Disc Golf Center
Myrtle Beach/Garden City, SC 
Tupelo Bay DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #2 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
MB

1    4/19/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: Mr. Elixir
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a DG course in MB. Well kept and very difficult to lose a disc. You can apparently play late into evening under a lighted course.
Cons: Pay to play. You share the same course with ball golfers. It's just not the same as playing in a dedicated and more heavily wooded and more challenging disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: Came here over a year ago while visiting the area in the off season but never submitted a review... because it was the off season we had the course all to ourselves. I could see it not being as pleasant on a crowded day with other golfers there for pitch and putt. Don't go out of your way to play here or you're bound to be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Caddyshack DG

2-4    10/23/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course. Great amenities (restrooms/drinks...maybe even a golf cart if you wanted one....who knows?) No chance of losing a disc. Easy to follow.
Cons: 9 holes. Very short. Very basic, not challenging. Ball golfers play on same course. No woods (BUT if you use sand traps, Greens and cart path as OB, as suggested, it is a little trickier). Expensive! You pay way too much for such a short easy course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed the two rounds (One 18 round actually) mostly because I had never until now played DG on a ball golf course. It was pretty neat and very different from what I was used to. The other golfers were very nice to me even allowing me to play through. The club house staff were very nice and not degrading toward DGers despite catering to ball golf as a primary business. Still, with all said about the fun of playing on a groomed ball golf course, it left a lot to be desired as a challenging or traditional DG course. Fun little ace race course or just to have a good time away from the beach. Didn't play at night, I had plans, but that may have made the experience even better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Last Resort Course

2-4    5/18/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Citadelly
Played: 37  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained course!

-Easy to navigate (follow cart path)

-Lights to play at night
Cons: -*Pay to play* $7.00 for 9 holes

-All par 3's with baskets mixed in along side 'real' golf holes

-Hole 3 runs parallel to 17 business

Other Thoughts: I use as a last resort course if Loris & East Bay Park are not an option

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for beginners

2-4    6/3/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course Level = Red (most suited for Juniors and Intermediate players rated 825-875)
*This is a good course for children and beginners since it's short and quite wide open. It would be hard for even the newest player to lose a disc here.
*There's novelty playing on beautiful manicured grass at an Executive golf course. The terrain also has some scattered palms and deciduous trees. A small pond comes into play a little bit on hole 8.
*The course is super easy to navigate with signs, and cart paths to the next hole.
*There are lights for night play (but that's when the traditional golfers come out too, so it's more crowded .)
Cons: -There are too many straight and open holes.
-The holes are short. There's not much length variety; most are in the 180-290 ft range. (3 of 180-190/ 5 of 200-290/ 1 of 300 ft.)
-It's mostly flat with the greatest elevation change only 4 ft. Some baskets are on mounds.
-The hole lengths aren't listed any where, so you have to estimate from the traditional golf hole yardages.
Other Thoughts: *Pay-to-play: $7 for 9 holes or $10 for 18 holes
*For experienced players this is the quintessential "deuce or die" course. I expect that the course record is -9 or lower. It wasn't that interesting to me because it was too short and too open. Anyone who can throw 300 ft or more will be quickly bored.
*If you want to introduce the family to the game, this is a good place (except for the greens fees). Or if you're already in Myrtle Beach on vacation then this is your only option to satisfy your craving to throw discs into baskets. But after you've played it once there's not much reason to go back again, and I certainly wouldn't make a trip just to go there.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.