Kalamazoo, MI 
Robert Morris Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 200ft.   3 / --   3 / 528ft.   3 / 579ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Doesn't Get Much Better

5+    11/12/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Anheuser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is immaculate. I've never played on a course that is better tended. Lots of different types of holes (compare hole #2 and the open bomb holes on the back 9). Great signs on every hole giving distance and the general layout of the hole. Trashcans at every hole. Cement tee pads, although some are getting worn. Bathrooms on site (although you're using a porto-potty after labor day). Nice benches available to take a break. Easy to navigate. Has some very interesting holes and great elevation changes like the long downhill tunnel through the woods on #18 and the straight uphill start to #10. The road separates the nine holes evenly, both starting and ending at close to the parking lot so you can play the back nine first if you want or play an extra nine easily. Large poles with flags on top give you a view of pin placement on blind shots. Nice mix of short technical holes and longer open bombers. Some of the greens on rolling hills have been built up to a level surface with decorative rocks on the other side and unmowed grass around the basket, giving you incentive to get close on your second shot to avoid rollaways. Fairways are raked and everything is trimmed down perfectly. Offers the perfect balance of natural setting and the feel of a well broken in and playable disc golf course. Shorts are available for play (in some cases two different short tees), but you're gonna want to play from the big boy tees, most of which aren't too ridiculous, except for a couple (#17 is 579 feet and tees off uphill).
Cons: Not too much to complain about. I guess you could whine about the $5 per car fee to play but I'm more than willing to shell out a few bucks for park upkeep. Make sure if no one is at the gate to pay anyway and put the slip of paper on your dashboard or expect a $10 ticket. The course gets a reasonable amount of traffic, but I've never had to wait too long. A water hole used to be part of the course, and would make it a real solid 4.5 course. Also I noticed the practice basket next to the pond has been removed. Kind of a bummer, but no biggie. No dogs. No alcohol.
Other Thoughts: You might want to play this course twice (or at least another 9), especially if you've taken a drive to get there. There are fishing piers and swimming areas memorial day to labor day and picnic areas and a playground by the lake for the kiddies. I would actually rate this course a 4.25, but if I had to round up or down I'd go 4.5. I've seen this course go from a 3.5 rated course when I first started playing it in the early 2000's to a 4 to 4.5 rated course. You're going to have a hard time finding a better 18 hole course in the southern half of the lower peninsula. Truly a fantastic course- I feel honored to live within 10 minutes of it. Along with Oshtemo and Coldbrook it makes up a trifecta of wonderful courses to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

2-4    11/6/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Robert Morris, part of a nicely maintained multi-use park located in rural Michigan, offers 18 holes of outstanding variety. Utilizing flat open fields, tunnels of pines, wooded slopes, rolling hills dotted with brush, and twisting fairways, Robert Morris definitely covers all bases with the exception of water. Every hole type is well represented here: tight technical "thread the needle" wooded holes, long open "bomb 'em" opportunities, and just about every possible mix of up, down, left and right. A couple of under-200' ace runs, both hyzer and anhyzer, balanced nicely with several 400'+ holes.
-Great use of elevation. The rolling hills are used to great effect throughout. A couple of the pins on the more open holes are placed on slanted land to increase the threat of rollaways, with OB road behind the pin in one case.
- Protected pins are the norm on the more wooded holes, while low set baskets increase the challenge on a few of the open holes.
- Many unique holes. #1 and #2, wooded tunnel shots off the tee, threaten to start the round off on a bad foot. #10 is a long uphill trek that, once the crest of the hill is reached, turns hard left and finishes with the basket on a small downward slope. #18's fairway runs downhill with woods on both sides and the pin straight ahead at the bottom. One of the longer, open holes has a baseball backstop somewhat in the way of the hyzer route, but shouldn't affect most players.
- Concrete tees (nicely brushed). Short tees are natural and marked by a wooden plank set in the ground. Discriptive signage, benches, and trashcans at each tee. Restrooms, playgrounds, lake, et al. near parking lot.
Cons: - Water is not utilized, despite a concrete tee whose location suggests that the lake was once used to great effect. An epic downhill shot through woods and over the lake hole seems to have once been set up, and would have been the icing on the cake to this already quite fine course.
- Some of the concrete tees were not level, having settled significantly in one or two places.
Other Thoughts: - While there are certainly challenges throughout the entire course, the first couple of holes will often prove be the "make or break" holes of the round, as earlier reviewers noted.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety and recent improvements

5+    10/13/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: Pete Nice
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great vareity of holes and shots. Front 9 is mostly wodded and back 9 is mostly open field shots. -not boring by any means just more open than the front.
A beautiful park.
Nice tees.
Good signage.
Cons: ??? . . .not too many CONS. If I want to nitpick I would point out some of the baskets are quite low and #14 and #17 tees slope downward.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. If you are in the area it is a course you do not want to miss. The park department and the DG volunteers do a great job of keeping up the course. Recent improvements include landscaping around a few baskets, new signs and I think some new benches.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Robert Morris

5+    9/3/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: jansenk4
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good course variation: 1,4,10,14,17 uphill 2,7,9, 11,13,16,18 downhill, good numbers of left and right hooking fairways
-Clean, park maintained by staff
-People who play from my experience are respectful
-Good amount of short and long holes (5,8,9,13,16,18 are short enough for the average player to drive/1,3,10,11,17 I've never seen anyone drive past the hole)
-New benches at holes throughout course!
-Many devoted people dedicated to keeping the course in good condition
-No water hazards unless you really try to overdrive hole 9
Cons: -Pickers in some areas (hole 16,17,18) if you are a wayward driver
-If you don't want to pay, you aren't gonna play
Other Thoughts: -Although new to the Kzoo area, I found this course to be worthy of playing numerous times.
-Much nicer than Knollwood
-Holes 1-9 across the street from parking lot along the south side of park, holes 10-18 on north side of park. 10 is by station as you enter the park and 18 ends up north of parking lot.
-I come from more wooded courses, so it doesn't have as many spots you can lose a disc, but check in pines if you don't see it on the ground!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Mix

1    8/2/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: nabaah
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice cement tees, they've got a nice mix of everything out here, 18 is a nice downhill tunnel shot nice way to end the round, some open holes with nice distance and then some tight ones through the woods.
Cons: Signs, most are missing some spots got confusing to navigate, they could fix the signs if i pay to play.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend using spotters out here if you get off the fairway it can get a little thick and make finding discs hard. Fun course worth the trip I can't wait to come back out.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    7/22/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. Short holes, long holes, dog leg right, dog leg left, elevation changes, open fairways, wooded fairways - this place has got it all.
Cons: Some of the short wooded holes are kind of lame (i.e. holes 8 and 9).
Other Thoughts: I love to call this my home course. Of course I learned how to play at Knollwood (unfortunately) but, I got better at Roger Morris. Hard place to loose a disc, I've lost two discs the four plus years I've been coming here (one on nine, the once water hole and one in the woods on hole ten). I love the par three finishing hole of 18, sometimes it's a tough hole to par and it ends up breaking your score. No more dogs for three dollars. New signs and some new benches were recently put in!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 RO MO

5+    6/15/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean, good course upkeep, good variety, good uses of elevation changes, on a small lake and park area, lots of parking
Cons: no dog (might be changing though), have to pay to get in
Other Thoughts: dont let the first two holes scare you away they are challenging but there are some easier holes too.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My personal #1

1    6/20/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Junkr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -GREAT hole variety.
-Very nice elevation changes. #9 in particular, though I hear it used to be a benchmark challenge hole, is still an unforgettable 'pure downhill' woods hole.
-Besides one layout issue with #3, you will never be crossing over other holes. Just remember - after the first nine, you have to walk back towards the parking lot to continue the round to the back 9.
-This course demands you use every shot you possess. RHBH-exclusive throwers will have a tough time with some of these holes.
-Very clean.
-Little, if any, waiting involved.
-Awesome park. This place is worth a day trip - play a round of 18, go for a swim in the lake, have a picnic, and play another 18. (bathrooms and fountains here.)
-Very memorable holes. #18, to me, is a perfect last hole. All downhill, straight shot at the basket. Many long, open holes for your full power drives.
Cons: -Not too many I can think of. Bugs are bad here in the summer, so bring spray.
-Couple holes are a little iffy. #1 and #2 come to mind. #1 is a trudge uphill through dense trees. A lot of luck involved here. Same with #2, though not uphill. None of the players in my group made it down the fairway before hitting the trees in the way. Nearly impossible to drive to the basket on this one, even though its hardly 150 ft. long
-Some may complain about paying to get in, however if you have a car of 4 people, it evens out to be $1.25 a person. A small price to pay to play this wonderful course. It also helps keep out casuals.
-A couple holes will make searching for wayward discs a problem. Tall grass is the main issue.
Other Thoughts: This is my personal favorite course and I highly regard anyone to visit this fantastic park. The difficulty is there, but it's not overbearing enough to impact your attitude. Nice locals will return your discs and chat with you about your round if you stick around. If you are not from the Kalamazoo/Portage area, and love disc golf, make a day trip to play here and at Oshtemo; in my mind two of the better courses in the state of Michigan.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 RoMo!!!

5+    5/12/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: blazo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I've played a whole lot of courses, and I gotta say, RoMo is one of the best. Challenge for all skill levels. You'll be throwing every shot you know how to throw in a round out here. On a great day, you can rip through the course with pure satisfaction. Scores ares earned out here, good or bad. On a bad day, RoMo won't really screw you, won't show a lot you a lot of mercy either. Always leaves me wanting to play more. This course is conquerable, but never easy to do so.
Cons: 2 things keep this course from basically perfect: unjust basket spit-outs (I think they're mach II's), and hole 2 (for ams). Hole 2 has basically just one route, and missing that tight line is usually extremely punishing. Get through this hole alive, and you'll be able to really go for a low round. Get off the middle of the tight fairway soon and start preppin to 5 or 6 it. This hole seperates the good shots from the bad, almost no mercy here.
Other Thoughts: This course is beautiful, clean, and the design is top notch. 20 bucks for a season pass. I'd pay that much everyday if I had to.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Love the course

5+    9/11/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: locuno1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots required, elevation changes, nice length, great mix of open holes to wooded holes. little bit of wildlife out there. on hole 18 had a doe walk out in front of us.
Cons: none that i can think of besides a few holes are missing signs.
Other Thoughts: 5$ to park, bring bug spray for the mosquitoes, get a course map if it's your first time out there, and for beginners great course to play doubles.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.