Kalamazoo, MI
Robert Morris Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 208ft.   3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I love this course!

5+    5/4/2011   5/4/2012
Review By: badmidget
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Pads: Concrete and plenty long enough.
Fairways: Some wide some narrow. All unique.
Baskets: Nice quality baskets.
Amenities: Bathrooms available. Benches. Ample Parking.

Overall: Well maintained. Tons of diversity between holes. Some are long some are short. Some are hyzer, but some are anhyzer or forehand. Some have hills, but some are flat. Some are wide open, but some are really tight.
Cons: In an attempt to dress up a few of the baskets, the park maintenance people added retainer walls around a couple of baskets which looks awesome, but made the baskets too low to the ground.
Other Thoughts: This is my personal favorite course as of 2012. I love its diversity. The 18th is such a fun hole to end on. It is so well maintained and has a ton more to offer other than disc golf if you're interested. There are picnic areas, a really nice swimming beach, a playground and more.

Both a pro and a con is that they charge for people to play. Last I checked, it was $5 per car or $30 for a season pass. Most of the time this would be a con. However, it keeps the lame ppl that want to trash the course away and it pays the people that keep this course looking so nice. I get my season pass and play there as often as I can... it's well worth it!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Doesn't Get Much Better

5+    11/12/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Anheuser
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is immaculate. I've never played on a course that is better tended. Lots of different types of holes (compare hole #2 and the open bomb holes on the back 9). Great signs on every hole giving distance and the general layout of the hole. Trashcans at every hole. Cement tee pads, although some are getting worn. Bathrooms on site (although you're using a porto-potty after labor day). Nice benches available to take a break. Easy to navigate. Has some very interesting holes and great elevation changes like the long downhill tunnel through the woods on #18 and the straight uphill start to #10. The road separates the nine holes evenly, both starting and ending at close to the parking lot so you can play the back nine first if you want or play an extra nine easily. Large poles with flags on top give you a view of pin placement on blind shots. Nice mix of short technical holes and longer open bombers. Some of the greens on rolling hills have been built up to a level surface with decorative rocks on the other side and unmowed grass around the basket, giving you incentive to get close on your second shot to avoid rollaways. Fairways are raked and everything is trimmed down perfectly. Offers the perfect balance of natural setting and the feel of a well broken in and playable disc golf course. Shorts are available for play (in some cases two different short tees), but you're gonna want to play from the big boy tees, most of which aren't too ridiculous, except for a couple (#17 is 579 feet and tees off uphill).
Cons: Not too much to complain about. I guess you could whine about the $5 per car fee to play but I'm more than willing to shell out a few bucks for park upkeep. Make sure if no one is at the gate to pay anyway and put the slip of paper on your dashboard or expect a $10 ticket. The course gets a reasonable amount of traffic, but I've never had to wait too long. A water hole used to be part of the course, and would make it a real solid 4.5 course. Also I noticed the practice basket next to the pond has been removed. Kind of a bummer, but no biggie. No dogs. No alcohol.
Other Thoughts: You might want to play this course twice (or at least another 9), especially if you've taken a drive to get there. There are fishing piers and swimming areas memorial day to labor day and picnic areas and a playground by the lake for the kiddies. I would actually rate this course a 4.25, but if I had to round up or down I'd go 4.5. I've seen this course go from a 3.5 rated course when I first started playing it in the early 2000's to a 4 to 4.5 rated course. You're going to have a hard time finding a better 18 hole course in the southern half of the lower peninsula. Truly a fantastic course- I feel honored to live within 10 minutes of it. Along with Oshtemo and Coldbrook it makes up a trifecta of wonderful courses to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Robert Morris

5+    9/3/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: jansenk4
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good course variation: 1,4,10,14,17 uphill 2,7,9, 11,13,16,18 downhill, good numbers of left and right hooking fairways
-Clean, park maintained by staff
-People who play from my experience are respectful
-Good amount of short and long holes (5,8,9,13,16,18 are short enough for the average player to drive/1,3,10,11,17 I've never seen anyone drive past the hole)
-New benches at holes throughout course!
-Many devoted people dedicated to keeping the course in good condition
-No water hazards unless you really try to overdrive hole 9
Cons: -Pickers in some areas (hole 16,17,18) if you are a wayward driver
-If you don't want to pay, you aren't gonna play
Other Thoughts: -Although new to the Kzoo area, I found this course to be worthy of playing numerous times.
-Much nicer than Knollwood
-Holes 1-9 across the street from parking lot along the south side of park, holes 10-18 on north side of park. 10 is by station as you enter the park and 18 ends up north of parking lot.
-I come from more wooded courses, so it doesn't have as many spots you can lose a disc, but check in pines if you don't see it on the ground!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 RO MO

5+    6/15/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean, good course upkeep, good variety, good uses of elevation changes, on a small lake and park area, lots of parking
Cons: no dog (might be changing though), have to pay to get in
Other Thoughts: dont let the first two holes scare you away they are challenging but there are some easier holes too.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  RoMo - Robert Morris

5+    4/23/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A good mixture of open holes and wooded holes. The pro tees give a good challenge for the long drivers out there. Holes one and two can make or break your round and there is great elevation changes.
Cons: From Memorial Day until Labor Day you have to pay to get into the park and if you are not a resident of Comstock Township, they make you pay more.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.