Disc Golf Store
Weed, CA 
University of OB Share
Uploaded By: Matt_Kelly Hole #10
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
YMMV

1    9/8/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: Zunz
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Cage
The Mound
The amazing view of Mt. Shasta
The mile post
Cons: Hard to navigate
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course and would have easily gotten a 3 or 3.5 star review had it not been so difficult to navigate even with the tee signs and the downloaded map in my pocket. I began by throwing at hole 9 from the first tee before I read the map and realized that the second tee was the first tee. Wasn't too hard to navigate from there until I got to 14A. Never found it. After 20 minutes of wandering around in the sun looking for the next hole I was done. I found 16 on the way out, made a couple of lame throws and called it a day.

I love the mile marker to the other courses!
BRING LOTS OF WATER! I had 48oz. with me and it was gone by the time I left.
Although there aren't really any 'picture holes' on the course, the scenery is quite nice.
It really is worth playing if you can get here, especially if you can figure out where those pesky missing holes are ;)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long Drive City

1    1/4/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: killawhale00
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sweet Views of Mt.Shasta

well maintained/clean

wide open, you wont lose any discs here

With all the out of bounds areas and interestingly placed baskets it makes for a pretty unique course

not crowded

ridiculously well marked, every hole has nice map of all the different pins and where the following tee pad is so no need to bring a map or local if you cant find one (chances are, youll be the only one there unless theres a tourney or something) I also happened to be there when the college wasn't open so maybe it gets more crowded...don't know about that
Cons: Many holes were over 500 ft which is not really a con to many people, just my personal bias. Ive only been playing for a shot time and haven't quite found the right groove for consistent accurate distance shots

trees are placed perfectly right in the way making for some tricky tricky long drives and approaches
Other Thoughts: Sweet local brewery just a discs throw away for afterwards....or before...or both!! :)

All the dry pine needles make for ridiculously fast greens, not good for tomahawk approaches and over shots

all in all this was a pretty nice course. the 3 rating reflects my personal bias against the long drives and general frustration with fast greens but would still recommend highly to anyone. especially if you like the challenge of airing it out with some long drives around moderately dense trees.

A solid Course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: ogdenmoles10
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great directions delivered us right to tee1. I love the location in the woods shaded but not cluttered. Great challenges and a nice change in your game with all the OB and obstacles. My favorite was the cage. Met and played with the guy who designed the course and was informed that the baskets get changed every month and a half so you can hit this course every few months for a different challenge. Very few people, very spread out. The Cage was my favorite hole.
Cons: No bathrooms, and it gets confusing at hole 7-8 but the trick to that is tee off on 7 and before you cross over to the other side tee off on 8 to save you a walk back over. A lot of glass and tin.
Other Thoughts: The guy that designed the course informed me that the reason there are no trash cans on the course is because he comes through and picks up all the trash and cig butts. Also that the reason there is so much glass and tin is because it used to be a logging site and that is where they dumped all their bottles and cans. Great course a must play on your list.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A good challenge right off I-5

1    3/27/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: reed2020
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signs. The signs give a very good description the layout. All the baskets are nice and newer. Good use of the land around the college. Good diversity in hole length, some are ace runs and others are big bombers. The created O.B makes many of holes much more interesting. There are a couple gimmick, but fun holes. (cage, pyramid, etc.) It was not busy at all when I visited. Another plus is that it is nearly impossible to lose a disc here.
Cons: A couple of the holes can get redundant with very little change in the terrain. Can get dusty with the wind blowing. The cage mando can get frustrating if you get caught up in there. There was broken glass on some of the holes, which was a little sketchy.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun and challenging course. The OB makes for some very technical shots that emphasizes placement. I will definitely be coming back to play this course again. It is also sweet that the brewery is right down the street for after the round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Make Believe Water

1    7/20/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice level concrete tee pads.
- Tee signs were nice, some had cracked plexi-glass but still ledgible and showed a good representation of what you were looking at.
- Undamaged baskets. Surprisingly easy to spot even with all the trees and shadows.
- Yellow ropes to outline the creeks... this was just an added challenge since in the summer months there is no water on this course, but you can pretend there is and increase the difficulty of this course by a little bit.
- Some interesting challenges with a cage on one hole that could easily add 1 or 2 stokes to your score, ther was another hole that had three large wooden poles in a triagular formation around the basket, and the 18th was an island green with a road hazard from the tee off and pretend water around the "island" makes this hole pretty cool ... if you imagine there is water in play.
- a few holes had benches, but the course didn't seem to be used too much, I saw a few DGers but not enough to slow play in any way.
Cons: - Didn't see many or any trash cans.
- No bathrooms on the course, but there are buildings close enough to the start of the course on campus that have them... so it's really not atrue con, just make sure you go before you start.
- Hot, Dry, and Dusty. Bring water and wear shoes that you don't mind covered in dirt.
Other Thoughts: This course was very fun, I drove all the way from Medford, OR to play and it was worth it. I do think I would play it again if I'm in the area.
I'm not sure were I parked in refence to the building on campus, but if you go to the two baseball fields and park near them the first hole is easy to find if you walk throught the grass area between the two baseball fields towards the trees. You should see the huge wooden pole that says DISCGOLF on it.
Lastly hole one is back (I read reviews that it wasn't) and I never saw a 14a which was supposed to be the extra hole to make a full 18.
I also noticed that when I got to hole 6 on our score card (from this site) that it was the distance and par for hole 7, and 7 for 8... I don't know when this one hole off started, but at somewhere around 11 or 12 it was back to normal... I'm really not sure where or what the mix up is, but it was a FULL 18; 1 thru 18.
Defanately worth your time... and don't forget to Image the water.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better Learn your OB!

1    11/24/2010   4/2/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: University of OB is set in a high desert type area which has a similar feel to courses such as Juniper Hills and Cascade Forest. Because it is so dry, most of the course consists of baked dirt and rock which makes for challenging, speedy greens. Thin pines and low shrubs provide most of the obstacles here and are complemented very nicely with dangerous out-of-bounds placements which often create islands or run parallel completely down the length of some fairways. The course appears to be well taken care of with nice tee signs, good baskets, really clearly defined rope for marking out-of-bounds, and a lot of really fun quirky touches along the way.

Risk/Reward: Several of the out of bounds areas (not all) create really interesting risk/reward scenarios where a fantastic drive might card an unlikely but possible eagle, a good drive and good approach will card a nice birdie, and an overly aggresive drive will be effectively punished. Drop-zones where employed are also well thought out such that they aren't necessarily easy up-and-downs.

Solitude: We visited in late November on a weekend and found the place completely deserted - we didn't see a single other person since pulling into the parking lot at the college. All of this was welcomed, but at the same time, was very eerie with all of the buildings around and surprising with the quality of the course.
Cons: As another reviewer said, a few of the holes do seem quite gimmicky. The cage hole seems very out of place amongst the rest of the course which is mostly traditional. Likewise, a few of the hole distances I felt like were a bit off - for example, a longer hole on the back nine with an extremely low ceiling made for a very improbable birdie two but at the same time, a hole that I was unlikely to bogey either. While there may have been other routes that I perhaps overlooked, I got the feeling that there were a few of these dreaded tweener holes.

Wind/Dust/Heat: We visited in November and this place was baking hot with a stiff wind (around 25-30mph) blowing dust around constantly. This was only one trip, but I mention it because it looks like other local reviewers have noted that these conditions are not infrequent.
Other Thoughts: I'd HIGHLY recommend this course to pretty much anyone passing through the area. Seasoned pros are going to enjoy the challenge of some of the tougher holes and will appreciate the chance to learn the course idiosynchrasies in the fast greens and the dangerous out of bounds areas. Newer players will be challenged by the out-of-bounds, island holes, and a few tight fairways but won't have to deal with painful brush or the potential to lose discs. Course-baggers especially will appreciate the uniqueness of this course with many interesting features and hole designs that you won't find elsewhere.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great side arm course!

1    1/13/2011   1/13/2011
Review By: Miles Barow
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A lot of dog leg right holes, great for side arm throwers. Nearly impossible to lose discs. Never anybody out there so the course is all yours!
Cons: very flat. Dusty in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Northern California.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great Local Course

5+    6/26/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: rudibega
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple pin location on most holes. Challenging, long holes and well marked OB.
Cons: Trees everywhere, Hole 9's mound.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this course. I live very close and play it nearly everyday. Great mix of hole styles, 4-5 Ace-able holes. Frisbee Jim will show you the ropes! And the Weed brewery is right down the street.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

New Review!!

5+    12/9/2011   12/13/2009
Review By: trashmonster1985
Played: 80  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: OVERVIEW; COS is becoming a classic west coast course with its own history and uniqeness. Truly for the long armed player, it abounds with par 4's and Out of Bounds. Well maintained, it is a popular locals spot and tournament course. Not called University of Out of Bounds for nothing, look out for those yellow ropes to add strokes all day.
DETAILS: A beautifully crafted pine round with the course name on it welcomes you to hole #1 behind the baseball fields. Par is a good score for this course and will test the longest of arms.
Cons:
Other Thoughts:



7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 OB is Contrived

1    8/14/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: Scorchysrevenge
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -There's one neat hole with a sharp ravine that adds the only diversity to the course
-May be playable in the winter.
-"The Cage' was VERY interesting/unique. There's a hole that has a cage with 3 sides and a top that will easily trap your discs and you have to throw from within the cage with your foot touching a pole placed at the back of the cage- challenging.
Cons: -Dusty
-Monotonous
-Unchallenging
-Long drive to get to unless you live in Weed or Mt. Shasta
-The excessively marked OB is a desperate attempt to add color and challenge to a dull course.
Other Thoughts: It's nice that there is a course in this area. The more courses the better. Bring a dust mop for your discs.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.