Royalston, MA 
Tully Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #6 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

2-4    1/21/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is one of the most beautiful holes I've ever seen. It is a big downhill with water left, trees to the right, and one tree right down the middle. As daunting as it may look, the landing area is large enough that it actually doesn't play particularly difficult.

After this first hole, the water only comes into play on hole 3 (barely). I list this is a pro only because it reduces the potential for losing plastic. I'm usually a fan of well done water holes, but in this setting, it doesn't seem practical to add more.

Although there may be a slight bias to the RHBH, there is a pretty good variety of holes. There are a few that are very RHFH friendly.

It's hard to comment on the teepads because when I played, they were covered in snow. But from what I remember from summer play, they are in pretty good shape.

Hole 10 is one of my favorite "puzzle" holes. It is a particularly tricky par 4 where placement is key. Good strategy and pinpoint control are needed to succeed on this hole.
Cons: 11, 12 and 13 make up one of the most frustrating stretches I've ever experienced. All three play through dense woods with little to no fairway to work with. Hole 12 in particular is long with no clear route to the basket. It pretty well defines the concept of a "spray-and-pray" hole.

There is a bit of redundancy here with a number of holes that really feel like fillers. On these holes, there's not a lot of intrigue, just throw it at the basket and then try to make a putt.

Signage is wrong. The course recently went through a design tweak and the signs have not been updated. So a number of holes have very inaccurate signage.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice, fun course to play. However, it is not overly memorable. It doesn't offer much to give it a unique personality and set it apart from others.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/4/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: Glenith
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Free to play, Seems that there are continual improvements.
Cons: Lacks diversity in my opinion. Kind of easy for the most part because most holes are either short or wide open. A few holes are in dense woods and difficult. It just seems like there wasn't great design done when laying this course out. Trash is an issue.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: bigpygmy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, fun course for all abilities. Good mix of shots and use of terrain. Elevation and water come into play too
Cons: signage is dated and incorrect.
Other Thoughts: boating, swimming, hiking and a sweet campground too

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/18/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the perfect course to bring new players, because it forces shot variety without being too tight and technical, and because the scenery is spectacular. There is a great variety of long and short, uphill and downhill, hyzer and anhyzer routes, etc.
Cons: My wife complains about the abundance of poison ivy, so watch out for that.

Advanced players might find this course too easy for repeated play, although it's perfect for me.

Need to update the signs on holes that have been moved.
Other Thoughts: If you're coming from the east (Boston/Metrowest), this course pairs very nicely with dinner at the Gardner Ale House.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/21/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tully Lake was complete variety. You have up/downhill, open/wooded, right/left/straight shots, and distances ranging from 183-663 feet.

Other Pros:
- risk/reward with water
- shorter holes are more technical
- homemade benches
- clean and scenic
- several garbage cans
- most tee signs are adequate
- super easy to navigate
- porta-potty at 1st tee
Cons: You are playing next to a dam so it can get soggy.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #1, a 400+ foot shot downhill, to the left is the water, straight ahead a big tree. I admit I played that hole about 5 times because I wanted to try a few different lines. I got quite a workout running back up that hill. Great course, check it out!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good place to play

1    9/17/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: RHINESEL
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free course with nice upkeep.
Cons: Design quirks and little use of the beautiful land.
Other Thoughts: For rating a course I base my ratings on 50% design, 20% course upkeep, 10% basket, tee, tee sign, and signage, 10% amenities, and 10% that special something that defines a course.

Intro:
NOTE: The course seems to be going through a minor redesign which may have had in impact on this review. I'll try to highlight those areas and adjust the review as I play in the future.

Tully Lake Disc Golf Course is a course hosted by the Army Corps of Engineers at the Tully Lake Dam complex. The course is extremely easy to find as the main road (Rt. 32) drives right over the dam. Parking is on either side of the road. Hole 1 is adjacent to parking on the East side. The grounds contain walking trails and I did see people walking their dogs, crossing my fairway on more than one occasion.

Design:
The course is a mixture of wooded and open holes. Holes had a good variety of straight and left or right turns. Length significantly varied with some holes being very short (hole 3) and some being long (hole 10) to extremely long (hole 8). Some holes feature minor elevation drops with a few offering significant elevation change. There are very few (one or two) blind shots and even then the disc is in sight for most of its flight. Fairways seemed loosely designed except for those that followed fire roads and multiple routes were available. Undergrowth along fairways was of a medium nature and an errant throw could pose a challenge for recovery of par. There is one hole where water significantly comes into play (hole 1 left side) and one where a spillway threatens to eat a disc (hole 9 right side) . Some targets are well guarded (hole 18) and some are parked on minor hills (hole 14). There are a few holes (11-13) that seem to be pure luck as trees inside the fairway are so dense that no discernable or adequate fairway exists. The new pin position on hole 18 is in a spot where the fairway does not continue to (at least that I could see). Overall, the course design while nice, does not seem as well polished as it should for a course it's age.

Course Upkeep:
The course appeared to be kept up adequately. Cut logs and trimmed brush piles were observed, placed mostly out of the way of the main fairways. Still though, fairways contained a large amount of saplings and tripping hazards. Course was mostly clean with just a small amount of trash observed. There were trash barrels located throughout the course and coffee cans at most holes for cigarette butts.

Basket, tee, tee sign, and signage:
Baskets are in good condition. Almost all tees are textured cement bases. Tee signs are present at all tees showing direct of fairway and distance. Possibly due to the redesign, distances on some signs varied with those listed on the score card and also angles of fairways did not match with those on the actual course. If unfamiliar, I suggest walking the hole first and not relying on the tee sign for shot planning. Signs are basic in design and offer limited references. Next tee signs were at some holes (3 or 4) but I felt more should have been present. I did have to refer to my map printed earlier for directions to the next hole on a couple of occasions. There were a few temporary signs due to the redesign (holes 9 and 18) for new basket/tee pad position and also giving better course directions (holes 5 and 10).

Amenities:
Located on the other side of the road of hole one I saw two picnic tables with grills (there may be more). There is no practice target (unless you count the basket for Hole 18 right by the tee box for hole 1). There is a very nice billboard with tournament/league info, a course map, lost and found drop box, and scorecards. There is a port-a-potty by the tee box for hole 1. I did not notice a source of water. Benches are at almost every tee. There are no bag hooks. Small whisk brooms were at most holes to clear tee pads. There was no location to practice warm up drives.

That "special something":
The signature hole for this course is hole 1. This is the only hole that really takes advantage of the dam. There are some other interesting holes such as holes 8 and 10 (both long holes with an immediate turn and following a road) but nothing I would classify as very "special".

Conclusion:
This is a course I wanted to love but left needing something more. Little things seem to get in the way of it being a high caliber course. At the end of my round I was unable to classify the course as overly challenging or overly easy, it felt balanced. I would not hesitate to take someone here for their first experience with disc golf as it is fairly beginner tolerant. It is not a course to be missed if in the area but it also isn't a course I feel the need to play again repeatedly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Mass, so far...

2-4    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: b3nster
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I highly recommend this course to a novice or more advanced player. Gorgeous setting, amidst backdrop of scenic reservoir. Thorough mix of baskets; Short, steep baskets over water, although primarily winding, shifting dog-leg bends in forest clearings. Sturdy, patio-style tees. Basket 1 and 3 are memorable for steep elevation changes and water threatening on left. Basket 9 can be nerve-racking, as just beyond the fence on the right of the fairway is a 50 foot drop to floodplain (a tedious recovery, but adds to the excitement). 4 and 5 play quickly and intuitively. Alcohol permitted, although course is very clean and players are respectful. Have made 2 hour trek to play here before, will continue to do so (enough said?).
Cons: I have no major gripes with this course, although I would probably have done a few things differently had it been my design.

First and foremost, the maps at each of the tees are misleading. Tee 8 reads a distance of 373 feet, outdated and inconsistent with distance on scorecard (670+). Tee 17 has misleading map; one really needs to go right harder and earlier (nearly lost a disc on this one because I put too much faith on the map). 8 and 10, while favorable to big arms, can seem tedious at times. The first half of the back nine are unremarkable; I would get into detail, but frankly, I can't remember anything interesting about 11-14.

Other Thoughts: While not perfect, Tully Lake is very, very, very good. The front nine are slightly more scenic and interesting than the back nine, but this is nit picky. Great course for all styles of play, although a nice contrast is to head into town to Flat Rock after a round at Tully for something more technical and woodsy. Should host a tournament someday.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Place

5+    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: dyland34
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Terrific mix of long drives and also some real woody sections not to busy on weekdays and good mix of holes
Cons: can be busy on weekends, trees can cause some anger, can be pretty wet depending on when you go
Other Thoughts: Overall great course and one i really enjoy

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stunningly nice course

1    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: rootcanalsarebad
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Absolutely PERFECT mix of wooded and open, slightly favoring wooded.
-Beautiful setting
-Every hole has several approaches
-Some great risk/reward putting
-Aside from a few holes (like #1) near water, low chance of losing discs
-Requires a diverse throwing selection (flicks, backhands, tomahawks, rollers, etc.)
-Free, public course
-Leashed dogs are welcome
-Scorecards available at first hole
Cons: -Sometimes it can be hard to see the baskets from the tee
-Can get a big soggy/flooded after rain
-Have to cross the road at times
Other Thoughts: I just played Tully for the first time today, and I was absolutely blown away. It is easily my favorite "Central MA" course thus far. This course takes everything that's great about Barre and expands it to a whole new level of awesomeness. Enough trees to keep you honest, but not so many that you feel like you're throwing in an uncleared forest.

I can't say enough good things about this course. It is an absolute MUST for anyone in the New England area. I want to go back already and I just got home. Try it out as soon as possible, and bring a nice assortment of discs with you.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

1    11/29/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: whitewaterhelix
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, good variety includes elevation up/down, water, open holes for driving, tight lanes, very tight wooded holes, long and short, enough length to make it a challenge but not ridiculous, almost all holes are fair (even the tight ones that challenge your ability to hit narrow lanes).
Cons: Front nine and back nine don't both end at parking area so you can't play just 9 easily (though there is a 10 hole "loop"), kinda in the middle of nowhere (and not near me), no practice basket but 18 is right by the parking area
Other Thoughts: For where my game is right now this course offered me a great challenge but was totally reasonable. Many holes in the 300-400ft range are great because they let me test my range in a real-world situation, plus a few longer holes that are par 4s and make you exercise course management skills. Well worth the 1 hour drive for me, wish it was closer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center