Mishawaka, IN 
George Wilson Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
4 / 212ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid up and down course!

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great intermediate level course that may be too hard for beginners. Advanced players will still enjoy the course. It is challenging in it's own way but can be easy to save par.

Baskets - 17 very grippy Mach 3 baskets and 1 Innova Discatcher (hole 3). Baskets catch great. There is also a practice basket before hole 1 that is a Discatcher.

Tees - 1 long and narrow concrete tee per hole. I believe they were 3 or 4 by 10 feet long. Always pointed somewhat towards the basket.

Signs - When there were signs, they included distance, par, and picture (map) of the hole. (See cons). There are signs listing areas that are out of bounds, a sign telling the rules of disc golf, and a sign pointing you towards the front 9. A course map is available at the front office (where you pay) that is a part of the score card. I would recommend it.

Variety - Distances varied from 200 to 600 feet. Holes 3-7 are wooded holes with tight fairways. The wooded holes all had elevation changes. Course has major elevation changes (see below). There were many blind shots due to either woods or elevation (holes 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13). Holes in the open had elevation as the main obstacle or a few mature trees.

Elevation - There are holes going slightly uphill, greatly uphill, running along sides of hills, rolling hills, valleys, and downhill bombs. No hole is completely flat. Hills galore! Holes 10 and 11 are the flattest holes and there are a few mature trees as obstacles. The elevation provides a nice view of the area. You could see the golden some at Notre Dame from tee for hole 9.

Very easy to navigate (especially if you have the course map). Tees are near basket or path taking you there (see cons).

Trash cans near tees for holes 1, 7, 10, 14, 15, 16, and 18 (see cons).

Benches near tees for holes 1, 5, 7, 10, and 17. Hole 17 had an awesome structure at the top of the hill that had benches and tables. Nice view too!

Restrooms, a playground, and a pro shop on site.

Wind is a major factor at this course. It adds to the challenge.

Holes 1 & 9 border eaxh other with a fence in between. There is a gate midway down in case you throw it over fence. Definitely a plus.

Threw through a power lines tower on hole 8.

The park is primarily a disc golf park. Some benches and a playground but you won't have to wait due to other park users.
Cons: Signs need replaced. Holes 14, 15, and 18 do not have tee signs (but you can see the basket). Half of the signs that are remaining are faded or unreadable due to writing on them with sharpies. New signs would greatly improve the look of this course.

This course needs more trash cans. If the hole did not have a trash can, there was a ton of trash near the tees for the holes. Some holes had trash in the fairway.

Only 1 tee per hole. If this course wants to take it to the next level, it needs alternate concrete tees for each hole. It would make it more playable for different levels of players. Tees could be same difficulty with a different angle, longer, or shorter (depending on hole).

Poison ivy in the rough for several holes. Holes 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 13, 14, 15, and 16 had poison ivy. Be careful and bring sanitizer! I noticed it while walking.

Some tees had sand on them which was luck and could be dangerous.

Some tees were close to the precious basket; tee 3 basket 2, tee 4 & 9 basket 8. Tee 18 basket 17. Could be dangerous if busy.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It was $2 to play. By the time I was done I forgot that I played. It was worth it. I'm from Indianapolis so this course is a journey for me. I was not disappointed. More elevation than any Indy area course.

It appears the course has changed it's layout. There were crumbles tees near holes 5, 15, and 16 pointing in a different direction than that hole.

I wanted to rate this course a 4. Trash and lack of readable signs lost it points. If it had 2 concrete tees per hole, new signs, more trash cans, and a few more benches, this course would easily be a 4 out of 5, maybe even higher.

I will definitely be back if I'm in the area. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a challenge that includes wooded holes and major elevation change. It may be too frustrating for beginners but I feel like anyone would enjoy this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    12/25/2012   2/17/2013
Review By: donny vomit
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Nice decent mix of woods , big hills and a few open shots. Soaring downhill shots on 9 and 18, very fun watching a disc go that far downhill. I liked 4 and 7.
Cons: Not many , the tee pad on 7 to me is very dangerous . It slopes down and drops off at the end couple feet. Level would be good . I like elevated tees . 10 to 14 pretty boring but it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: Played the course with my brother on Xmas day so I avoided paying to park and play. Had a good time . This is a sledding hill in the winter so 10 thru 12 baskets were gone. Enjoyed nice scenic hills with a funny little chateu thing on top of hill by 18 tee. Want to play again when i come back in the spring .

Very Nice

1    7/4/2011   10/11/2012
Review By: chainbang
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variaion in holes. Lots of terrain variation. Some pretty drastic elevation changes on a few holes.
Cons: A couple of places to get really lost. Back 9 is a little bland.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play here again!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of Hills Needs TLS

1    3/24/2012   3/24/2012
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of the hills, this is a rarity of the area. The park is mostly used for Disc Golf, and is fairly busy. A few wooded holes, and few long holes. I think this is the funnest course in the area.
Cons: Park had a lot of trash in it, and the T signs are in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: Great view of South Bend and Mishawaka

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a good sized park, which includes a small forest and a large amount of hills. Doesn't seem like there are many other activities to interfere with the discing, maybe some pedestrians.
- Six of the holes go around and through a moderately wooded area, in a lot of different ways. RHBH anhyzers include an easy one along the treeline, a sharp downhill shot, and a long mando around a bush and up into the woods. Otherwise a straight shot is the ticket, including over a small hill and up a valley.
- Great variety of shots out in the open area as well. Some easier uphill shots and downhill shots, and a straightforward 600' bomber. Some slanted fairways/greens to the left and the right, with serious rollaway potential. Good obstacles on others with some big pine trees, and a power tower (pro or con). Elevation changes throughout are above average.
- Good mix of hole lengths, with both longer and shorter ones in the woods and out in the open. While there is not much difficulty with some of the longer downhills, the length is there. Some real ace runs are present in the flat areas of the course too.
- Good baskets and teepads, but navigation is tough. Hard to tell which tee is next, and at times which basket, could be tricky the first time through. Practice basket.
Cons: - Some of the holes here are not very interesting, particularly the very short flat ones in the open. Six in a row, the longest at 305', with random obstacles to force lines. Some teepads are pointed askew, seems like a retake on a simpler design. Takes away from the other twelve holes.
- Not too many obstacles in general outside of the forest, one per hole is standard fare. A fence on three holes adds some additional challenge, but it hurts that the OB threat is one of the biggest hazards.
- Heads up for stray discs, fairways and teepads are pretty close in some spots.
Other Thoughts: - This course has three different sides to it, two of which are very enjoyable. The wooded holes have some interesting shots, like #4 and #6. The hilly open area has excellent features as well, with slanted fairways, fast greens, and downhill fun. The other six holes seem like ace runs with a wrinkle thrown in to add credibility. Beginners might find it a bit rough, and more experienced players might find it a little bland, great for people in the middle.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fun round

2-4    12/27/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: discdude86
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course uses every inch of the park and play though very hilly terrain .
There's so many great holes on this course ,and so many of them could be a signature hole .
Theres two down hill holes that lets you bomb your drive and were just a blast to play .
Cons: baskets pulled during the winter because sledding hill.
Short holes that are easy and offer little challenge
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite places to play

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with cool elevation

1    10/10/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a couple large sledding hills with a valley in between, so there is a lot of great elevation in play on the course. The hills are used very well to add challenge on drives, as well as making some risk/reward situations in putting areas with nasty roll-away possibilities. Much of the course is out in the open with big elevation, but some of the front 9 plays through woods. There is still some elevation, and a couple nice tight fairways to add a different dimension to the course.

There is a nice variety of lengths on the course, from ace run holes to huge downhill bombs where you can let a drive rip (or a bunch of drives if there's nobody waiting behind you). There is also a nice variety of hole types. The wooded holes force straight, right turning, and left turning shots, and the open holes make you deal with elevation and wind, along with shot placement to keep from rolling down the hill.

There are good concrete tees for all the holes, and nice signs that make the course easy to follow and navigate. The course has great flow, so there aren't any silly walks, or places where it isn't obvious where to go next. There is a practice area near the 18th pin with enough room to work on putts and approaches. The park is very clean and nicely maintained, with some nice scenery.
Cons: I really liked the variety on the front 9, so the back 9 seemed a little bland in comparison. There were some nice holes, but a full 9 of open holes seemed like it could use something different. I wish that with all the elevation available, there were more uphill shots to go along with the awesome downhill bombs, I only remember one hole that played up the hill.

If you don't like to pay to play, the small fee here might bother you, I personally found it to be reasonable and definitely worth it. I did hope that it would keep out some of the players who tend not to have good course etiquette, and unfortunately that wasn't true. On both 9 and 18, we got stuck behind groups that wanted to empty their entire bags without letting any of the three groups stacked up behind them play through. Then it took them a long time to collect their 53 and 67 discs respectively (I counted). These same groups also were leaving trash behind as they played, and I hate to see people making a mess of such a nice facility.
Other Thoughts: This course offers some cool challenges, with accuracy tests on the front 9 and placement and distance tests on the back 9. Experienced players will have fun here, and will need to throw some good shots to score well. Beginning players will probably find this course tough, but accessible, the holes can be long but there isn't really anywhere to lose a disc, and the course is easy to follow.

If you have the chance, this course is definitely worth the stop. It's got some really great holes, and a bunch of good holes, and I would definitely go back and play it again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    9/9/2007   2/15/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As stated earlier, the front and back 9 are
very different. The front 9 requires well placed drives and approach shots. The back 9 is much more open and forgiving.

Great elevation changes! Holes 9 and 18 are worth the price of admission.
Cons: Pay to play course and DG is closed during winter as a sledding park.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 down and uphill is a classic yet become much easier over the years.
Close to the Rum Village course in SB, same road different town and road names.

I'd compare it to a mini-Brandywine in Delaware which is much more known.



4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Older Course but Very Nice

5+    8/9/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As previous reviews have said there is a heavily wooded front nine and a wide open back nine. The front nine will kick your tail with the majority of the holes very difficult to deuce much less ace namely, #4, #5, #6 and #7. But if your confidence is shot then comes #9 to lull you into a false sense of security with a 490' long and over 75' drop that is wide open. Unfortunately, I've seen many people new to the course wind up way wide to the left or wide right and off into the parking lot. Those that can accurately use a roller will positively love this hole along with much of the back nine. With a few exceptions (like #8), the underbrush is not horribly thick so errant throws are not impossible to find. Lots and lots of elevation changes. Not terribly hard to find your way around. It's one of those courses you could play over and over.
Cons: The course is a bit outdated. It is relatively short and could use a bit of lengthening especially on the back nine. It is also subject to some vandalism but not quite as bad as it is at Rum Village. The #15 tee is missing a sign.
Other Thoughts: #6 is tough to find. Looking at the #5 basket with the #5 tee directly behind look behind the clump of trees and bushes off to the left. It is between them and the fence. The #15 tee sign is gone and there are 2 concrete pads very close together . The pad closest to the #14 basket is the one to use.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.