Mishawaka, IN 
George Wilson Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 228ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Just great!

5+    8/3/2009   7/3/2010
Review By: RICKY BOBBY
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Safe, family friendly park.
Restrooms/changing/water fountains at hole 1/10.
Easily make the turn (no long walk between 9 and 10)
Great variety of shots needed.
Great variety of holes (long, short, wooded, etc)
GREAT 18th hole. 600' long and on top of a large hill. One of my all-time favorite holes.
Never very crowded when I was there.
Cons: Pay to play.
A little bit of trash near the garbage cans. Some people can't aim I guess, unless it's a disc.
Other Thoughts: Again, a great variety of holes and shots. I recommend this to anyone who has never played here before. IIRC this was a final course in the late 90's in the PDGA.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 G Dub-ya

5+    5/25/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: MGroothuis
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good variety of holes with very unique hole layouts. It's a good mix of tight wooded fairways and wide open crushing distance shots. This course works both your accuracy and your power in different ways while the course elevation undulates 50ft or more. Holes 9, 16, and 18 are wide open downhill drives. Big distance discs like a Boss or a Nuke will have good opportunity to fly 400-500 feet. Hole 9 drive MUST be either an overstable driver or a roller. Out-of-bounds fence is very tight along the right side of the hole. Hole 17 has a fun basket placement at the very far ridge of a huge downhill slope.

Within the past 4-5 years, holes 5, 15, and 18 were redesigned to better use the land and avoid headaches. Hazards like perimeter fences, picnic areas, buildings, and playgrounds were all either moved or REmoved from the course play-thru areas.
Cons: Several of the holes have very, very thick weedy brush to swallow errant throws, plus the course is overflowing with Poison Ivy in the wooded areas. Over the years, the carved paths of other golfers have not made finding discs easier.

There are 3-4 tee pads that have deep holes or drop-offs directly in front. They are visible in the pics on this site. It's a pretty big distraction if your follow-thru involves stepping off the front of the pad.

Signage is missing on some holes. Best to play pro par if unsure of course pars.

This course allows alcohol. Personally, it makes a good game go bad when you catch up to a bunch of half-drunk disc golfers. A couple of beers, fine, but it tends to get abused with people toting entire coolers full of beer around the park.
Other Thoughts: Wish they would have kept the drinking fountain at the start of the back 9 and end at 18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 compared to local courses

5+    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great elevation use throughout course, gives you all shots, left right, long short, up and down
half wooded, half open
above average upkeep, great restrooms, play area for kids, open area for airing out practice drives, baskets 9,18 and a practice basket makess for a great warm up approach loop
lets you cut loose on 6 or more drives, sadly the big hills are the only real lengthy holes
Cons: pay to play, but its 2 local, 3 outta area so its not bad, half the holes get taken out for 4 months outta the year, lots of unleashed dogs (no issues other than poo and distraction... dogs dont seem to go after discs)
Other Thoughts: my number 2 for local course
we play alot there, great place to take multiple drives fromt the tees, fairly open and hard to lose discs on half the holes (sledding hill side)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9 and 18 make it worth it

1    5/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 118  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety on the front 9. Signature 9th and 18th where you get to throw from the top of the hill. Excellent tee pads and signage. Trash cans available, restrooms, and picnic tables. Practice basket located next to restrooms, Playground for children. Scorecards available.
Cons: Back 9 holes lack variety. You have to pay to play $3 for being an out of town visitor.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 holes on this course offer about 9 different types of holes. There's short and straight, dogleg right, through the woods, in the open, over the hill, over the ravine, and then you get to hole 9...A big downhill hole! The fence on the right plays as O.B. so keep it straight!

The back nine holes play in the open but take advantage of the rolling terrain. Being in the open rolling hills, your distance judgement may be off, either that or the distance on the tee signs was off when I played the course.

There was one hole with a missing sign so we had to refer to the map on the scorecard to locate the tee pad. Hole 17 is a fun hole with the building behind the pin on the left and a huge downhill slope on the right side of the pin. Once again, with the basket being on the edge of the hill, the distance of the hole distance seemed difficult to judge. And finally hole 18, the ~600' downhill hole where you can let 'er rip!

I really enjoyed the variety of the front 9 holes, ripping it on hole 9 and 18, and the rolling terrain of the back 9. I would definitley recommend this course to anyone in the area or passing through. When you step up to the tee on 9 and 18, you'll be glad you did.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sledding and discing!

5+    11/25/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very versatile course...tight shots on the front nine, open shots on the back nine! Hole 18 will test your distance with I think a 500' downhill shot. Hole #1 is an easy ace hole for either forearm RH throwers or lefties. Plus its only 2 dollars to play!!!
Cons: Some vandalism, beer bottles and such eventhough alchol is prohibited, as stated below, # 15 is missing a sign.
Other Thoughts: The back nine has a fence to the far left of it...there IS a way to get over the fence in 2 spots if you lose a disc over there..go all the way back to hole 15 i think and go behind it...or there is a opening further up that you can squeeze through.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  The George Wilson Wonder

1    7/12/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: MarshallPrime
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great course. We play every hole, no matter what, par 3's to keep scoring easier. It has something to offer all players. It gives some longer shots, elevation changes, some birdiable holes (using par 3's) and some very nice views.
Cons: It does cost $2 for residents and $3 for non-residents. Their holes are removed from most of the course until mid spring for sledding. You never know when they will be put back.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course many many times. Never gets old. One of my favorite courses if not my favorite. Very worth the while. Come and enjoy.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 George Wilson Park

6/18/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: CNeuey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course to play. The different elevations of holes make for a fun time. The back nine is really open with not much risk of hitting any trees. There is a good combination of short and long holes. The front nine is mostly in and around the woods. It is a perfect match for those interested in playing a course where you need to be very accurate with your throws in the woods (front 9) or for those who just want to throw a disc as hard and as far as you want to without much risk of losing it (back 9). Holes 9 and 18 by themselves really make a trip to this course worth your while. The park also provides you with a scorecard that has a map of the course when you arrive (be sure to ask for it if they don't give it to you right away).
Cons: Residents need to pay 2 dollars to play and those coming in from out of town pay 3 dollars. The course is an easy course, especially the back nine. Some par 4 holes would be par 3's at other courses. There is even a par 5 hole that you can get a 3 on fairly easily. I don't go that often but usually leave shooting anywhere from 5 to 10 under par.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is a great course and is worth the money to play. You can even see the Golden Dome of Notre Dame on the skyline on holes 9 and 18. Go and check this course out. You won't be disappointed.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.