Royalston, MA 
Tully Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #12 (Taken 1/2011)
4 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
very nice mix

1    9/29/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: 3ertram
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very nice mix of long and technical holes, hole one is for lefties just amazing...
excellent signs, easy to find next tee
Cons: no cons, really, if you play the course the 1st time, like we did, go and see, where the basket really is, the drawings at the tees did not not always show, what we thought where the basket is
Other Thoughts: if you are in the area, stop by !

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gotta Love Tully

5+    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: Truschioni
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, all brick and well maintained.
Beautiful landscape, hole 1 is such an amazing site.
Clearly marked
Best of everything, long bombs, short straight, strategic, and just plain difficult.
Never gets old no matter how many times i play it
Good baskets
Friendly atmosphere
IT'S FREE
Cons: Hole 1 can be tough for beginners and even takes the occasional disc of good players.
Some of the signs don't match up with the new layout.
It's a free course so you get a lot of people who dont understand etiquette or play in really large groups.
Can get pretty soggy during a rainy season
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and play it regularly. I never get tired of it and love some of the stunning scenery during sunsets. It continues to challenge me.

Such a benefit to have so close to home!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: bigpygmy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, fun course for all abilities. Good mix of shots and use of terrain. Elevation and water come into play too
Cons: signage is dated and incorrect.
Other Thoughts: boating, swimming, hiking and a sweet campground too

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/18/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the perfect course to bring new players, because it forces shot variety without being too tight and technical, and because the scenery is spectacular. There is a great variety of long and short, uphill and downhill, hyzer and anhyzer routes, etc.
Cons: My wife complains about the abundance of poison ivy, so watch out for that.

Advanced players might find this course too easy for repeated play, although it's perfect for me.

Need to update the signs on holes that have been moved.
Other Thoughts: If you're coming from the east (Boston/Metrowest), this course pairs very nicely with dinner at the Gardner Ale House.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/21/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tully Lake was complete variety. You have up/downhill, open/wooded, right/left/straight shots, and distances ranging from 183-663 feet.

Other Pros:
- risk/reward with water
- shorter holes are more technical
- homemade benches
- clean and scenic
- several garbage cans
- most tee signs are adequate
- super easy to navigate
- porta-potty at 1st tee
Cons: You are playing next to a dam so it can get soggy.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #1, a 400+ foot shot downhill, to the left is the water, straight ahead a big tree. I admit I played that hole about 5 times because I wanted to try a few different lines. I got quite a workout running back up that hill. Great course, check it out!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Mass, so far...

2-4    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: b3nster
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I highly recommend this course to a novice or more advanced player. Gorgeous setting, amidst backdrop of scenic reservoir. Thorough mix of baskets; Short, steep baskets over water, although primarily winding, shifting dog-leg bends in forest clearings. Sturdy, patio-style tees. Basket 1 and 3 are memorable for steep elevation changes and water threatening on left. Basket 9 can be nerve-racking, as just beyond the fence on the right of the fairway is a 50 foot drop to floodplain (a tedious recovery, but adds to the excitement). 4 and 5 play quickly and intuitively. Alcohol permitted, although course is very clean and players are respectful. Have made 2 hour trek to play here before, will continue to do so (enough said?).
Cons: I have no major gripes with this course, although I would probably have done a few things differently had it been my design.

First and foremost, the maps at each of the tees are misleading. Tee 8 reads a distance of 373 feet, outdated and inconsistent with distance on scorecard (670+). Tee 17 has misleading map; one really needs to go right harder and earlier (nearly lost a disc on this one because I put too much faith on the map). 8 and 10, while favorable to big arms, can seem tedious at times. The first half of the back nine are unremarkable; I would get into detail, but frankly, I can't remember anything interesting about 11-14.

Other Thoughts: While not perfect, Tully Lake is very, very, very good. The front nine are slightly more scenic and interesting than the back nine, but this is nit picky. Great course for all styles of play, although a nice contrast is to head into town to Flat Rock after a round at Tully for something more technical and woodsy. Should host a tournament someday.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Place

5+    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: dyland34
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Terrific mix of long drives and also some real woody sections not to busy on weekdays and good mix of holes
Cons: can be busy on weekends, trees can cause some anger, can be pretty wet depending on when you go
Other Thoughts: Overall great course and one i really enjoy

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

1    11/29/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: whitewaterhelix
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, good variety includes elevation up/down, water, open holes for driving, tight lanes, very tight wooded holes, long and short, enough length to make it a challenge but not ridiculous, almost all holes are fair (even the tight ones that challenge your ability to hit narrow lanes).
Cons: Front nine and back nine don't both end at parking area so you can't play just 9 easily (though there is a 10 hole "loop"), kinda in the middle of nowhere (and not near me), no practice basket but 18 is right by the parking area
Other Thoughts: For where my game is right now this course offered me a great challenge but was totally reasonable. Many holes in the 300-400ft range are great because they let me test my range in a real-world situation, plus a few longer holes that are par 4s and make you exercise course management skills. Well worth the 1 hour drive for me, wish it was closer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  IF YOU LOVE THE COURSE....DONT LEAVE YOUR TRASH!!!

5+    9/15/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: Magduece
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Its great for the novice and expert players. #1 Alot of water on the first, very dangerous!! #8 is alot longer now, at times i love it and others I cant stand it. Id have to say the worst hole has to be either #10 or #12. #10 is just a long dirt road that favors the right handed throwers but has major drops into the woods if you cant stay on the road. #12 you just close your eyes and throw as hard as you can and pray you dont hit a tree. Overall TDG is a great course with very friendly rangers and alot of volunteers help out thanks to the Adopt-A-Hole thing we have going on.
Cons: PEOPLE THAT LITTER!!!!! I love the scenery!!! Just imagine this: Your walking on a beatiful morning, no wind, birds chirpping, sun shining and then you see this wonderful ALUMINUM CAN, BOTTLE OR CIGARETTE BUTTS. Dudes come on IF YOU CARRY IN PLEASE CARRY OUT!!!!!! I know alot of people love this course but if this litter trend continues the dam will have no choice but to close it down...(the rangers and volunteers do a good job picking up) but we all need to do our part to be able to keep this FREE course and continue doing something we love.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 1st New England Course Played

5+    9/8/2009   11/24/2008
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2011
18 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All of the holes, except for one, have paver tee pads and are the best in MA. Tees have colored signs depicting where the basket is located(although some aren't accurate right now). Very easy to navigate; paths between holes are open and precise. Great array of different holes and shots. The land is used to maximum efficiency. Holes vary from having a large water hazard on your left (lake on hole 1) to having a mando through a very tight alley of trees (several different holes). There are next tee signs on holes that don't have a clearly defined path. You might have to look for them as they are on cardboard on some holes while they make wooden ones. There are trash cans on holes 1, 7, 9, 14 and 18 as well as coffee cans for butts right next to the tee signs on each most of the holes. There is a porta potty at the beginning of the course near basket 18 on the way to hole 1(it is kept there throughout winter and quite clean). Hand-made benches are on a good majority of the holes as well. There is also a playground for the kids across the lake from hole one with a boat ramp, payphone and full indoor bathrooms(unsure if they are kept unlocked). There are also walking trails and a small swimming hole.
Cons: Some fairways are overly woody and tight. (this is only bad due to the amount of foliage in the summer) The course is played through a lake/dam that they are draining so it is very soggy on some of the first few holes. On hole 15 off to the right hand side there is a large marshy area so be prepared to get wet if you have an errant throw. For the not very athletic type there are quite a few elevation changes which can tire you out quickly. The recent redesign in process has left multiple tee signs inaccurate. Some tee pads are slightly not aimed at the hole due to the re-alignment.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course and not one you have to look for the tees. Not a good course for beginners but intermediate players would love it. There is pretty decent parking by the 1st tee and the 18th tee has overflow. They are only about 1/10 mile away so no long hikes! Basket 8 has been moved about 200' further up the course and changed to a par 4. Tee box 9 has been moved up about 100' up to the top of the hill and been changed to a par 3.

18 of 21 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.