Mishawaka, IN 
George Wilson Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 228ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Fun course with cool elevation

1    10/10/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a couple large sledding hills with a valley in between, so there is a lot of great elevation in play on the course. The hills are used very well to add challenge on drives, as well as making some risk/reward situations in putting areas with nasty roll-away possibilities. Much of the course is out in the open with big elevation, but some of the front 9 plays through woods. There is still some elevation, and a couple nice tight fairways to add a different dimension to the course.

There is a nice variety of lengths on the course, from ace run holes to huge downhill bombs where you can let a drive rip (or a bunch of drives if there's nobody waiting behind you). There is also a nice variety of hole types. The wooded holes force straight, right turning, and left turning shots, and the open holes make you deal with elevation and wind, along with shot placement to keep from rolling down the hill.

There are good concrete tees for all the holes, and nice signs that make the course easy to follow and navigate. The course has great flow, so there aren't any silly walks, or places where it isn't obvious where to go next. There is a practice area near the 18th pin with enough room to work on putts and approaches. The park is very clean and nicely maintained, with some nice scenery.
Cons: I really liked the variety on the front 9, so the back 9 seemed a little bland in comparison. There were some nice holes, but a full 9 of open holes seemed like it could use something different. I wish that with all the elevation available, there were more uphill shots to go along with the awesome downhill bombs, I only remember one hole that played up the hill.

If you don't like to pay to play, the small fee here might bother you, I personally found it to be reasonable and definitely worth it. I did hope that it would keep out some of the players who tend not to have good course etiquette, and unfortunately that wasn't true. On both 9 and 18, we got stuck behind groups that wanted to empty their entire bags without letting any of the three groups stacked up behind them play through. Then it took them a long time to collect their 53 and 67 discs respectively (I counted). These same groups also were leaving trash behind as they played, and I hate to see people making a mess of such a nice facility.
Other Thoughts: This course offers some cool challenges, with accuracy tests on the front 9 and placement and distance tests on the back 9. Experienced players will have fun here, and will need to throw some good shots to score well. Beginning players will probably find this course tough, but accessible, the holes can be long but there isn't really anywhere to lose a disc, and the course is easy to follow.

If you have the chance, this course is definitely worth the stop. It's got some really great holes, and a bunch of good holes, and I would definitely go back and play it again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's even Exciting to Look at

1    10/18/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Star Destraayer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An awesome course both to look at and play. Excellent use of hilly terrain with a number of downhill bombs and ravine shots (surprising very few uphill climbs.) The course has some wooded holes peppered through the front nine with shots that are not to demanding of accuracy. A very clean and well maintained facility that installs a sense of excitement with it's beautiful views.
Cons: In all fairness, The course isn't too challenging if you have a big arm. Holes 10-12 are repeats of each other, but they provide a gradual climb back up the courses sloping terrain.
Other Thoughts: This course is defiantly worth your time! My friends and I drove 2 hours to play it with a slue of other courses in the area. There are a lot of holes that will make you want to take a second or third shot for fun. The pyramid structure bursting forth from the hillside greats your eye right away, setting the tone for the rest of the course. The two dollar fee to play is worth all the beautiful pictures and memories I took from this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love this Course

2-4    9/16/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: shaggz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Just a great mix of holes, woods, open range for driving, decent use of elevation, with #9 and #18 being setup to really rip your discs. Very fun course to play!
Cons: Closed for sledding in winter a hear.
Other Thoughts: I like to take "newbies" that I introduce to the sport to this course. I feel like it's a course you don't have to worry about losing your disc on.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 9 and 18 make it worth it

1    5/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety on the front 9. Signature 9th and 18th where you get to throw from the top of the hill. Excellent tee pads and signage. Trash cans available, restrooms, and picnic tables. Practice basket located next to restrooms, Playground for children. Scorecards available.
Cons: Back 9 holes lack variety. You have to pay to play $3 for being an out of town visitor.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 holes on this course offer about 9 different types of holes. There's short and straight, dogleg right, through the woods, in the open, over the hill, over the ravine, and then you get to hole 9...A big downhill hole! The fence on the right plays as O.B. so keep it straight!

The back nine holes play in the open but take advantage of the rolling terrain. Being in the open rolling hills, your distance judgement may be off, either that or the distance on the tee signs was off when I played the course.

There was one hole with a missing sign so we had to refer to the map on the scorecard to locate the tee pad. Hole 17 is a fun hole with the building behind the pin on the left and a huge downhill slope on the right side of the pin. Once again, with the basket being on the edge of the hill, the distance of the hole distance seemed difficult to judge. And finally hole 18, the ~600' downhill hole where you can let 'er rip!

I really enjoyed the variety of the front 9 holes, ripping it on hole 9 and 18, and the rolling terrain of the back 9. I would definitley recommend this course to anyone in the area or passing through. When you step up to the tee on 9 and 18, you'll be glad you did.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sledding and discing!

5+    11/25/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very versatile course...tight shots on the front nine, open shots on the back nine! Hole 18 will test your distance with I think a 500' downhill shot. Hole #1 is an easy ace hole for either forearm RH throwers or lefties. Plus its only 2 dollars to play!!!
Cons: Some vandalism, beer bottles and such eventhough alchol is prohibited, as stated below, # 15 is missing a sign.
Other Thoughts: The back nine has a fence to the far left of it...there IS a way to get over the fence in 2 spots if you lose a disc over there..go all the way back to hole 15 i think and go behind it...or there is a opening further up that you can squeeze through.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    9/9/2007   2/15/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 293  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As stated earlier, the front and back 9 are
very different. The front 9 requires well placed drives and approach shots. The back 9 is much more open and forgiving.

Great elevation changes! Holes 9 and 18 are worth the price of admission.
Cons: Pay to play course and DG is closed during winter as a sledding park.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 down and uphill is a classic yet become much easier over the years.
Close to the Rum Village course in SB, same road different town and road names.

I'd compare it to a mini-Brandywine in Delaware which is much more known.



4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Older Course but Very Nice

5+    8/9/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As previous reviews have said there is a heavily wooded front nine and a wide open back nine. The front nine will kick your tail with the majority of the holes very difficult to deuce much less ace namely, #4, #5, #6 and #7. But if your confidence is shot then comes #9 to lull you into a false sense of security with a 490' long and over 75' drop that is wide open. Unfortunately, I've seen many people new to the course wind up way wide to the left or wide right and off into the parking lot. Those that can accurately use a roller will positively love this hole along with much of the back nine. With a few exceptions (like #8), the underbrush is not horribly thick so errant throws are not impossible to find. Lots and lots of elevation changes. Not terribly hard to find your way around. It's one of those courses you could play over and over.
Cons: The course is a bit outdated. It is relatively short and could use a bit of lengthening especially on the back nine. It is also subject to some vandalism but not quite as bad as it is at Rum Village. The #15 tee is missing a sign.
Other Thoughts: #6 is tough to find. Looking at the #5 basket with the #5 tee directly behind look behind the clump of trees and bushes off to the left. It is between them and the fence. The #15 tee sign is gone and there are 2 concrete pads very close together . The pad closest to the #14 basket is the one to use.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  The George Wilson Wonder

1    7/12/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: MarshallPrime
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great course. We play every hole, no matter what, par 3's to keep scoring easier. It has something to offer all players. It gives some longer shots, elevation changes, some birdiable holes (using par 3's) and some very nice views.
Cons: It does cost $2 for residents and $3 for non-residents. Their holes are removed from most of the course until mid spring for sledding. You never know when they will be put back.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course many many times. Never gets old. One of my favorite courses if not my favorite. Very worth the while. Come and enjoy.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 George Wilson Park

6/18/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: CNeuey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course to play. The different elevations of holes make for a fun time. The back nine is really open with not much risk of hitting any trees. There is a good combination of short and long holes. The front nine is mostly in and around the woods. It is a perfect match for those interested in playing a course where you need to be very accurate with your throws in the woods (front 9) or for those who just want to throw a disc as hard and as far as you want to without much risk of losing it (back 9). Holes 9 and 18 by themselves really make a trip to this course worth your while. The park also provides you with a scorecard that has a map of the course when you arrive (be sure to ask for it if they don't give it to you right away).
Cons: Residents need to pay 2 dollars to play and those coming in from out of town pay 3 dollars. The course is an easy course, especially the back nine. Some par 4 holes would be par 3's at other courses. There is even a par 5 hole that you can get a 3 on fairly easily. I don't go that often but usually leave shooting anywhere from 5 to 10 under par.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is a great course and is worth the money to play. You can even see the Golden Dome of Notre Dame on the skyline on holes 9 and 18. Go and check this course out. You won't be disappointed.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

9/15/2007   6/13/2008
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 53  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Has some good holes in the woods and down the tubing hills. Normally in good condition.
Cons: Holes 10-13, and 15 are too easy for this course. They are all about 200-220' hyzers and really don't fit the rest of the course. The rest of the holes are so good, the above mentioned are a disappointment.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.