Dripping Springs, TX 
Twin Parks Country Club - Parkshire Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #1 (Taken 12/2006)
3 / 286ft.   3 / 286ft.   3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Fairway (sorry these aren't as colorful)



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun place to visit

1    3/12/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Twin Parks is a unique, fun venue and has hosted the Players Cup for the past two years.

The pro-shop is one of the very best in the sport and Park is a very welcoming, knowledgeable host.

The tees provide large, cement surfaces and most holes have multiple tees to accommodate a wide range of player abilities.

A few holes are quite good, in particular #8, #10 and #14, I believe.

The course is maintained well and the odds of losing discs are slight.
Cons: Park does give a lengthy description of how to navigate the course and there is a map on the scorecard, but even with this assistance it is difficult to navigate the course. Particularly with multiple tee options, there are many places where navigation signs are needed.

The design makes decent use of the trees present, but overall the main challenge is presented only by the wind and length.

Very few of the basket locations provide dynamic putting situations.
Other Thoughts: Please leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Really enjoyed playing this course

1    5/30/2010   1/4/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Start by checking in at the on-site, air-conditioned clubhouse/proshop that has refreshments and discs for sale. You'll receive a scorecard and course map. Concrete tee pads in three different lengths make this course playable by almost all skill levels. The hole numbers are etched into the tee pads. The baskets are a mix of brands but all double chains. The mowed fairways here are beautiful. Unlike its sister course on property "The Hill Course", this one actually feels like a country club setting. The tees and baskets look to be equipped with solar powered lights to facilitate night golf play. This course is mostly flat but with a fun mix of holes requiring different shots from your bag. Very well maintained and very clean course.
Cons:
The signage here was sparse, though navigation was not too difficult given a course map in hand. The holes are mostly open and a bit more in the way of obstacles would make this a great fun course to play. Baskets are all temp mounts so they get moved when the course is mowed and as such hole distances can change somewhat.
Other Thoughts:
I had a blast playing the Shire course after tackling the Hill course. As a first timer, my one mistake was not walking far enough up the fairway to locate the blind basket on #13, that cost me several strokes. I'd imagine that some tourneys might play OB if you're off the mowed fairways. Four stars for this course might be a bit high, but considering you have two courses on site, the clubhouse amenities, and the fun I had playing I'm sticking to four stars for now. That might drop a half-star or so upon repeated playings. Pay to play course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great times, at TPCC!

5+    10/22/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: insobox
Played: 76  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm just going to make lists in the section based on my insights to the course.
- Very spacious, lots of room to have your space, and never really feel like your waiting to play like some of the more over-populated courses in the area.
- Two courses in one location, each with Blue/White/Red boxes makes for not really just two courses but 6 in all, which can be great if you're going out with different levels of players.
- Staff is very friendly and really takes the time to talk and shoot the sh** if that's your thing.
- Nice club-house with AC, Large TV for watching sports, or whatever if you're taking a break, ping-pong, and a nice pool table with both full and 9-ball racks.
- Discnation pro-shop here, so if you need another disc to add to the bag you can do it while you're here.
- Snacks, beers, and other cold drinks.
- Blue tees, challenging, major shot variety, and hazards that truly make you go for the big or 'tough' shots
- White tees, seems to be a fair mix of playing on the blue and red box (almost 50/50) with some holes with their own White box. Makes for a great middle of the road but still difficult course.
- Red tees, make for an extremely fun game, quick even with a full card. For Moderate to good players this can definitely make you feel good about your game while still being somewhat challenging.
- Very clean, trashcans every few holes, never really find to much trash.
Cons: - Tee signs!!! (Old non-color, most have been broken or damaged). They need Tee Signs on every hole and at every box with lengths.
- Actual hole lengths on the scorecards that are accurate, when they mow they move the baskets which can change hole length anywhere from 10-60 feet at times depending on where they move it.
- Replace some baskets, some are bent, lopsided and just need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: - As one of the cons, I spoke about moving the baskets and length, I'm not completely opposed to none post hole baskets, but I think a better choice would be to have A/B/C basket locations for each hole with posts instead of just moving the baskets to arbitrary locations when the course is mowed.
- Finish the restaurant, apparently from talking to other disc golfers this thing has been a work in progress for 4 years, it seems that as of late they've gotten closer to finishing it up but still no word on when (They even have all the cooking gear in and ready). I think this could drive and add a ton more business for this great place.
- Some tree maintenance needs to be done, some of the older trees have rotted out and some of the very large trees have a lot of dead underbrush that could be cleaned out to make the course look pristine.
- Possibly drop greens fees to $5 a day for Disc Golf for non-members, I understand it's a $10 park entrance fee of sorts for DG, Mountainbiking, but maybe $5 for either or and $10 for full park access for the day?
- I would really like them to put some more money in to this place and in return I think they could make a lot more out of it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/3/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: JAFFY
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The previous review was spot on with the info so most of my comments are in the "other thoughts" section.
Cons: Just trying to nitpick here. Course could be mowed. Although, I believe the area had some rain the week before. It wouldn't be worthy of complaint other than I felt obligated to type something.
Other Thoughts: I'm fairly new to DG so my experience with other courses is limited. The course gave me a variety of shots and with the 3 different boxes gave me options. The pro shop is one of the nicest I've seen. The lady in front was extremely nice. The facility and course was very clean. First time players do in fact get to play free. Even at $10 I will definately play when I'm in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.