Buffalo Grove, IL 
Twin Creeks Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #8 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short, but Sweet

5+    5/27/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 95  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Minimal elevation (small retention basin) that is better then nothing.
- Decent variety in distance.
- Trees create some defined fairways.
- Large concrete teepads
- Great signs with par, distance, and a small picture
- Baskets are in great condition with hole number marked on top.
- A few alternate tee pads (#3 and #7) that provide experienced players with a little more of a challenge.
- Very beginner friendly
- Great place if you are looking for ace runs
Cons: - Some holes are straight short shots with no obstacles.
- Hole 2 plays close to a small baseball field.
- Holes 1-4 play nearly on top of each other and could get dangerous if there were several groups out at once.
- A few holes throw towards a street where if you overshoot the basket by 100' you are in the street.
- Generally, lacks "wow" factor.
- The retention basin portion gets really sloppy after rain.
Other Thoughts: Though this course has all the proper equipment and is well put together, the design and area will never allow it to be a great course. I do believe however every disc golf course that is put together as well as this one has a purpose. It is a great place to take beginners and is a fun place to throw some ace runs and work on your short game. It really utilizes the space to the best of its ability. Don't expect anything great at this course but I applaud the Buffalo Grove Park District for putting in a second course and for maintaining it so well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 upgrade happening here

1    11/18/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park putting down lots of new grass. This course should be lush looking in 2010.
Nice, long, concrete tees (for such a short course! :<).....4' X 12' Broomed perfectly for optimum traction as well.
Good signage.
Some fall-a-way greens.
A couple of "long"(er) tees have been added.
See cons for other areas of park that are being spruced up.
Cons: Holes fairly uninteresting.
With that said, it should be noted that hole #1, for instance, is quite short....but, my playing partner had to do a KNEELING DRIVE (which, he amazingly, does well), and I had to use a low, thumber skip shot to get to pin, around/under trees. In addition, basket perched on top of ridge, with (slight) fall offs on both sides. So, even though most shots are pretty short and rather uninteresting, they have done pretty well with what they have. Seemed that more length could have been incorporated into design. (Park seems to be recognizing this as well).
Hole #3 basket missing. Some construction going on. They have added a visually appealing retaining wall near tee #3; and, a new, longer tee. Something is going on with the bucket area as well. Not sure what, at the moment. (We played #3 tee to #1 pin; which was another short hole, but brings the fall-a-way putt slightly back into another shot.)
Other Thoughts: There's not enough room for this course to be rated much higher than this. However, the park's person's work here is very evident, and this is/will be a "nice walk in the park," for years to come.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Below average beginner course

1    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tee pads. Nice baskets and signs are a plus for any course also.

2) Gravel around baskets keeps down on mud/dirt being exposed from compaction.

3) Very nice park with facilities and ball fields and tennis courts.

4) Better to have a short lame course than no course at all so it is positive. They did what they could with the land albeit boring and short.

5) Beginner friendly because it is so short.
Cons: 1) No real challenges on this course. It is fairly short except a few holes.

2) The first few holes are boring and very short. Go for aces everytime just to say you got one. Even making birdie isn't rewarding it is expected.

3) ALmost no elevation change except hole #8.

4) Course is split into two parcels that makes it seem like they were just filling space.

5) Distance on #9 is listed as 313 and I approximated it at 160' (obviously the old basket location is visible . . . someone must have complained about errant drives so the basket needed to be moved.)
Other Thoughts: Not much to say about this course that hasn't already been said. There isn;t a single hole that stands out as fun except maybe #8 that turns around a fence and up a small hill to a basket set protected by some shrubs and evergreens. DON'T FORGET TO SMILE FOR THE CAMERA DN MAKE SURE YOU DON'T HIT IT ON YOUR WAY TO THE 8TH BASKET!

Don't go out of your way but if you have a new friend who wants to learn how to play go here and show them what it is like.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch-and-Putt in Buffalo Grove

2-4    7/29/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice pitch-and-putt 9 hole course that has a nice flow. Great for newbies and younger players. This course is a great potential ACE RUNS course. Even though the course is on a public park and free, it is really well maintained. Concrete tees and Mach 3 baskets are used at this course which is always nice.

It's a nice place to work on your short game while introducing somebody to the game. Another nice thing is that there is no smoking on this course.
Cons: The course will not be a challenge for experienced players. Even I overshot some of the baskets and I haven't been playing long. The course provides very little difficult obstacles, with a dogleg on hole 8, which is pretty much the only "challenge."

The holes' pars need to be revised, for example, hole 3 that is 209 feet long is a par-4. Also there is no real elevation change except on hole 2 & 3 where there is 10 feet drop/increase.
Other Thoughts: Only go if you're in the area and got some time to waste, otherwise don't make a long trip out for it. Leave the drivers at home and use your mid-ranges/putters.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great for practice

5+    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Update as of 9 17.09 Basket on 6 has been moved back to a former spot. Tee for 7 has been moved back a bunch. 7 now has a long and a short tee. 3 also has an optional longer tee. These are now longer holes and addresses some gripes about how short this course is (was). 5, 6, 7 are now the long holes here. It makes for a nice set up. Holes 1, 2, 3, 4 are short and make for great warm up to the long holes of 5, 6, 7. 8 is a bit of a trick shot with the dog leg to the left... which plays great for beginners getting the feel of a natrual hyzer on a RHBH throw. 9 is a bit of a dog leg to the right. it can now be said that there is something for everyone here. Nice, clean park. Good signs and flow. Perfect for practice building approach and putting skills. Few others playing when I have been here. No waiting. Dog leg on 8 is fun. Elevation change on 2 adds some interest. Trees on a few add challenge in shot selection. esp 7 which is now a thread the trees long shot in which you are likely to be seriously treejected.
Cons: No real opportunity for monster drives. Likely a bit short and easy for experienced players. Be careful when RHBH driving on hole 4. Stream along left eats discs but they are likely findable. Same can be said of 3 esp with the new, optional, longer tee choice... it is close to the shrub line.
Other Thoughts: Close to my house and close to a longer course at Willow Stream. Use this course to work on your short game. Walgreen's across street sells discs. Recent improvements make this one better than ever and on its way to being pretty good. basket is now back on 3. Grass will be growing in well soon.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Silly little course

2-4    6/11/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a tiny flat park with some scattered small trees and a small dry retention pond. Some of the holes make use of the trees to define fairways and make otherwise easy holes slightly more challenging.

The tee pads are some of the nicest around. They are giant concrete pads that are all in excellent shape, and frankly are way overkill for such a short little course. There are tee signs on every hole, many are falling apart and #4 is missing, but the course is still easy to navigate.

The park seemed well maintained, with nicely mowed grass throughout. There was no trash on the course, and no brush that really came into play. Only one hole had any chance of losing a disc, and that's a pretty minimal risk.
Cons: This is the shortest and simplest course I've ever played. Most of the holes are under 200 feet, and none are long enough not to be reachable with a putter. There is very little challenge to any of the holes, with nearly all being short and straight ahead.

Some holes play near a walking path and around a small baseball field. Errant throws could easily be a hazard for other park users. Similarly, all holes play on top of one another, and very near other tees. If there were any number of players at once on the course, it would be a real issue.

Right now, holes 8 and 9 are sharing one makeshift basket, making awkward shots for both, as well as necessitating throwing right at people playing the other hole. It seems that one basket is missing, and one was broken, so one was cobbled together and moved to a spot that makes both the last two holes odd and boring.
Other Thoughts: This course would be fine if you're taking a first time player or children, but anyone who's played before will find the course simple and boring. With the complete lack of any challenge or variety, along with the safety hazards if you're sharing the course, I really don't recommend playing this course at all. If you do play, don't bring anything but a putter, and maybe a midrange for a couple slightly longer holes.

If you're in the area, and just want to bag a course, go for it. Otherwise, drive the 2 miles south to a much better course at Willow Stream Park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worst Course Ever

1    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Nigel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: No crowds ;)
Cons: This is more like someone's oversized backyard than an actual course, you could use your putter and still birdie every hole
Other Thoughts: No matter how curious you are, do yourself a favor and AVOID THIS COURSE

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a joke

1    5/6/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this course is not good. You can stop by on a lunch break or for a quick round by yourself to practice your short game.
Cons: no chance for a competition, you either get a 1 or a 2 every hole. extremely short.
Other Thoughts: I suppose they made good use of the land available. a good warm up course for people learning to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 D Grade = Dud

1    7/10/2006   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- D
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- D
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 set up some challeging hole!

6/23/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nicely maintained and setup.
Cons: Course is setup way too short, has 12 foot concrete tees for hole that aren't even 200 foot! hole 1 is 139!
Other Thoughts: great practice course, would be much better if they used some of the undeveloped land west of the parking lot.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.