Visalia, CA 
Troy Korsgaden DGC Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #7 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Typical Little Twelve!

1    6/20/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 668  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
Pros: This course does a fairly decent job of using what terrain they had. I played in late June and the pond was dry as can be. The tee pads are just the basic, concrete ones with just enough size. The signs are pretty simple little colored fiberglass ones.
The holes have just enough variety (hyzer vs. anhyzer) to keep things interesting. Distances are short enough to make this a fun course for beginners but the challenge is there for the intermediate type player.
The course would play much harder when the pond has water.
Playing the walking paths as OB would increase the challenge as well.
Cons: The place was kind of run down, older baskets, etc.
This is not a challenging course for advanced to Pro players.
Different course when pond is dry.
Fence can be in play for players without much control over their discs (That's most of us, isn't it?)
Other Thoughts: Solid course with many holes in the 250' range. Just enough trees to keep you interested. So course plays as a solid recreational course. Good enough for a quick practice or warm up round.


1    7/4/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation and water (when the pond has water in it...it currently does not). The course is a great place to practice. Not really very busy and the holes are pretty close together so you can practice each hole very quickly. Alternate (safari holes) fill out the final 8 holes to make this like an 18 hole course with 12 baskets. Very nice locals...they helped me figure the layout out and I got to help them learn to throw/putt better...very nice experience. Plenty of shade.
Cons: Course is pretty short. No way to really throw any rollers as there is a ton of mulchy stuff in the pond bed that is now dry as a bone. People were sleeping in some of the fairways...I nearly hit one guy with a drive. I felt bad about that. Parking is kind of a mess as far as I could tell. I parked on the street on the southside of the park after not finding any obvious parking on Edison. You can park there and then walk through a gate into the park by the dog park and come in at hole 4. Confusing in a few places. I thought I was throwing 5 but was throwing on 6 or 7's pin. Because you can see baskets from different places that aren't the right ones but are just about straight ahead I was confused until I got help.
Other Thoughts: Decent course and so close to Mooney it is hard not to swing up to this one for a quick round. I am not sure that I would drive up to play this one again as Mooney is a way better park. If I lived near this park I would be there a lot just practicing shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A fun 12.

5+    2/22/2013   2/22/2013
Review By: Johnny Rokketts
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.9 Years
Pros: Just challenging enough for rookies and seasoned golfers alike. Nice mix of hook shots, deep drives & terrain/ elevation changes,
Cons: Some traffic is to be expected as the park has pathways for walkers, joggers, and cyclists. Could use more trash cans (so expect to pack out), and the closest and only restroom is at the northern most end of the park.
Other Thoughts: Tees are relatively easy to find with the exception of those marked with faded paint lines on pathway tee boxes. As of this posting,the parks department has done good work cleaning and maintaining the trees and foliage within the park allowing a nice view of the baskets, golfers, pedestrians, etc.

 Could be good.

1    9/12/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: rubyrod
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Small challenging course with some hazards. Decent for practice.
Cons: This course has been ran down. It use to me nice, but now you can tell that they put no attention or money into the upkeep. Also, people were in the way which was an unexpected hazard.
Other Thoughts: Good practice course. Dont get your hopes up on this one though. IT LOOKS NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURE!!! NO SIGN OF GRASS OR CREEK OR ANYTHING NICE like it use to be. If in Visalia area check out the Courses at Mooney's Groove Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Troy Korgaden DGC

1    1/3/2004   3/10/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 144  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: excellent use of land/terrain considering how limited it is.
Cons: Discs are nearly unretrievable if thrown into pond. Slight conflict with OB, house on hole one.
Other Thoughts: This course has a 12 hole layout which is as much as this park will handle for its size. This is not a detraction considering the alternative is a private park that is pay-to-play in the area, or driving a considerable distance to the next disc golf course. The course is fairly flat playing around a pond with some pretty nasty water in it at times. If your disc goes in try not to stir up the mud or you need to wait for several hours before it settles enough for you to see your disc again.
Beginner through advanced players will like this course most. Pro players will find it a little short in play, but with some fun challenging shots that takes advantage of the trees and bushes that circles the pond. The pond comes into play on at least half the holes. There is fencing that is OB on the other side of the fairways from the pond so your drives usually need to hit fairways that are anywhere from 30 to 90 feet wide, with trees and bushes to account for down the fairways. Hole one is the only tee shot that has a house that comes into play on the right (length 300 ft.), with the pond just to the left of the pin, so keeping your disc in play on that hole may be a little frustrating.
There is a sidewalk/walking path that also circles the pond and may be played OB, making your fairways even narrower if you choose. I believe the signage indicates the sidewalk as OB on the course. You need to keep an eye out for people using the park for other than disc golf, as it is a multi-use park. This may be an issue on weekends, it wasn't when I played it during the week in the winter months.
I actually enjoyed playing this course keeping in mind it wasn't going to need a lot of different shots or different discs to score well. I imagine a competitive round would be slightly challenging. Recreational rounds are more suited for this course. There is enough diversity with hyzer and annhyzer shots on the course utilizing the OB areas and mature trees in the park to make you want to play it again, to see if you can do better the next time around, and you really need to play it twice since it doesn't take too much time to play anyways. It takes approximately 30-40 minutes for one person to play all 12 holes from either the recreational set or the more advanced set of tee pads. That's if you don't to spend any time fishing out any discs from the pond. If you are like me and don't want to pay to play, then go to this park and enjoy a casual outing where you should have a pretty good level of disc golfin' fun.
03-10-09 just saw that there is a new 18 hole course 12 miles south of this one. could be a pleasant addition to your disc golf outing.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.