Royalston, MA
Tully Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #14 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not Your Aunt Tillie

1    10/12/2013   4/3/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 326  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Variety in elevation - about as many ups as there are downs as there are flat. Several short holes where good control can lead to ace runs and birdy opportunities.

5'x10' wood-framed brick teepads. Basic signs with all the needed information. Nice benches. Welcome kiosk. Well maintained.
Cons:
Single tee location/basket position.

Some might find the tightness (randomness?) of holes 11-13 a bit much.
Other Thoughts:
Located just to the south of a spur of Tully Lake, the course is set primarily within woods - a mixture of hardwoods and pines, thicker, larger, and taller the farther from the lake you get. There is also a strip of open space, which hosts basket-1, holes 8-9, and 15. With this topography, you'll primarily be exercising your control game, with only a few chances to let loose your favourite distance driver.

Make sure you're loose, focused, and ready to play, because Hole-1 immediately tosses a gauntlet at you, a big downhiller with water the entire left side, woods along the right, a large single tree in the midst of the fairway, and the basket close enough to the water to make you squirm on your approach.

After this opening salvo, you face a number of shorter holes, set amongst smaller trees, with the lake not too far away, but only potentially in play on number-3. Number-6 is longer and up an access road, followed by short-7,open early, basket guarded by hardwoods late. Very long, openish (access road again, but there are trees/brush along both sides) number-8 is followed by flat, scattered tree number-9.

Across the main road, turn right, notice the gorge, and then find tee-10 (personal favourite, see below), followed by three holes in dense woods. Back across the road for the final five. While number-10 was my favourite hole, I really like these final five, playing up, down, and across a slope, containing both rows of tress and scattered ones, plenty of large rocks, distances raning from 190'-440'.

Favourite hole: #10. A long (500'+) downhill shot, with a broad access road forming the fairway. Thick trees along both sides of the road, with the left side falling steeply away from the road, too. A moderate left turn needed at roughly the one third point, and the thick canopy above preventing a throw from going too high.

This is a really good and attractive course, with a good mixture of tree densities and elevation changes, and a bit of water, too. Certainly worth a play if even remotely nearby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/21/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 68  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is one of the most beautiful holes I've ever seen. It is a big downhill with water left, trees to the right, and one tree right down the middle. As daunting as it may look, the landing area is large enough that it actually doesn't play particularly difficult.

After this first hole, the water only comes into play on hole 3 (barely). I list this is a pro only because it reduces the potential for losing plastic. I'm usually a fan of well done water holes, but in this setting, it doesn't seem practical to add more.

Although there may be a slight bias to the RHBH, there is a pretty good variety of holes. There are a few that are very RHFH friendly.

It's hard to comment on the teepads because when I played, they were covered in snow. But from what I remember from summer play, they are in pretty good shape.

Hole 10 is one of my favorite "puzzle" holes. It is a particularly tricky par 4 where placement is key. Good strategy and pinpoint control are needed to succeed on this hole.
Cons: 11, 12 and 13 make up one of the most frustrating stretches I've ever experienced. All three play through dense woods with little to no fairway to work with. Hole 12 in particular is long with no clear route to the basket. It pretty well defines the concept of a "spray-and-pray" hole.

There is a bit of redundancy here with a number of holes that really feel like fillers. On these holes, there's not a lot of intrigue, just throw it at the basket and then try to make a putt.

Signage is wrong. The course recently went through a design tweak and the signs have not been updated. So a number of holes have very inaccurate signage.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice, fun course to play. However, it is not overly memorable. It doesn't offer much to give it a unique personality and set it apart from others.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good place to play

1    9/17/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: RHINESEL
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free course with nice upkeep.
Cons: Design quirks and little use of the beautiful land.
Other Thoughts: For rating a course I base my ratings on 50% design, 20% course upkeep, 10% basket, tee, tee sign, and signage, 10% amenities, and 10% that special something that defines a course.

Intro:
NOTE: The course seems to be going through a minor redesign which may have had in impact on this review. I'll try to highlight those areas and adjust the review as I play in the future.

Tully Lake Disc Golf Course is a course hosted by the Army Corps of Engineers at the Tully Lake Dam complex. The course is extremely easy to find as the main road (Rt. 32) drives right over the dam. Parking is on either side of the road. Hole 1 is adjacent to parking on the East side. The grounds contain walking trails and I did see people walking their dogs, crossing my fairway on more than one occasion.

Design:
The course is a mixture of wooded and open holes. Holes had a good variety of straight and left or right turns. Length significantly varied with some holes being very short (hole 3) and some being long (hole 10) to extremely long (hole 8). Some holes feature minor elevation drops with a few offering significant elevation change. There are very few (one or two) blind shots and even then the disc is in sight for most of its flight. Fairways seemed loosely designed except for those that followed fire roads and multiple routes were available. Undergrowth along fairways was of a medium nature and an errant throw could pose a challenge for recovery of par. There is one hole where water significantly comes into play (hole 1 left side) and one where a spillway threatens to eat a disc (hole 9 right side) . Some targets are well guarded (hole 18) and some are parked on minor hills (hole 14). There are a few holes (11-13) that seem to be pure luck as trees inside the fairway are so dense that no discernable or adequate fairway exists. The new pin position on hole 18 is in a spot where the fairway does not continue to (at least that I could see). Overall, the course design while nice, does not seem as well polished as it should for a course it's age.

Course Upkeep:
The course appeared to be kept up adequately. Cut logs and trimmed brush piles were observed, placed mostly out of the way of the main fairways. Still though, fairways contained a large amount of saplings and tripping hazards. Course was mostly clean with just a small amount of trash observed. There were trash barrels located throughout the course and coffee cans at most holes for cigarette butts.

Basket, tee, tee sign, and signage:
Baskets are in good condition. Almost all tees are textured cement bases. Tee signs are present at all tees showing direct of fairway and distance. Possibly due to the redesign, distances on some signs varied with those listed on the score card and also angles of fairways did not match with those on the actual course. If unfamiliar, I suggest walking the hole first and not relying on the tee sign for shot planning. Signs are basic in design and offer limited references. Next tee signs were at some holes (3 or 4) but I felt more should have been present. I did have to refer to my map printed earlier for directions to the next hole on a couple of occasions. There were a few temporary signs due to the redesign (holes 9 and 18) for new basket/tee pad position and also giving better course directions (holes 5 and 10).

Amenities:
Located on the other side of the road of hole one I saw two picnic tables with grills (there may be more). There is no practice target (unless you count the basket for Hole 18 right by the tee box for hole 1). There is a very nice billboard with tournament/league info, a course map, lost and found drop box, and scorecards. There is a port-a-potty by the tee box for hole 1. I did not notice a source of water. Benches are at almost every tee. There are no bag hooks. Small whisk brooms were at most holes to clear tee pads. There was no location to practice warm up drives.

That "special something":
The signature hole for this course is hole 1. This is the only hole that really takes advantage of the dam. There are some other interesting holes such as holes 8 and 10 (both long holes with an immediate turn and following a road) but nothing I would classify as very "special".

Conclusion:
This is a course I wanted to love but left needing something more. Little things seem to get in the way of it being a high caliber course. At the end of my round I was unable to classify the course as overly challenging or overly easy, it felt balanced. I would not hesitate to take someone here for their first experience with disc golf as it is fairly beginner tolerant. It is not a course to be missed if in the area but it also isn't a course I feel the need to play again repeatedly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    9/9/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: sikaranmonkey
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play. Good combination of wooded and clear holes. Easy to navigate. Most woods shots are pretty cleared of debris. A lot of volunteer effort to get the course into pro shaped. The tee boxes they're steadily putting in are nice, wood bordered paving stones. A good amount of chances to open up the arm and doable ace holes.
Cons: The bottom 4 suck, (10 through 13) In the dark woods, very wooded shots. 12 is pure throw and hope, beyond technical, almost absurd. The tees that don't have pads yet can get very muddy and slick. 8 is a b**ch to find your disc if you shoot on the bank and its so tempting to just slam it down the road.
Other Thoughts: They changed 8 to a par 4 and moved the basket way down. They changed 9 to a par 3 and moved the tee up the road so people aren't shooting and walking over the reataining boulder field. Love the course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 sweet free course

1    10/24/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: sumner420
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2009
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Free!, Very pretty course (foliage was peak), Super easy to get around (even for a first timer), Good mix of holes (elevation, dog legs, hazards/OBs), Good tee signs
Cons: Tight fairways overall, Hole one can swallow discs, Going off course or out of bounds is not easy to recover from-as most of the clearing was on the fairways, not around them
Other Thoughts: the natural beauty rivals conway, great free course, the only hole that can eat a disc did- farewell T-L, Looking forward to going back

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.