Edmond, OK 
Tye F. Cunningham DGC Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #7 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Both baskets fairly straight with a little right fade.



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A nice challenge

5+    10/3/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Apoth
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Highly technical course requiring a variety of shots. In my opinion, this is the most technical course in the OKC Metro area.

Well kept, year round. Multiple pin placements updated at least once a month make for a nice variety of holes even for the regulars. The course almost always has people playing, but is rarely ever crowded. Great course to improve your accuracy and line-shaping.
Cons: Very densely wooded. During the spring/summer months, it is very easy to lose discs from an errant shot. The technical nature of the holes can make this course less than pleasant for new players. The course is a little on the short side, overall. While some holes break the 400 mark, most of those rarely allow for a full drive and instead require a shorter layup. I really wish there were a few holes than you could really open up on. Ticks in the summer months can be a problems as well. Course layout is difficult to grasp if you've never played before.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course if you're in the OKC metro area. More challenging than Will Rogers or Dolese, the nearest competitor courses. I wouldn't agree with the previous reviewer that this course is boring at all. Instead, I would simply call it very technical outside of a few holes that back off the difficulty a little bit. If you can't throw accurately, a lot of these holes will give you trouble.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not a Fan

1    10/11/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: sweettone1221
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Basically, the only thing that makes this course worth the drive are the narrow fairways, requiring a lot of accuracy if you don't want to end up in the dense forrested areas or lose a disc.
Cons: The layout of this course was incredibly confusing and we got extremely frustrated while playing. We actually skipped hole 11 because, unbeknownst to us, you have to retrace your path back down the fairway of hole 10, which I think is a terrible idea. There were no maps on any of the holes, very few benches, and even the first hole was hard to find. The holes were so short and not particularly varied. I would say that they don't have any signature holes.
Other Thoughts: Maybe its just us(I am a newbie, and all) but my husband and I both really disliked this course. It was just plain boring. Definitely not worth a drive across the metro.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Glad to see the DGC so busy

5+    9/27/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well taken care of course. While playing it you can see that the fariways and baskets are taken care of. The course itself has a good combination of tight shots, right legs, left legs, open areas and trees in the right places to make it challenging. There are no picnic areas and public gathering spots on the course so you are free to let the discs fly.
Cons: The course can be hard to follow if you are not familiar with it. Be sure to read the map at hole #1. This course is one the most likely courses in OKC to loose discs to the trees and foliage so use spotters and be careful. The parking lot can get very busy and when it's peewee sport time at Mitch Park, you might get boxed in so plan ahead. There are clean restrooms at the beginning of the course and plenty of benches to rest on.
Other Thoughts: This is in my opinion one of the best courses in OKC. It will test your limits at times but it will also make you work for your low score but it will make you better playing overall. Be sure to tap the local talent for tips on your game. The place is busy sometimes so there is always a change to stop and chat with a veteran of the game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but out of the way

1    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course almost has it all: wooded holes with tight corridors, open field holes, elevation changes -- all with a good layout. This course appeared well kept and very well though out. Signage near the first hole tells you how the pins are placed: All long (what we played), even long odd short, etc. The pin placement is changed often so the course is "never the same".

Tee boxes are clearly marked and there are arrows placed around showing you where the next tee is.
Cons: The trees here are really thick - thumbers can't really get through the canopies.The rough is quite long and easy to lose discs in (speaking of -- if you run across a white Beast in the rough on 8, my number is on it!). Bring a baseball to get discs out of trees.

Few trash cans and some of the holes had a bit of trash on them. I would have picked some of it up if I would have had a place to put it.

The park is popular for joggers and some of them run the disc course. The ones we ran across had the common sense/courtesy to not run in front of us. Watch out for bikes, etc when crossing the bike/running path.

Some of the long pins were difficult to locate in and around the trees. Bring someone along that has played it before to avoid having to scout the holes first.
Other Thoughts: This course is the northernmost OKC metro area course and it an out of the way course for most of the city. It is, however, definitely worth the drive if the pin placement is routinely updated. We got there early on a holiday weekend Saturday and the crowd was light.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly out of the way, but good...

1    7/15/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful, heavily wooded park with huge, mature cedars that will swallow your discs and Oklahoma red dirt that will stain your shoes. Concrete tee pads, 2 pin placements per hole with a posted alternating schedule (very cool - 6 or 8 variations), signs are decent (but it would help if they had distance and direction), active local club presence with tournaments on Mondays and Thursdays, some decent elevation challenges, a few holes that could be considered "signature," well-manicured grounds, and great baskets. The course tests a lot of different shots in your bag and is challenging with thick rough. With some work, this course has the makings of a true premier course.
Cons: To start, this course is a bit too far out of the way for me, to no fault of its own. Although there are many pros, this course also lacks fluidity. There are many design flaws in my opinion. First of all, the course doesn't flow easily from one hole to the next. You will walk about a mile on the actual fairways, and probably 1.5 times that getting from hole to hole. Having to backtrack down a fairway to get to the next hole is a big, dangerous no-no for me as evident between holes 10 and 11. Seriously, what's the deal? There is so much open space out here!

Next, for me this course is just poorly laid out. There could have easily been twice as many holes in the space available, but some holes seem to venture off in erratic directions from the previous hole. There are several holes less than 200 feet, one is actually 145 feet. For me, especially in this beautiful, massive park, this is a crying shame. Maybe this is just my preference, but I like for a DGC to average between 330-375 feet per hole, with at least the occasional bomber that tops 450 or even 500. This one averages less than 300 (about 290, even less depending on pin position) feet per hole with the longest hole in the longest pin placement being 420 feet in a park that could easily AVERAGE 450. Many of the holes could be extended, and many more could be redesigned to either correct the flow or add more of them.

Lastly on cons, for such a big park, some of the fairways are narrow with only one line to the basket. I would like to see some alternate lines on a few holes. I would also like a bit more variety between some of the alternate pin positions, as most are within 30 feet of each other.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round, and I will come back here to play. This truly is a NICE course. This is July, so it is hot, but I didn't encounter any ticks. I did get mosquitoes and chiggers though. Bring plenty of drinks because of the distance between holes. PRINT THE ONLINE MAP, ESPECIALLY IF A FIRST-TIMER! You will be very glad that you did. It is not always obvious which way to go to the next hole. It also helps with pin placements for the alternating schedule. Please don't think that I was overly-critical. It is just that this is a very good course, where it could be a GREAT course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Best overall course in OKC metro

5+    4/30/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: Poli Sci
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has the best atmosphere of all the parks in the OKC metro. No other course is kept in as good of shape. It is always picked up. Kudos to the local club and course stewards.

This course will challenge every shot in your bag. Holes 14, 17, & 18 are for lefties or solid anhyzer shots. There are some solid ace runs and the baskets are moved on a regular basis.

Cons: There is a tick problem.
Other Thoughts: I live in Norman and drive to this course to play as much as I can because of the condition it is kept in. If coming to play in OKC this course is a must play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/1/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good tee pads, two pin placements for each hole that are changed monthly. Good mixture of hyzer/anhyzer shots as well as long/short holes. Well maintained, part of a large park but away from areas with non DG traffic.
Cons: Tee signs are only a number, nothing to indicate length or pin locations. Ticks are present if you get in the woods and you probably will at some point. Lots of red clay that doesn't dry out quickly. Can get busy on weekends
Other Thoughts: Seems more technical than it really is because just about every hole has cedar trees that are very unforgiving.. Avoid them, they add strokes to almost every round I've played here and this is my home course. Landing off the fairway can cost a stroke just to get back into position so it's better to be accurate than long on all but 2-3 holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

5+    12/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Really tests the different discs in your bag. One hole will be a short turnover, and another is a 400 foot bomb over cedars (17 on long). Only a couple shots that really exercises your arm on distance, most of the course is pretty technical. This is both the course that I learned on, and the one I go back to if I want a good test of skill. North of the city, and a little bit out of the way keeps the scenery pretty nice. Most of the course brings trees in to play, keeping things interesting. Two pin placements per hole, changed regularly. Tee pads are concrete, and long.
Cons: Gets really muddy after a rain, with Oklahoma red dirt. Easy to lose a disc on a bad shot during the summer and fall. City keeps the fairways kept short, but OB is always really hairy. Watch for ticks, and mosquitos can be really bad in the wrong season.
Other Thoughts: A couple of holes are harder to find, but you can find the trail. Course usually isn't too busy, not much of a wait time here. Plan for a longer game play, even solo, you will look for a disc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Edmond

5+    7/5/2008   2/17/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I wont give it four because there are some negatives. Good pads and good baskets are a good sign. There are 2 placements for the baskets which changes the course up from time to time. There are alot of different types holes that require different shots but there arent many options on those holes, things are pretty straight forward(you only have one route to the hole.) Easy to lose a disc in the rough but fairways arent really tight enough to be a big factor for advanced player. Fun course but not for the family. No water to lose plastic so just keep an eye on your stuff and you should be good. Very well taken care of for a park of this size.
Cons: The tee signs suck because they are just numbers so the first time out its confusing and hard to navigate. The course does cross itself a couple of times but its all good after playing. Trees are very sticky so you might be climbing to get plastic back. Very hot so bring lots of drinks.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the ticks in the summer!!!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 a lot of trees/mud

1    2/1/2009   2/1/2009
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are concrete tees and two pin placements with in 30ft of each other on most holes. Plays both right and left about the same mostly a straight shot over or through tress.
Cons: There are signs but with numbers only. I did not have the course map with me and had to walk ahead to find the basket. The course criss crosses itself a couple of times. On some of the holes you have to back track to get to the next tee, was not a problem today but if its busy watch out for incoming disc as the view is block by trees in some places. The area was very muddy, the fairways, tees and basket area were muddy. Off the fairways the grass is tall and there are a lot of trees, very easy to lose your disc. There was only 4 players out there and the parking lot near the course was packed becauseof the playground.
Other Thoughts: With the three four star reviews I was really looking forward to playing this one. It is a nice course but nothing really different then other course I've played.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.