Disc Golf Store
Weed, CA 
University of OB Share
Uploaded By: Matt_Kelly Hole #5
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
"Righty Tighty, Left I Love Lucy" is now Hole 5.



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A good challenge right off I-5

1    3/27/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: reed2020
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signs. The signs give a very good description the layout. All the baskets are nice and newer. Good use of the land around the college. Good diversity in hole length, some are ace runs and others are big bombers. The created O.B makes many of holes much more interesting. There are a couple gimmick, but fun holes. (cage, pyramid, etc.) It was not busy at all when I visited. Another plus is that it is nearly impossible to lose a disc here.
Cons: A couple of the holes can get redundant with very little change in the terrain. Can get dusty with the wind blowing. The cage mando can get frustrating if you get caught up in there. There was broken glass on some of the holes, which was a little sketchy.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun and challenging course. The OB makes for some very technical shots that emphasizes placement. I will definitely be coming back to play this course again. It is also sweet that the brewery is right down the street for after the round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Make Believe Water

1    7/20/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice level concrete tee pads.
- Tee signs were nice, some had cracked plexi-glass but still ledgible and showed a good representation of what you were looking at.
- Undamaged baskets. Surprisingly easy to spot even with all the trees and shadows.
- Yellow ropes to outline the creeks... this was just an added challenge since in the summer months there is no water on this course, but you can pretend there is and increase the difficulty of this course by a little bit.
- Some interesting challenges with a cage on one hole that could easily add 1 or 2 stokes to your score, ther was another hole that had three large wooden poles in a triagular formation around the basket, and the 18th was an island green with a road hazard from the tee off and pretend water around the "island" makes this hole pretty cool ... if you imagine there is water in play.
- a few holes had benches, but the course didn't seem to be used too much, I saw a few DGers but not enough to slow play in any way.
Cons: - Didn't see many or any trash cans.
- No bathrooms on the course, but there are buildings close enough to the start of the course on campus that have them... so it's really not atrue con, just make sure you go before you start.
- Hot, Dry, and Dusty. Bring water and wear shoes that you don't mind covered in dirt.
Other Thoughts: This course was very fun, I drove all the way from Medford, OR to play and it was worth it. I do think I would play it again if I'm in the area.
I'm not sure were I parked in refence to the building on campus, but if you go to the two baseball fields and park near them the first hole is easy to find if you walk throught the grass area between the two baseball fields towards the trees. You should see the huge wooden pole that says DISCGOLF on it.
Lastly hole one is back (I read reviews that it wasn't) and I never saw a 14a which was supposed to be the extra hole to make a full 18.
I also noticed that when I got to hole 6 on our score card (from this site) that it was the distance and par for hole 7, and 7 for 8... I don't know when this one hole off started, but at somewhere around 11 or 12 it was back to normal... I'm really not sure where or what the mix up is, but it was a FULL 18; 1 thru 18.
Defanately worth your time... and don't forget to Image the water.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better Learn your OB!

1    11/24/2010   4/2/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: University of OB is set in a high desert type area which has a similar feel to courses such as Juniper Hills and Cascade Forest. Because it is so dry, most of the course consists of baked dirt and rock which makes for challenging, speedy greens. Thin pines and low shrubs provide most of the obstacles here and are complemented very nicely with dangerous out-of-bounds placements which often create islands or run parallel completely down the length of some fairways. The course appears to be well taken care of with nice tee signs, good baskets, really clearly defined rope for marking out-of-bounds, and a lot of really fun quirky touches along the way.

Risk/Reward: Several of the out of bounds areas (not all) create really interesting risk/reward scenarios where a fantastic drive might card an unlikely but possible eagle, a good drive and good approach will card a nice birdie, and an overly aggresive drive will be effectively punished. Drop-zones where employed are also well thought out such that they aren't necessarily easy up-and-downs.

Solitude: We visited in late November on a weekend and found the place completely deserted - we didn't see a single other person since pulling into the parking lot at the college. All of this was welcomed, but at the same time, was very eerie with all of the buildings around and surprising with the quality of the course.
Cons: As another reviewer said, a few of the holes do seem quite gimmicky. The cage hole seems very out of place amongst the rest of the course which is mostly traditional. Likewise, a few of the hole distances I felt like were a bit off - for example, a longer hole on the back nine with an extremely low ceiling made for a very improbable birdie two but at the same time, a hole that I was unlikely to bogey either. While there may have been other routes that I perhaps overlooked, I got the feeling that there were a few of these dreaded tweener holes.

Wind/Dust/Heat: We visited in November and this place was baking hot with a stiff wind (around 25-30mph) blowing dust around constantly. This was only one trip, but I mention it because it looks like other local reviewers have noted that these conditions are not infrequent.
Other Thoughts: I'd HIGHLY recommend this course to pretty much anyone passing through the area. Seasoned pros are going to enjoy the challenge of some of the tougher holes and will appreciate the chance to learn the course idiosynchrasies in the fast greens and the dangerous out of bounds areas. Newer players will be challenged by the out-of-bounds, island holes, and a few tight fairways but won't have to deal with painful brush or the potential to lose discs. Course-baggers especially will appreciate the uniqueness of this course with many interesting features and hole designs that you won't find elsewhere.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 University of OB

1    3/11/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 151  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful setting, beautiful scenery in mature forest. New concrete tee pads, excellent signage.
Cons: If you don't know where to park and where the course is in relation to parking, it will be a little difficult to find the course.
Other Thoughts: This course plays through mature pine and various foliage on the University of OB, College of the Siskiyous campus. It starts behind the campus baseball fields in an unmaintained, secluded area winding through mature trees and bushes. There are straight shots with narrow fairways, there are wider fairways with hyzer and anhyzer shots that you still need to avoid trees on. Every hole has some kind of tree-like obstacle to deal with, which makes this course great.
Excellent use of the fairly flat terrain with OB marked with yellow rope and artificial greens, some of those greens elevated to make the player execute drives, or approach shots accurately. Tee signs are excellent with all the information you need to get around the course on the first time. Yes, there is a bit or redundancy from hole to hole, but for the most part the course design is diverse enough to be quite entertaining. With the inclusion of the OB areas, the course plays better for advanced and pro players who would have a better chance to par out, than a beginner or intermediate player who would struggle with the OB areas.
There are a couple of long holes on the course, but for the most part plays fairly mid in length, the alternate pin placements may stretch out the course, or shorten it. This course may have a different feel to it now, since when I played the course 7 years ago there were no concrete tee pads. And I only played it on one day, which didn't bring the alternate pin placements into play. There is more information about the course at the website below, it gives you driving directions and a few pictures of the OB yellow rope and retaining walls.
http :// www.geocities.com/universityofob dot com

I heartily recommend playing this course, its just off of I-5 and if you are passing by its definitely worth the time spent. And here's a question you may want to ask when you are there; what does the OB in the University of OB's name mean? I forgot to ask when I was there!
(university of OB - Out of Bounds)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/27/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Solid teepads & baskets
- Very informative tee signs
- Innovative use of O.B. areas
- Interesting "island" greens
- Views of Mt. Shasta
Cons:
- Flat terrain (with a few exceptions)
- Many holes are quite similar
- Some flow issues
- Very dusty at the end of the dry season
Other Thoughts:
This course sits on typical dry Cascades forest: sandy soil full of sagebrush and ponderosa pines. The land is very flat for the most part, and there's no permanent water, so the course designers have marked off out-of-bounds areas by laying yellow rope around ditches, roads, small ravines, etc. -- it's a clever way to make the best of otherwise monotonous terrain.

One of the most interesting uses of the O.B. areas is a couple of "island" greens; you must throw across a gully to a circle around the basket marked with ropes and a wooden retaining wall. On another hole, ropes mark a 90-foot-wide dry streambed as O.B., so you have to lay up short of the ropes unless you can consistently drive 360 feet. And one hole has a basket mounted on a 12-foot-high "pyramid."

Navigating the course can be a bit tricky for a first-timer, though. For example, after throwing your drive on #8, you go over to the #9 teepad and throw that drive... then finish out both holes. This saves you from having to cross the gully three times, but it's a bit odd, and could be a problem if the course is busy. (The good news is that as of September 2009, the holes are now numbered #1 through #18 again; before, hole #1 was missing, and there was a "14a.")

Fortunately, there are excellent tee signs at every hole that not only show the trees, roads, and location of the next tee, they also explain any weirdness or "house rules" that might be in play. And to keep it interesting, each hole has its own name, with most taken from classic TV ("Gilligan's Island," "Hawaii Five-O," "Oscar the Grouch," etc.)

Overall, definitely worth the very short detour off of I-5 if you're passing through the area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.