeg State Park with three extra holes, green grass and better scenery for free. The tee pads are all concrete and the baskets are all discatchers with added inner chains to make them catch better. The other brilliant move they made for the baskets was to make big metal yellow signs on the top of the baskets with the hole number on it that you can see from the pad, this is a huge help. Though there isn't a lot of elevation there are a couple of spots that are used very well in this manner; holes 1 and 18 come in to mind right off of the bat. There are plenty of other amenities including bathrooms, a large play area for the kids, benches, a jogging trail that's out of the way of the course, a baseball field, tennis courts and other things.
Cons: There isn't a lot of variety in terms of distances and it would be nice to see a couple of 400-500 foot holes played out in this beautiful park. Hole 13 is a short little open ace run that felt like a filler all though the view of Mt. Hood from this basket in incredible.
Other Thoughts: I haven't played many courses in Eastern Oregon so I can't say for sure but this might be on the top of the list. This will forever be a favorite of mine. This is the best courses around for some miles and being an excellent park to go hang out and do things at when it's nice outside I can imagine that play will be slowed down a bit do to other disc golfers and park users.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Sorosis update

5+    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: diskgolfer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery
Easily accessible
Only decent course within 40 miles
New concrete tee pads
No place for disks to get lost
Usually no congestion on weekdays and weekend mornings and light otherwise
Irrigation must have been fixed because grass was green all summer
Cons: Other park users sometimes are in the way
Hole #1 and 18 baskets can be muddy in the winter
Other Thoughts: Good place to play for kids and others: tennis, softball, exercise equipment, covered picnicing, excellent playground, rose garden, Vietnam memorial, jogging path, volleyball court, bbq pits

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.