Myrtle Beach/Garden City, SC 
Tupelo Bay DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #8 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Grass

1    7/3/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Prototype
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing on a par 3 course with manicured grass.
Nice course and facilities
Fun for the family while on vacation.
Golfers respect your right to play
The course is easy to navigate
Nice Innova Baskets
Cons: Short, I threw a Roc at almost every tee box
Costs money to play
Other Thoughts: Definately a novelty course. I wouldnt play it every day. The course is a nice contrast to my mountain courses here at home. They do not sell discs in the club house. Fee to play is 9-$7 or play twice for $10.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 DG in MB

1    7/10/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: Hindenburg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its pretty cool to say that youve played on a BG course. Fairways are very well maintained. Plus they are open until 11pm with good lighting giving you the oppertunity for some awesome night DG.. A lot of the baskets are on the top of a small dune so putting may be a little of a challenge because if you miss its going back down the other side of the hill and it might take a few strokes to get back. Its close to the ocean so its windy almost all the time giving you a chance to work on playing against the elements.
Cons: YOU HAVE TO PAY..... its 7 dollars for 9 holes and 10 for 18. all holes are wide open and pretty much straight making them a little repetitive. golfers can be a pain and most of the time dont realize that you have a right to be there also. Had a guy yell at me for playing frisbee on the green but apologized once he realized that we were supposed to be there. No designated tee boxes and have to tee from the same spot as the golfers.
Other Thoughts: Id suggest going very early in the morning or late at night since they are lit for night play. not as crowded then. Ocean lakes RV campground takes people once a week staying in their park to play DG. its a great way to keep people learning about the sport. It sucks that you have to pay but just to be able to play somewhere at night and for that reason Id be willing to play just to get a round in at night.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sort of a novelty

2-4    6/30/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: turbosteve
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Course is well maintained.
-It has a clubhouse on site.
-It is located near the beach.
-It has lights for night golf.
Cons: -Course doesn't have a lot of variety to it. It is basically 9 open holes about 200 -300ft from the tee.
-Course is shared with ball golfers.
-The course is expensive to play. It costs $7.00 for 9 holes and $10.00 for 18 holes.
-Hole number 3 runs dangerously close to highway 17
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty much the only option for those wanting to play disc golf in Myrtle Beach. The course is not worth the money it costs to play even at night. I would recommend that if you play this course you only play it once.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun night

2-4    6/22/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Herd1978
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lighting. It was cool to be able to play without taking time away from the beach. We were able to do our typical vacation day at the beach, then after the kids were asleep, still able to get 3+ rounds in here because it was lighted. Majority of holes are aceable, which also makes it exciting. Actually saw one hit in the basket then bounce out and roll a good 150 ft. away.
Cons: You will play much faster than the golfers, so there may be a wait. Again though, you've got all night to play. We played right up until 11 p.m.
Other Thoughts: It was fun to be able to go out late and get a few rounds in. The $ is a bit much for DG, but you're already spending a fortune anyhow. We paid for 2 rounds, but backtracked holes due to the slower play of the golfers. We probably got in a good 30+ holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Myrtle Beach needs more courses

2-4    7/6/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Very well Maintained
It shares land with a Par 3 Golf course so it's well taken care of and visually nice
I almost always run into a fellow vacationing Disc Golfer. I've met some cool people from a lot of different areas of the country out there.
Cons: Pay to Play
Fairly short
Zero Changes in Elevation
No Variety, every hole is open shot about 220-300 feet
Not really any challenging holes
Crowded, mostly with ball golfers
Go early in the morning or in the evening or else it can be very hot.
Distances posted in yards! WTF! I go on vacation to get away from doing number conversions, I had to bring along my abacus just so I could decide what disc I need to use! (all kidding aside, some simple 3rd grade math will tell you the distance in feet)


Other Thoughts: This is the perfect Deuce or Die course. The holes aren't particularly long but they're nice. Anyone with any amount of skill should be getting no more than 3's on every hole. There are no major obstacles, dog legs, water hazards or large hills to stand in you way

It's normally pretty busy and the only way to avoid the crowds is to play in the afternoon, but then more often than not your playing in intense heat.

If your on vacation with the family and you get the itch, then this is pretty much your only option. It's not a bad one by any means but I really wish They would put more courses down there, I think they would be successful. I keep hearing rumors that more are coming.

Great for when your on Vacation, but I wouldn't suggest it for a road trip

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tourist Disc Golf

5+    9/27/2011   9/12/2009
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located on a very nice and well manicured lighted Par 3 ball golf course.
-Great place for a beginner or an intermediate to play.
-It's lighted and makes for great night play.
-During the off season, course can be empty at night.
-Innova DISCatcher baskets
-There is a water hazard.
-Very easy to navigate, Score Cards available in the Clubhouse.
-The length can make challenging par 3's for the beginner or casual player.
If you want to add a level of difficulty, make the putting greens OB.
-Rolling terrain, which can affect your placement. Discs can roll down the hill, or land where there is a mound in between you and the basket.
-Located near the beach, and it's centrally located in the south strand.
-Restrooms in the club house, and Garbage cans at each Tee.
-Clubhouse sells food, sodas, and beer.
-There is a water jug stand, with cups near the 4th tee.

TIP: If you do not wish to play the water hole, and you are playing 2 rounds, just loop around and play 5 and 6,or 6 and 7, again. Just skipping 8 and go straight to 9. That way you'll get 18, and you can skip the water hole. It helps if the course isn't busy.
Cons: -This is not a professional course, it's more of a novelty rec course.
-One drawback is that this is where people that don't normally play ball golf come to play. If you get stuck behind them, you could be waiting a while. I've been known to skip around the holes if I have to wait to long.
-Summertime, this place can be packed with ball golfers.
-There are no tee boxes, you have to guess-timate by the dirt patches next the BG teeboxes.
-It costs 7$ for 9 holes 10$ for 18.*

*I understand that it costs money to run this course, and I'm not opposed to paying to play.
The cost used to be 5$ for 9 and 7$ for 18, which was a little more reasonable. I would drop 5 bucks for a quick round. It would be nice if 10$ was for an all day play.
Other Thoughts: Tupelo Bay hosts a huge PDGA tournament in December. They bring in extra baskets and place them along their executive BG course. This course, however, is located on the Par 3 pitch and putt course. It's not a bad course, just don't expect a lot of challenges. Here is my suggestion for enjoying Tupelo Bay. Wait until it's dark, and play the course under the lights. This is a course you play for fun, not the challenge. If you are at the beach, and looking to play a round of Disc Golf, check out Tupelo Bay.

FYI: There is also a miniature golf course at the entrance to Tupelo Bay. There is also a full 18 hole Executive Ball Golf course here as well. The Ball Golf course is one of more popular courses in the area.

For your GPS:
Tupelo Bay Golf Center
1800 Business 17 South
Garden City, SC 29576

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: tymeframe
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's the only course in the area. It's a nice course, with nice baskets. Makes use of what slight elevation there is (some baskets are on small hills). There's also a decent little mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Water comes into play on hole 8, in which you throw over a small creek, missing a short tree, and not letting your disc hyzer out too much because there's another creek on the far left side of the fairway. (that's my favorite hole there)

This is definitely a place to go to work on your short open shots.

It's also lit for night play which can be fun.
Cons: Well, it's short. There are a lot of deuces on this one, even on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: You might get asked, at least once... "Why are you throwing frisbees on a golf course?" If you're familiar with people asking you what the heck you're doing while you're playing....you know the drill.

It gets breezy because it's pretty close to the beach, which can add a bit more challenge.

Once a year, in December, the Tupelo Bay Open is held here. This is a 27 hole format. 18 additional baskets are set up throughout the full ball golf course. There are a lot of long shots with water and tons of OB (including bunkers and greens). The 2009 World's champ Avery Jenkins won this event in 2008.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Questionable Course

1    6/16/2008   3/13/2009
Review By: SBVT2012
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well-kept since it is on a par 3 golf course. Also, very easy because of how wide open and short the holes are. Great for beginners
Cons: No specific spot marked where you should tee off from. When I played with my dad, we threw from the par 3 golf boxes. Once again, very easy. Also, have to watch out for the par 3 golfers.
Other Thoughts: Don't think I'd come back here because I had to pay to play. It's only 9 holes that are very, very easy. This was my dad's first time playing, so the easiness made it enjoyable for him. Suprised that they allow disc golf on a par 3 course due to the fact that our discs constantly made divots in the fairways.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Novelty course for families

1    6/28/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean well kept course, convienent location: only course near myrtle beach.
Great course for children to learn on or for an hour of family fun.
Cons: This course is not suited for expereinced players, it is too wide open and holes are very short.
Playing right along side regular golfers.
This course is not worth traveling to, but if you're in myrtle beach and bored give it a visit.
Other Thoughts: The course is on the left side of Business 17, turn in Tupelo Bay and go past the mini golf course and follow the road to the right to the golf course. Cost is $7 for adults $5 for children. They also rent discs

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.