Comstock, MI 
Robert Morris Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 242ft.   3 / 381ft.   3 / 453ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A good reason to visit Comstock on my way home from K'zoo

1    9/28/2014   11/19/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well executed course features plenty of variety.
Disc Play: Fairways run from tightly wooded to completely open with most filling the spectrum between those extremes. Reasonable mix of straight/L/R fairways requiring various shot shaping abilities off the tee. Most fairways offer a variety of lines off the tee (some obvious, some more creative), with a few that really limit you to maybe one or two routes. Distances range from under 200' to over 500', with the most doing a decent job filling in the gaps along the way. About half the holes feature sizeable elevation changes, with uphills and downhills that do more than simply change effective hole length. A few sloped greens present nasty rollaway potential on putts and approaches. Does a decent (but not outstanding) job of combining these attributes to create a course that's reasonably challenging, well-balanced on the whole, making for quite a fun round.

The front plays decidedly shorter and tighter, with some well-guarded pins; placement off the tee is the key to low scores. The back nine features much more open terrain with distance off the tee followed by a reasonably well-placed upshot being the key to success. Taken together they provide enough variation to provide a fairly complete discing experience. This course should prove pretty challenging for most players, but not unreasonably so (especially if you have the distance to give yourself birdie ops on some holes where we noodle arms have no hopes of doing so).

Equipment/Maintenance: Concrete tees and baskets were in excellent condition. Baskets not visible due to elevation changes were flagged to help get a bead on your target. Tee signs show general shape and distance from multiple tees (see other thoughts). Fairways were nicely mowed and the course was clean. Everything was well-maintained and in fine shape.

Routing/Nav: Laid out with holes 1-9 on one side of the park road, and 10-18 on the other side, with both loops starting fairly close to the parking lot, so you can easily start on 1 or 10 to avoid traffic and keep things flowing smoothly. Finding the next tee was pretty easy for the most part, and I actually think I spent more time locating baskets once I got to the tee than I did getting from hole to hole. The tee signs provide a rough idea of the shape, but as a 1st timer, I simply had to scout ahead (mostly on holes 10 -18) to get an idea of where I really wanted to throw.

Laid out to avoid interactions with other park goers for the most part, but the back 9 seems open enough that you might find some walkers innocently enjoying stroll without realizing they'd stumbled onto a "course."

Aesthetics - Typically pleasant park setting with rolling hills, woods, and prairies makes for a nice escape. Unfortunately, only the approach/putt on #18 brings you within view of the lake, which is probably what most would consider the park's most pleasant feature.
Retaining walls around some of the pins give the course a cleaner look while combating soil erosion.

Memorable holes:
#1 - uphill through plenty of trees makes this a tough hole, especially starting out.
#4 - invitingly open, uphill fairway sweeping up to a semi-guarded basket.
#9 - short downhill Ace Run through the woods with trouble behind the pin.
#10 - begs for a monster RHBH hyzer up a tall,steep hill, with a very strong fade as basket is well tucked away off the fairway with trouble behind waiting for overzealous upshots.
# 13 - RHBH hyzer (very reachable with the down hill) that requires great placement to get a look at birdie, with a risc disc loss if you lose control.
#18 - downhill tunnel challenges you to keep it long and straight without flipping or fading into the brush.
Cons:
#12's a long, straight, open hole running parallel to the entry road - quite foreseeable that RHBH players will occasionally turn one over or grip-lock one into the road. That said, I'm not sure putting one into the road necessarily translates into "likely to hit a car," given that the park didn't seem busy on a nice Sunday afternoon. Nonetheless, I hold a certain contempt for holes where quite foreseeable shots present a reasonable possibility of involving non-DG traffic of any sort.

Several fairways on the back 9 are lined with tall prairie grass that makes finding discs a royal pain without affecting play in any other way. Tip of the hat for mowing a couple of paths into the long strip separating 12 and 15, but I think they should have mowed a bit more aggressively on holes 13, 14, and perhaps 11? Missing the fairway by a couple of feet shouldn't mean a 15 minute search to find your disc.

While the course offers a pretty good balance on the whole, each half can feel a tad repetitive unto itself.

I appreciate they were trying to reward distance on the back 9, but it really doesn't punish uncontrolled distance.
Other Thoughts: Great course, offering a fun and challenging round with a little of everything.

No clue why multiple tees are noted on the signs or Hole Info page. Course has a single set of concrete pads corresponding to the distances for the longs. Never saw a marker, flag, worn patch of grass, or any blessed hint of an alternate tee. Perhaps the signs were made with multiple tees in mind and they either a) never happened, or b) will be added at a later date.

Wind can certainly be a factor, particularly on the back 9.

Although I wish they'd mowed a bit deeper into the "rough" on holes 11-14, it most definitely was not a course maintenance issue. All the fairways were well-mowed. They made a conscious decision as to what should/shouldn't be cut. I just think they should have been a bit more judicious about it.

Leaving this course, there's was no doubt in my mind it's a 3.75... no more, or no less. But since that's not an option, I sit here now, forced to click 3.5 or 4.0. The balanced variety, good design, and great upkeep were enough to push it closer to 4.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tricky course

2-4    6/10/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: DoobieDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: technical course, well laid out. alot of tight shots through trees, one has a water hazard where i lost a disc (#11), long fairways on the back 9 and its #5 per carload of people and they have people who check your tags.
Cons: no room on some holes for any error at all, you get little "tree love" on some holes. could be a little better, but its a nice course
Other Thoughts: careful on #17...its 500 feet and ton of giant grass on the left where alot of discs come up missing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A little bit of everything

2-4    3/17/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: jonesydesign
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great variety
-Tight, technical shots
-Long, bomber shots
-Well kept grounds
Cons: -Ridiculously long/hard shots are all rated par 3
-Near a lake but no water in play
-Easy to lose a disc in the brush
-Nice elevation changes
Other Thoughts: I love to hate Robert Morris. The course is well-designed with lots of variety, but it's so darn difficult to stay on par. I love a good challenge, but some of those 500-600 foot holes just feel like they should be closer to a par 4 or 5. This course will truly test you and your accuracy. It's a must for any serious disc golfer in the area or passing through.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    6/1/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Shot Variation. This place has pretty much all you can ask for besides the water being in play. Tight Wooded, Bombers, Up and Downhill.
- Place is pretty good of a work out with lots of elevation variation.
- Signs makes it pretty easy to find your way around and know where to go.
-Tee pads Pretty nice Tee Pads here, minus hole 10(it's all rough looking)
-Grass is managed pretty well (as it should be with pay to play)
Cons: - For a pay to play, there isn't nearly as many trash cans and benches as there should be.
-The staff seems to be pretty unfriendly
-On a Sunny or Windy day the Back 9 can be pretty rough as a lot of it's open without shade or trees.
-It used to have a water hole but they took this out(atleast I have been told this)
-They run out of Score Cards(for a pay to play it should have them)

Other Thoughts: First hole was kind of hard to find, it's starts in the woods right by the water, but the sign is hard to see from the parking lot.
This place is pretty good and has a lot of fun holes. I think for the pay to play factor makes this a place that I don't really want to come back to. Cold Brook is about the same in distance and more enjoyable. However if I lived in the Kzoo area and there was a small annual fee it may be worth it as there is swimming here too.
Also from what I saw if you walk in its free, but I didn't think there was parking anywhere by it and it's a walk to the first hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course!

5+    5/4/2011   5/4/2012
Review By: badmidget
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Pads: Concrete and plenty long enough.
Fairways: Some wide some narrow. All unique.
Baskets: Nice quality baskets.
Amenities: Bathrooms available. Benches. Ample Parking.

Overall: Well maintained. Tons of diversity between holes. Some are long some are short. Some are hyzer, but some are anhyzer or forehand. Some have hills, but some are flat. Some are wide open, but some are really tight.
Cons: In an attempt to dress up a few of the baskets, the park maintenance people added retainer walls around a couple of baskets which looks awesome, but made the baskets too low to the ground.
Other Thoughts: This is my personal favorite course as of 2012. I love its diversity. The 18th is such a fun hole to end on. It is so well maintained and has a ton more to offer other than disc golf if you're interested. There are picnic areas, a really nice swimming beach, a playground and more.

Both a pro and a con is that they charge for people to play. Last I checked, it was $5 per car or $30 for a season pass. Most of the time this would be a con. However, it keeps the lame ppl that want to trash the course away and it pays the people that keep this course looking so nice. I get my season pass and play there as often as I can... it's well worth it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of My Favorites

5+    4/23/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: Clive
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fantastic variety of holes.
- Elevation changes throughout.
- High level of challenge that will test the skills of nearly everyone.
- Occasionally they will move the pins or utilize additional tee pads to create variety from year to year.
- Excellent plot of land that is well-maintained.
- Clear distinction between front and back nines; can play either or both and this also helps facilitate a good flow of players through the course.
- No dogs. Some people consider this a con but not me. I personally like to keep my shoes and discs devoid of canine fecal matter.
Cons: - On a really windy day, some holes on the back nine will annihilate your confidence in your skills.
- They replaced what was once a cool over-the-water-to-the-right shot on hole #9 with a lackluster downhill wooded ~180ft shot.
- Friends have mentioned discourtious staff, although I've never had an issue.
Other Thoughts: - Easily the nicest course in Kalamazoo. If you're coming through town to play Oshtemo and/or Cold Brook, do not overlook Robert Morris. If you live in Kalamazoo and you've never tried R.M., do yourself a favor and make the drive out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Best in Kzoo Area

1    7/18/2011   3/28/2012
Review By: Nico28
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course and the best in the Kzoo Area. It is maintained greatly and is never repetitive. All holes are fun and make for a great challenge. The park it self is beautiful in the summer. I have only played this course once but would love to play it again.
Cons: NO BEER, and like said before the teenage park rangers are on a power trip.
Signs could be a little better showing more obstacles.
Some holes are blind, but I guess that is part of the fun and challenge of the park.
$5 to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dont play here

5+    6/5/2010   7/5/2011
Review By: sparty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great cement tees, excellent hole distances, vast area to play. course is huge and has some amazing holes.
Cons: No pets, rangers are dicks, no beer. Last time I played this course a little 16 yr old ranger thought he would harass my group by following us on a golf cart. didnt really appreciate this much. $20 for a pass to play, no thanks. Cant even bring my dogs out here on this 80+ acre course. What the hell are they thinking?
Other Thoughts: Ill play at Cold Brook Park, Begg, Oshtemo, Meyer Broadway etc before I ever play this course again. Quit being such snobs and let pets come out. Stop being so damn rude to ppl too.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/28/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly and/or wooded park that is divided into two different sections. There are a lot of other things going on here, but it looks like the disc golf is well separated from everything else.
- First section of the course is heavily wooded, with a ton of skinny trees to contend with. A lot of these lines are pretty tight, a straight shot or a RHBH hyzer is crucial to avoid the jail. There are also some holes where an anny or RHFH shot is helpful, especially with some trees near the tee. Elevation changes are definitely present here, there are some longer uphills in the woods and outside, as well as some downhills with some nasty sloped greens.
- Second section is much more open, with patches of rough and larger trees to avoid. There are some much more open ones, that deal with some giant hills, rollaway greens, and well placed trees. Others have defined lines (usually hyzers) that have to go around some dense rough. Again, elevation changes are very pronounced here, with a lot of blind baskets, both up and down.
- Some very well protected baskets out here, both inside the forest and outside. The trees/foliage and slopes make some very, very touchy. Out of control drives and approaches can be severely punished.
- Good mix of hole lengths, on both sides. Some long uphills, like the 500'+ shot on #17, and the elevation on #1 makes it play much tighter and longer. Big arms will have plenty of room out in the open; but don't go too long on some holes.
- Good teepads, signage, and baskets. Navigation isn't a problem, if you keep your eyes peeled.
Cons: - A fair amount of the holes have very few obstacles, and use length to add more difficulty. These are straight up grip-n-rip holes with little thought needed. Most of the back can be easily done with a RHBH hyzer.
- Holes in the front are on the short side, even from the long tees. Multiple are under 200'. They are still tricky, but they feel a little crammed in.
- A little bit of walking to tee #9, and between some holes. Can be a tiring round from that alone.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a well balanced course that provides a bunch of different hole types. Tight forested holes in the front, both up and down, are well complimented by open bomber holes in the back, also up and down. The loops are separate too, so you can choose a 9-holer that best suits if need be.
- Beginners would be overwhelmed by some rough spots here, and experienced players can switch between length and accuracy to score low. Still, probably a good challenge for almost everyone.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage--Excellent signage, accurate and gives pin placement along with major trees.
Flow--Course flow nicely through two nine-hole loops, both finishing at the parking lot.
Location--This park is GORGEOUS!! and seems to be primarily disc golf oriented. Most of the other facilities are off of the parking lot and don't come into play on the course.
Aesthetics--Parking lot is on a beautiful lake, only wished that water came into play on the course!
Teepads--All cement and nicely rasped and not slick at all.
Variety--Nice variety of HEAVILY wooded (#1, and much of the front 9) and wide open shots(especially back 9).
Pins--Discraft baskets :) with tall flags to mark the pins on the blind holes.
Cons: repetition of blind throws on back 9-- just didn't like the back 9 as much as the front 9, seemed almost punishing at times.
Pay to play--though it didn't matter as it was the off season when I played
Other Thoughts: Don't let hole 1 and 2 disuade you from enjoying your round. they are definitely make or break holes, but there is a lot of goodness left in the course after these two.
Was glad to meet up with new friends and enjoy a couple rounds and will definitely be back in the future.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.