Dripping Springs, TX 
Twin Parks Country Club - Park Hill Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #12 (Taken 12/2006)
3 / 246ft.   3 / 246ft.   3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very poorly marked

1    7/19/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: Gkilford
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had some challenging and fun holes. Nice hiking.
Cons: We were given a map that needed to be updated for the course. Were told that if we could read a map we would be fine. If you've never been there I guarantee you will be searching for tee boxes and catchers. If you own the place, then you won't have any trouble. The holes were not marked anywhere until you get to hole 13 or 14. To pay to play, you should expect better upkeep. Sorry, but I would recommend skipping this place until it becomes marked. We didn't get to play the shire because it was closed, so I can't comment in that course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hill Course is a good name

1    5/30/2010   1/3/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Start by checking in at the on-site, air-conditioned clubhouse/proshop that has refreshments and discs for sale. You'll receive a scorecard and course map. Concrete tee pads in three different lengths make this course playable by almost all skill levels; look for the spray painted rocks to determine which tee is which. Triple chain baskets are quality builds and mostly portable to allow the course to change configuration when necessary. Lots of elevation in play on this ~7000' beast of a course. Some "next tee" signs were in place to assist navigation. Some fun water shots near the end of the course.
Cons:
The numbers etched in some of the tee pads are no longer accurate. The posted distances of some holes are way off of laser measured distances, e.g. #10 posted 190' measured at 321'... #11 posted 480' measured at 525'. Bring some colored discs to play here as white discs have a tendency to blend in with the rocky terrain. The provided course map was outdated as some baskets had obviously been moved and a tee or two removed. Use the map here on DGCR as the one on the back of the scorecard (at the time I played) was no longer accurate. Hole #17 played backwards from what was shown on the map! Playing from the long tees with out a spotter I can easily see how you could lose a drive or two.
Other Thoughts:
Some of the blind baskets on this course are hard to find for first timers. I'm a reasonably hard-core disc golfer and I found this course to be more of a chore than enjoyable golf. It's a pretty solid course with some good holes but it just didn't have the same fun factor as its sister course on property: the Shire. Pay to play course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Goog thing I don't live in Texas

1    3/10/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: Dscgl4
Played: 114  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 20.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is one of two on the property (and the more challenging course). This one is well laid out with a variety of up hill, down hill, and flat holes that use the terrain skillfully to create holes that are aesthetically pleasing yet challenging. There are also a variety of open distance shots, technical alley-way shots, and both left and right handed approaches. The fairways are well defined and set up to reward (or punish) high risk shots, or allow safer more conservative approaches. There are many trees that act as barriers to the tee (to both accessibility and visibility), but the underbrush is fairly clear and it seems likely that you won't lose your discs (unless you throw one exceptionally errant).

I played the long tees, so cannot comment on the quality of golf from the short tees, but they looked like holes that would be enjoyable for upper entry level players. The long tees are best for advanced and open players if your goal is to shoot par.

If your goal is to develop into a disciplined player with a variety of shots, this would be an ideal course to grow up on.
Cons: There are no real cons for this course. If forced to come up with something to say, I did have to look a bit for two tee boxes, but having never played the course before, that's not a big issue.

I'm sure that it can get hot, and it can get windy, but those concerns are not related to the course, rather one's preparation for and willingness to face local environmental challenges.
Other Thoughts: Every disc golfer seems to fantasize about opening their own golf course and pro shop one day. To me, this is what such dreams are made of. There is a real club house on site (complete with showers), well stocked pro shop, and food and beverage sales. For me, this is what disc golf should evolve into (or at least, disc golf on private courses). I played free mid-week, so the fees may vary (but I heavily subsidized the pro shop). For the level of service you get access to, I would happily pay a $10-20 fee. It is clear that the owners have put a lot of money into this effort, and I hope the local community recognizes and supports that kind of risk and sport development.

Bottom line: it's a good thing I don't live in Texas, as I'd leave a lot of money in the club house and time on the course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/3/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: JAFFY
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has great hill country views. The back 9-mainly #11 has a few good looks back towards Onion Creek/Driftwood area.
Cons: Lugging around an icechest thru the ups and downs of the rocky terrain might be tough. Getting to the 1rst tee and back from 18 to the clubhouse is quite a haul. But there is an area to park further up from the clubhouse. With all the rocks I can see a twisted ankle waiting to happen. Hard to knock a course because of it's natural terrain though. The rocks win every time versus the discs so expect the discs to take a beating.
Other Thoughts: After playing the Shire course on a hot sunny day my legs were pretty much dead when I was done. This was one of the best workouts I've ever had playing.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/18/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: BabyTBird
Played: 54  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: If you want to get away from the high foot traffic and constant waits of other courses, this course will deliver. You will most likely be the only person out there on a normal day. Having the course to yourself, you can play at any pace you desire, which sometimes out weighs the bad things about this course. All the boxes are concrete, which is VERY NICE if you don't get to play on them often. If you normally play on flat courses, you are in for a treat because this course is all about elevation change. Twin Parks Country Club is also private property, therefore you can partake in various adult activities without penalty.
Cons: Now for the BAD. If you are not someone who can throw a drive at least 350ft at about 20 plus feet off the ground you do not want to play this course. Most of the holes do not have fairways that you can approach by a low ceiling drive. Speaking of fairways there isn't any for the most part. You tee from the tops of hills and drive into a rocky, juniper covered landscape. Once you find your drive(if you do) you dont have clear lines to approach the basket unless you hit these little secret landing areas. Now for the big arms, all you need is a stable driver and your set because you can literally throw 18 big hyzer drives, you will be bored ****less. Bring some gum to chew, because that will be more fun. If you are left handed, you are in for a real fun time because you have to be a righty to hit most of the secret landing areas. On top of playing a course that is all rock, it is generally very windy on the Hill so bring something stable because you will be throwing high into the sky and will be at the mercy of the wind.
Other Thoughts: Play the Shire, it's not a great course but it is more like a course. Rather than playing hide and seek with your drives on the Hill. Twin Parks Country Club has so much land to play with, they should be able to produce quality courses. My thoughts on the Hill, move the blue tees so us big arms can't get away with throwing a big hyzer on ever hole. Work on making defined fairways to test skill not just raw power. Make the secret landing zones on the hill shots not so secret, people should have targets to focus on, not just the tops of trees.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/21/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With Country Club in the name, I went expecting to find beautiful manicured fairways of lush green grass bordered by huge trees. That is not what I found. I found a rock littered terrain with juniper and scrub oak trees growing out of rugged hills and canyons of exposed limestone and caliche.

There are three tee locations for most holes.

Most of the tee locations have nice concrete tee pads that are wider at the back than the front.

There are no signs but you get a color map and scorecard when you check in. There are colored rocks everywhere that lead you to the next tee. It you're playing the Championship tees you follow the blue rocks to the teepad with blue rocks beside it. If it's a shared tee the rocks beside it will be blue and white or even red white and blue if that hole has only one tee location.

There is a good variety of open and technical holes and left, right, straight shots.

There are a few cool elevated pin positions on what appear to be terraced greens but are actually natural rock formations.

There are some very memorable elevation drop shots on this course.

Hole 9 finishes back at the start so you could visit the car at the halfway point or just play a quick front or back nine holes.
Cons: We had to skip #10 because there were people camping on the fairway. There was an RV parked in the fairway on #11 but we threw over it.

Most of the holes are blind from the blue tees so first timers will have to walk ahead and then back to tee.

No teesigns and no Par on map.

At $10.00 per person I won't be taking the family here very often.

Due to the screening nature of the cedar trees combined with the camo effect of the white rock, it's easy to loose discs (especially white one's) on the holes where there is no fairway and you have to throw over the top. I found three premium plastic discs the last time I played.

The exposed rock will eat up your discs.
Other Thoughts: I would not want to play this course in the heat of the summer.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Twin Parks...

1    3/18/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a one of a kind course.
Some awesome views from the tops of the hills (and it doesn't feel like a hike to get to the top because of the layout). There are many long holes, down the side of the hills, some not visible but they are constantly clearing out more trees.
Cons: No signs or directions to the next tee box though there is a map on the back of the scorecards.
Other Thoughts: Prepare for the Texas Hill Country. Bring water or be prepared to buy some there. Spend some time in the awesome club house and bring a camera.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/19/2008   2/23/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 2 courses to choose from. A Beautiful clubhouse to relax in. Well taken care of.
Cons: Non to many other than the long drive to get there.
Other Thoughts: Play the flat course first because the hill course will kick you in the butt.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.