Visalia, CA 
Troy Korsgaden DGC Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #4 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great course but has environmental issues

1    7/28/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: ScottishDiscman
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good challenge due to gradients, terrains and trees being in a good place to cause challenges in shots that would make for a good round.

The course is well thought out; concrete tees on the running path and good directional course management, the holes work well and go in order and make a decent use of the limited space available.

It is a good 12 hole course that makes for good target practice, possible ace on a few holes for the advanced player.

Play early when the park is quiet for best results
Cons: Teeing off can be challenging and you have to be alert as to other users of the park and joggers and cyclists got in the way of a shot in the time I was there. The path curves a lot so you have to really pay attention (especially on holes 2 and 3) that you don't upset other park users.

Some holes have people sleeping near trees that could be a concern for the newer player/chucker (always check your line of sight before release) the fence is close to some holes so some really wayward shots could end up on other property or a railroad so don't throw anything you wouldn't be too bummed at losing.
Other Thoughts: I like this but the area is not the best, so have your wits about you, there is parking on the street but take reasonable precautions. Also check the soccer pitch is not being used as that may cause issues on wayward shots/and one of the holes.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Rec Course

5+    4/5/2015   4/23/2015
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 303  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 31.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 12 holes playing around a dry every time I've played drainage basin in a typical city park. Probably as much holes as this little park can take. Enough challenge to be a fun round. Actual water in the basin would definitely amp up the challenge especially for hole 7, although I would also imagine that it makes flow of play much more difficult.
Cons: Some safety concerns as the course plays over a jogging path that circles the basin. Also holes 5 and 10 play close to a fence. Hole 9 plays across a soccer field. Definitely would be times that you would have to carry.
Other Thoughts: Solid enough rec course in a typical city park just a short distance from a very good 36 hole course. There is no contest between this and Mooney but I could see this serving its purpose as a free alternative to the championship level course. I found the park to be in fairly decent shape a little broken in but I did not encounter any of the danger situations alluded to in previous reviews, maybe the time of day, I don't know.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for a Quick round!

5+    8/5/2014   8/15/2014
Review By: BlackJack
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete teepads
-decently wooded (much more challenging in spring/summer)
-Each hole provides multiple lines, not forcing one type of shot
-fairly clean with quite a few trash cans
-dog friendly
-A great course to get friends into disc golf as it has plenty of aceable holes
-ego booster! beat my record of -9 on 12 holes :) plenty have...
-lots of trash cans
Cons: --tends to be the local vagabond hangout and drinking spot. and by drinking I mean any sketchy act that may go down in a park...
-the occasional pile of human feces near pins (watch out for the big tree near the pin for #6)
-A bit easy for the big guns and putting champs
-many dogs not on leashes (i've been bitten TWICE by smaller dogs)
-drunk people (it's a dry park so please don't add to the problem)
-a bathroom that looks so shady that I haven't ventured into it in my year playing here.
-the mulchy terrain takes rollers out of the picture for the most part.
-run down baskets (not all, but many)
-the teepads are actually just specific parts of a walking loop, so you will inevitably find conflict of interest with other park goers.
-lots of fence climbing if you have a tough time keeping it inbounds. no gates.
Other Thoughts: I used to play here all the time because it's such a fun little 12 hole that you can make more challenging by adding your own mandos etc. But I've been bitten by dogs, threatened to be jumped, had half a tall can thrown at me and many other strange unpleasant incidents. As of this review I find that it's not the safest park. I don't feel comfortable inviting my friends with their kids, and my wife won't come play there anymore. I really hope that Visalia PD along with the community can find a way to reclaim this park for responsible patrons! It's about as good of a course as can fit inside this small park. If you come to play Mooney's Grove (the other awesome courses in town) I would have to say that it is NOT worth your energy to stop by. If you are local and need to chuck some mids on your lunch break- this is the spot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Typical Little Twelve!

1    6/20/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 767  Reviewed: 718  Exp: 37.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course does a fairly decent job of using what terrain they had. I played in late June and the pond was dry as can be. The tee pads are just the basic, concrete ones with just enough size. The signs are pretty simple little colored fiberglass ones.
The holes have just enough variety (hyzer vs. anhyzer) to keep things interesting. Distances are short enough to make this a fun course for beginners but the challenge is there for the intermediate type player.
The course would play much harder when the pond has water.
Playing the walking paths as OB would increase the challenge as well.
Cons: The place was kind of run down, older baskets, etc.
This is not a challenging course for advanced to Pro players.
Different course when pond is dry.
Fence can be in play for players without much control over their discs (That's most of us, isn't it?)
Other Thoughts: Solid course with many holes in the 250' range. Just enough trees to keep you interested. So course plays as a solid recreational course. Good enough for a quick practice or warm up round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/4/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 74  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation and water (when the pond has water in it...it currently does not). The course is a great place to practice. Not really very busy and the holes are pretty close together so you can practice each hole very quickly. Alternate (safari holes) fill out the final 8 holes to make this like an 18 hole course with 12 baskets. Very nice locals...they helped me figure the layout out and I got to help them learn to throw/putt better...very nice experience. Plenty of shade.
Cons: Course is pretty short. No way to really throw any rollers as there is a ton of mulchy stuff in the pond bed that is now dry as a bone. People were sleeping in some of the fairways...I nearly hit one guy with a drive. I felt bad about that. Parking is kind of a mess as far as I could tell. I parked on the street on the southside of the park after not finding any obvious parking on Edison. You can park there and then walk through a gate into the park by the dog park and come in at hole 4. Confusing in a few places. I thought I was throwing 5 but was throwing on 6 or 7's pin. Because you can see baskets from different places that aren't the right ones but are just about straight ahead I was confused until I got help.
Other Thoughts: Decent course and so close to Mooney it is hard not to swing up to this one for a quick round. I am not sure that I would drive up to play this one again as Mooney is a way better park. If I lived near this park I would be there a lot just practicing shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun 12.

5+    2/22/2013   2/22/2013
Review By: Johnny Rokketts
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just challenging enough for rookies and seasoned golfers alike. Nice mix of hook shots, deep drives & terrain/ elevation changes,
Cons: Some traffic is to be expected as the park has pathways for walkers, joggers, and cyclists. Could use more trash cans (so expect to pack out), and the closest and only restroom is at the northern most end of the park.
Other Thoughts: Tees are relatively easy to find with the exception of those marked with faded paint lines on pathway tee boxes. As of this posting,the parks department has done good work cleaning and maintaining the trees and foliage within the park allowing a nice view of the baskets, golfers, pedestrians, etc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could be good.

1    9/12/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: rubyrod
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Small challenging course with some hazards. Decent for practice.
Cons: This course has been ran down. It use to me nice, but now you can tell that they put no attention or money into the upkeep. Also, people were in the way which was an unexpected hazard.
Other Thoughts: Good practice course. Dont get your hopes up on this one though. IT LOOKS NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURE!!! NO SIGN OF GRASS OR CREEK OR ANYTHING NICE like it use to be. If in Visalia area check out the Courses at Mooney's Groove Park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Troy Korgaden DGC

1    1/3/2004   3/10/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 162  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 36 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: excellent use of land/terrain considering how limited it is.
Cons: Discs are nearly unretrievable if thrown into pond. Slight conflict with OB, house on hole one.
Other Thoughts: This course has a 12 hole layout which is as much as this park will handle for its size. This is not a detraction considering the alternative is a private park that is pay-to-play in the area, or driving a considerable distance to the next disc golf course. The course is fairly flat playing around a pond with some pretty nasty water in it at times. If your disc goes in try not to stir up the mud or you need to wait for several hours before it settles enough for you to see your disc again.
Beginner through advanced players will like this course most. Pro players will find it a little short in play, but with some fun challenging shots that takes advantage of the trees and bushes that circles the pond. The pond comes into play on at least half the holes. There is fencing that is OB on the other side of the fairways from the pond so your drives usually need to hit fairways that are anywhere from 30 to 90 feet wide, with trees and bushes to account for down the fairways. Hole one is the only tee shot that has a house that comes into play on the right (length 300 ft.), with the pond just to the left of the pin, so keeping your disc in play on that hole may be a little frustrating.
There is a sidewalk/walking path that also circles the pond and may be played OB, making your fairways even narrower if you choose. I believe the signage indicates the sidewalk as OB on the course. You need to keep an eye out for people using the park for other than disc golf, as it is a multi-use park. This may be an issue on weekends, it wasn't when I played it during the week in the winter months.
I actually enjoyed playing this course keeping in mind it wasn't going to need a lot of different shots or different discs to score well. I imagine a competitive round would be slightly challenging. Recreational rounds are more suited for this course. There is enough diversity with hyzer and annhyzer shots on the course utilizing the OB areas and mature trees in the park to make you want to play it again, to see if you can do better the next time around, and you really need to play it twice since it doesn't take too much time to play anyways. It takes approximately 30-40 minutes for one person to play all 12 holes from either the recreational set or the more advanced set of tee pads. That's if you don't to spend any time fishing out any discs from the pond. If you are like me and don't want to pay to play, then go to this park and enjoy a casual outing where you should have a pretty good level of disc golfin' fun.
03-10-09 just saw that there is a new 18 hole course 12 miles south of this one. could be a pleasant addition to your disc golf outing.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.