Buffalo Grove, IL 
Twin Creeks Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #8 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nifty Chicago 9'er!

1    6/29/2016   7/2/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
Pros: As you walk into Twin Creeks Park, the first thing you'll see is the coolest Little League Baseball Field this side of Williamsport, PA. The entire field is artificial surface. Oh, to be a little league ball player in Twin Peaks???? The park also has bocce ball courts, picnic area and a nice playground for the little ones.

The course has nice concrete tee pads and old school fiberglass tee signs. The baskets are DGA models with the red numbers. Each basket has an eight foot circle of crushed rocks. This prevents compacting the soil around the basket and really spruces up the course. The on-line map is excellent but not needed much.

The course starts out with 139' anhyser shot. That is the shortest hole on this course. Holes 6 & 7 both stretch out to 380'. # 8 is a 195' hyser throw around a tall fence. You could shimmer under to retrieve your disc if needed.

The course plays at a easy recreational level. It would be great for beginners.

Cons: I understand the drainage is a major concern on this course. I played in late June and things were nice and dry. A couple of holes are missing signs.

Not much challenge here for better players.

Some holes are squeezed together in a fairly small area. Could be a safety hazard players don't yell "Fore" when throwing and other players are playing their round with binders on.
Other Thoughts: This course is what the Chicago 9'er course looks like. It's in a lovely park in a nice suburban neighbor hood. It's not difficult but it's a lot of fun, is non-threatening and will get a ton of play. Will it host any big-time tournaments? Nope!

2016 Review

5+    1/6/2016   2/13/2016
Review By: rdubs99
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good location, accessible from Buffalo Grove neighborhoods and other surrounding communities.
-Tee pads are large, and in pretty good condition. Baskets are Mach 3s which are getting worn but they get the job done.
-Design makes for interesting golf, as the first 4 holes have good variety of elevation while the final 5 use trees and other obstacles to create a decent challenge. Favorite hole for me is 7, with an avenue of trees along the middle with the high fence along the right. There are still long tees on 3 and 7.
-Not very busy, usually.
Cons: Main negative is the drainage problems at this place, and it is a big problem. The basin that holes 2 and 3 play in is often full of standing water, and the rest of the course is usually soggy as well. Given that the facility to the south looks like a water treatment facility, I'm skeptical about the quality of the water.
-Tee signs missing on a few holes, and the length on a few is faded, but the course is pretty self-explanatory, barring holes 8 and 9 (see below).
-Safety is an issue with the holes very close together.
-Not a ton of challenge.
Other Thoughts: If it's rained or snowed in the last week to 10 days, bring boots or waterproof shoes when you play here. In my experience the course is nearly always flooded. Bring a map or check it on the site beforehand (it's up to date), as there are no maps/kiosks onsite.
-The first four holes are all relatively short but with some feature of the landscape in play. The basin that 2 and 3 play in is sometimes a lake, which depending on how you look at it either adds to the challenge or subtracts from the fun. 5, 6, and 7 are longer holes that still incorporate the landscape but allow for a bomb or too. 8 still plays a short hyzer dogleg around that fence. 9 is a longer dogleg, but back around the same way, rewarding a good forehand or strong anhyzer. The basket in the middle of the field near the 7 tee is hole #9, which I'll admit confused me the first time.
-This place is certainly not very busy in my experience, so that can certainly be a plus, but it falls short of Willow Stream and other courses within a 20-minute drive, thanks to the relative shortness and water issues.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/6/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 122  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've lived in the Buffalo Grove area my entire life, and this course has been in the ground for seven years... I can't believe it took me seven years to play this course. Now that I've played it though, I am sure that I will be going back for casual rounds.

Twin Creeks is a simple pitch and putt course. It is a great place to bring a beginner. Here's what I liked

*Most holes are very easy and straightforward, but there are two longer holes in the middle of the round with enough trees to force some shot-shaping

*Hole 7 has a short tee and a long tee, and I highly recommend the long. It is a 380 ft shot with a tunnel option (kind of) or a safe, but less rewarding hyzer route

*Baskets and concrete teepads are in good condition

*A round here takes less than 30 minutes

*Easy navigation

*Far less crowded than its neighbor course in town, Willow Stream

*A few different things to do on site, including Pickleball, biking, and maybe swimming? I can't remember....
Cons: *If you're looking for a challenging round of golf, this is not the right place to go. With the exception of holes 6 and 7 the course is one of the easiest I've played.

*If this course were to ever get crowded, there would be some serious safety issues, as the fairways come dangerously close to one another.

*Not a scenic park at all. Plays next to a water distribution plant or something, as well as a busy road and the backside of a residential neighborhood
Other Thoughts: Now that I have played this course, I almost prefer it to Willow Stream. The golf itself is slightly less interesting, but there are not nearly as many people to deal with here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good for the basics

1    10/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 110  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Probably one of the best 'introductory' level courses I've played in the area. Many short holes for those who haven't mastered distance, and none of the short holes are without some challenge. Great tee boxes and holes #3 and 7 both have long tees.
Cons: The layout is cramped. The thumbnail rule is 1 acre per hole, here they've got 9 holes in less than 4 acres. There are many tight fairways and tees and pins too close to one another. It's a good thing this course isn't popular because maybe three groups could play it at once without getting in each other's way.
Other Thoughts: Again, this is a beginning course and not for the seasoned player. If you are looking for a good 'date night' course, here's a good one. If you're introducing your parents to disc golf, take them here. If you're wanting to play a challenging game, go elsewhere.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but nice equipment.

2-4    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Twin Creeks Park is located in a very small park scattered with trees. It's a nice walk in the park with only a few places to lose discs. The grass is well manicured and a great place for beginners.

The baskets are very nice Mach 2's.

The tee pads are very large cement tee pads. Perfectly flat and super long.

There are adequate tee signs at every hole.

Holes #3 & #7 have a long cement tee pad and tee sign as well.

There are a good variety of beginner distances and shots required.
Cons: This course is very short and the holes are very close together. It won't challenge more skilled players and safety could be an issue.

The tee signs are installed right next to the tee pad and right in the middle. They didn't bother me since the tees are so large but it could affect others.

A fenced off area comes into play on hole #7 and hole #8. If you go over the fence you have to be skinny under to crawl under it or agile enough to climb it.
Other Thoughts: This park has one of the most handicap friendly facilities i've ever seen. The baseball field is sweet! Check out the pictures.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but Sweet

5+    5/27/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Minimal elevation (small retention basin) that is better then nothing.
- Decent variety in distance.
- Trees create some defined fairways.
- Large concrete teepads
- Great signs with par, distance, and a small picture
- Baskets are in great condition with hole number marked on top.
- A few alternate tee pads (#3 and #7) that provide experienced players with a little more of a challenge.
- Very beginner friendly
- Great place if you are looking for ace runs
Cons: - Some holes are straight short shots with no obstacles.
- Hole 2 plays close to a small baseball field.
- Holes 1-4 play nearly on top of each other and could get dangerous if there were several groups out at once.
- A few holes throw towards a street where if you overshoot the basket by 100' you are in the street.
- Generally, lacks "wow" factor.
- The retention basin portion gets really sloppy after rain.
Other Thoughts: Though this course has all the proper equipment and is well put together, the design and area will never allow it to be a great course. I do believe however every disc golf course that is put together as well as this one has a purpose. It is a great place to take beginners and is a fun place to throw some ace runs and work on your short game. It really utilizes the space to the best of its ability. Don't expect anything great at this course but I applaud the Buffalo Grove Park District for putting in a second course and for maintaining it so well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.