Arlington, WA 
Twin Rivers Share
Uploaded By: joe-z Hole #10
3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Needs maintenance

1    5/25/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: 53Clubs
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first couple holes were very promising and interesting. Some holes are along the river - beautiful. Was quiet and only saw (or heard, really) two other people trying to play.
Cons: Several holes (6 and 7 'proper' 8, 9, 10, 16, 17, and 18) were so overgrown as to be not playable, or in some cases even navigable. Some baskets missing due (I am assuming) to vandals. Most Tees were poorly marked if at all.
Other Thoughts: This course could be a fun and challenging course on par with the front 18 at SeaTac (Nothing long like 19-27). Similar wooded/narrow fairways with good obstacles, but it is not used enough to 'self maintain' by foot traffic, and it is not maintained enough to navigate many of the holes, let alone let your disk fly. A frustrating shame, because it couyld be so good.
3 or 4 of the back 9 holes are open with long grass (4' - 5' grass - I mean, LONG TALL GRASS) as the only obstacles, and with nicely mown fairways, but those are pretty much the only holes playable past 6 - which you throw to the 7 basket because neither the basket for 6, nor the tee for 7 are able to be used (or even found) because of the overgrown forest floor (and, I think the 6 basket was removed).
A good weekend work party lead by someone who is familiar with this how this course 'should be' could turn this into an excellent course, on par with the best I've played, but as of now, its not worth the drive if you live any farther away than downtown Arlington.
If you d brave the trip, don't go alone. Bring someone who you can trade off disc spotting duties with on most holes. Even right in the 'fairway', it is grown and rigged enough that you are likely to lose discs, and if you don't throw 'perfect' you'd find yourself sprinting from the teebox with every throw in hopes of seeing which part of the overgrown underbrush you've landed in. Send someone halfway down the fairways you can find before you throw and you'll leave with the disks you brought - it takes extra time, but so does rebuying disks, and if you are like me, some of them in your bag are just where you want them and you'd be upset to lose them (and they are probably the ones you'd reach into your bag for to make that long narrow shot with 3 bends and 8 trees along the path.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting play style

1    1/5/2014   1/5/2014
Review By: Woodswalker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hole 18 was directly beside the river and offers great views and wonderful afternoon sun. I really liked the variety of holes with some tight technical aspects and open disc-chucking holes.
Cons: The tee off pads were a bit sloppy, but throwing from beside them in the grass worked to alleviate that problem. A couple of the holes likely experienced vandalism and were missing the tee info making the movement in between holes a bit more troublesome.
Other Thoughts: If you're up in the area, take advantage of this course. It is fun because even if it is crowded, there are always areas where folks can have some privacy.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A fun round if you have a spotter and some time

2-4    7/16/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: b-mart
Played: 45  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Twin Rivers is located in a park that offers exactly what disc golf courses need: There are heavily wooded holes, holes with danger of losing a disc in the river (aka water hazard), and wide open holes across a field with enough rough bordering the fairway to keep it interesting. None of the holes are long enough for an advanced player to truly air it out, but two of the field holes are slightly uphill and will still challenge the average player. As I'm not advanced, and most people playing here won't be advanced, I won't review it for the advanced.

There is a map by the trail to hole one. Although this map is outdated, it does help to have it for most of the course. Plenty of parking is available and the park also offers softball fields and soccer fields if you want to go out and work on your drives.

Twin Rivers is an extremely challenging wooded course that will challenge most aspects of your game. The biggest challenge will be to your accuracy. The fairways are defined for the most part, with only hole 16 having trees in the actual fairway. The rest of the wooded holes have narrow fairways with plenty of "tree hitting" potential.
Cons: This course is just too overgrown to play alone. You know the instant that you step up to hole 1 that you're in for it. You essentially throw an S-curve down a very narrow fairway bordered by plenty of trees and underbrush. The underbrush doesn't get any lighter for the rest of the course. Even the four open holes have 6' high grass waiting to eat any errant shots. In the infamous words of Scott Papa, "The best way not to lose a disc is to land on the fairway." Heed Scott's advice and you'll enjoy this course a lot more. If you don't heed his advice, you'll find that the underbrush is a con. I get the feeling that this course doesn't get much play, because the brush hasn't been trampled down any of the times that I've been there.

The teepads are atrocious. They've adopted the "bury some logs in the ground and call it a teepad" approach here. They were dry when I was there last, but they do tend to collect water in the rainy season and to be somewhat dangerous for a run up.

The baskets are all great... Except for the two that weren't there at all. Luckily the thieves decided to leave the pole behind so we had something to throw at. Unluckily for us, they were thieves.

It's finally listed on here as a 17 hole, which is unfortunately true. This is where the inaccurate map by hole 1 will mislead you. Hole number 8 does not exist. There's no teepad, no basket, nothing. The map will send you to the parking lot. If you follow the natural flow of the course from basket 6 to teepad 7 you're fine. But then walk part of the way back toward the teepad and hook down a trail to your left and it will lead you to teepad 9. Don't waste your time looking. 8 isn't there. It apparently went the way of the 7 and 9 baskets.

Hole 13 is a tough one too. I think the tee is right up against the river for a short 150'ish hole. If it is there is no fairway whatsoever. It makes for a fun putter/mid hole, but I don't know if I played it right. Walk back toward hole 12 from the 13 basket once you're done and turn left at the T in the path. Follow that on until you reach a fork in the path. Take the right fork to find teepad 14.

Hole 18 is a short hike away from the parking lot, and that hike will take you across the fairways for 16, 14, 10, and 11.
Other Thoughts: This course has some serious potential, but it needs some TLC and some more traffic to beat down some of that underbrush. It's a fun course if you bring a spotter and the risk:reward ratio here can be through the roof. I'm just afraid that it's too far from everything to ever fully achieve its potential as a destination course. Without traffic they won't raise the money for new baskets or better teepads either. If they do get it back up to an 18 and actually get some decent teepads and baskets in I would gladly raise my rating... But with a stretch of three holes with no baskets (and one hole in there just gone completely) it's hard to rate it higher.

If you're coming from the Seattle area I highly recommend a warmup round at Silver Lake or Ferguson and also a round at Lake Stevens in order to make a great day of it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Twin Personalities

5+    11/26/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was built during the 2 years I lived in Arlington. I was excited by the potential I saw in the very rough course, but if you think its a disc-hunting course now, you should have played those first few years.
Some things have come to pass. The fairways are settling in nicely, with much leaf cover in the fairway instead of a wide variety of low shrubbery. As a result, the holes are showing more distinction from one another. There's a nice mix of woods and field holes, left and right breaks, airing it out and technical shots.Not much in the way of elevation change but for a small hilltop basket. Its still an undiscovered gem of tranquility, despite the proximity of the state route. Quality baskets. Nice map facing the parking lot.
One of the few courses in the NW where hardwoods are prevalent, which can make for beautiful sunny fall rounds. Never crowded.
Bathrooms at the ballfield, but often closed Nov.-April.
Cons: Tees need concrete, brick, gravel or sand, anything but the muddy pond that exists in each one. The fairways could be widened, and a woodchipper employed to great effect to alleviate some of the underlying fairway muckiness. The first field hole doesn't show up till #10---it would be much better to get a strong drive in by hole # 3-5 or so. When I was last there, high water from the winter before had eaten #6, which had yet to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: I don't get to visit the course but 1-2 times a year now, so I hope the disc community can continue to develop Twin Rivers into a road trip destination.
A wide variety of stores/restaurants 1/2 mile away.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Arlington is a few steps short

2-4    1/3/2012   1/3/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mixture of wooded and Open baskets
Nice tight fairways
Beautiful Backdrop of Eagles perched on cotton woods by the river.
Not busy
All official chained baskets
Cons: Overgrown in the summer
muddy..sometimes MUDDY in Winter
Tee Pads are in sad shape
The field shots are repetitive for some, but i love airing it out.
Lacking any elavation change whatsoever
A Very flat disc golf round :(
Other Thoughts: This course is in a sticky situation. The river really presents some long term challenges for this park. It is what it is though, i occasionally visit it from Sedro woolley WA on my way south for a round at a fresh course. Try it out for a unique experiance

Bring rain boots

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Exactly what I was looking for.

1    9/8/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: StrangeOne
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park. Good mix of wooded and unwooded holes.
Cons: The brush along the fairways is thick but manageable. I think hole 6 is missing? And some of the tee pads are just horrible. I don't mind gravel tee pads as long as they are kept up?
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really liked this course. It was fun, despite looking for discs, which just makes me want to get better so I dont go in the tall or thick brush, I will most definitely be playing this course a lot more

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Down the River and Through the Woods.....

2-4    8/18/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the extremes of thick wooded holes and a group of "links" style holes that play through open mowed lawns surrounded by tall thick (OB) grass. None of the distances are extreme, and even the links holes in the fields are managable if you don't lose your disc in that thick grass. You will be challenged with twisty technical shots of all kinds in the woods (Most of them are right or left turning shots, with a few that require straight or S-Curve shots) You will use lots of other stuff when you save from the rough.

My favorite hole was #7 which is about 270' with mostly open woody fairway which has a group of guard trees that start about 40' from the pin which is set on a small slope. It has some nice little clump of trees behind the basket which are tricky and fun to putt through (with a drop off behind).
Cons: In the summer the rough is thick with shrubs and sticker bushes. You will be looking for discs and would be wise to use spotters. In the winter, the rough is much more managable, but the course can be very muddy or even flooded.

The tee pads really need an update - whether they become rubber or concrete. They get water filled when it's wet and when they're dry, they're a bit rutty.
Other Thoughts: This course becomes more enjoyable the more you play it. It inspires new lines of attack and also good course management skills.

There is talk about refining the 4 field holes and combining them into 2. I think this would be a positive move, as three of the existing holes are almost exactly the same. Also, mowing defined landing zones at a couple of key distances would add a reward, instead of forcing a perfect narrow line for the entire fairway.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Potential for Greatness!

1    4/18/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park alongside the river. Heavily wooded. Pins is good condition. Challenging course.
Cons: Very muddy, both the tee boxes and the pathways. This course desperately needs concrete tee pads and some gravel in muddy spots.
Other Thoughts: I hope somebody makes this a project because it has potential to be an amazing place to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/18/2009   8/27/2010
Review By: Duanel
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I enjoyed the variety of the holes. There are some decent long-shots as well as some easy Birdies. It's fairly easy for an amateur or intermediate to score in the single digits over par. The wooded areas make it fun for the more technical, accurate throwers.
Cons: Crappy tee-pads. Underbrush. Waist-high grass. Be prepared to spend a half-hour, at least, looking for your discs. Hole 6 was missing, last I played.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a decent course with a huge variety of holes. The underbrush never scared me away from playing, the the grass was rather intimidating, especially the time we were looking for three different discs at once.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Twin Rivers

5+    6/20/2010   6/1/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 202  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located on the banks of the Stillaguamish River in a nice wooded park that combines for a nice environment while playing here. Has a good mixture of left handed, right handed, short/technical, and long/open holes that makes the course well rounded. The course gets little traffic and navigation is fairly simple. There is a good amount of challenge involved.
Cons: The course is a disc eater, there is so much brush and stickers that almost every throw your disc is going to land in something and a number of times during a round you can find yourself searching for a while which becomes irritating. The open holes have waist high grass so even the open holes you can end up searching for a disc. The tee pads are natural dirt pads and when it's rainy they are slippery so beware. During the rainy months the course gets flooded by the nearby river making it muddy and less fun to play. The banks are eroding and there is some danger of falling in the river. There were some benches when the course first went in but they have been vandalized.
Other Thoughts: A couple of holes have been eliminated due to erosion so we'll see what's going to happen there. This course is much more enjoyable in the winter months because the underbrush is mostly gone.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.