Kalamazoo, MI 
Robert Morris Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 145ft.   3 / --   3 / 145ft.   3 / 145ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Tricky course

2-4    6/10/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: DoobieDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: technical course, well laid out. alot of tight shots through trees, one has a water hazard where i lost a disc (#11), long fairways on the back 9 and its #5 per carload of people and they have people who check your tags.
Cons: no room on some holes for any error at all, you get little "tree love" on some holes. could be a little better, but its a nice course
Other Thoughts: careful on #17...its 500 feet and ton of giant grass on the left where alot of discs come up missing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A little bit of everything

2-4    3/17/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: jonesydesign
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great variety
-Tight, technical shots
-Long, bomber shots
-Well kept grounds
Cons: -Ridiculously long/hard shots are all rated par 3
-Near a lake but no water in play
-Easy to lose a disc in the brush
-Nice elevation changes
Other Thoughts: I love to hate Robert Morris. The course is well-designed with lots of variety, but it's so darn difficult to stay on par. I love a good challenge, but some of those 500-600 foot holes just feel like they should be closer to a par 4 or 5. This course will truly test you and your accuracy. It's a must for any serious disc golfer in the area or passing through.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    6/1/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Shot Variation. This place has pretty much all you can ask for besides the water being in play. Tight Wooded, Bombers, Up and Downhill.
- Place is pretty good of a work out with lots of elevation variation.
- Signs makes it pretty easy to find your way around and know where to go.
-Tee pads Pretty nice Tee Pads here, minus hole 10(it's all rough looking)
-Grass is managed pretty well (as it should be with pay to play)
Cons: - For a pay to play, there isn't nearly as many trash cans and benches as there should be.
-The staff seems to be pretty unfriendly
-On a Sunny or Windy day the Back 9 can be pretty rough as a lot of it's open without shade or trees.
-It used to have a water hole but they took this out(atleast I have been told this)
-They run out of Score Cards(for a pay to play it should have them)

Other Thoughts: First hole was kind of hard to find, it's starts in the woods right by the water, but the sign is hard to see from the parking lot.
This place is pretty good and has a lot of fun holes. I think for the pay to play factor makes this a place that I don't really want to come back to. Cold Brook is about the same in distance and more enjoyable. However if I lived in the Kzoo area and there was a small annual fee it may be worth it as there is swimming here too.
Also from what I saw if you walk in its free, but I didn't think there was parking anywhere by it and it's a walk to the first hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course!

5+    5/4/2011   5/4/2012
Review By: badmidget
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Pads: Concrete and plenty long enough.
Fairways: Some wide some narrow. All unique.
Baskets: Nice quality baskets.
Amenities: Bathrooms available. Benches. Ample Parking.

Overall: Well maintained. Tons of diversity between holes. Some are long some are short. Some are hyzer, but some are anhyzer or forehand. Some have hills, but some are flat. Some are wide open, but some are really tight.
Cons: In an attempt to dress up a few of the baskets, the park maintenance people added retainer walls around a couple of baskets which looks awesome, but made the baskets too low to the ground.
Other Thoughts: This is my personal favorite course as of 2012. I love its diversity. The 18th is such a fun hole to end on. It is so well maintained and has a ton more to offer other than disc golf if you're interested. There are picnic areas, a really nice swimming beach, a playground and more.

Both a pro and a con is that they charge for people to play. Last I checked, it was $5 per car or $30 for a season pass. Most of the time this would be a con. However, it keeps the lame ppl that want to trash the course away and it pays the people that keep this course looking so nice. I get my season pass and play there as often as I can... it's well worth it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of My Favorites

5+    4/23/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: Clive
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fantastic variety of holes.
- Elevation changes throughout.
- High level of challenge that will test the skills of nearly everyone.
- Occasionally they will move the pins or utilize additional tee pads to create variety from year to year.
- Excellent plot of land that is well-maintained.
- Clear distinction between front and back nines; can play either or both and this also helps facilitate a good flow of players through the course.
- No dogs. Some people consider this a con but not me. I personally like to keep my shoes and discs devoid of canine fecal matter.
Cons: - On a really windy day, some holes on the back nine will annihilate your confidence in your skills.
- They replaced what was once a cool over-the-water-to-the-right shot on hole #9 with a lackluster downhill wooded ~180ft shot.
- Friends have mentioned discourtious staff, although I've never had an issue.
Other Thoughts: - Easily the nicest course in Kalamazoo. If you're coming through town to play Oshtemo and/or Cold Brook, do not overlook Robert Morris. If you live in Kalamazoo and you've never tried R.M., do yourself a favor and make the drive out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Best in Kzoo Area

1    7/18/2011   3/28/2012
Review By: Nico28
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course and the best in the Kzoo Area. It is maintained greatly and is never repetitive. All holes are fun and make for a great challenge. The park it self is beautiful in the summer. I have only played this course once but would love to play it again.
Cons: NO BEER, and like said before the teenage park rangers are on a power trip.
Signs could be a little better showing more obstacles.
Some holes are blind, but I guess that is part of the fun and challenge of the park.
$5 to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dont play here

5+    6/5/2010   7/5/2011
Review By: sparty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great cement tees, excellent hole distances, vast area to play. course is huge and has some amazing holes.
Cons: No pets, rangers are dicks, no beer. Last time I played this course a little 16 yr old ranger thought he would harass my group by following us on a golf cart. didnt really appreciate this much. $20 for a pass to play, no thanks. Cant even bring my dogs out here on this 80+ acre course. What the hell are they thinking?
Other Thoughts: Ill play at Cold Brook Park, Begg, Oshtemo, Meyer Broadway etc before I ever play this course again. Quit being such snobs and let pets come out. Stop being so damn rude to ppl too.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/28/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly and/or wooded park that is divided into two different sections. There are a lot of other things going on here, but it looks like the disc golf is well separated from everything else.
- First section of the course is heavily wooded, with a ton of skinny trees to contend with. A lot of these lines are pretty tight, a straight shot or a RHBH hyzer is crucial to avoid the jail. There are also some holes where an anny or RHFH shot is helpful, especially with some trees near the tee. Elevation changes are definitely present here, there are some longer uphills in the woods and outside, as well as some downhills with some nasty sloped greens.
- Second section is much more open, with patches of rough and larger trees to avoid. There are some much more open ones, that deal with some giant hills, rollaway greens, and well placed trees. Others have defined lines (usually hyzers) that have to go around some dense rough. Again, elevation changes are very pronounced here, with a lot of blind baskets, both up and down.
- Some very well protected baskets out here, both inside the forest and outside. The trees/foliage and slopes make some very, very touchy. Out of control drives and approaches can be severely punished.
- Good mix of hole lengths, on both sides. Some long uphills, like the 500'+ shot on #17, and the elevation on #1 makes it play much tighter and longer. Big arms will have plenty of room out in the open; but don't go too long on some holes.
- Good teepads, signage, and baskets. Navigation isn't a problem, if you keep your eyes peeled.
Cons: - A fair amount of the holes have very few obstacles, and use length to add more difficulty. These are straight up grip-n-rip holes with little thought needed. Most of the back can be easily done with a RHBH hyzer.
- Holes in the front are on the short side, even from the long tees. Multiple are under 200'. They are still tricky, but they feel a little crammed in.
- A little bit of walking to tee #9, and between some holes. Can be a tiring round from that alone.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a well balanced course that provides a bunch of different hole types. Tight forested holes in the front, both up and down, are well complimented by open bomber holes in the back, also up and down. The loops are separate too, so you can choose a 9-holer that best suits if need be.
- Beginners would be overwhelmed by some rough spots here, and experienced players can switch between length and accuracy to score low. Still, probably a good challenge for almost everyone.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage--Excellent signage, accurate and gives pin placement along with major trees.
Flow--Course flow nicely through two nine-hole loops, both finishing at the parking lot.
Location--This park is GORGEOUS!! and seems to be primarily disc golf oriented. Most of the other facilities are off of the parking lot and don't come into play on the course.
Aesthetics--Parking lot is on a beautiful lake, only wished that water came into play on the course!
Teepads--All cement and nicely rasped and not slick at all.
Variety--Nice variety of HEAVILY wooded (#1, and much of the front 9) and wide open shots(especially back 9).
Pins--Discraft baskets :) with tall flags to mark the pins on the blind holes.
Cons: repetition of blind throws on back 9-- just didn't like the back 9 as much as the front 9, seemed almost punishing at times.
Pay to play--though it didn't matter as it was the off season when I played
Other Thoughts: Don't let hole 1 and 2 disuade you from enjoying your round. they are definitely make or break holes, but there is a lot of goodness left in the course after these two.
Was glad to meet up with new friends and enjoy a couple rounds and will definitely be back in the future.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kzoo's best!!

1    11/18/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very clean and maintained course
-Great variety of holes,distances and wonderful elevation changes.
-Nice teesigns
-Nice teepads
-Trash cans on most holes
-Bathrooms on site (portopotty after the season ends)
-The road seperates 2 different 9's
-Large poles with flags mark the blind pin placements, this was super cool, Ive never seen it before and loved being able to know where the pin was even though I couldnt see it directly.
-Mix of short and technical to wide open big bombers.
-Great pin placements, roll away potential and OB potential on several holes add to the danger factor.
-Fairways are raked,trimmed and maintained to a tee.
-Beautiful natural feeling to the park.
Cons: -Pay to play in summer
-No pets
-No alchohol
-No use of water even though its available???
-The course gets very busy (but has great flow to handle it)
-Used to have practice baskets but they were removed???
-Several teepads have settled and are very un-even.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun and wonderful park. If you are in the area it is a course you do not want to miss. The park department and the DG volunteers do a great job of maintaining this course. Recent improvements include landscaping around a few baskets, new signs and some new benches. This was one of the parks played during the 2008 disc golf worlds finals. Its the best in Kzoo and definitely worth a drive to play out at least once.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.