Arlington, WA 
Twin Rivers Share
Uploaded By: joe-z Hole #11
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Little muddy out there.

1    5/5/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is fairly well marked, with some signs on trees to lead you from basket to next tee. A few open holes, but mostly tough tunnel type shots in the trees to challenge your accuracy. Nice to play fairly near the river with little current chance of going in the river.
Cons: One hole appeared to have been pulled out, as there was a basket laying on the ground near the starting area, and it looked like you currently play 7 tee to hole 8. Also, a few holes have changed since the online information and map were created, though it wasn't too tough to puzzle out where to be most of the time. After our recent rains, the course was muddy and some of the tee boxes were pretty wet, also. However, the mud didn't make the course unplayable, just more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Looks like a course that is kept up fairly well, and unfortunately, at the time of day I played, no one else around to talk to about it, but if it were closer, I would make it a part of my regular rotation.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hwy 530 Bridge

1    3/8/2008   2/8/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Twin Rivers has a good mix of distances and doglegs with a good flow and a non confusing layout. The courses is in a mostly untouched natural setting with a few park amenities. The course was well balanced and seemed good for all levels of play. There is good parking with the lot right next to the first tee. The group I played with came to the consensus that this was their favorite course of that day (we mostly played courses just north of Seattle, I liked Terrace Creek). What I think makes this course stand out in my memories is number three, which has a basket placement near a bridge and river. The river is a dominating boundary for many of the holes on the course. The course has a few holes that are out in the open for those who need to bomb out. The alleys in the woods are pretty tight and logical so in my opinion there is little chance of getting too lost. The kiosk has a map incase you forget to print out the one from here.
Cons: Some of the vines here are insane and will provide a good workout for disc retrieval. I know that this next "con" is most likely a unique experience to me, but on the day I was here the restroom walls were completely covered with bugs and spiders, it was an awful experience. When I played it was very wet and the boxes were as you could guess, big puddles. I wish that Washington would pave all their teepads. Distances would have been a mystery without a map on the holes missing signs. The brochure says that the courses is in a flood plain, and judging by JR Stengele's course note, it has made things much worse than when I played.
Other Thoughts: I played five courses on the day I played here and this was the last one. The sun set on us and we played in the twilight the last few holes. Because the park is in a nice natural setting and I played near sundown, the pictures I got from this course are amazing. I've wanted to come back here for quite some time. I imagine there will have to be some sort of clean up effort after the flooding that has occurred. Hopefully a local can update us on the situation.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Stillaguamish River Course!

1    10/10/2008   10/11/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits in a large park next to the Stillaguamish River (love those Northwest Indian names). It's mostly a wooded, technical course with four holes playing out across an open field. The baskets were good, the teepads are dirt and footing was good on the day that I played. I wonder about the footing on a rainy day? The course has a nice mix of hyser and anhyser shots, mixing the length of the holes well. My favorite was # 4, a simple little anhyser shot around some trees. # 4 and especially # 6 are scary, in that if your disc sails left, it's in the river, sailing away on it's way to Puget Sound. This course definitely has it's share of rough, treachorous nasty rough. Fortunately, when I played in early October, discs were fairly easy to spot/find in the rough.
Cons: Each hole is sponsered by a local business and has a tee sign. But only about 1/2 of the tee signs remain, the rest probably thrown in the river by vandals. I'm sure the teepads would get muddy during some of our wetter weather. Concrete pads will be a nice addition at some point. Navigation was fairly easy although I did get lost once, went the wrong way at an intersecting trail and ended up playing 3-4 holes out of turn. This course could benefit from one of the locals taking a sharpie and writing the # and distance on those tee poles where the signs are missing and by writing the #'s on the baskets themselves and maybe writing an arrow pointing the way to the next tee. The little arrows up in the trees helped me with the navigation but I couldn't always spot them.
Other Thoughts: The holes on this course tended to blend into three distinct groups for me: the decently, long ( 260-280') hyser shots through the woods, the shorter (200-225") anhyser holes and then the four open field holes. These open field holes have green, grass fairways mowed out of 2-3' tall field grasses. I'd reccommend this course from May to September. I think you'd enjoy it more when it's dryer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

2-4    9/14/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: joe-z
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: what a fun course.thats all i can say,this course will make you a better all around player.
it has short and long shots,open and blind shots,narrow and wide shots,even some that make you go !?!.
even the rough was not that bad,it was there but thinned out enough that you could get to you disk pretty easy.
we even play 3 rounds and did not have to wait for anyone even though there were about 8 groups of 5 or more people here.
Cons: did not really have any complaints but could have some in the future like:
going in the river,you have a chance at going in the river on hole 6 if you go to the left at all.
one of my disks went in but the river was only 5 or 6 feet deep so i went in and got it back but any other time of year you can kiss you disk goodbye .
Other Thoughts: i'm sure parking can be a pain if you get here after 11:00 am on a weekend,lots of soccer moms and kids

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wild

6/19/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: HarbDeaf
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arlington is a easy to navigate course, there's so much rough you have to follow the trail, and there are arrows on the trees near the baskets to show the next tee. It's got a nice mix, very technical at times. Distance varies, nothing too short (Hole 4 is the shortest one but interesting, there's a row of 5 trees in front of you, you can just zip it thru straight up or go around on the open left side.). The fairways are clear but can be very narrow at times, and be very careful to stay out of the rough and suggest good spotters before you throw. Trust me you WILL go into the Rough more than once in a round. Baskets are nicely placed. One basket No. 7 is on a large molehill, watch for roll aways. Myself and a few masters got a couple birdies in this course, and they didn't come easy.
Cons: Blackberry & the Rough. In the summertime, if your disc goes into the rough you can kiss it good bye. Please do Spot every hole, even the open holes w/ tall grass. In the winter, it's manageable but the tees and trails get very muddy. Come prepared. I agree w/ JR Stengele about the arrows. Hard to tell if they're for the next Tee or if it's a Mando.
Other Thoughts: It's wild, flat and strongly wooded. Mostly cottonwood and various trees. Sometimes the grass is tall. Runs by a large fast moving river. There's 4 open meadow holes that let you air it out for 400 yards. Personally, I find these the hardest. Be lucky to get a bogey on each one. There's no OB in this course, unless you lose your disc in the blackberry or the river and have to take a drop. No real water hazards. Arlington is a wild and beautiful course and defintely worth visiting.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Arlington DGC

5+    2/11/2009   2/25/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This 18 hole course has a wide variety of challenging shots with holes that are both wooded and open. The course requires a variety of technical skill shots as well as some power and accuracy for the wide open holes. Distance ranges from just over 125 - 400+ feet. Pin placement is well thought out on most holes with beautiful foliage placed throughout. The course is well laid out and for the most part fairly easy to navigate (be sure to look for white/black arrows on the trees directing you to the next hole). The gravel tee pads when maintained are satisfactory (for not being cement) although with as much water from the floods as the course gets coming through the gravel tends to disappear and turn in to mud.
Cons:
The biggest problem I found was that there were too many arrows pointing all over the place, telling you where the next tee was as well as where the mando's were. It was difficult to determine at times what the arrow was for (tee pad or mando) so maybe using different color arrows would make it easier for first timers. During the wetter months the course turns completely to mud which can make it very difficult to get your footing (especially on the tee pads). Folliage during the summer months make it next to impossible to find your disc (even on the shortest holes) so always use a spotter and never take your eyes off the disc once it leaves your hands. Last, erosion has been detramental to a few holes and at times the whole course at times due to the flooding the past few years.
Other Thoughts:
The course is beautifully laid out in a park along the Stillaguamish River with the beautiful Cascades in the back drop. During the fall and winter months lower scores come more frequently due to a lot less foliage. However, the weather in the spring and summer are second to none. If you are unfamiliar with the course I highly recommend playing during the fall as the ground is still hard and most of the leaves and brambles have settled down.

As far as memorable holes, there are a few like hole 6 that has you weaving in and out of trees up towards a large mole hill where the basket rests about 12 feet above ground. It is a high risk high reward shot. Hole 16 was memorable as well but not for its beauty, rather its difficulty. It is a very long and narrow hole where accuracy is key. If you are to go astray due to a bad release or from hitting off a tree just be prepared to spend some time hunting. During the summer months, people use that hole to walk towards the river to go rafting so just be aware.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.