Tyler, TX 
U.T. Tyler Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #13 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 187ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good Challenge

1    7/13/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: huntin4hitters
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: The front 9 gives you plenty of open shots to warm up on to get ready for the back 9.
Front 9 is very easy, back 9 is all about accuracy, as it is heavily wooded.
I can't imagine trying to play it in the spring time when everything is blooming,
Cons: Navigation of the course is not the best, does some back tracking. Print or save the map on here of this course or you are in for some trouble on the back 9. The tee boxes are in pretty rough shape.
Other Thoughts: It was a good challenge, enjoyed the course.
Got some of the discs out of the bag that dont get much action.

Tale of 2 nines

5+    6/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: SirMartin1st
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This course is a classic example of a course of 2 completely different 9 holes. Get your birdies in early on the front 9 to carry you through the back.

The front nine is great for new players especially to people just trying the sport out. Mostly open short shots with use of the elevation from the excavation from the construction of the school.
Not very technical and forgiving.

The back nine is challenge, which I enjoy. Great scenery and use of the natural land. The back nine is wooded with creeks running through it. A few holes have a risk reward basket with a creek snaking around three sides of it.
Cons: Not many design flaws of the course.
The tee boxes are non-existent and are at the mercy of the weather. Tee boxes usually flood after it rains. They are also unlevel and some have thick sand in them.
The course has no signage and it is very difficult to navigate the back nine without a guide.
If its going to be your first time playing, try to find someone to show you back nine. I guarantee that you will not find hole #11 after leaving #10.
Other Thoughts: BEWARE OF BIKERS on the back 9. The woods of the back nine are shared with a mountain bike trail. They will not stop or yield for you or your disc.
They have also removed tee box markers because they are kinda in their way.
I had a biker actually run over my disc before.


I would recommend anyone casually playing in Tyler to try the course out, but there are better courses in the area.
Fun, simple, open course then it becomes a challenging, technical, and tight course.

 Step into Jurrasic Park

1    3/28/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The trees and the feel of hole #10 made me feel like I was in the Jurrasic Park. That was one cool hole. The first 9 holes are bit on the average side, but were still fun. This place has some elevation, water, woods, woods, woods, tough tee placements, and some majorly cool trees! This was not a hard course, but it was not easy either. I can't wait to go play this again. I played the longs and it would be great to play the course twice just to play them both. Parking was not a problem.
Cons: Finding hole #1 was not that easy, but after that, it was not too bad. There was some backtracking which is not something I enjoy, but it wasn't too bad. The map helps, but you really need a guide here your first and maybe even you second time, especially on the back 9! This place is also shared with off road mountain biking. If you take the wrong path, it could be a while to find the next hole. #17 had both the short tee posts and long tee posts either missing, broken, or they were hidden. The map did not really help with that one. (hint it is across the creek bridge from #16 basket, go up the hill to the left and follow the creek to the left. The long post still there is under a bush and the short is down below from there.) There is only numbered posts for the tee signs and the dirt pads are not all in great shape. I did not see bathrooms or trashcans on the course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was huge for me. I thought the front 9 was ok, but the back nine was awesome fun. Bring bright discs, so you don't lose anything in the leaves. I really can't wait to go back there and play it again. I listed lots of cons, but the fun factor is where it is at! Thanks UT Tyler!!!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/21/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course since I am a student at UT Tyler. The front 9 is very aceable and the back 9 adds a great challenge for any player from the blue tees. Not many people try out the back 9 so there really is not much of a problem waiting on people.
Cons: Concrete tee boxes would be great and signage stating distances and directions to the next tee. Part of the reason not many try the back 9 is because they don't know the way around back there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 UT Tyler

1    1/13/2010   1/14/2011
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Difficult course. Hard to lose discs.
Cons: Some iffy tee box's. Front 9 is pretty tight fit and on campus. Back 9 you can get hit by bike riders.
Other Thoughts: I've played 3 other courses, and this was one of the more difficult ones. The front 9 was less fun because it was slightly easier, but there are trees on just about every hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not to shabby

1    4/12/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. You don't really get that sense on the front 9, but on the back you have a whole new beast!! The front 9 has some elevation change and gives you an opportunity to gain some strokes so the back 9 won't hurt so bad. The back 9 has multiple tee boxes, as does the front, and is a very, very tree infested area. ****Make sure you ask directions to 10**** Finding 10 can be difficult, and also finding some of the other holes on the back 9 can be difficult to find as well for a first timer. If you have played Lester Lorch's Coyote course in Cedar Hill you can kinda get the picture of what the back nine is out here. Except for one minor difference, It is MUCH longer on the back 9 here than almost any hole at Lorch. All and all I like difficult courses so I did enjoy playing here. That is once I found my way around. I would definite play here again, although it is hard to pull me away from Lindsey Park!!!
Cons: ****The back 9 is VERY hard to navigate for a first timer here. I didn't head the warning of others on here and tried to do it alone for the first time and well I got a little lost. I did end up finishing my round and playing every hole but it is difficult to find the next box sometimes.
*****If you are a first time disc player play the front 9 twice. The back is really too hard for some players. I hit tons of trees. No lost discs though!!!!!
*****Front 9 is a little bland and seems too be squished into an area that is really a little to small. Don't get me wrong though I really did enjoy playing here.

Most of these cons are minor things, once you get the hang of directions this course is fun to play.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a nice add to the Tyler Disc golf atmosphere. It is hard for me not to go out to Lindsey Park every chance I get, but I will be coming back over to this side of town for a little different challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Way better than I expected

1    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The whole course minus a few holes has excellent pin placements, next to trees, on the side of a hill and the back 9 has a few located by a creek or just a DEEP hole filled with water that has fish and a giant frog. The front 9 is more open but still has a decent amount of trees on about half the shots. Has elevation on a few. My fav was hole 7. A shot off a hill throwing down into a pocket of trees with the basket located in between. Tough shot to ace but possible. Ran into a local after playing the front 9 and asked about navigation problems on the all wooded back 9 and he said that he should probably play with me as a guide. Thank goodness, I would have had a lot of trouble alone for the first round. The back 9 is TIGHT but fair if you are accurate. It has a couple of holes with elevation and if you like heavily wooded courses that are not all tunnel or short shots, then you will love the back 9. It is like it belongs on a different course, a harder and better one in my opinion. I liked all of the back 9 so did not have a fav hole, Most are great. Not really busy but schools out. All in all a great time if you have a good map or a guide. For fellow travelers, the back 9 when upkeep is good or when there is no folage reminds me of Lester Lorche coyote (Cedar Hill) and Moccasin Bend (mississippi). On a few of the back 9 holes there are decent size white arrow cut outs next to some of the tee pads.
Cons: Navigation. DO NOT PLAY THIS COURSE WITHOUT A LOCAL OR AN ACCURATE MAP!!!!!!! Go somewhere else. I bet on Saturdays there are enough people to hook up with or just follow. One of the later holes had a downed limb hanging into the fairway making an already tight fairway even harder. If you do not like woods golf then just play the front 9 twice. Not many cons to speak of.
Other Thoughts: I was really was surprised by this course. I figured it would be a busy possibly walker infested park, It was not today. After hole 10 follow trail to right of basket straight across a parking lot. The roc is not far away so there's always that. The local told me that the new Lindsey Gold course is also VERY hard to navigate. but Lindsey is always busy so just follow the other golfers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Night and Day

5+    0/0/0000   5/31/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course to teach someone. Recently they moved a few baskets to increase the challenge on the front nine. Mostly open shots, not a huge challenge. I really enjoy the front nine here. They made the most of what they had to work with. Hole no. 5 is a long anny shot, most challenging of the front nine. Hole 7 is almost perfect for a tommy/thumber.
Cons: The back nine here is kind of ridiculous. Pretty much all tunnel holes. I really hate this part of the course. A good percentage of these holes just seem like luck to me, and the ones that you can actually get a good drive on, there is water behind the green, so if you overthrow, you're boned. The back nine can also be a little tough to navigate your first time, the map helps, be sure and take it.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for first timers, any time I want to teach someone to play and get them into the game, we play the first nine. The front nine is fairly well light by the nearby tennis courses that you can play at night. If you aren't a very advanced player, play the front nine twice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of 2 9's

1    4/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 is super open and easy compared to the back. Get your birdies here because you will need them!!!! 2 pads are good once again. The front 9 has alot of short shots and not to hard either. The back 9 is super cool and requires a consistant drive and upshot. The fairways are tight but well manicured. Holes 11 and 12 are really cool shots that make a lasting impression. I really loved the back nine here, my favorite of the road trip to Tyler. The front can be used for ace runs and the back can make you sad quickly. (My buddy had 3 3's, a 4, and 5 5's) Enjoy the "2" different courses in one stop.
Cons: Signage is poor once again. A map or a pic of the holes on the back because your in the woods and cant see the baskets without walking down the fairways.
Other Thoughts: After 10 go at a 45 degree angle across the parking lot to find 11's tee. There is a little stream that runs behind basket 12.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 2 courses in 1

5+    3/10/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course on the U.T. campuse. Park right by the tennis courts and hole one is right there. Starts off with the first pin on top of a moderate sized hill. Lay it up there or it will roll all the way back to the teepad. From there it opens up to well groomed fairways. Multiple teepads give you a choice. Shorter holes from there, easy birdies abound. Hole 7 is nice, throw off the hill into a heavily protected basket. Make your birdies on the front 9 because you will need that for the back 9. Walk across the road from the 9th hole and walk into a different world. The back 9 is very heavily wooded! Technical shots are a must! Throw a bad teeshot and you will be punished! Tight fairways and elevation changes abound on the back 9. Mainly short holes that you can get rewarded with a birdie or two if you are careful. Large trees and a secluded feeling make this a pleasant walk through the woods as well.
Cons: Signage consists of wooded posts to mark the hole and distance. Navigation can be difficult at first, especially on the back 9. Play with a local for assistance or you will be walking in circles a few times. Dirt teepads on the front 9 are heavily used, watch your footing carefully.
Other Thoughts: Rarely do you get to play a course that has such a different feel to it. Front 9 is pretty straightforward, nothing too special, but make it to the back 9 and you are rewarded with the best holes in the area! Navigation concerns are near the top of my list of items to reveiw for a course and this course certianly had those concerns, like many of the other courses in the area. However, given the fact that the back 9 was just plain fun, I won't take that into too much consideration. Put new signs and cement teepads and you will have a really great course. Definately my favorite in the area so far.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.