Disc Golf Store
Buffalo Grove, IL 
Twin Creeks Park Share
Uploaded By: Whicho Hole #6 (Taken 10/2011)
5 / 341ft.   3 / 341ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wet and Tiring

2-4    7/15/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: Derbodis
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good for beginners

-Variety of distances for the holes

-There are 2 tees for hole 3, looks like because the basin the hole plays in has a tendency to flood up.

-Trees are in good positions, enough to add an obstacle, but not so much to be a pain

-Holes 8 and 9 require both a right hyzer shot then a right anhyzer shot

-Baskets are upheld well. They are in good condition
Cons: -Right away on hole 2, you drive the hole. You walk up and you hear SQUISH SQUISH as you walk and realize your sock is now wet. Yeah, hole 2 and three play over a very small retention basin and it ALWAYS has water in it.

-Holes are pretty short so not much of an overall challenge

-Right hyzer throws on hole 3, 4, and 5 can give you a slight problem with the overgrown plants by the creek. Haven't lost a disc yet, but it sure did take some time to find them

-Holes 7 and 8 there is, what looks to be, a public works water facility, that is fenced off. That's just calling your name for a disc to fly in there. It's camera protected so be sure to have a nice pearly smile when going in.
Other Thoughts: Don't take a long drive to this course.. Not exactly worth the time. If you're close, then yea, great spot to kill some time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

1    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is 2 tees on holes 3 and 9.

Nice concrete pads and signs. The baskets are solid.

Hole 7 finally lets you rip a hyzer.

Hyzers, straight shot, and 1 anhyzer shot required.
Cons: On of the shortest courses I've ever played. Holes 1-4 are all very easy 2s.

The fairways are all rather close together.
Other Thoughts: A very nice park just off of Buffalo Grove Road. Play this and Willow Stream a mile south for a fun hour with your disc golf buddies.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: Mr. Elixir
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice long concrete teepads, but they are unnecessary for the majority of holes here as only 3 holes even exceed 300'
Nice Baskets and the park looked nice and clean.
Wasn't crowded at all the day I was there aside from a few dog walkers.
Easy to find and fairly easy to navigate since it's so small and open, but it would be easy to throw to the wrong basket if you never played there before because the holes are all so close together...
But if there's nobody else around you can just make up your own holes and throw to completely different baskets to mix things up. I had some fun with this and made a number of new holes to practice different shots. If this were my local course I would certainly make some improvised alternate tees to make the course more challenging.
Some well placed trees do atleast force you to carve lines on some holes, but most are just straight and open shots.
Hole #7 has two tees and the long tee requires a really accurate and dead straight drive if trying to shoot through the tunnel of trees, but other lines are available.
Hole #8 is a decent dogleg, just don't lose your disc over the fence.
Cons: Just too small of a park to fit this many holes... they are all crammed in and too close together.
Could be dangerous on a busy day... tee pads are too close to many of the baskets and fairways overlap in many places.
First 4 holes are pretty lame and pretty much just serve as a warm-up for the back 5, but I did get my first ace ever on hole #2!
I could also see hole #2 being a muddy mess after any rain as it lies in a little basin behind a ballfield.
Other Thoughts: Holes 5-9 are a welcome departure from the front holes by adding some additional distance and obstacles. Great course for anyone just getting into the game but don't come looking for any real challenge. You really only need a putter to play here, but you could easily work in a mid or maybe a fairway driver on a few holes. I'd think this course would be much better if they actually had less holes and just focused more on a few well designed and more difficult holes that could be spaced out a little more. But I give credit to the designer for trying to make the most of such a small space. If your the only one there, I'd recommend trying to play from Teepad #1 to basket #2 for a nice hyzer along the outfield fence of the baseball field and from teepad #9 to basket #6 which is hiding on the other side of a few tall shrubs. Not a great course in general but it's in good shape atleast and I'd say it's worth a round if you happen to be in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Level

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great baskets and tees. A couple of the holes are really fun. I'm not sure but I think it was hole 5 that was my favorite. It's about 300ft, with a creek off to the left and one tree dead center of the fairway. A nice s-curve (backhand or forehand) should get you close to the pin. Holes 5-9 surprise you after playing the first four. They are much longer, and although they are very close together, they all offer some decent shots.
Cons: The tee signs are very confusing. The basket for hole 9 was also removed for some reason. If there were more then a couple of people playing, it would be very easy to get hit, pins are very close to tees and fairways touch each other. There probably should be only six holes here instead. Not sure if I like the 8th hole fence shot. Just personal preference though. The second hole also plays pretty close to a baseball field.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not a waste of time. It's great for beginners, and there are a couple of fun shots for a more experienced player. The course doesn't seem to be crowded at all, so it's a good place for a quick, uninterrupted round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Meh....

2-4    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Stellar long cement tee pads
- Good Tee Signs
- Easy flow
- Holes 5-7 were actually pretty cool, or maybe its just cause all the other holes were so lame these stood out.
- Designer seemed like he actually plays disc. Probably the best possible course for the land available
- A couple of holes have pro tees that make them much better.
Cons: - A pitch-n-putt
- Holes 1, 2, and 4 are really lame. You have to be careful not to overthrow them with your putter
- Too small of a park for a descent 9 holes
- So!!! many better courses to play in the area
Other Thoughts: I'm not going to spend much time on this review. The course doesn't deserve it. The only reason I played it is because me and a buddy are playing in a doubles tournament here. After the tournament I highly doubt I will be back until the next one a year later.

Favorite Hole # 7 - I think it was just over 300' from the long pad. You have 3 viable lines. Easiest is a high hyzer that flirts with a tall fence. The next is a tight gentle s-curve through a tight initial gap about 75' out. It then opens up immediately to the right with the tree line running the length of the hole on the lleft. Your 3rd option is a roller but you have to be careful of the hump down the middle of the fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    5/26/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice tee pads, baskets and signs
- Some longer holes to ensure it's not all approach shots. Alternate tees help this out big time.
- Shorter holes have some kind of trick - trees/fence in the way, slight downshot/upshot. Still, these holes are very, very short and usually very easy.
- Two creeks will punish really bad shots; usually not a factor except on #3.
- Usually a ghost town, with a much nicer course right down the road. I always play some of my own alternate tees if nobody else is around.
Cons: - Not much thought needed for most holes. See the basket, throw the disc. #1 and #7A/B (whichever is longer) do need some aim, but nothing too crazy.
- #2 is in a flood area, have never seen it unplayable, but it is inevitable.
- Big fence to shoot over on #8, and sometimes a shot that drifts right on #7 will find its way over. I am too big to slide under, but a smaller person will fit.
Other Thoughts: - Right next to the road at some parts, which guarantees wind almost every round. Kind of annoying on such an accuracy-dependent course.
- First 4 are beginner holes, second 4 are intermediate. #9 is a joke if you can get the disc to curve right, good one to torment beginner RHBH players otherwise.
- If you don't like the wait at BG1 (Willow Stream), don't get frustrated. You can have BG2 (Twin Creeks) all to yourself most days.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 upgrade happening here

1    11/18/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park putting down lots of new grass. This course should be lush looking in 2010.
Nice, long, concrete tees (for such a short course! :<).....4' X 12' Broomed perfectly for optimum traction as well.
Good signage.
Some fall-a-way greens.
A couple of "long"(er) tees have been added.
See cons for other areas of park that are being spruced up.
Cons: Holes fairly uninteresting.
With that said, it should be noted that hole #1, for instance, is quite short....but, my playing partner had to do a KNEELING DRIVE (which, he amazingly, does well), and I had to use a low, thumber skip shot to get to pin, around/under trees. In addition, basket perched on top of ridge, with (slight) fall offs on both sides. So, even though most shots are pretty short and rather uninteresting, they have done pretty well with what they have. Seemed that more length could have been incorporated into design. (Park seems to be recognizing this as well).
Hole #3 basket missing. Some construction going on. They have added a visually appealing retaining wall near tee #3; and, a new, longer tee. Something is going on with the bucket area as well. Not sure what, at the moment. (We played #3 tee to #1 pin; which was another short hole, but brings the fall-a-way putt slightly back into another shot.)
Other Thoughts: There's not enough room for this course to be rated much higher than this. However, the park's person's work here is very evident, and this is/will be a "nice walk in the park," for years to come.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.