Royalston, MA 
Tully Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
The place that got me hooked

5+    7/6/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Great hole variation
+Clean
+Fairly well maintained
+League nights
+FREE
+Playable year round
+Great for beginners or vets
Cons: -Can be very busy on weekends
-Hikers are sometimes oblivious to disc golfers
-I have never gotten a lost disc back. Since it is a free course I think it attracts some people who don't understand etiquette.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that got me addicted to this sport. It's also the only place I've gotten/seen an Ace off the main tees. Playing here is a good baseline measure of how much better I've gotten since I started playing. Avoid coming here on league nights as it interferes with what they have going on. Overall the best free course I know of.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Your Aunt Tillie

1    10/12/2013   4/3/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Variety in elevation - about as many ups as there are downs as there are flat. Several short holes where good control can lead to ace runs and birdy opportunities.

5'x10' wood-framed brick teepads. Basic signs with all the needed information. Nice benches. Welcome kiosk. Well maintained.
Cons:
Single tee location/basket position.

Some might find the tightness (randomness?) of holes 11-13 a bit much.
Other Thoughts:
Located just to the south of a spur of Tully Lake, the course is set primarily within woods - a mixture of hardwoods and pines, thicker, larger, and taller the farther from the lake you get. There is also a strip of open space, which hosts basket-1, holes 8-9, and 15. With this topography, you'll primarily be exercising your control game, with only a few chances to let loose your favourite distance driver.

Make sure you're loose, focused, and ready to play, because Hole-1 immediately tosses a gauntlet at you, a big downhiller with water the entire left side, woods along the right, a large single tree in the midst of the fairway, and the basket close enough to the water to make you squirm on your approach.

After this opening salvo, you face a number of shorter holes, set amongst smaller trees, with the lake not too far away, but only potentially in play on number-3. Number-6 is longer and up an access road, followed by short-7,open early, basket guarded by hardwoods late. Very long, openish (access road again, but there are trees/brush along both sides) number-8 is followed by flat, scattered tree number-9.

Across the main road, turn right, notice the gorge, and then find tee-10 (personal favourite, see below), followed by three holes in dense woods. Back across the road for the final five. While number-10 was my favourite hole, I really like these final five, playing up, down, and across a slope, containing both rows of tress and scattered ones, plenty of large rocks, distances raning from 190'-440'.

Favourite hole: #10. A long (500'+) downhill shot, with a broad access road forming the fairway. Thick trees along both sides of the road, with the left side falling steeply away from the road, too. A moderate left turn needed at roughly the one third point, and the thick canopy above preventing a throw from going too high.

This is a really good and attractive course, with a good mixture of tree densities and elevation changes, and a bit of water, too. Certainly worth a play if even remotely nearby.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fall in New England

2-4    10/20/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: rcj333
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: Tully Lake is a beautiful location and I really liked how the course winds through the dam, the woods, and along the spillway. Excellent tee boxes. The hole signs were good, but not accurate on a couple of the holes. People had left new tee placement in Sharpie so was OK. Nice mix of open, wooded and alley shots. Water comes in to play on 1 and 3.
Cons: The biggest problem for first timers is layout. There are really no signs leading you to the next hole. Part of problem is it is fall so leaves obscure what are probably obvious paths in the summer. Also there are a bunch of holes where you cannot see the basket so drives were confusing. part of this is not a ton of faith in the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Easy to get too, it is right on Rte 32. 1st tee is near parking lot. Oh keep in mind that 10-13 are on the other side of the road. All and all a nice course that could use a bit better signage. And at least on this Saturday afternoon, pretty heavily played. There were lots of people out playing and we let 4-5 groups go past our foursome.

very nice mix

1    9/29/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: 3ertram
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very nice mix of long and technical holes, hole one is for lefties just amazing...
excellent signs, easy to find next tee
Cons: no cons, really, if you play the course the 1st time, like we did, go and see, where the basket really is, the drawings at the tees did not not always show, what we thought where the basket is
Other Thoughts: if you are in the area, stop by !

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gotta Love Tully

5+    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: Truschioni
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, all brick and well maintained.
Beautiful landscape, hole 1 is such an amazing site.
Clearly marked
Best of everything, long bombs, short straight, strategic, and just plain difficult.
Never gets old no matter how many times i play it
Good baskets
Friendly atmosphere
IT'S FREE
Cons: Hole 1 can be tough for beginners and even takes the occasional disc of good players.
Some of the signs don't match up with the new layout.
It's a free course so you get a lot of people who dont understand etiquette or play in really large groups.
Can get pretty soggy during a rainy season
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and play it regularly. I never get tired of it and love some of the stunning scenery during sunsets. It continues to challenge me.

Such a benefit to have so close to home!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ONE OF THE BEST IN MASS

5+    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: chillin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: IT'S FREE!! Great scenery, the best tee's around, well maintained, challenging with a lil bit of everything, trees, distance water ect...You can walk around and drink as long as you pick up after your self, they usually have Scorecards at 1st tee
Cons: first hole is very easy to get in the water, but a floating disc dont make it so bad, quite a few challenging holes. Hole #10,11,12 & 13 are a lil tricky and are littered with trees but still fun.
Other Thoughts: ive played 4 courses tully by far was and is the best, cleanest and the fellow disc golfers are very friendly

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best.

5+    8/21/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: benjah
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Easy to find. Course is right off of Route 32, you can't miss it. You'll love seeing Hole 1 waiting for you right there as you pull in the parking lot. It is such a beautiful hole.

- The kiosk is right there on the way to hole 1 from the parking area. Course map and scorecards are there, and there is a lost and found there as well.

- The course is so well maintained (especially for a free course). And aside from the hill on 8, which is barely mentionable, it is an easy course to walk. Small planks and bridges help get over any potential trouble areas.

- The course layout is wonderful. A variety of holes ranging from bomber holes like 8 and 15 down to more technical holes 13 and 17 and some in between like holes 1 and 10.

- The brick teepads are super nice.

- Holes 1 and 10 are two of my favorite holes anywhere. Both are very challenging and you have to figure them out all over again every time you play them.
Cons: - Several of the holes have outdated signs that weren't replaced when the course was re-designed so some of the layouts and footage are misleading. (ie: on 8 the original footage and layout map are still there, but the footage is crossed out and re-written in sharpie but the old layout still remains), so keep this in mind when playing the course. Most of the holes you can see the basket from the tee anyways so it isn't much of an issue.

- You will walk a LONG way if you miss off to the right on 9. There's a chainlink fence which separates the fairway from a cliff which drops into a gully below.
Other Thoughts: I always love playing at Tully. It's truly one of the best around, and you certainly can't beat playing such a well laid out/maintained course for free. An absolute must-play if you're in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/21/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 74  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is one of the most beautiful holes I've ever seen. It is a big downhill with water left, trees to the right, and one tree right down the middle. As daunting as it may look, the landing area is large enough that it actually doesn't play particularly difficult.

After this first hole, the water only comes into play on hole 3 (barely). I list this is a pro only because it reduces the potential for losing plastic. I'm usually a fan of well done water holes, but in this setting, it doesn't seem practical to add more.

Although there may be a slight bias to the RHBH, there is a pretty good variety of holes. There are a few that are very RHFH friendly.

It's hard to comment on the teepads because when I played, they were covered in snow. But from what I remember from summer play, they are in pretty good shape.

Hole 10 is one of my favorite "puzzle" holes. It is a particularly tricky par 4 where placement is key. Good strategy and pinpoint control are needed to succeed on this hole.
Cons: 11, 12 and 13 make up one of the most frustrating stretches I've ever experienced. All three play through dense woods with little to no fairway to work with. Hole 12 in particular is long with no clear route to the basket. It pretty well defines the concept of a "spray-and-pray" hole.

There is a bit of redundancy here with a number of holes that really feel like fillers. On these holes, there's not a lot of intrigue, just throw it at the basket and then try to make a putt.

Signage is wrong. The course recently went through a design tweak and the signs have not been updated. So a number of holes have very inaccurate signage.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice, fun course to play. However, it is not overly memorable. It doesn't offer much to give it a unique personality and set it apart from others.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/4/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: Glenith
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Free to play, Seems that there are continual improvements.
Cons: Lacks diversity in my opinion. Kind of easy for the most part because most holes are either short or wide open. A few holes are in dense woods and difficult. It just seems like there wasn't great design done when laying this course out. Trash is an issue.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: bigpygmy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, fun course for all abilities. Good mix of shots and use of terrain. Elevation and water come into play too
Cons: signage is dated and incorrect.
Other Thoughts: boating, swimming, hiking and a sweet campground too

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.